The Woodlands, TX 
Stonebridge Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice course. Lack of signs.

1    7/8/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: MCSulte
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2017
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice variety of somewhat tight lanes and some wide open fairways begging for a big bomb throw. Two water hazards are not for the faint of heart.
Cons: Signage is missing. Bring someone with you that knows their way around the course. The nice big map at tee 1 is not really accurate. Spent about an hour searching for the next tee for #5. Hint, go up the ditch bank, make a left and walk past #17 then continue to the end of the bank. #8 is... never found it. When asking the other players on course, several of them were just as lost as we were. New signage and freshen up the tee boxes and this place will be on point in every way.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Found one my dad might even like!

1    6/10/2017   6/10/2017
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visiting my folks who live in the Lake Conroe area in Texas, I wanted to get out each morning and try the local courses. My dad (age 82 next month) is wanting to find a nice, easy walk which he might intersperse with a few throws. Stonebridge Church might really fit the bill. It plays almost all flat, and has loops back to where you park, on which an older guy could work up his endurance. He can play 16, 17 & 18, then rest. When he feels ready, he could play 1-6, and expand that to 1-15, then finally play all 18. Might take him a few visits, and I know he won't focus on scoring really low, but it has shade and isn't overly punishing for even a 'beginner'.

For players at the intermediate level and above, there is some fun and variety here, with moderately tight wooded lane shots, pond crossers, and even a chance or two to air it out as far as 368 to 594 feet (on holes 5 & 6). Some of the more memorable holes include 2, which fades left to a lightly treed mound side basket position; then hole 3, which throws from atop that mound, with its mid-fairway treehouse platform; hole 7 with the chance to drive through a double mando and over the pond; and, of course 9, with its pond peninsula basket.

There are decent quality DiscCatchers, adequate tees, and benches throughout the course, and lines of flight that do require some control, but are usually reachable for a deuce chance, if you're accurate enough. In all, the course is fun, relaxing, and relatively forgiving. I'm suggesting Dad try it out.
Cons: The signage is becoming very dilapidated, and though the flow goes fairly well with a map, it could use an occasional 'next tee sign, as well. The tee pads are variable, and obviously included some early, small (4'x6') concrete, but are now mostly just-big-enough rubber mat material. I've rated the course on the fun first, and would've gone a half point higher if these elements were top notch, noting in addition that most courses that stay at the 4.0 to 5.0 level have multiple tees and/or pin positions (and that would be nice here).

When dry (as it was today), the course is awesome, but I note most of the soil is clay, and might become a slippery mess in rainy weather.
Other Thoughts: Note this is a church course, and you need to observe their rules (clearly posted by hole 1). Unfortunately, if you do put one in the pond (I did), the water is cloudy, and disc diving is prohibited. It would be nice if someone local would take a picture of the sign at hle one and post it here: it covers the course particulars and hours of play. Finally, the folks who put in this course have done a really nice job, and continue to keep it debris-cleared, mown, and maintained. I think it's probably one I'd play regularly if I lived near Conroe.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 294 courses and written 278 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/11/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to add to an already great area of disc golf courses. This course has great variety of shots, with the first few holes being in the trees to the next being open, a few more holes through the trees then finish it off with semi open holes.

There is a big course map at the beginning of the course and the tee signs at the holes are fantastic tee signs. There is slight elevation on the course and it is utilized very well

Like I have mentioned in previous reviews, I enjoy courses with lakes that come into play. This was one of those courses with a big lake that comes into play on at least three holes.

The atmosphere at this course makes this a very unique course. The course is on church property and is out of the way from pedestrian or church go-ers. The course can be crowded but it is definitely not as bad as Bear Branch or McDade, two nearby courses.
Cons: The main con of this course has to be the tee boxes. The tee boxes are wooden boxes that need a drastic update. On a course like this, something needs to be done. The tee boxes are hindering this course from being one of the better courses in all of Houston.

This course can be daunting for a new player, with lots of trees, small gaps, and throwing over water. This course is not super difficult but it can be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: In the Woodlands/Conroe area, this is my course of choice. It is more secluded and has more variety of shots compared to McDade and Bear Branch and the smaller nine holer courses in the area as well. This is a good course to play at if you are coming in from out of town.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 meh.

1    6/3/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: the seeker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course has one of the best water holes I've played.(6) It has good signs and the dirt teeboxes are fine to play on.
Cons: It's pretty boring. I shot a 50 and that was leaving a lot out there. Oh I dunno it's okay I guess.
Other Thoughts: It's good practice and definitely better than bear branch. (not as crowded and compact) We came from College Station, and I won't be back. I would rather play McDade in Conroe twice than play these two courses again.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    3/5/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: D.French
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course is unlike any I have ever played. Every hole offers something different. You really need a variety of shots to do well on this course. From wide open shots to tight wooded shots to water hazards, it makes it fun and challenging every time you play.
Cons: It's hard to get your disc out of the lake if thrown in.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course For Beginners and Pros Alike!

