Albany, GA 
Joshua W. Franklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Texas2Putts Hole #10 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
  Worth Playing!!!!

2-4    9/6/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Jody Mitchell
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 friends and I finally got around to playing this course Sept. 6th 2009 and we don't regret it one bit.
As others have already said, this course is very well kept. As a matter of fact, a team of employees were out of the course picking up already fallen limbs around the trees, as we were playing our rounds. (Not getting in the way either). The signs are very nice, the tee-pads are well done with some grip to them in case of rain. There's a nice, clean bathroom right behind #1's tee-pad, holes 9 and 18 work their way back towards the starting point as well, allowing for a bathroom break or rest as well. Plenty of shade for even the hottest of days. The front 9 are pretty open and easy, where as the back 9 have quite a few tight dog-legs right. Over all, with the sign's help, it's easy to learn the lay-out after one round. Having drink machines, a large play ground area, a zoo within walking distance down a trail by #10's tee-pad, and close, clean bathrooms make this course a must play for anyone looking for a refreshing day of disc golf. Very family oriented in case the wife and kids want to come, they'll have plenty to do as well.
Cons: Mosquitoes and Gnats were horrible, even with top-of-the-line bug repellent they seemed to stay in swarms. A couple of holes are a wee bit too tight even for those that like tighter holes. Those holes are just set up to be a toss and pray that it finds a way through. The rest are pretty easy to at least consistently par.
Other Thoughts: There's no reason not to at least give it a try. I'll definitely be returning numerous times in the near future. Living in Columbus Ga., a place that has yet to get a course (I'll keep my fingers crossed), it's worth traveling 1 hours to go play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, well-manicured, short course

1    9/4/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads, signs and baskets are in excellent condition and are top notch. Yardages on signs are correct and have an accurate representation of the hole layout. In addition, there is a little arrow on the sign that tells you where the next tee pad is, so navigation is a breeze. There is no water anywhere near the course and it so well manicured that it would take a incredibly errant shot to loose a disk. Holes 9 and 18 bring you back to the starting point where the restrooms were in good shape and they even had drink machines.
Cons: Not an overly challenging course. I am 40 year old, 850-875 player and I shot a 56 the first time through {they set par as 65, but I would say par is more like 56 (all par 3's with two par 4's; 550' and 515')}. The course is 5,530,' so with an average hole length of 307,' even a weenie arm like me can make up for a poor tee shot with a nice upshot.
Other Thoughts: Joshua A. Franklin is a really nice, fun course. I would give it 4.5 stars if it had a second set of long tee pads. Holes 12 and 17 are sort of just a "poke and hope" with a bunch of pines and no clear fairway. You just have to make a good clean throw and hope the disk finds a way through. Finally, as a side note, the baskets on holes 6 & 14 are within about 100 feet of each other. My friend and I threw to the wrong basket the first time and had to play hole 14 a second time (as we were putting and realized the basket said 6). I am not knocking this course, and I wish we had it in Tallahassee. It is what it is, a fun, well-manicured, short course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 tfc.edu

1    3/7/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: dragon18
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained, beautiful course.Easy to follow with good pin sightings. Tall pines, spanish moss , tee pads and signage. A great play for Pro or Am. A couple of 500 footers, open and tight fairways, but not ridiculous tight. Shot a 46 for the layout. My friend had a 70 on his first time out.
Cons: Park can be busy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

1    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean and well kept. Nice tee pads and signs. Beautiful trees. Well laid out with nice variety. Distances range from 220ft to 550ft. The front 9 is fairly open...giving better players birdie opportunities and some fun for beginners. The back 9 is more challenging...with more trees and narrower paths, accuracy is rewarded as well as the ability to bend your throws.
Cons: It costs $2 to enter the state park...there is no additional charge to play. The course is pretty much flat...there are a couple of holes that are on slopes. The course isn't very technical...straight throws can usually earn you a par...more control is required for birdies.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 is tough to find...keep going straight after the 9th basket, cross the street, and pass the stop sign.

Being in a State Park, this could be a nice over night trip...the park has camping, a Zoo, a childrens park, and the disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.