Rocky Mount, NC 
Rocky Mt. Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #5 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 135ft.   3 / 135ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
It gave me a complex

1    8/28/2017   8/28/2017
Review By: New013
Played: 169  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall it's some dinky wooded holes mixed in with open hyzers and some more hyzers near water.

You get up to three tee options (R,W,B), in some cases they overlap. In most cases this just lengthens the hole but in some it does make an angle a bit more severe.

There is a mix of open and wooded holes.

Water comes in to play as a good amount of baskets are positioned near small ponds.

A few multi-shot holes and some chances to let the disc fly on the open holes.

Atmosphere - If you like small ponds they're here in abundance.

Equipment - Most holes had tee signs at the white tee showing distance for each tee and a hole map. You usually had some sort of hard surface to tee off of. There's a portajohn in the lot.
Cons: Layout - I don't like this course. I considered giving it a one but it more fits in with my 1.5's.

The wooded holes are dinkers and while may I agree, on a good day, when I'm happy, when everything is right with the world, that it just may have a couple of maybe decent ones, it's never good when decent describes your best.

The open holes are mostly just throw a hyzer or throw far then throw a hyzer approach. The water holes do bring in some danger but in the end it's a bunch of 300'ish hyzers that aren't that difficult. If you want just play it safe throw 340' hyzers and make a putt coming back, none of this matters.

Honestly the biggest obstacle on the water holes was dodging goose shit.

Well #7, which is a water hole, was challenging but mostly because the basket was tipped over.

The flow of the course is hella bad. It's one of those do mini loops bullshit things. I think the course designer was eating cereal and dropped some fruit loops on his sketchpad and found some fruit brained inspiration. Put the lime in the coconut and screw this all up.

I'm still looking for 12's blue pad. Don't message me and tell me where it is, none of this matters. I'm not even sure it was hole 12, none of this matters.

Then there was a hole that wanted me to anhyzer over a baseball field. It was a decent hole I just didn't feel like going in the baseball field if I screwed up.

The shule here should not even be described as shule. I think I saw the predator in there.

There's probably more but none of this matters.

Equipment - The pads are mishmashed from concrete, to using asphault sidewalks, to gravel to AWOL. Like I said one of the baskets was tipped over. The tee signs are just passable when you can find them. There's nothing three dimensional marking where the blue pads are usually, just signs saying wander that way and look around.

Atmosphere - The wooded areas are rougher looking than Lindsey Lohan on a bender. The two times I threw in to the woods I had to psych myself up to get in there and get the job done. That's probably what Lindsey's bf's feel like. There's briars and giant fire ants... Make your own Lindsey joke now.

Other Thoughts: This course sucks, no offense to anybody who takes offense to this but again, this course sucks. It's a good place to work on your hyzers I'll give it that; though I don't recommend it to anyone else.

If you do take offense remember. None of this matters.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Woods, Open and Water. Be Ready!

