Toronto, ON 
Toronto Island Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 522ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
The crowned jewel of Toronto courses

1    2/22/2017   2/22/2017
Review By: Majestic12
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Legendary course in a truly unique location -> if you visit Toronto and have the time, visit the island & throw this course.

- Toronto Island is a remarkable venue -> nice hippie vibe, great restaurant and cafe, truly beautiful park and beaches, no less!

- Course is a study in design refinement: White and blue pads with proper signs and multiple baskets -> lots of variety.

- One of the few courses in the GTA that offers players with big arms the opportunity to use them -> pro-level options.

- The short pads with blue baskets option is great for everyday amateurs. Still challenging, but short and fun.

- Very passionate/committed community of players.

Cons: - You have to take the ferry to Ward's Island, making this course hard to access and a throw there a half-day adventure.

- In the height of summer, a huge number of people visit the island, which translates into long waits at the ticket line.

- The length and difficulty of some of these holes may not work for beginners/inexperienced players.
Other Thoughts: - When the weather permits, I suggest taking a bike to the island -> this will allow you to get around quickly

- The course is next to the fire house and they have public bathrooms and lockers ($2 coin required) -> very handy

- The island cafe and rectory restaurant near the course offer excellent food and delicious pints of beer!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long Tight Course

5+    9/4/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: Detective Punch
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course where I started playing so I'll get that bias out there first. I'm super glad I learned here though because it's made most other courses I play at a breeze comparatively. I've been playing for four years now and have been to a bunch of other courses and I still don't think I've found one that's better (but definitely some others that I would rank as good in their own right)

PROS
- The island is beautiful. It's a really great course to walk through, gorgeous views of the Toronto skyline.
- The fairways are incredibly maintained for such a long course. They've even cut down the rough a bit in some areas.
- Really nice large cement teepads
- 2 teepads and 2 baskets on every hole.
- They just installed new clear signage as well, and they look great
- Really great challenging course - quite long with a lot of technical shots as well. There are a couple of open holes but most holes ask you to throw long and low with a good mix of hyzer annhyzer shots.
- 2 water holes.
Cons: - 7.50 for the ferry to get there (you can buy a pack of 10 tix though)
- Fire ants and stinging nettles, it's not the worst but they are there if you go into the rough
- No elevation - the island is super flat.
- Can be busy on the weekends/summer with tourists, (never really had to wait on the course for other golfers) but the course is located away from the main tourist area so it's generally fine.
Other Thoughts: Just another note, I know some people view it as a bit of a hassle to get there but I can go play a round in 3 hours from getting on the ferry to getting back to the city. Maybe still too long for some peeps but there it is!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course let down by little things

2-4    6/7/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course set in an amazing public park.

Two baskets and two tee pads on every hole let you play lots of different ways. Most of the time the two tees are not that far apart but they're situated to make the drive different.

Fairways are really well-maintained. Your disc will land in grass, bushes, water, or trees.

But just because you're not in the woods don't think trees won't ruin your round. Most holes have overhanging trees somewhere that don't let you throw a big dumb hyzer.

Unlocked lost discs box behind the bulletin board before hole 1. And it gets used; I saw two discs added within an hour (just not mine).

As mentioned above, the short baskets are a great blue color -- super easy to spot.

Did I mention how pretty it is?
Cons: The signs at the tees only show the long basket location.

On a weekend day with the sun shining the park is crowded, mostly with people who have no clue about disc golf. They have signs that say, "Disc Golf Zone" but they should be more explicit -- "Don't park your baby here if you don't want her to get hit by a sharp-edged frisbee."

I really didn't like the baskets. Weird, I know, but it seemed like more chanouts than there should have been.

Stinging nettles? Some low weed got me a couple times on the hand while looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: Yeah, there's no elevation but they make up for it with design. You really have to hit the gaps and keep it in the grass.

If you're a disc golfer visiting Toronto you have to play here. Surprisingly, there are not many places to buy discs nearby. Europe Bound on King St has a good selection of Innova and Discraft. The sporting goods store in the lower level of Eaton Centre has a Vibram starter pack for $50.

Pro tip: if it's a busy weekend, take a water taxi to Wards Island for $10 and then ride the ferry back for free. The ferry is $7 but the ticket line can take a long time on a Saturday morning.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/17/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 17.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a tough time rating this course (see below in other thoughts) but Toronto Island had a lot of good things going for it. That's why I am giving this course a "Very Good" rating.

