Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - North Share
Uploaded By: TimSyl Hole #15
3 / 270ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
I Liked the Orginal Just A Bit More.

1    8/19/2017   8/19/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I have the correct course, this is called the North Course. It's the one that begins at the back of the park past the picnic shelter. It features most of the same, great amenities that the other course has, great course sign, awesome concrete, grippy tee pads and the same great tee signs in color showing both the Long and Short distances as well as a hole map with the tee placements on it. These signs also don't give a Par. I miss not knowing but then one has to just play everything as a three. And as this was my third course of the day, I took the easy way out and played from the Shorts. One difference is these baskets (whatever brand they are) are old school grey colored and harder to spot in the wooded areas.
And like the Original course, these signs proudly state, "Site of 2008 World Championships." There are garbage cans on each hole but benches are more rare. I would have liked a few more or maybe some comfy couches to nap on.

The Shorts play sometimes more than 200' shorter than the Longs. That makes this a rec course from the Shorts. From those Longs, probably a challenging intermediate level.

Like the Original, this course has an excellent variety of holes, uphills, downhill Ace Runs, technical throws through trees, holes to air it out on, and 18 playing up a tubing hill. I always get childlike excited playing any course with a tubing/sled hill. There was no such hills in my childhood. I'm probably scarred because of that one important missing piece of my early on developmental years.

# 7, although fairly short, did have a basket perched just behind a small but nasty pond with green pond scum water. Probably two headed fish in there, as well. Rakes are available to fish out your wayward throws. Playing my usually, conservative stay out of water game, I overshot the basket by 30 feet, leaving myself with a scary putt with the scummy pond just behind. And I bricked it.

Then 8 is a fun, uphill, hyser throw just 171' with only one tee. A great little safety fence appears to have been recently added. Not only does to protects players from drives coming down the hill from # 7, it also provides a small bench and a couple of bag holders. What no ice water dispenser? My congrats to the carpenter on this project!

Like the Original, plenty of navigational help. Easy to spot next tee signs although even while playing from the Shorts, I always walked first to the Longs. First to check the distances and secondly just to get a look from the Longs.
Cons: This course, while lovely, couldn't match the beauty of the Original. There is some thick rough to contend with. I spent about 30 minutes searching for my disc on one of shorter holes. I finally found my well buried disc after finding someone else's poor tee shot. The plain grey baskets are difficult to spot at times.
Other Thoughts: Two excellent courses on the same site, both with two tees, both well marked, both sitting on this wonderful piece of property. Both are green and lovely, even here in mid-August. Both show that thet were well designed orriginally and very well maintained. Do you hear that? Dr. Loveless DGC? And a sledding hill, too! $4 is not bad to play two such, fine courses. Transport these two courses back to Washington state, please.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Huge Tracts of Land

1    7/24/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 300  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing here for the first time at the 2015 Am Worlds, the main thing that struck me (while hiking out to begin on hole 10) was that the course designers were given an impressively huge parcel of land on which to build a course, and they must've done a great deal of hiking to find the cool shots and variety they built! The course plays amongst rolling, prairie grass fields for half of its holes, and in amongst the woods for half. Distances from the long tees included two under 200', five under 300', three reaching toward 400', five more in the mid-400's and three more over 500'. There's plenty of distance to challenge all levels of amateur arms. With short tees averaging more than 100' shorter, I sometimes envied the fun Recreational players might have here.

Brand new, large, level concrete tees aim toward top quality DGA Mach 5 baskets, and are accompanied by excellent, detailed signage. For the most part, the flow is logical, and there's next tee signage where needed. An excellent course map awaits at the first tee, near the shelter, playground, and bathrooms. The final hole (a glorious, rolling valley shot) leads you back to the paved path and your return to where you parked.

The constantly changing variety of holes is a major plus for me. Beginning with a bang on hole 1, which requires a strong drive, but retains a few trees to force a line, and finishes with a cool basket position tucked just into the woods. A true par four hole. 2 is a finesse woods deuce opportunity, then 3 emerges like a sunbeam back out into the open. Into the woods at the end of 4, followed by the ace run 5, another deuce chance on 6, then 7 & 8 make a dastardly pair, with a left to right shot and a murky pond barely past the blind pin position, then a right to left to a blind position at the top of the hill. Shorties, but difficult. 9 is woody and has a rollaway 'green'. 11 is a pretty sweeping shot into the woods after the more open 10. 12 plays around and long to the left with two places where your fairway constricts. 13 has a 'window' from the long tee, but really plays down an S-shaped fairway to the pin. 14 presents another ace-deuce run, then 15 & 16 give you open, sunny fields again, with elevations to challenge your shot (especially the slope down beyond 15). 17 is a wooded lane with choices of lines, then you wrap up on the aforementioned valley shot on 18.

