Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great compliment to Angry Beaver

5+    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 18 holes with highly visible yellow baskets in good shape.

+ Dual tees for each hole, and they're all well made.

+ Very informative tee signs depicting both tees for each hole, and directing you to the next basket.

+ Dead simple navigation, no map required.

+ Pretty good variety between lines demanded on each hole. Nice mix of straight shots, left turning shots and right turning shots. Has some minor elevation in play on some holes, such as #9, #14 and #17, that make things a little more interesting.

+ Nice mix of length. Manages to squeeze in a 367' long hole, a handful of 300'+ shots, all the way down to 127' for #15 short. The lengths fit the nature of the course, and combined with the trees forming technical lines strikes a good balance for its intended audience.

+ Nice mix of more open shots VS more technical lines. It never feels overly wooded for a rec level player, but avoids the boring, wide open feel of nearby elementary school 9 hole courses.

+ Very well defined fairways. This course sees a lot of use so everything is well broken in. There isn't anywhere you're at risk of losing a disc besides #15 which plays next to a water hazard, and if you manage to shoot really deep on #17 there's some thick rough ~30' behind the basket.

+ 3 practice baskets!

+ Situated in the same property as Angry Beaver, a long and technical 18 hole course that compliments the easier Eager Beaver very well. Playing them both in one trip is popular with the locals.

+ Plenty of ace runs.

+ Restrooms and water fountains on site.
Cons: - If you are looking for a long, challenging course you're better off playing Angry Beaver. Angry is one of Charlotte's hardest courses, and in my opinion the toughest. Eager can be managed pretty easily with just a neutral mid and a putting putter if you play at an intermediate to advanced level.

- Not much in the way of doglegs. The holes that require a hyzer line tend to be pretty mellow, making the course feel like it leans on straight shots a little too much. Having some more bends in the fairways would teach better line shaping in my opinion.

- Despite being pretty wooded, the course lacks the feeling of isolation that even the adjacent Angry Beaver manages to offer. It's a popular course, so there's always other groups. The first few holes and the last three play next to the parking lot of park road. Many of the holes around #4-#8 play next to a rec center building and a second parking lot. The most secluded holes (10-14) border a neighborhood.

- Few benches. Shouldn't be a concern on such a short, shaded course, but I figured I'd mention it.
Other Thoughts: Eager Beaver is a solid course aimed towards rec and intermediate players. It's the perfect compliment to Angry Beaver, whether you're looking for a quick warm-up or you want a morale boost after Angry beats you down.

I think Winget has a more refined shot selection and would choose that as my favorite short 18 hole course in the southern half of Charlotte, but I've always had fun at Eager Beaver.

This is a wonderful course for more casual players who are more about having a fun, stress free round than playing long and demanding courses. None of the holes are super demanding, the flow is great and there's barely any possibilities of losing a disc on an errant toss. Good place to play with a large group as the rounds move quick.

Elon Park is definitely a destination for Disc Golfers of all levels, as it offers something for everyone from beginner to high level pro.

Were it just Eager with no Angry, I wouldn't feel the same, but the two courses really pair together well, the same way Renny Gold and Renske compliment one another to cater to a wide array of skill sets.

I prefer playing Angry first with a full bag, then playing a quick round at Eager after taking all my discs over speed 7 out of my bag. It's a nice way to unwind mentally after such a demanding round, and who doesn't enjoy some ace runs?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/10/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: adamwn9
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good signs and concrete tee pads - signs are much better and accurate than Angry Beaver
-Multiple tee pads
-Most of the holes are gettable - none are too hard
-Enjoyable for players of all ability
-Can play a round in a short time, but still feel good about getting a round in
Cons: -Some holes seem too short
-Not very difficult for semi-experienced players, but still worth your time
Other Thoughts: It is a decent course. It is very short, but I see it as a warmup for the Angry version. I'll play this one if I don't have time to play Angry Beaver. I can finish in 30-45 minutes, which is prefect for a pit stop on the way home from work. It is good for what it is, and it is a nice course to bring a beginner to without them getting too frustrated with the difficulty level.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great warm up course

