Mechanicsville, VA 
New Hanover Presbyterian Church Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #11 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Potential....one day

1    9/3/2018   9/4/2018
Review By: mshelton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging technical layout that will test your creativity
A lot of effort went into the tee signs
Some of the more unique holes in the area
Athletic field nearby for warmups
Cons: Course hasn't gotten much love over the years, overgrown, signs missing, tee markers hard to find
Single chain ring baskets
Natural and sometimes not so friendly tee pads
Other Thoughts: Despite being 20 minutes away, I had not played this course in 6 years. When it went in it was a fun little course with some funky shaped holes that really made you think about how you wanted to shape your lines and if you wanted to run a risk on the birdie or play for a safe par. Course was in nice shape, some neat bridges had been built, tee signs were unique, soccer fields at the start with the small goals perfect for practice and a nice workout for your game.

Now the course is in pretty rough shape, really grown up, a lot of tee signs are missing, tee markers are tough to find, some of the baskets have seen better days, hole 17 is pretty much unplayable (I'm sure others would consider more holes to be unplayable also) and the old soccer fields are unkept as well as the field one throws over for hole 1.

I've seen some postings in the local club group that some guys have been working on the course to try and clean it up, their work is evident on many of the middle holes in the woods and I'm happy for their efforts. This course has the potential to be a great little technical challenge, even with the base line baskets and poor tee pads, heck you really don't need a walk/run up on most holes, just a standstill or stride throw. It's a course that could really teach you how to create and control short line and make you a better player.

In the end I guess it's condition is to blame on locals like me, knowing it's there and what it could be but never playing there or giving it any love and I might just have to start doing that. I'd love to see it fully up and in great shape, would like to see it getting play too but that may be wishful thinking.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

was probably nice when first installed

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty overgrown when I played it recently, although the middle section was not as bad as the first and last couple of holes. Unfortunately, there is a field of tall grass you basically have to cross in order to play the course (and by the way, it's the fairway for hole 1.

This is a short wooded course with some fun little shots. The tee signs are high quality, engraved marble I think, with bible verses on them.

I think this was probably a nice course when it was put in. It was never going to be top notch due in part to the length of the holes, but it could be a decent course with some TLC.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, heavily wooded course

5+    8/29/2016   8/31/2016
Review By: jwood3030
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded hollow with a stream behind Hanover New Presbyterian Church. There are a variety of short and long holes with some very narrow fairways and heavy rough if you go off the fairway. Every hole except for #1 has both long and short tees. The signage is generally good and navigation is easy, except a long walk between 9 and 10 that crosses the basket from 18 and the tee for 17 to get to the tee for 10. The tees are natural, but typically dry and adequate.
It is very possible to get a 2 or 3 on most holes, or even an ace, but that can quickly escalate to a 5 or 6 if you ricochet off into the woods. I think of it as a good test of your driving ability that can be punishing if you are not on the fairway.

Some holes of note include:
#3 - straight consistent downhill which is easy to overthrow into the woods behind it
#6 - short throw down and up over a stream to a basket on a steep uphill slope
#9 - long dogleg left that ends with the hole placed to the right with the stream behind it
#12 - long straight fairway that bends right through a clearing at the end
#17 and #18 - very narrow fairways where 17 plays down the hill and 18 back up to complete the round. Both are blind shots and ridiculous in the summer.

There is also an open field that you cross to get to the course. It is used for athletics at times, but is often open and available for warming up and practicing with your discs. There is no practice basket.
Cons: I recommend only playing the course between September and April due to several summertime drawbacks:
1. Typical Richmond heat and humidity
2. Virtual certainty of wood ticks
3. Biting flies and bugs
4. Spiders and spider webs throughout the woods, even across the fairways
5. Dense underbrush that makes it easy to lose a disc (3 days ago, I spent 35 minutes searching for a disc that landed on the fairway right where I thought it was)
6. Excessive thorny underbrush that even impinges on the fairway.

I don't think it is worth the trouble to play the course during the summer unless you know the layout and what you are in for.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my local course and play it about once per week. I think it should be renamed Spider Hollow because in July-August the headline is definitely the amount of spider webs in the woods.

It is a fun and quick round that I consistently enjoy and would recommend others to play it during the winter months. All of the problems I mentioned only apply during the summer. My rating of 2.5 would really break down into a 1.5 in the depths of the summer and a 3 in the winter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Wooded Course

5+    1/9/2014   1/10/2014
Review By: Sybrik
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well defined Tees and baskets, and relatively easy to follow, slight gap between holes 9 and 10 but other than that the holes go right after one another. Tight fairways make for a challenging course. Variety of dog leg lefts and right to keep the course interesting
Cons: Extremely wooded makes it easy to lose discs, as well as unmaintained rough areas and down trees, but can be a plus for difficulty.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play and compares to surrounding courses in my opinion, if you arent nearby and are closer to gillies or bryan park it does make more sense to play there more often but whenever your looking for a course to change things up a bit this course should be your first choice for a nearby alternative. Or if your in the area its a great daily course to play and practice and when you get to a more open course it will be a breeze