In all, an excellent competition level course that should keep players motivated to try new options from the longs and the shorts, and keep coming back for more. When combined with the pride the crew out here displayed during Worlds (I was astonished to see them hustling out before our round to use a leafblower on all the tees), it's clear the Three Rivers disc golf community has a winner in the pair of Meyer Broadway courses.
Cons: The design of the course is so spread out, it wasn't possible to create a good 'nine-and-nine' loop, so folks going out for a scramble start in tournament play do have to hike a bit. And you will need spotters for the tall grass, as well as bug spray.

I noted (only once or twice, though) that a tee here and there sloped a little with the terrain, rather than having been terraced in. Just my personal preference, but up-sloping tees get in my head too much. Like I said, I only noted it once or twice. Can't recall which ones.

My usual caveat about pay to play: it's $5, and OK by me, but you should know that going in, if you prefer 'free'.

Finally, the signage at the long tee on 13 suggested a straight fairway. It ain't.
Other Thoughts: Even though I screwed up a batch of shots as I finished my round on 8 & 9, I still enjoyed this course. There were a bunch of holes that were too long for me, but the course balanced those out very nicely with a bunch of deuce opportunities. I'm sure regular players can learn the lines, eliminate bogies on the longer holes, and really score well on a course like this.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to prairie disc golf hell...

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice baskets. 2 layers of chains is a nice plus.
- Good use of the available terrain. Much like the Original course this one puts to very good use the existing elevation changes. It works the hills to great effect.
- The mix of left and right holes is nicely dispersed throughout the 18 holes.
- The length of holes here vary dramatically with some of the shorter wooded holes very duecable and definitely aceable. After getting beat up on the long open holes this is a nice change.
- Fairways are well defined mowed areas of grass.
- The course is very clean for the most part.
Cons: - Again, as with the original course navigation is almost nonexistent. Maps and/or playing with someone who is very familiar with the course is critical. There are no tee signs either so trying to figure out where to tee of can be...interesting.
- The tee pads are a freaking disaster. The are uneven ankle twisting pads of dirt sometimes bordered with a piece of lumber.
- Much like the Original course do not play alone so there can be spotters or plan on losing discs - a lot of them. The rough is just brutal and thick here. More of the holes here are in the prairie grass than the Original course.
- There are benches but it just did not seem like enough. Nor did there seem to be much in the line of trash cans.. Then again, as already stated it was pretty clean here so maybe cans aren't needed. .
Other Thoughts: As with Original, I am completely conflicted with this course. On the one hand there are so many beautiful things with this course but there are so many things wrong with it. I want to rate this as a 4.0 or 4.5 which is what it could easily be with some signage and concrete tees.

There did not seem to be much poison ivy here and until you play in the woods, the bugs are a little more manageable than some Michigan courses but still quite thick.

Long pants and good footware are important here. There are hills a plenty and the rough is tall grass that like to slice up humanoid legs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park was beautifull when I went there no other people around very clean. It will test every shot you have straight s curve an hyzer hyzer you name it. Nicely mowed fairways. Can really open up on some holes. Very tall long grass for the ruff errant throws will be punished. Hole 7 has a nasty lil green pond right behind the basket be carefull cuz I Dout your gonna go wade it out lol. Also be carefull to not overthrow 7 thinkin the baskets on the hill that's basket 8. Hole 6 is aceable but you only have a small window. Hole 18 is the signature hole you throw from a hill up to another hill deffinetly can bomb one here :)
Cons: I really don't have to many cons some would say the ruff is to much but I like how each hole looks like it was cut out an placed there. Navigation could be ruff if you don't print out a map like I did.
Other Thoughts: Great park deffinetly Awsome. I would say if you are just a begginers or can't throw to far it's gonna be a real tuff course for you. An it's best to play with 1 or 2 buddy's an have a spotter on some holes

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 into the great wide open... with some woods sprinkled in for fun.

1    1/9/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- Much like the original course this course plays through the rolling hills of this park. it's about half hiking trails and half disc golf. We saw one person our entire time out on this one, granted it was january...

Baskets-- Mach V but NO ORANGE TAPE!! the baskets are in great repair but they are virtually invisible in most places due to the fact that there are no reflective tapes on the baskets.

Originality-- many unique looks here. Long holes with very unique looks. Distinct landing zones that, even in the snow are HUGE on the fairways. Even the short holes are decent with the exception of a couple of throw away holes.