5+    8/12/2012   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a much shorter course than the angry beaver but it's a great warm up course. I usually play this before moving on to the more challenging side of the course. It offers a dryer approach to the game and allows for you to rip a few good drives. Your mid-range game will really step up nicely if you are an intermediate to advanced player. It allows you to fine tune your approaches and test the distance of your mid range throws.
Cons: It's short, but take it for what it is and the course will play just fine.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well broken in

5+    9/8/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: tom12003
Played: 149  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most popular course(s) in Charlotte, based on the number of players using it; there are a lot of casual players on non-school days or after school (high school) and is an intermediate level but fun course, The more advanced players would probably enjoy its next door course--the Angry Beaver. Short tees (probably a 2.7-2.9 rating) on the Eager Beaver is a 45-55 minute play while the long tees (probably a 3.3-3.5 rating) take about 65-75 minutes, both without crowds. The new tee signs on both layouts are well appreciated. Both tees require hitting your line on the tee shots (d*mn Stan McDaniel trees)--hit the line and have a good birdie chance, miss you will need to scramble to save par.
Cons: If after a challenge, play Angry Beaver (it could easily make you mad) but newbies will be challenged on Eager Beaver. Many previous reviews commented on poor signage; this is no longer an issue. The course flows well, but if you follow the DGCR course maps, a reconfiguration scrambled the distances on holes 4, 5, and 6.

During crowded times, expect delays from novice groups ahead of you.

There are really no memorable signature holes, but there is a remarkable variety of required shots overall. Still leaves you a little thirsty for those 1-2 super holes.
Other Thoughts: Both the Eager and Angry Beaver courses are named after a long-time Disc Golf Hall-of-Famer, Alan Beaver, who was instrumental in allowing the Charlotte Club to get access and permission to build 17+ tournament courses in the county.

Eager Beaver is a really good warm-up course for taking on its harder next-door cousin.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver

5+    5/24/2013   1/9/2016
Review By: dndelli
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eager Beaver at Elon Park is sometimes overshadowed by the newer Angry Beaver for experience players. Though Angry is one of my favorite courses, Eager is an absolute blast to play. The fact that it is right next to another top quality course is just an added bonus.

This course features both long and short tees making it a great course for both beginners and intermediate golfers. Advanced and Experienced players may use it as a warm up or a place to take friends who are just beginning to learn the game. There is a lot of variety on this course: different shots to take, different elevation changes, a couple split fairways, and a potential water carry (Hole #15 Hyzer Route).

The course starts off fairly simple, but picks up slightly as you get a few holes in. This course is a great place who struggle with technical shots to begin touching up their finesse game.
Cons: Some of the tees feel bit short (and I rarely use a lot of space on the tees to begin with).There is also a distinct lack of both benches and trashcans around the course.

Some might complain that it simply isn't challenging enough, but those who are looking to test their mettle can hop across the parking lot and play Angry Beaver. I do not consider this a true con.
Other Thoughts: Eager Beaver will always, and I mean always have a place in my heart. One day some friends and I decided to play 63 holes of Disc Golf in one day. We started with Eager Beaver - Long and it was going absolutely terrible. On Hole #10 I had had enough of the course, stepped onto the tee pad and just threw my disc out of sight without taking anytime to aim or set my drive up. Within the next 5-6 seconds we heard the distinctive "chinking" sound associated with the chains. My first ace.

That being said, this course is an amazing course for Ace attempts.

