Angier, NC 
Jack Marley Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #2 (Taken 10/2014)
-- / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Three Three Three

1    9/25/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 276  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 41.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very scenic park with a nice pond and wild life. Nice Discatcher baskets, strategically positioned to use the water to increase the difficulty of some holes.

Grass was very well maintained, plenty of parking and nice bathrooms.
Cons: Located in a multi use park, so there is the potential for a lot of pedestrians walking through the course. The last 6 holes are basically unplayable if there are too many people walking around.

Holes 4-6 wind along the one side of the pond, but there is a sidewalk that runs parallel and through most of the fairways. There is also a beach volleyball court in 5 fairway, which could be dangerous if a game is taken place.

Unfortunately, the last 3 holes are located around two baseball fields and unplayable if a game is present at either field. Basket and fairways too close to the bleachers and/or field, makes some very dangerous throws.

Basket 9 might be the worst designed hole I've played. There is a walking path through the length of the fairway, with a blind corner near the basket. Pedestrians come around this corner into 9 fairway and can easily get hit with a drive coming towards them.

9 basket ends near #6 basket, a long way from #1 tee. Maybe if no one else is playing the course, you might be able to play holes 6 to 3 backwards to return back to #1.
Other Thoughts: This course could potentially be very good. It already uses the pond to it's advantage, but it needs some tweaking to really make it good.

If it could circle the pond, it would add difficulty, avoid non disc golfers and return back towards #1.

Best time to play this course is when there isn't an athletic event happening. Early or late in the day would be best, but there are still plenty of walker/joggers to avoid.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Played here twice

2-4    9/5/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have to agree with Olorin almost 100%. However, it appears that I enjoyed the course a little more.

Holes 1-3 are gorgeous albeit a little short.
Cons: 7-9 are not as enjoyable. Ball fields, people, fences etc. I would fear playing these holes with a ball game going on.
Other Thoughts: There is a danger factor here. We had a family picnicking and were oblivious to where they were sitting and the danger they could be in. They sat in a place that they could be struck from two different holes. We ended up picking up and not playing 9 for fear of hurting someone.

I was surprised to even see a course in this little park. I commend whomever built the course for the undertaking and fear this will never be a viable option for most but if you live close it is good for a quick round.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 3 sections: the OK, the Good, & the Bad

2-4    9/23/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2008
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in 3 distinct sections: 1-3 "the OK"/ 4-6 "the Good"/ 7-9 "the Bad". Holes 1-3, "the OK", are short, open, grassy holes with only 1 tree in play. I will say that hole 2 is a nice little open plum just begging to be aced, so that makes it fun to run at. Holes 4-6, "the Good", are still short, but they have water in play or at least in view that make these the best on the course. They're the most scenic, have the most risk vs. reward, and are the most fun. (Comments on holes 7-9 are below.) There are good tee signs with a map of the hole.
Cons: Holes 7-9, "the Bad". The first hint of things getting worse is that after basket 6 confusion sets in trying to find tee 7. You see a basket nearby, but it turns out to be number 9. So where is tee 7? It turns out that you have to cross the hole 9 fairway and walk a ways to get to tee 7. Lawyers looking for lawsuit clients should hang out near holes 7-9 and just wait for unwary park patrons to get pegged with discs. These threes holes play on the sides of two baseball fields. On hole 7 the shortest route is over the baseball field, plus there's a walking path the whole length of the fairway. On holes 8 and 9 you throw over the walking trail and over bleachers that may have parents watching little league baseball games! Holes 1-6 are a little below average, but holes 7-9 pull that rating way, way down.
-Safety issues- There are also safety issues galore! On six holes you need to watch out for people in parking lots, on walking trails, on baseball fields, or on volleyball courts. If you play after 5:00 p.m. when the joggers and walkers are out, or on weekends when little league teams are using the ball fields and bleachers, the park is very crowded, so watch out!
-Tees: The tee pads are way too short (~6 ft long), and some tee pads (1, 3) are put in at awkward angles to the flight path.
-Signs: Some tee signs are at the right front corner of the tee, so a RHBH follow through could get a whacked hand (3, 8, 9).
-Length variety: quite low: 6 holes of 205-255/ 3 holes of 315-330
-Elevation changes: The course is almost all flat with a 4 ft drop as the biggest change.
-I'm pretty sure that holes 1-5 are actually quite a bit shorter than the lengths on the tee signs.
-After you finish hole 9 there's a very long walk back to the parking lot near hole 1. You can decrease your walk back if you park near basket 4 or 5, but then you have a long walk just to get to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.) Holes 1-6 are pretty short.

You be the judge-

As far as amenities go there are good bathrooms, and some park benches on the walking trail (that can also be in the fairways), but not much else. The course is still new, though.

I realize that it takes a lot of work to get a disc golf course put in, so I'm sorry that I have to be so negative in my review, but this course shows how necessary it is to use a qualified course designer. The course might even be improved by taking the drastic, and very unusual, step of removing holes 7-9. In my opinion, if the course only had the first 6 holes it would be better than the current layout. As it is now, you shouldn't go out of your way to play there, and after you've played it once there's not much reason to go back.

Note: If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf(at)gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.