Chili, NY 
Chili DGC Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Pronounced with a long I, not like the food

5+    8/28/2017   9/6/2017
Review By: Mr_Grigsby
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent course for both beginners and experienced players
-Concrete tees
-Challenging, but very enjoyable
Cons: -Quite long
-Tee signs are a bit dated
-Moderate chance to lose discs
Other Thoughts: The Chili course at Widener Park is truly a fantastic place to throw some plastic. This course offers just about everything for any type of player. There are holes where you can really rip it, as well as some finesse shots to practice your lines.

The course has a really good flow to it, with holes 1 and 10 starting around the same area, making a mid round break very easy. The tee pads and baskets are in good condition for an older course, and it has always been very free of litter when I have played. What makes this course really fun are the different types of obstacles that you encounter. With tight fairways, anhyzer lines, and inverted bunkers, it makes for a challenging round for any player.

The biggest downside to this course is that it is long. Hole 11 is a beast at 911', as well at hole 18 at ~700'. This can make for a very long round. Also, there is a moderate chance to lose a disc on several holes along the edges as the brush in these areas grow unchecked. There are also several areas that are not mowed along the fairways, which makes a disc easily lost in the tall grass. The tee signs could use an update, but they give you an alright idea of what to shoot for.

Overall, this is a fantastic course to play, probably one of the best in the area. If you have friends that are new to the game, this would be my second pick in the Rochester area, behind Basil Marella. For a fun, longer round, I recommend coming out here. With an amazing course layout, I understand why this course was picked to hold the 1999 Pro Disc Golf World Championships.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 VooDoo Chili

1    8/24/2014   9/17/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 340  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: FYI, Chili DGC, is not pronounced like the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Long i, times two. I didn't know, until a local clued me in (thanks Marshall). The disc golf course has a little water, almost no elevation change, and a variety of widely spaced trees. I liked the first hole the best, playing a little downhill, and a big anhyzer RHBH, that I parked and hit the birdie putt. There are several long holes, and a pair of really long holes (911' on 11, and 719' on 18). Some OB, watch for white posts marking the edges of some fairways. Par 58 overall seemed about right to me, I scored 60 on my first and only round. There are concrete tees with decent signs, and Mach 3 baskets. Circular tin shack on the back 9 looked cozy, provides a rare bit of shade.
Cons: Very open, not overly technical. I played during nearly perfect weather, but I'm sure wind is often a factor, and exposure to the sun is unavoidable. The distance is the main obstacle on a few holes, sort of repetitious, but making the most of what is there. Layout isn't too confusing, but a course map may come in handy. Keep your dog on a tie, leash law breakers will get a $200 ticket. There were cops finishing a report on a car break in when I showed up, with a distraught looking couple and broken glass on the ground.
Other Thoughts: Chili is a pretty solid course, and worth a play. Liked what I saw, but not enough pizzaz. Really felt like a ball golf course, tree canopy will rarely limit airspace or force tight lines. Well equipped and well established, mostly clean and nicely kept. 3.75 rating would be my call, I will round up to for on the merit of the front 9, and the two monsters on the back. May cause soreness of the arm, especially if played in succession with additional rounds.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    9/1/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Skiddy28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging. Good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Very narrow fairways compared to Ellison and high ruff that you need to search through for your disc if it goes wide at all.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend playing here.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day of DGing in the Sun!

2-4    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice concrete tee boxes
* Excellent signage
* Beautiful meadow that is pretty well maintained
* Baskets are in great condition
* Very quiet
* There are a couple monster holes, 700+ feet that were a lot of fun to play.
Cons: * Could have used more wooded areas, but still the open play is fantastic.
* There was a lot of trash in the parking lot and at various holes along the course
* Park was hard to find from road due to no sign for "Widemer Park". You should instead be looking for a small sign for Baker Park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved playing here. Not as much as I loved playing Parma (mainly due to the mix of woods and fields there), but this was a close second. The course was beautiful, challenging enough for veterans, but easy enough for newbies. There is a lot of open space and it gets plenty of sun, so I can't imagine it getting too muddy or wet. I had a lot of fun at this course and will definitely be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 professional calliber

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is maticulously maintained with a professional feel to it. Nicely mowed fairways navigate you through this what was once farm land. tastefully placed baskets give you a chance to shoot around some challenging obstacles such as and old silo and windmill. creek comes into play on a handful of holes to give it that extra edge
Cons: walking from basket 11 to tee pad 12 is a little soggy this time of year but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: just a couple of things to give it a better review.... some type of net such as a pool skimmer set up next to the creek to retrieve submersed discs in these chilly winter months. more seating next to some of the tee pads for those times of waiting your turn