Favorite Holes: 8, 10, 13, 15

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver visit

1    12/25/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short tees were great for my 10 year old. This course has great drainage which after a week of rain was a huge plus. I threw a Roc3 or putter on almost every hole but still had a great time.
Cons: Tee pads are short, signage is damaged but the layout is obvious enough that it didn't matter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, fun beginner/practice course

2-4    10/20/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: SpainKiller
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Reasonably varied layout, with some open holes and some tree'd up tight lines too. Nothing too long - and that's FINE. Not every course needs to be beasted out. The shorts are a perfect beginner/kids course. The longer tees are a nice practice run/confidence builder.
- Favorite holes were:
* No. 1 - a great slightly downhill opener
* No. 8 - cool split fairway
* No. 17 - Gorgeous sweeping downhiller with lake on right
- Good, visible discatchers on every hole. Fairways are well worn in.
- Great course to practice on or to bring kids to.
- Two sets of tees are nice.
- Course is in a good area, and is fairly well trafficked.
- Great three basket practice area.
Cons: - Could be better marked. Some signs are broken/down.
- Concrete pads are on the short side.
- Couple of holes seem repetitive.
- Probably couldn't hurt to cut a few more trees down, esp on the back nine. Nos. 11 & 15 come to mind as a bit jail-y
Other Thoughts: This is in many ways a throwback to old timers like Kilborne, and as someone who used to play 10-15 yrs ago and is recently back into the game - I love it for what it is. I can see this course - along with it's angry partner - being my home base.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Starter Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 106  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My disc golf addiction was born and grew at the Eager Beaver.

As previous reviews have stated, this is a great beginner-friendly course. There are two sets of tees, with the "super shorts" coming in at less than 200 feet per hole, on average. Even though it's a very beginner-focused course, it's still a good one that intermediate players will find enjoyable as a warm-up round before the Angry Beaver (or a cool-down to help repair a shattered ego).

From the long tees, there are some challenging, technical shots here. There's a good mix of tightly wooded and open holes. My favorite hole is #17, which has a huge, over-sized tee pad and throws downhill, with the lake off to the right.

The other big pro for me on this course is the beauty of the park. The setting is a mature forest, so playing in the fall with the changing leaves is just about a perfect afternoon in North Carolina.
Cons: This isn't a challenging course, especially by Charlotte standards. If you're looking for something more advanced, hop next door to the Angry Beaver or any of Charlotte's other, much more challenging courses.

There can be crowds here, depending on when you plan.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a pro- or advanced-level course, the Eager Beaver isn't the one for you. But if you're just starting out or want to introduce someone to the game, this is a darn near perfect course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!!!

1    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: AlmostAweful
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the course is easy to find up to the first tee, great tees, the pars are makable for a beginners on the short tees and are challenging for more experienced on the long tees, for the most part the next hole is easy to find, hole, and errant shots are pretty easy to find.
Cons: A few of the tee signs were knocked over and this made finding the right tees a little more difficult and the first tee wasn't clearly marked!
Other Thoughts: Loved the course!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Creative short course!

1    1/8/2015   1/12/2015
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The short course at this facility is appropriately named Eager Beaver, and it would make me eager to play more disc golf if I were new to the game. I would not only introduce people to the game here, but would also play this course on every visit in addition to its Angry cousin.

Two tee pads per hole create two experiences here. The short tees are perfect for beginners or anyone looking to have a fun and casual short game. The long tees usually add an extra level of challenge (sometimes technical, and sometimes in extra length only). It's an even mix of open, moderately wooded, and tightly wooded holes. The designer cleverly made some of the short tees an open run to the pin, while the long tees in the same holes have just enough trees in the line to add some pucker factor. Most of the holes are fairly short, but there are a few longer ones and some of the shorter ones (especially #8 - a nasty wall of trees blocking you from both tees) will punish you if you hit a tree early.
Cons: Things are pretty tight, space- wise, and it seemed there would be many ways to get hit by discs coming from adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course may not "wow" more experienced players, but I found it to be very a enjoyable way to feel better about my game after the Angry Beaver handed me my arse. I think there's a place for these types of courses and am glad they have made courses for a variety of skill levels. The only thing lacking at Elon is a mid-grade course to balance out the Easy (Eager) and Hard (Angry). But that's asking a lot, I suppose.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.