1    7/10/2015   5/6/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 106  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, some tees use pavement, where available.
A LOT of variety here, short tight wooded holes, water holes requiring long carries, flat open holes.
Course has been changed to provide a bigger challenge.
Large, multi-use park, football, baseball/softball and several soccer fields, get a round in when in the park for other things.
There might be a few interactions with the other activities, but for the most they are avoided.
#8 is a fun water hole, not too long and cleared landing area, you could even skip it across.
Cons: The gravel tees on the shorter holes are not a big problem, but the short tees on the open holes need to be larger.
Navigation is an issue, since the map on this site has not been updated.
They did not use the sidewalk around the new RR/concession bldg for a "top of the world" tee shot!!
#2 uses the walking path as the fairway, right after it comes around a corner, be careful on this one!
Other Thoughts: First off the changes from the map on this site - #7, #14, #15, #16 and #17 are gone. After #11 (now #10) cross the parking lot, new #11 tee is near the soccer fence. #12 and #13 go around the large lake, then #14 and #15 head back towards the trees, #16 follows the old #13 and #17 follows the gravel path behind the ball fields. #18 is in original position. THE PICTURES ON THIS SITE ARE UPDATED WITH THE NEW HOLES.
Second, the danger holes, #2 short hole, walking path is the fairway, miss this one long (or no fade) and you're in the lake. #7 long carry over the same pond, but the green area is overgrown, trees, bushes, grass, I found the small fairway available, but not a good green. #12 tight long fairway around lake and behind ballfields, how do you play this one? I didn't. #13 back around the same lake, does provide some fairway. #16 and #17 both go behind more ballfields and new batting cage, OK if no one is there, but could be unplayable.
It looks like the intent was to get more holes out of the woods and provide longer, open holes. That has been accomplished.
I like courses with wooded and open holes, but several holes here have a lot of trouble to get into. There are 3 other 18-holers in this town of 60,000, a pretty good number for a town this size, I'll play Farmington and Sunset again before here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/13/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The first half of this course is easily the best stretch of holes in the Rocky Mount area. Three of the holes do traverse a walking path but they are short holes and the tees command views that gives advanced warning of anyone walking towards the hole. So that is grudgingly acceptable to keep the best holes on the course. 2 is a short hole that features a basket cut into the woods to the left, up a ridge that should provide an uphill put next to a small waterfall. 8 and 9 play along a pond, with a safe route around the pond available and a direct path offered by carrying the water. 9 is a decent amount past the pond while 8 sits high above the water on a small bluff surrounded by three sides of water.
10 provides the other open look of the first half and it features the best chance to air out a disc that I saw as well as basket situated on hillside. The other holes, (3-7 as well as 18) cut through a small section of woods that is not fantastically maintained at the moment but offers wooded fairways of a few different widths and allows the trees to force shot shaping. Overall the course has a nice variety, with a little bit of everything discwise, and the ten hole stretch from 2 to 11, with the addition of 18 are a nice introduction to the sport and should appeal to most new players.
Cons:
The back half, well it doesn't match the map. Hopefully, the map represents what the course is going to be. After failing to find a tee for 12, I noticed that the basket that was located where the 12 should be said 15. And the tee that was supposed to be 13 said 16. So I guess 13-15 play out in the open fields towards the road. I missed those but the terrain didn't look interesting in any case A bunch of athletic fields in what can be the only place they were.. The actual 16 and 17 were worse. The baseball field is very much in play on those two holes and the current game going on made them unplayable. The maps showed a trio of holes in that section of woods, so hopefully the plan is to cut holes in that unused woods. That would vastly improve the course. Otherwise some way should be found to get directly from 10 to 18 and make this course a decent twelver. Nothing wrong with a twelve-hole course.
Other Thoughts: Nice beginner course that needs some work in a few areas. If matching the map is planned and the 16 and 17 are scrapped in favor of carving fairways out of that woods section, this could be very soild.
&#8195;

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

2-4    5/16/2015   5/16/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 105  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It starts out promising, with a unique hole #2 on a peninsula between a creek and a pond, with an elevated basket, but it goes bad quickly after that.
Cons: I get the sense that the course has been in much better shape in previous months or years, but when I played, the signs were dilapidated or missing, so navigation was hard, the tee boxes were overgrown or in disrepair, and poison ivy was everywhere, including in some "fairways." Yes, the water holes are cool, but it's no fun if your trekking through poison ivy to play them. High risk of losing discs in the underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I live in eastern Wake County, so the Rocky Mount courses and the southwestern Wake courses are approximately equidistant to me. But I won't be playing this course again, unless significant improvements are made. There are too many other good alternatives.

UPDATE: I played the course again and it was a little better, but not much. There was standing water everywhere. Very muddy and overgrown. However, there are more water hazard holes than most courses, so that unique feature bumps it up from a 1.0 to a 1.5. With a little TLC and minus the water, mud, and underbrush, this could be a solid course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could use polishing.

