Livingston, AL 
The Tiger Trail @ UWA Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Needs More Investment

1    4/9/2018   7/6/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (1.573 Rating) A very wide open layout that will be welcoming to beginners thru lower recreational players.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Due to only a few overgrowth areas and no water hazards, this would be an ideal course to bring a beginner to. The course is also good for novice and recreational players depending on personal tastes.
- QUICK PLAY - I think the course plays really quick for an 18. I did my blind solo round here in just over 45 minutes. I think this will translate into 90 minutes for a group of 4 seasoned players.
- FUN FACTOR - I think The Tiger Trail course has somewhat of an easy going feel to it. As mentioned, no hazards and little overgrowth. There are lots of birdie opportunities for rec players and ace runs for higher skilled players. There's also a few opportunities to air them out for players that max out at 325/350.
- ROOM TO MODIFY - I checked Google maps and couldn't help but notice that the University has some completely unused wooded areas on the north portion of the campus. Why the layout didn't encroach at least a couple shots into this area is mind boggling.

Cons: Skilled players attending school here will be throwing safari rounds.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Recreation players who are able to throw 300 feet should have no problem breaking par on this course. Advanced players that go to school here should probable be able to throw rounds below 45 routinely. There are a few tee shots over 300 feet, but there are even more tee shots that are 250 feet or less.
- LACK OF SHOT SHAPING - With the extent of the openness, one can expect a round with very little thought process on the tee. Most holes I just looked at the hole distance, and then quickly grabbed a disc and threw. Way too many holes can be attacked from every angle.
- CHARACTER - Below average, but perhaps it's just a matter of time before this young course starts getting the typical amenities. Hole signage is simple. No community board or course map currently on site. No restrooms or shelter near the layout and only one set of tees.
- LACK OF ELEVATION - The site in not flat by any means but just about all the elevation changes are minor. Figure the most any one hole changes is 15 feet with the slope angle never exceeding 15 degrees. The course however should be great for disc golf carts.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to a lack of elevation, way too many open plays. There are four holes out here without a tree in play. Thirteen of the remaining fourteen holes I'd classify as lightly wooded, and only one holes, (14) I'd label as moderately wooded. There is no water in play. There are a few nice swales around baskets that could bring in a death role, which is where the disc catches an edge and roles 30 feet or more away.
- WIND - I didn't luck out, there was a lot of wind the day I came out here. Considering the openness, I'd bet that it's not an uncommon occurrence.
- RAW BEAUTY - The upkeep at the University appears to be solid. The slopes of the open fields and some fringe wooded areas add to some appeal. But again, the biggest issue is the lack of trees in play. Please plant some trees UWA.

Other Thoughts: One of the lower 18s I've scored. It's not that the course is a terrible experience, it's just that average courses that I've been playing are offering so much more in both game play and amenities. The Tiger Trail will however fill its role by introducing the sport to more players as the layout is about as forgiving as they get. Players that prefer even just a modest amount of technical challenge will have to go elsewhere. There is just nothing here that gets the imaginative juices flowing.
- NAVIGATION - Its marginal. Despite no map on site or online, the course is traversable, but not a walk in the park. I found all but (5) tee sign and (16) basket. The course makes a counterclockwise loop, starting at five o'clock. Most tee signs are viewable from the prior basket. A few of the original signs have been replaced by the cheap vinyl and aluminum prong ground signs similar to those from campaigning politicians.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Very pretty campus
-Good use of elevation
Cons: -No:
trashcan
benches
tee signs on #5, #10 & #14
no convenient restrooms
shade
-Very Hot
-Too open, few holes with obsticles
Other Thoughts: After reading the other reviews dated 3 years ago, I expected the worst. What I got was a pleasant surprise. Although the course wasn't very difficult the heat made it a different kind of challenge. Fairly easy to navigate, as long as you know #5 is to the right of the second tree after #4; #10 is in the right corner near the gravel road after #9: #14 is on an almost parallel path to the road from #13

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and HOT

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Good for all skill levels

2) well Mowed fairways

3) Navigation is fairly self explanitory

4) good signs for each hole (although one was missing)

5) good use of elevation in an open field setting
Cons: 1) grass tees

2) All holes from like 225' to 350' ... no real long holes

3) WIDE OPEN

4) very hot in summer
Other Thoughts: course was well built considering it's mostly in an open field. Many Birdie/ Ace oppurtunities for anyone who has a 300' accurate drive.

VERY hot in summer, no shade, bring extra water

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It was the best of times...it was the worst of times...

1    2/5/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can see the basket from nearly every tee box and make your decision on which disc to use each time. I have taken pictures of each tee box and sign, however the file sizes are too big on the photos. This is a decent course to teach a friend or child to learn on.
Cons: It's not a challenging course really. Very few obstacles. I used only 3 discs throughout the course. Distances can be overthrown easily by an experienced player. In addition to this, I was very disappointed in the distances between pins and subsequent tee pads. Sometimes there were more distances between holes than in the holes themselves.
Other Thoughts: I have met the course designer and can say that this is not exactly the best course he has designed. I believe that this course could have been better, but I can understand site limitations and college budgets can affect the overall experience of the game. I would not recommend this as a sole destination to play at, however if you are going through the area or are stopping by Livingston, this would be worth throwing to get your arm warm and to also add another course to your playing history.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beginner friendly

2-4    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 137  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice use of hilly terrain. most holes play either up or downhill and some are shooting into the sides of hills. Good course for beginners as there are not a lot of real obstacles. I took my 10 year old and his friend and they were ok there.
Cons: Not a great amount of hole variety. Trees and obstacles are kind of sparse. many holes are just about wide open although there is elevation change. No standout signature holes. Course does not appear to be well maintained as grass was high in areas and some tee signs were either on the ground or missing entirely. Tees are natural and some were overgrown with grass. The course flows ok but there are no signs directing you to the next tee so we spent some time looking for them. No sign at the beginning of the course and no maps to help you get started. There were no bathrooms or other facilities that I saw. The course is next to a student center but it did not appear to be open.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing there but it is not a course I would put a priority on playing again. Nice if you're in the area but probably not worth a drive. It is an easy course and not very long so if you are new to the sport and/or have children it might work for you. Roads and softball fields are OB and can come into play but are pretty easily avoided by experienced players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tiger Trail @ The University of West Alabama

5+    1/23/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: Coach
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Great for all skill levels.
* Easy to navigate
* Beautiful area and family friendly
Cons: * Open course so wind can come into play
* Tee signs scheduled to be installed, but as of 1/24/09 not installed.
Other Thoughts: * All roads and softball fields OB.
* Course designed by Tom Monroe

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.