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

2-4    8/1/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: Parboy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and has a veriety of holes. Blind shots, dog legs elevations. All wooded except for 1. Signs are well done and oranve arrows mark both the rout to the basket and the basket direction on blind holes.
Cons: a bit overgrown. While the course layout is good it needs some attention. Down trees, rootballs, scrub bushes in the fairways and teepads can be a hazard due to roots.
Other Thoughts: tI imagine in the fall and winnter when the weedgrass dies off it will play better but I like the technical side of some of the holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Church Course

5+    6/20/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: golfisdead
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course definitely helps when it comes to navigation. On each tee, they have a sign that tells you the par of the hole and how the hole is setup. A lot of the holes are kind of technical with all the trees which makes it a fun challenge. The course has some fun dog legs to the right and left. Hole #6 is a very fun hole because it slopes downhill from the tee pad, over a little creek, then back up a hill where the basket is at eye level. Each hole has two tee pads, a beginner and an advanced. Most holes are between 200 to 400 feet. It has orange arrows on the trees to navigate you to the next hole.
Cons: All of the tee pads are just on the ground which makes it sometimes difficult to tee off. There is a lot of places to lose your disc. The only other problem i have is that you will find yourself with a couple ticks on you by the end of the course.
Other Thoughts: Other than the course being pretty heavily wooded, it's very fun for either a beginner or a pro. The best time to go to this course is early in the morning. The good thing is you can go at night to play glow frolf.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Evander Holyfield

1    4/4/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 580  Reviewed: 378  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Navigation aids: painted basket spoke (white, red) will point you towards the next tee (short, long). Several bridges to aid in crossing small creek. Even some tree roots are spray-painted to help direct your path!
Cons:
The two-natural-tee-locations-per-hole are often tree-root filled. The rougher, less-established back nine, while quite playable, had some downed trees crossing the fairways and/or near the baskets - adding to the challenge, I suppose.
Other Thoughts:
Enjoy open hole-1 while you can, because the remainder of the course plays in a woods, composed of a mixture of mid-sized hardwoods, evergreens, and plenty of holly. A small creek runs through the midst of the front nine, and elevation changes, found on about half the holes, are subtle.

Hole lengths are quite short, averaging ~200'/235' feet from the shorts/longs, so this course is well suited towards working with midranges. The throwing paths are not exceedingly tight, and a fairly even distribution of left or right turns (some sharp, some subtle) or straight off the tee is required.

Tee signs are sometimes at the long tee, sometimes at the short tee, and a few times in-between! For the most part, the long tee was simply straight back from the short tee. Navigation wasn't too bad, but be aware of: after basket-8, after crossing bridge, tee-9 to left / basket-9 to right. After basket-9, bit of a walk to tee-10, walking just inside woods, passing basket-18.

A decent course to work on your short game, and to introduce newer players to tree-avoidance/shot-shaping.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Woods

2-4    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple sets of tees which allows the course to be entertaining for beginners and stronger players.

Well manicured brush every time I have played.

They have painted the tree roots near the basket so people don't trip.

This course is a really scenic walk through the woods. Beautiful wooded terrain!

Great tee signs which are both informative and enlightening as they contain Bible verses. That was a nice touch considering it is on church grounds.

Directions to the next tees taped onto the baskets which helps for the overall ease of navigation.
Cons: Other than the 1st hole, all of the rest are in the woods. There is an overall lack of variety.

Some of the longer tees require extreme curve on shots or very short layup shots off the tees.

Little variety in hole length.

Not a fan of the Lightning DB-5 baskets...I feel like they reject more shots than others.
Other Thoughts: Huge thanks to the church for allowing such a nice course here to be open to the public!

Current course conditions are not the best right now (edit: at the time of original review), as the hurricane and earthquake have dropped trees throughout the course. The back nine has multiple holes where the trees are down within 5 paces of the basket, and directly in front of them. Otherwise this is a nice short, narrow course that really emphasizes disc placement.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    1/10/2012   1/10/2012
Review By: seanwrodgers
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course in the woods... open hole on 1st and the rest are on in the woods... kinda difficult to find the order of some later holes but that is only because some trees have fallen in the way because of a recent earthquake/hurricane, so I dont hold that against them and in fact some trees actually make it more fun... Definitely a fun course
Cons: The trees that have fallen make the later holes a little hard to find but not impossible

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Standing On Holy Disc Golf Ground!

1    8/31/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: >This course is a tale of 2 courses, rolled into 1. The front 9 is very short and could be considered too easy, but it is absolutely beautiful. A real treat to play. The back 9, not so pretty, and gets much tougher. Add it up together, and aside from it being ALL woods but number 1, a lot of variety.

>Nice signs. Nice to know someone prayed where you are playing disc golf. A great atmosphere.
Cons: >ALL woods, but #1. If you like tight courses, you will like this, frankly, it is too much of the same thing, and sadly, they have some open property, where #1 is, so they could have got us out of it for a little bit, but didn't.

>Natural Tees :(
Other Thoughts: I have read Dorey, Gillies, and Bryant to be called the big 3, but really Gillies and Dorey have nothing over on this course, in fact, I would say this one has some better 'trimmings', especially on the front 9, very very nice. Well worth stopping by to play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.