Milton, FL 
Gator Links at NLA Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #8 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 124ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
18 Wooded shots

1    3/3/2017   4/5/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 113  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.058 Rating) A heavily wooded course of moderate length.
- NAVIGATION - Near flawless. I was pretty nervous showing up here solo, first timer and without a map, and left totally blown away by the amount of directional ques. Arrows below the basket, there are clear arrows at every pathway entrance and there are several arrows along every longer path as well.
- SHOT SHAPING - Nearly every shot has to be well thought out. You'll probably look in your bag sometimes and wonder if you can throw a disc that will move the way you need it too. Personal note, I used all 14 discs in my bag.
- CHALLENGING - Full mental focus and perfected skills required. If you're having an inaccurate day, you're going to find yourself scrambling for par quite often. There are only a couple of good looks at birdie, and that's if you hit a small gap in many instances. I personally struggled from the ams tee, as 900 rated player and I just barely cracked course par.
- RAW BEAUTY - I found the Natural Beauty to be well above average. A fully wooded course, sprinkled with a few mild elevation changes, makes for a round that simulates the senses.
- CHILL AREAS - The entire course feels like a giant chill area, with benches and shade at almost all of the tees. There are trash cans at a few tee areas as well.
- SPACING - Gator Links has well spaced out holes with no chance of running one into another fairway. The walk to the next hole is generally close by with the exceptions of parking to tee (1) and also (18) basket back to the parking.
- LOCATION - Only a ten minute drive from I10. But perhaps the best part is the fact that there's another 9 hole course literally within walking distance. See Pirates Cove @ NLA.
Cons: Gator Links isn't for everyone's tastes.
- FORGIVENESS - Having an off accuracy day here will be quite defeating. It really never lets up. 18 wooded holes, with a majority of the holes I'd consider heavily wooded, and a few that are boarder-line poke and hope shots. Hole (13) stands out as an angle-less shot.
- OVERGROWTH - I played in early March before the vegetation re-growth exploded and still found myself searching. If you play this course in the summer near the peak overgrowth period, you may end up leaving a few disks behind.
- CHARACTER - Probably about average as a whole but lacking in some aspects. For instance the hole signage description was not accurate on a few holes and a several are in need of repair. Several tees were also too short and/or were in disrepair. There is no practice basket, multiple pin placement sleeves or bag holders that you'll see many times at the older established courses. There is however (as stated above) full tee shading, benches and directional ques, plus there's a community board.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and many recreational players. I could also see higher skill lever players also not liking this course if they don't like heavily wooded technical courses.
- FINDING #1 - Although navigation between holes is excellent. Getting to tee (1) could be a journey without a map. Be sure to download the course map under the links/files tab.
- UNIQUENESS - Every shot is a technical wooded shot. Sure the finishing direction will alternate, but the wooded shots will begin to blend together hours after playing. There's a little bit of elevation which is nice for a Florida course. I think number (11) drops 10 feet or so and (16) has an interesting raised basket placement as well. Also note, other than a dry creek bed along (12) there is no water along the course layout to force a line.
Other Thoughts: A solid Course. Pro's, Advanced and most Intermediate players should enjoy the challenge. Coupled with the adjacent Pirate Cove course, a great 27 holes to play on an extended afternoon.
- LOCAL HOLE - I took a review tip to play (18) from an alternate teeing location on a ridge flanking the far right of (18's) fairway. It was my favorite throw of the round. Check out the course map for the location of the unmarked tee. The alternate tee will allow for the largest down shot of the round. Probably a 30 foot slide down or so, and the shot will need to hit one of the many 8 foot wide lane options.
- MOSQUITOS - Many other reviews commented on lots of mosquitoes. I did not encounter really any at all, however it was a cool March morning, so I think I got lucky. The course does have the look and feel of a mosquito haven.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course.

1    8/28/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A very cool nature trail with challenging but not rediculous shots.
They hold tourneys on a regular basis.
An indoor area with drink machines.
Cons: The hornets were bad. I was stung through a vein on my arm. I discovered a basketball sized hornets to the right of hole 1.*ouch*
Theres also a bee's nest in the broken tree next to the basket at hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Bring a flamethrower for the hornets.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Your bug spray needs bug spray