1) Most of the holes now officially have two baskets: blue baskets and silver baskets. With two sets of tees most holes this allows you to play the course in a lot of different variations. The long tees to the long baskets offer a very challenging course so its great to have the short baskets in place for those wanting an easier course. I also LOVE the fact that the baskets are different colors so you always know what layout you are playing.

2) This course had great signs. Even though the numbering was currently off on the signs, the signs were full color and very detailed.

3) This course had great concrete tee pads. Natural teepads are no fun and rubber is second best compared to concrete so its always good to point out that a course has great pads.

4) The locals were super friendly. Friendly enough to try to buy us food after the round at a wonderful restaurant just near the docks. I highly recommend having some ice cream or some food at this restaurant after playing your round (ferry time permitting). The restaurant is a wonderful outdoor restaurant that is located right next to the docks where you enter the island on.

5) Toronto Island Park is AMAZING. There is so much to do outside of disc golf on the Island that it would be a great place for a family to enjoy a day. If you are a guy and travel with your wife or significant other often, she will enjoy coming here. The park has a lot of great things to do and offers spectacular views of Toronto. I can't stress that enough - the views are out of this world. Also, the ferry ride over to the park also offers spectacular views and is well worth the $6.50 fee.

6) Contrary to what a few reviewers wrote, this course does have water that definitely comes into play. This always makes a course more appealing to me. Two holes have legitimate water hazards (both on the right side of the fairway) and one of the holes has the basket tucked pretty tight on the river. The water was deep and we did have a disc go in the hazard so this added a lot of value to these two holes.

7) This course was extremely challenging for the long tees and one of the harder courses that my buddy and I played on a 16 course disc golf trip. I appreciate a challenge and so that's a pro for me. Half of the holes were between 300 and 400 feet and half were over 400 feet so it definitely favors a longer arm but there were some opportunities for deuces which I know people will appreciate.
Cons: This course was really solid but I do have a few cons:

1) The logistics of actually getting to this course were simply a nightmare. If you do get the chance to play this course (which I recommend) then its advisable to set aside at least 4 hours for the experience. It was very difficult to actually find a place to park near the docks and when we finally did that cost us $20 (there is very bad construction going on in downtown Toronto right now that is expected to last a while). Once we were able to park it was a 15 minute walk to the docks. Fortunately we caught the right boat as it was literally leaving or we would have been stuck for a while. After a 15 minute boat ride (see above for this was also a good thing) we got off the boat and had a 2000 foot walk to the first hole. We of course had to take this walk after the round back to the dock and then waited 45 minutes for the boat to come back. Just be prepared to take some time to get to this course!

2) The rough was extremely brutal when we played the course. We played with a local who lives on the island and he admitted that the rough was brutal and borderline unfair. Some of the rough was above 6 feet tall in some wild grass areas and we did lose a disc. The local did say that it usually gets trimmed down for the September A Tier but that didn't make our experience any easier. Some of the fairways were also a little tight because of the overgrown rough and the local once again mentioned that issue is usually taken care of by September.

3) This isn't a huge con for me but the course has no elevation to speak of. The course is essentially flat on every level. This doesn't take away from the fact that the course has interesting holes but none of that is due to elevation.

4) Navigation was pretty challenging - we walked to what was supposed to be hole 1's basket and the tee sign said hole 17. Fortunately a local guided us the rest of the way but the signs on a lot of the holes were incorrect. Hopefully this gets taken care of soon. PLEASE NOTE: The directions on this site to get to the actual course are spot on. Once you get past the Firehall that is hole 1 even though it currently says 17. Follow the directions on this site and you will be fine but just ignore the signs.

5) Some of the long baskets were tucked into places that seemed to be difficult for the sake of being difficult. Even the local, who was a pro, said some of these newer locations were a bit much. Its not a huge con because we were playing the long tees to the long baskets but it is worth nothing.
Other Thoughts: I honestly found this course pretty tough to rate. I would actually rate the course a solid 3.5 and if some of the cons above were addressed this would definitely be an easy 4.0 for me.

