Thompson, WI 
Erin Go Bragh Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Really fun course

1    10/4/2017   10/5/2017
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 80  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Very beautiful multi-use park
good use of elevation
shorter more technical shots
great use of trees to shape lines
varied terrain
easily navigated
good baskets
wonderful disc golf experience
Cons: the tee-pads could be a little bigger
alternate tee-pads could be cool
Other Thoughts: I don't feel like a nine hole course should be held to a different rating system than an eighteen hole course so this course gets three discs cause it is a good course. Not great but the overall disc golf experience was very pleasant at this course. The holes are more challenging then they appear at first glance, especially with lots of wind! I would suggest this course to anyone looking for a quick fun round.

 Not terrible, not great...

2-4    1/18/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course spread around a city park, out in the boonies.

9 Chainstar baskets, all in good repair, and all caught well. No problems here. Baskets are in year round.

Navigation is pretty simple. Each tee pad is marked with a large rock, each of which contains hole number, distance, and a rudimentary map of the hole, all contained in a large shamrock. There's no doubting the Irish influence here!

A little bit of elevation comes into play, starting at hole 3. Most of the elevation is downhill, though...which is kind of a bummer.
Cons: The tee pads here are terrible. 4' long (maybe), concrete, and kind of raised about the ground around it. You're basically throwing a standstill, or a very truncated run up. I have to think a lot of people just tee off to the side of these.

All the holes are pretty wide open, with a few just having a few trees as obstacles. They're all in the same distance range, generally around 220-290', which can get a bit monotonous.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little city park 9 hole course, especially for how far out in the boonies it is. You won't ever set your navigation for here to play, unless you're bagging courses, or happen to be driving by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Irish themed nine

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chainstar baskets here that are all in great shape and catch well. There are large rocks at each tee pad with a shamrock painted on it with the hole layout, hole # and distances painted on them which was pretty cool. This is a pretty small park but they do a really awesome job with the course set up. They incorporate pretty much every admirable aspect of the property as far as disc golf goes. There's some solid elevation changes here especially around hole 3. The flow of the course is really easy to figure out. There aren't any long walks between holes and it ends fairly close to the beginning, not right by hole 1 but it's worth it with the course design here. Decent distances as well. Most are similar but not too many really short holes. Hole 1 is located across (north) from the town hall, easy to find. It would seem that there could be a water hazard next to hole 9 although it was dry when we went there. The course was very well mowed and maintained. They have concrete tees but they are Tiny.
Cons: The concrete tees are the main con here. These are the smallest tees I believe I have ever seen. They are maybe 3 or 4 feet long at best. It would be better if there were no tee pads and just gravel. The distances are all fairly short and similar.
Other Thoughts: I actually had a lot of fun playing here for a nine hole course. Like I said earlier the design was excellent for the available land. Nothing too flashy but I would be happy to have this near me. With that being said It's not worth a long trip out of your way but if in the area I'd recommend checking it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole if you are in the area

1    10/21/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: Mocheez
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2015
Pros: -unique course with an Irish theme, Irish Pub across the street.
-baskets are in great shape
-park is very well maintained and seldom busy
-good use of the land
Cons: -somewhat short, nothing over 300 feet
-wish there were more holes
-concrete teepads are tiny
-holes 6,7,8 are wide open and mostly flat
Other Thoughts: Nice course for a quick 9-hole round. #3, 4, and 9 are probably the most fun. Water hazard to the left on #9, although, it was just a weedy hole in the ground with this summer's dry weather.

  middle of nowhere skip the drive

5+    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: samura1234
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -located in the back of a nicely taken care of park
-nice chainstar baskets if you like chainstar
-tee signs are real cool
-decent elevation changes
-bar acrossed the street
-for what it is the course is designed alright
Cons: 2 major drawbacks of this course are
-it is very short, mids, putter drives, thumbers and tomahawks will get the job done for a 2 on any hole
-they put in these dumb little 4' long concrete pads in that you cant really use if you have any kind of a runup for a drive. its like they put them there to just stand on and throw....
if it wasn't for these two things i probably would have rated it a 2
Other Thoughts: walks between holes are very short so it makes play seem go quicker than normal for a 9 hole

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Free Course!

5+    11/17/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: geopoliticus
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Local course close to my job.
Beautiful views of rolling hills and Holy Hill
Well kept, concrete tees, and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: I wish there were more than 9 holes.
First hole doesn't feel part of the course.
Short drives.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course "Very Good", mostly because I appreciate having this as a lunch time jaunt available to me. I think this is the best course around in this area at least. The addition on the concrete tees is a nice indication that the course isn't going anywhere.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    9/30/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice little city park. A couple holes have some minor elevation changes that add some fun shots. Stands of small trees are in play on a few holes as well, making you shape some different lines and navigate a low ceiling. There is some variety in hole length while keeping the course reasonable for beginners, and you'll at least need to throw a couple left and right turning shots. The baskets are in nice shape, and the painted rock tee markers have the distance to the holes. All baskets are visible off the tee, so the lack of more detailed signage isn't a problem.
Cons: The tees are natural dirt pads that are rutted out and eroded. A couple have large rocks or roots sticking up to trip you up on the pad. The course is short overall and doesn't offer a whole lot of challenge. Many of the shots are just straight ahead without a whole lot of distance. There is a large sled hill, and a couple holes play next to it without using the potentially cool elevation it affords. Perhaps the park didn't allow the use of that feature, but it was a shame to not have a shot off the top. A few holes have long grass rough, which I'm not a big fan of. Beginners will find this especially frustrating when they throw an errant shot and have to search for their disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little beginner course with reasonable lengths. Other than a few holes with some long grass, the rough is limited and not all that punitive. More experienced players won't find much challenge or variety here. I wouldn't go out of your way to play this one.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9-holer

1    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 127  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Most holes have trees in play, and many are still small / maturing, which means the challenge will increase as years go by.
* A little bit of elevation change on the first half of the course.
* The course is in good shape (other than tees) and appealing to the eye.
* Good course for beginners, with enough challenge for intermediates.
* The "tee sign" boulders are a nice touch. They even have arrows showing you the direction of the next tee.
* Holes are spread out well, so there is very little chance of interfering with anyone else.
Cons: * Very little variety in hole lengths (all are from 215' to 285').
* Depressed, dirt teepads would seem to get very muddy.
* In the mind of this lefty-backhand at least, course seems to favor righties ... more hazards on left side, and "fairways" tend to be right-to-left.
Other Thoughts: This seems like an appropriate course for my group today ... my kids, my wife, and my father-in-law. The others are all newbies, and it was windy and started to snow, but we all had fun. Advanced players probably won't get much challenge out of the course, but it's definitely worth a play if you are in the area. I'd rather play this course twice (heck, even just once) than play 18 at nearby Heritage Trails, even if that course was free.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  If your in the area, give it a try.

1    10/5/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: noslit
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well laid out.
Good elevation changes.
Course well maintained except for tees.
Tees easy to find. Just look for the boulders.
Cons: Short.
Could be more wooded.
Other Thoughts: Good place to take girlfriend, wife or beginners. Offers fair challenge.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    5/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.4 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.