Routing-- isn't so bad on this course as it is on the original course. the addition of "next tee" signs is a nice touch.
Cons: Teepads- Muddy and ruddy dirt pads are hard to find and slippery when wet.

Signage- the first tee has a great sign but the rest of the course is much like the original where a lot of the signs are either missing or TRASHED. Thank god the routing is markedly easier on this end of the park.

Uncontrollables-- this course is wide freakin' open in a lot of areas. this makes for a super windy round. I would liked to have seen some water on this end. The rough on this end while somewhat better than the original (in the winter) I'm sure is BRUTAL in the summer...
Other Thoughts: this was used in worlds at some point? It's not that I was disappointed with Meyer Broadway as a whole. Just not what it was hyped to be. Oh well.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    7/9/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through open rolling fields with a handful of holes through the woods. The field holes are mowed fairways through tall grass rough with some decent elevation changes and a few holes where you can really air it out. The forested holes offer shorter and more technical lines to hit, with some flat holes and a couple with nice elevation. There are some different lines to shape through the trees, with a good mix of left and right turning shots and pretty thick rough to punish errant drives. There are some basic signs on many of the holes, and the baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I'm not a fan of tall grass as a course obstacle, especially as its used here. When it's the main challenge on most of the holes, it doesn't provide any extra difficulty on your recovery shot, it just wastes your time and potentially your plastic. Several of the longer holes had very narrow strips mowed for the first 200-250' before widening out into a landing zone, which makes the holes pretty unplayable for newer players without much distance or accuracy (we watched two groups hit the first of those holes, throw one shot, spend 15 minutes looking for discs, then give up and go home).

The signage is inconsistent, with many missing or faded so you don't know where to throw or how long the hole is. A few spots could really use more next tee signs with long walks between holes. The tees are uneven and many are sloped, making for poor footing on drives.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the wooded holes pretty reasonable, with shorter lengths and enough of a fairway to have a chance. The open holes would be really frustrating for someone with less accuracy though. More experienced players will find fewer interesting challenges and less variety on this course than the original course in the park. There are a few nice holes but overall it gets a bit repetitive.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Myer Broadway’s friendlier course

1    7/2/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 249  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Features some significant terrain changes to keep things interesting, but the North course has a few holes that play flat or close to it. Decent mix of shorter, wooded holes that limit you to relatively few lines and long open fairways (lined with tall, thick grass) which let you air it out and allow for many different routes. Offers some nice shot variety requiring hyzer, annie and straight shots off the tee, and mixes it up enough to keep things interesting over the entire 18 holes. Fairly scenic with decent eye appeal.
• Open holes have some well-placed trees and/or elevation changes to keep them interesting.
• Relatively beginner friendly while offering enough challenges for experienced players.
• Makes you pay for going off the fairway, but not as severely as the Original.
• Most of the course is pretty well segregated from other park activities.
• Finishes strong with a long 18th over a large valley. Long arms should be able to clear the huge dip, but shorter throwers will be taking a 2nd shot from a steep uphill lie. Real bombers could be looking for deuces.
• Good baskets, but I'm not sure whether tees and signs will be improved - they could use it.
• Decent amenities near the first/last hole: Clean bathroom, and a large pavilion with picnic tables to beat the heat/rain, soda/pop machine, as well as a playground for small children.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. Flows OK from hole to hole, but, course map was a big help as a first timer. The walk from 5 to 6 seems considerably longer than the others, and had me wondering if I was going the right way.
• Course info has tee type as rubber, but all I saw was grass/dirt. Played OK, but probably just a matter of time before they just become depressions for collecting water.
• Tall grass makes finding discs that don't hold the fairway tough going. Found myself searching longer than I though was reasonable for drives that were just a bit wide of the fairway.
• The water behind hole 7 is pretty much blind, reachable from the tee, and not something I'm willing to wade into to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: All in all, MB North is fun to play, and can stand on its own as a solid course, with enough challenge and variety to keep most players engaged. Makes a nice 36 hole day-trip combined with the more challenging Original located near the park entrance. With all the open holes and elevation changes, playing both can be exhausting on a hot day, and would be much more enjoyable when things start cool off towards the fall.

I'd have to say 18 is the signature hole, bit there are some other memorable holes on the course, including: 4, 8, 10, and 17.

Drop box for donations near the park entrance is on the honor system, so please pay your fair share to keep these courses in nice shape.

Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 North

2-4    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 217  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The north course provides a layout with similar feel to the original, although generally shorter and easier. Rolling grassy terrain interspersed with clumps of trees comprises the majority of the course, although some more wooded areas come into play. On the best holes, players can choose the safe lay up route for a sure par or try for longer shots. The sprawling elevation and mature trees that protect the longer lines provide plenty of risk for those trying for birdies. Water comes into play behind the pin on #7. #18 is an epic finisher across a broad grassy valley to a pin that is situated at a higher point than the tee.
- The course flows with the land. Nothing seems out of place.
- Above average earthen tees where the rubber pads had recently been removed (according to locals). Level and totally sufficient. At no point did the tees seem awkward or a hinderance.
Cons: - Tall grasses in the rough can make finding discs a pain, although punishment is for the most part very fair. Windy days can make it staying on the fairway more of a challenge.
- Navigation isn't always completely clear, but isn't terrible either. Ask one of the many friendly locals if you get turned around.
Other Thoughts: - The North layout is a wonderful compliment to the Original course. With two fine courses on site, and several other good courses nearby, Meyer Broadway is well worth a day trip.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    4/23/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large section of the park property, with lots of rolling hills and a good amount of forest. Walking path is much more common on this course, but nothing else is going to get in the way.
- Good use of the forest to force some different lines; for the most part a straight shot is the key, but there are also some slight hyzers and annys. These hole definitely test the short game, as many can easily be reached (4 in a row under 253'). But, with thick rough and jail, saving a par can become very difficult. A few holes stand out like #7, with a murky pool of water behind the basket, and #8, which sits protected atop a small hill.
- Holes out the open have plenty of character as well, as lots have serious elevation changes. #18 is a big valley shot, with the basket sitting higher than the tee pad. Mowed fairways add a little more challenge, as well as some sloped greens here and there. There are definitely some more bomber shots out here; especially with the constant inclines.
- Some holes out in the open have some additional trees and forest to force some more line shaping. Most spots let you choose which line to take, but there are definitely places where a bad line can lead to major trouble. The holes have length to spare, but also need some semblance of accuracy.
- Good baskets. Teepads are a work in progress, but the dirt ones are in good shape. Signage is lacking in some spots, and the natural teepads can be a little tricky to spot, but the flow makes sense. Might want to check the map beforehand.
Cons: - A large amount of the course is set in the great wide open, so little thought is needed. Long hole lengths make it a grip and rip driving range. The elevation changes definitely help to mix things up, but otherwise there is no thought required.
- In general, the longer holes were wide open, and the shorter holes were tighter. Definitely testing accuracy and distance at different times; which made the longer holes seem blander. There were definitely some memorable ones, but others were nothing special at all.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely a solid course, with a good amount of variety to be found. Some of the bomber holes were very enjoyable, including the valley shot and the two-hill uphill hole with an elevated, sloping green. Holes in the forest ranged from pretty easy to pretty tough, with a few around 175' and a few over 300'. Constant elevation changes on top of that, and it's a little bit of everything.
- Much more beginner-friendly than the original course, but still challenging. A true new player is going to find some tough shots and punishment. A more advanced player will probably find some shots a little too easy, and some of the open holes too bland. Still, a solid stand-alone course with plenty of challenge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE WOW!! again lol

5+    3/14/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 66  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second of 2 great courses meyer broadway north compliments the original. Great course design with all shots required, long/short and wide open/tight and uphill/downhill holes really push your game. Grass mowed consistently on fairways. Baskets are in good shape. Great long walk through nature, half in the woods and half in the open. Beautiful course that will challenge anyone. The fairways offer fair landing zones with tall grass rough if you miss and if your really off you get sticker bushes.. This course is great fun and a great challenge. my favorite holes are 1(wow big hole right off the back,long throw and a blind approach) and 3(simply beautiful open straight forward hole, you walk out of the woods into a field of rolling hills and nature, breathtaking). Just as good as the original course. Clean bathrooms before hole 1 and a pop machine! Good finishing hole that lets you throw out of your shoes,then throw a difficult blind approach.

PEOPLE PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PUT A DONATION IN THE BOX NEAR THE FRONT PARKING LOT. THESE COURSES ARE BAD A$$
Cons: There a few things that make me rate this course a half a disc lower.
*teepads are rubber and uneven and some missing
*very few tee signs at all
*harder to navigate than original course(if its ur first time). after hole 5 walk down the path left to get to next hole.
Other Thoughts: From what i heard this was a temp course originally and thats why it has rubber pads and poor signage. However, this course is amazingly beautiful and challenging. Rec players will have a hard time with these 2 courses. If u wanna play a game ,stay at home and play monopoly. If ur ready for a challenging sport,come out to these DESTINATION courses.

PLEASE DONATE SOME DOLLARS TO THESE BEAUTIFUL COURSES.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.