2-4    12/20/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: VinceTM
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is a great course all around. Very pretty and clean. There are trash dispensers along the way, and I hear that soon they will be raised up and placed on pivots so they wont rust out. The first two holes are great warm up holes, and hole three looks like it's strait out of a video game.
Cons: The mandatory hole can be a little daunting to beginners. Some of the longer Par 3's should be short Par 4's in my opinion. There needs to be some kind of bridge on hole 12.

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Great little course

1    12/15/2011   12/16/2011
Review By: frisbeeguy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great little course. Not too long so can be played fairly quickly. No long blind holes... most pins are just slightly tucked away so you can spot where to throw from tee pad. Online throws are going to get you on the green with lots of birdie chances while throws that slightly miss the line can be severely punished by the thick rough. Great signage and easy to navigate. New course "rough" but should break in nicely - let's hope locals aren't too "helpful" w/ the break-in process... no need to remove what's there just because it's in you're way! Throw out / around the obstacles - don't knock down trees / remove foliage!!!!
Cons: Tee pads are rough and will be slippery when wet. I chose to play from back of almost every teeing area. Parking is also limited near the course.
Other Thoughts: On church property. Very nice setting. At this point there was NO litter. Let's keep it that way! Pack it in - pack it out.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Finally ready for play!

5+    12/14/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: skyisblu
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great private property with a mix of trees and open areas also featuring a small lake. Very creative use of some fairways in the woods, most of which are reasonable shots with real lines. The best holes start at hole 3 and continue from there. Good flow overall, variety of left and right turns that keeps things interesting. The tee signs and signs for 'next tee' are a great finishing touch. The more open holes are where this course really shines. Holes 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 are spectacular.
Cons: The main con would be the tee boxes that the church has installed after the fact. Plain grass boxes would have been much better if they had just left them alone. The new boxes are lined with logs, which in theory is a good idea, but it does not work at all and just becomes a trip hazard. Also, the boxes were filled with dirt which is now uneven and will become muddy in no time. In many cases it is not possible to get off a good drive on the longer holes because of these tee boxes.

Also, the loss of the original four starting holes because of a parking lot going in where the course used to start is a bummer.

Hole 13 needs a few more trees removed.
Other Thoughts: Big props to the designer for keeping the vision alive and seeing the plan through after several years. Although the course lost some distance and starts with some shorty holes, it still manages to have plenty of variety and high fun factor.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Coming along nicely!

2-4    12/14/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: FlyinBryan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Had a great time playing the course with some friends today. The redesign of the first 4 fairways makes for some nice finesse shots without throwing your arm out on long range shots from the start.
The setting of this course is one of it's greatest assets. Very quite and peaceful park like setting without pedestrians on sidewalks cutting through or along fairways. What could be better?
This course offers good selection of long, short, left and right hand fairways. Great water feature that comes into play on 3 holes and apparently is pretty deep and has very large Gar in it.
Cons: Although this course has a great setting and is coming along very nicely it still has rough tee boxes preventing a higher rating in my opinion. This is going to be one of the premier courses in the north Houston area once it's broke in and finished.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lot's of work still

1    1/2/2010   3/7/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2011
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: (Please refer to current reviews until I can update my review to better reflect the major changes to this course.)

The park is currently being redesigned, and thank God for it. I walked and played the holes that I could, and found all of them to be harder, longer, and more innovative. Since it is still in the redesign phase, I'm leaving the links to other courses in the area you may want to hit instead or in conjunction with this course.

Bear Branch Park - (Short and tight)

Terramont Park - (Big elevation & literally 2 miles away.)

McDade Park - (Great layout and newly redesigned - North in Conroe.)

Spring Valley DGC - (28 holes, challenging, pay to play)

If you live in the area, and want to practice your mid-range shots and your putting without having to worry about other golfers - this may actually be your place. Think of this course more as practice until the final design is finished for when you would play the surrounding courses.
Cons: (Please refer to current reviews until I can update my review to better reflect the major changes to this course.)

Again - the course has gone from having one foot in the grave to being born into new life. However, there are only the old signs and tee boxes, which are no help, and no new boxes are set up yet.

A map isn't a luxury here - at this point it is a must. The following is the link the Houston DG Forums that show the most current map, http://www.hfds.org/vbull/sho...;postcount=37

Only nine of the 18 holes (holes 1-9 it looked like from the map) are currently installed, and it may take a while for the others to get in since raising money for them can be a tedious process.
Other Thoughts: (Please refer to current reviews until I can update my review to better reflect the major changes to this course.)

There is still a long way to go before there is a finished product at Stonebridge, but I have new hope that a good course is coming.

My original rating was half a star, and I'm bumping it to 1.5 discs, which by definition is now passable. My guess is though in the future it may be reasonable to see 3 discs and above as a typical rating for this new 18-holer.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.