Taking it a step further, I would actually rate the experience of playing the course and the surrounding area a 4.5 or a 5.0. I would then normally bump my rating up a little bit to account for that but the issue was actually getting to the course and leaving the course. Logistically I would rate this course a 1 on a scale of 1 to 5. Putting all of those things together helped me confirm in my mind that it was a 3.5 for me, which is considered Very Good on this site. Just make sure to set aside a lot of time for this experience!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Island Paradise

1    8/2/2012   7/5/2014
Review By: Seabrook
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and great signage. The course design is excellent with both right and left shots to challenge all. Manicured and absolutely beautiful with the Toronto skyline in the background.
Cons: Not much to complain about. No elevation change but not a big deal. This is a day excursion and not a jump out of the car and start playing. Time your visit to the ferry crossing then 10 min walk to the course. Plan your day accordingly
Other Thoughts: This is one of the prettiest courses I've played. Well maintained lawns and relatively easy to navigate, The course is long but not difficult for the newer player. Advanced will find lowering your score very challenging with the long tree lined fairways.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with some challenge

2-4    6/12/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: EssPea
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Practice baskets!
Two tee boxes, both with pads.
Good mix of short holes and long ones.
Cons: Annoying to get to with the ferry.
Signs on each teebox are getting run down or missing, without them it is hard to find the next hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful springtime rounds

2-4    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: klassikstile
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pads and pin locations
Good signage
Beautiful setting
Cons: The map that is linked doesn't seem to be the latest, I was misled a few times, but eventually found my way
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play while on a business trip! The ferry across to the island was pleasant
It was a gorgeous saturday and there were only a handful of other discers, so it was easy breezy

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great Metro Park DG course

2-4    8/22/2012   1/22/2013
Review By: Sandude
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, seasoned and groomed (in a park).Nice variety of shots required. Weekend play was not crazy busy. Water holes provided no problems in retrieving wet discs (2 for me in 2 rounds) Easy navigation w/good signage. Picturesque view of downtown Toronto & the Space needle.
Cons: Flat with no elevations, A hike from the ferry, which costs $6.50 to ride.,The walk to the first tee is a good couple of holes worth of steps. Same to return. Road traffic to get to the ferry is hectic every day. Especially around rush hour. but besides some elevations I would say as far as the course itself goes, there are not many Cons.
Other Thoughts: If you are in or near Toronto, this is well worth the cost of the ferry. If you can avoid rush hour traffic or walk or ride a bike you will do better. 4 My hotel was only 4 miles away, but it took me 25 minutes in lakeshore traffic to get to the ferry

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course love.

5+    12/14/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: HEATER
Played: 48  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, scenic course a short ferry ride from metro Toronto.

2 practice baskets about 70 feet from each other near 1 tee.

Friendly locals.

Course plays tough but fair from the white tees with most holes falling between 260 and 650 feet. difficult and demanding from the longs with lots of tight lines, tunnel shots and massive trees all over the course.

Locals play everything as a par 3 although there are 3 holes that are every bit a par 4 (6, 8 and 16 and 1 if you play the championship tee near the practice baskets)

2 sets of big asphalt tees on each pad

Grounds are maintained by the city and are always pristine.

People complain about the amount of non gofers on the course but if you can get over there any time that isn't a weekend in the summer the course is mostly deserted.

Great league that runs Wed night in the summer and Saturday morning all winter (yes ALL winter)

Be prepared to air out some big bombs and every shot in your bag will be needed.

Best view of the Toronto skyline anywhere.

Feels like a golf course with each hole being a separate entity.

Easy to spend a a whole day golfing and hanging out on the best parkland in the GTA.

Baskets are getting older but are still in great shape.
Cons: The cost of the ferry is a con although I never feel it isn't worth my money. Also if you are a local or are planning on going a couple times with some friends you can buy a 10 pack of tickets at a discount.

The land is flat.

Course can get busy in the summer with both holders and tourists.

If you can bring a bike as it is a bit of a hike to and from the ferry

Multiple pins aren't utilized. Typically it plays all long pins in the summer and all short pins in the winter.

Island residents aren't big fans of the course and go out of their way to sabotage work on the course. We tried to add a new amazing hole and the locals took the basket out of the ground and threw it into the water.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I plays and it will always hold a special place in my heart. 4 years later and I am still honored to call it home.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/9/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: timbo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Disc golf paradise on a sunny day. Long, challenging holes in beautifully maintained park on Ward's Island looking across the lake at the city of Toronto. Good course for power players, lots of placement shots required too. Power and accuracy is what it takes on the island.
Cons: No elevation changes, though a couple of the baskets are elevated.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.