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 65  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The ~5 holes that have water in play are great. Good variety of shots through the trees. Nice to have multiple tees, although I've only played the whites.
Cons: Signage was pretty bad. It looks like they're moving some around because they were using different number signs at different holes. Tee pads were pretty bad, but we were playing in the rain.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the space, but it could use some polishing. The parking lot seems to be a common spot for high school kids to come get high too, as we saw two groups doing so as we rolled up, which did not make us feel good about leaving our car full of stuff there.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Totally mixed up

1    8/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: 252chevyboyz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing views and the water holes can be really challenging. Beautiful course though. Shots in my opinion range from Pro to Amateur so its a great course if you want to challenge yourself
Cons: Holes are NOT marked at all. Each tee box number has been changed and with the the basket for each hole is different.

I couldnt follow the course so I played random holes here and there.
Other Thoughts: I would really like the course to be re marked and I would play it 4-5 times a week like a play the Sunset course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mixing things up with the water.
- Mix of wide open, woods, over water and around water shots.
- Park for the kids if they tag along
Cons: - Sign's were not there for every hole, the wooden stands were there, but it seems they have been defaced.
- Rubber tee-pads is a very bad idea, I played off to the side of them as the ground was wet.
Other Thoughts: My least favorite course out of Rocky mounts 4 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: i love this course! some really big ace attempts and alot of birdies. pretty well maintained. 8 and 9 are the exciting ones over water shots, idk if my blood preasure rises bc of the unique shot or iam affraid to loose my disc! 12 is a nice straight bomb and if you have a good arm you can birdie this one. 13 has really gotten tought, they have added a batting cage which make it very difficult to throw. nice short woods hole 14-18 but can cause major trouble if your not accurate.
Cons: water stands really bad right after the rain. tee pads are aweful! ruber mats can cause a broken neck! advice is to throw beside the tee pad if it is wet. could use some brush clean up in the woods. some mando signs which dont really make since bc it doesnt make the shot any harder.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 115  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs made it easy to navigate the course. The water holes make a nice risk/ reward. Choose your shot carefully, my friend did not and he went swimming. Was not crowded the day we were there. The park is easy to find from the highway. Park was very clean. The multiple tees were nice for any level player to join in.
Cons: The course can be muddy so just be prepared for that. Many holes are rather short. I used my putter most of the day. There was a soccer tournament going on and they used a grassy area for parking on the fairway. (I hope that isn't common.)
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. The shorter holes were in the wooded areas which gave them more challenge. If your in the area this is definetely worth playing, I had a great time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SO much hope, so little reward

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open long holes and challenging wooded holes. Several holes near a pond that offer some good risk vs reward opportunity. Holes also placed near walkway for some good OB risk. A course that requires the use of all of your shots. Multiple tee locations for different skill levels. Good signs at tee pads.
Cons: Where to start?? Rubber tee pads over bumpy ground. This is a good place to twist an ankle or land on your arse. Many holes play around or near a walkway. You could kill a pedestrian or biker there on a good day. Watch out. Water, water, water. There is a pond that offers some decent risk, but there is also enough standing water and swamps to keep you damp all day. Hadn't rained in a while and there was still water everywhere. My impression is that this was a swamp that they turned into a disc golf course. There is also drainage culverts dumping water from the surrouning sports fields. My guess is that in Spring, Fall and Winter you need waders to play here. Maybe a nice dry summer would help. We played when about 1/3 of the fairways had 2-3 inches of standing water covering large portions of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of promise. It has some cool holes that are fun to play. Concrete tee pads would easily allow me to give this course a 2.5 or 3. If they could ever drain some water away also this could turn into a fun place. I'm just not sure it will ever happen. If you're in Rocky Mount, and North Carolina has been in an extended drought by all means go play this course. If you play it when it's wet and warm I'd be on the lookout for some reptiles. This looks like it could hold some big *ss snakes!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.