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

5+    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 119  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- signs in good condition with one par and distances for all three tees
- fairways well mantained and defined
- course flows very well with signs pointing in the direction of the next tees. Starts and ends at the parking lot
- never seems to be a lot of people
Cons: - The shorter tees are not easy to find . However this is not a problem because I never play them.
- Since the course is wide open and there is not much shade, it can get very hot in the summer
- Hole 11 is par 4 900 feet straight shot with lots of brush on both sides where discs can get lost
- There might be a discrepancy of the distances on the sign and actual distances
Other Thoughts: Although there are no "wooded" holes most of the open drives require you to place your drive in a certain area. Their are also several "ceiling" drives where you have to keep your drives low to avoid trees. Overall there is enough variety to make up for no wooded holes. My favorite holes include hole 8 which is a possible "ace run" where you tee off from a hill and have to throw around a large tree to the basket less than 200 feet away which is on another hill. Hole 12 also tees off from a hill with out of bounds on your right and the basket nestled in an opening to the right about 223 feet away guarded by a fence. Finally for hole 18 you tee off 700 feet away from the basket and drive down the faiway which turns to the left. If you hyzer too much yu will end up in trees. The basket is on a hill and if you overshoot your put you could be looking at a really hard putt.

8/31/13 I played Chili today and the alternate tees are now very visible by a red plank in the ground

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a must play

5+    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: excellent, pristine 18 hole course, lightly wooded and mostly flat on what was once farm land. has a small stream in play on several holes. some cool features include man-made mounds, a windmill, a small cilo, and a old-style wooden fence on two holes.
- tees and signs: painted signs and concrete tee pads are excellent
- hole design: long course. the first 9 are shorter than the back, but still long. fairways/trees force you to shape your shots even though they're mostly open. back 9 is more open and even longer with hole 11 at 911 feet and hole 18 at 716. uses mowed fairways, letting the rough grow quite high.
- basket locations: good. hole that stands out the most is 18, a long par 4 with the basket located on the top of a 10 or 15 foot high mound. from the top of the mound, you get a cool view of much of the course.
- favorite hole: hole 9. after about 300 feet, the fairway closes in with pines on the left and right that extend 80 feet further back to the green.
- flow and player traffic: good. seems to always have several groups playing, but never really a long wait.
- difficulty: high. very challenging course, perhaps the hardest (parma's up there, too).
Cons: - alternate tees: shorter tees would definitely be recommended for beginners but are hard to find
- long grass: makes finding discs difficult and can be extremely itchy
- wetness: because of terrain, this course is very wet in early spring
Other Thoughts: - one of rochester's best, side by side with parma. a definite must play!
- if you're not interested in the length of the back 9, play the front twice. this would make the course more beginner friendly as well

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/29/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 83  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is Extremely beautiful with well manicured fairways. Very open which makes for a wide variety of shots. Short holes/longs holes. Concrete Tee pads for Long Game. Interesting objects such as wood chip barriers, wind mills, and a silo. Small creek that runs through the course. Overall an excellent course!
Cons: Tee pad signs need correct distance and a more graphic overview of the hole. Other than that, i could not complain at all.
Other Thoughts: Got to play Round 5 of the 2011 World Ams there in the pouring rain and had a blast!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rochester Gem

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads on the long tees. Short & Medium tees are marked with either colored stakes on the ground or small colored markers flush with the ground (most of these are pretty hard to find). MachIII baskets are all in good shape with numbers. Tee signs are pretty, but the painted hole diagrams aren't typically enough detail to help you out much, and the distances on about a third of them are wrong. The creek bed (dry or not) that runs through the course plays OB which increases the challenge. Combine that with all the perimeter tree lines being OB and you've got a tough course. There aren't a whole lot of tight lines to hit here which make Chili somewhat forgiving. "Inverted bunkers" (or "piles" to the rest of us) made from wood chips and hay bales add a challenge on some holes. "Next tee" signs keep you headed in the right direction. Course info board, restrooms and decent parking on site.
Cons:
There aren't many cons at Chili, especially just after being prep'ed for PDGA AM Worlds. Weak alternate tee markings and incorrect distances are a couple. This course can get dangerous when filled with players, i.e. during a tournament. The fairways are close, play back on each other, and you can't see a lot of incoming discs until they're right on top of you because of the trees. Limited shade on the course so Summer rounds will be hot. Tall grass off-fairway can make finding discs tough.
Other Thoughts:
This course has character. The windmills, mini silo, wooden fences, manicured fairways, all make this course a joy to look at. There isn't really an unfair hole on the course, which makes it a joy to play. I waver between a 4.0 and 4.5 for this course, it's definitely solid, but doesn't give me that "wow" feeling after a round that I expect from a 4.5 course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open course! Loved it!

2-4    3/12/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: sethELT
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that's incredibly well laid out!
Holes are cleverly placed sometimes, hidden in trees, over berms, etc. Use of farm equipment as obstacles is interesting (Silo, hay bales, etc)
Well maintained and the large signs and concrete pads clearly mark the holes
Cons: Can be a little monotonous, some of the obstacles are annoying, but challenging. Not many close wooded holes, lot of loooooong drive shots.
Other Thoughts: May be a little boring for some people, although I loved it, others may not enjoy the lack of wooded holes, or constant long distance driving.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.