1    8/5/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool orange banded Innova baskets stand out in the woods, isolated from the world, all you will hear is nature, 18 holes, good signage, benches on each hole. Good hole variety and even a little elevation in an area that is generally deficient. Mostly good fairways. Front and back 9 start and finish in the same place. Good next tee signs on many holes.
Cons: The mosquitoes have mosquitoes! Some almost silly tight lines. Hidden away, it took us 2 years to find this course (jokingly...we couldn't find it on our first trip but did this time). There appears to be an archery setup right in front of one of the walking paths after hole 17 I believe. That was kind of scary. It seemed that the concrete tees were not always the shorts? The "pro" tees appeared to be more of sadist tees. Swampy on a few holes which surely didn't help with the bugs.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, really tight but mostly fair and generally not too punishing for going off line. It goes through a pine forest and then a lowlands area that was kind of marshy and then back up into the forest again. There are signs on every hole and usually next tee signs as well which is good because there are a few paths out there that are non disc golf. Based on the signs it seemed the concrete tee was not always the short box but I cannot be too sure. The longs seemed absolutely silly on a lot of holes and also tough to find (blue bricks). I would play here in the fall after the mosquitoes go away. We had enough DEET on us to cause birth defects and still had at least 3-4 of them flying around us at all times. Might want to chug a jar of quinine before coming out....Remember kids, you can't beat OFF! in the deep woods.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun College Course

1    12/26/2010   1/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded area on a pretty college campus. It's awesome to see 27 holes of disc golf on campus like this, an awesome way to introduce new players and grow the sport. Like the 9 holer across the street, this course is at a pretty good level for the intended audience. It's a little more difficult, but that is a good thing with an easier 9 for players who aren't ready for more of a challenge.

The course plays mostly through thick woods, with a few holes that feel more open but still have thick brushy rough. Most of the holes on this course will punish an errant shot with trees or brush that are dense enough to cost you strokes for getting off line. There's a nice mix of hole shapes, I felt like I used a lot of different shots here, and the course plays reasonably balanced for right and left handed players. The course is shorter from the concrete tees, but there's a little more variety and challenge from the longer tees.

The main set of tees is concrete, and the pads are fairly new and in good shape. The baskets are in decent shape and catch pretty well. The tee signs are informative, with hole distance and layout, and show the location of the alternate tees. The course is easy to follow and has pretty good flow. Both 9s loop back to the beginning of the course, great for students to play a quick 9 between classes.
Cons: This course is a little hidden away, with no parking lot near the beginning and no signage showing where the course starts. If you play the 9 holer and cross the street after hole 8, you'll go down a driveway and find the kiosk for this course, otherwise you've got a really long walk to any parking to just play the 18.

The long tees add challenge and variety, and seemed to be well designed in general, but because they're natural and a little rutted out (and not always well marked), I doubt they'll get much play. There are some spots on the course that were pretty mucky and held water, this course could get pretty sloppy in poor weather. Several holes are pretty pinbally, a little clearing would turn them from luck based holes into nice technical holes with a real line.
Other Thoughts: As I said above, I really love seeing college campus courses, and this one combined with the easier 9 across the road are a great combination to introduce and develop new players. There's enough challenge and variety here that experienced players will have to work for their deuces and will find themselves using lots of different shots. Newer players will find this course pretty challenging and punitive, but not too long.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 where are the gators?

2-4    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: beepee311
Played: 107  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice mix of holes... some open, some technical

variety of lengths

nice tees and baskets with pretty accurate tee signs with hole layout on most holes, a couple of unavailable though.

makes you bring your A game and break out some shots you may not have had to use that often


Cons: tight "fairways"

get off the beaten path and you might find yourself in a jungle... dense vegetation and rough edges i.e. branches, stumps, logs, vines, littering the place

wet and juicy in some spots

long walk from parking lot for sure
Other Thoughts: nice course to play. challenging yet rewarding. some beautiful holes and interesting designs. one of the favorite courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/10/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: Heathen
Played: 188  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course with a decent mix of left and right hand holes. Mostly shorter technical shots, but a couple of holes are more open or longer. One hole about 700' from pro tees. Most holes have both am and pro tees, but only am tees are concrete. Good signs, fairly easy to follow. Front 9 and back 9 both loop back to the start. Benches on nearly every hole. Baskets are brand new / perfect shape.
Cons: Still very rough in places, and the front 9 is easy to lose a disc if you get off course. Can get very wet after a big rain. Pro tees haven't been poured yet and are still just marked by blue bricks. The course can be hard to find if you never been here before and it's a long walk from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course being built and maintained by the Emerald Coast Disc Golf Club (ECDCG.org and ECDCG.com) and is still VERY much a work in progress. This is the sister course to the Pirate's Cove DGC, an older established 9 hole course that plays along the backside of the baseball field and track. If you're in the area, It's definitely worth playing.

The course is down a service road which is usually gated. Just walk past the gate. It's the first road on your right after you enter the PJC Milton campus.
Parking for Discers during school hours is at the very end of the parking lot at the first hole of the Pirate's Cove DGC. Take your first LEFT on the entrance road into the parking lot and follow it straight back to the end by the track and baseball field.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.