Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #5 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Great compliment to Angry Beaver

5+    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 18 holes with highly visible yellow baskets in good shape.

+ Dual tees for each hole, and they're all well made.

+ Very informative tee signs depicting both tees for each hole, and directing you to the next basket.

+ Dead simple navigation, no map required.

+ Pretty good variety between lines demanded on each hole. Nice mix of straight shots, left turning shots and right turning shots. Has some minor elevation in play on some holes, such as #9, #14 and #17, that make things a little more interesting.

+ Nice mix of length. Manages to squeeze in a 367' long hole, a handful of 300'+ shots, all the way down to 127' for #15 short. The lengths fit the nature of the course, and combined with the trees forming technical lines strikes a good balance for its intended audience.

+ Nice mix of more open shots VS more technical lines. It never feels overly wooded for a rec level player, but avoids the boring, wide open feel of nearby elementary school 9 hole courses.

+ Very well defined fairways. This course sees a lot of use so everything is well broken in. There isn't anywhere you're at risk of losing a disc besides #15 which plays next to a water hazard, and if you manage to shoot really deep on #17 there's some thick rough ~30' behind the basket.

+ 3 practice baskets!

+ Situated in the same property as Angry Beaver, a long and technical 18 hole course that compliments the easier Eager Beaver very well. Playing them both in one trip is popular with the locals.

+ Plenty of ace runs.

+ Restrooms and water fountains on site.
Cons: - If you are looking for a long, challenging course you're better off playing Angry Beaver. Angry is one of Charlotte's hardest courses, and in my opinion the toughest. Eager can be managed pretty easily with just a neutral mid and a putting putter if you play at an intermediate to advanced level.

- Not much in the way of doglegs. The holes that require a hyzer line tend to be pretty mellow, making the course feel like it leans on straight shots a little too much. Having some more bends in the fairways would teach better line shaping in my opinion.

- Despite being pretty wooded, the course lacks the feeling of isolation that even the adjacent Angry Beaver manages to offer. It's a popular course, so there's always other groups. The first few holes and the last three play next to the parking lot of park road. Many of the holes around #4-#8 play next to a rec center building and a second parking lot. The most secluded holes (10-14) border a neighborhood.

- Few benches. Shouldn't be a concern on such a short, shaded course, but I figured I'd mention it.
Other Thoughts: Eager Beaver is a solid course aimed towards rec and intermediate players. It's the perfect compliment to Angry Beaver, whether you're looking for a quick warm-up or you want a morale boost after Angry beats you down.

I think Winget has a more refined shot selection and would choose that as my favorite short 18 hole course in the southern half of Charlotte, but I've always had fun at Eager Beaver.

This is a wonderful course for more casual players who are more about having a fun, stress free round than playing long and demanding courses. None of the holes are super demanding, the flow is great and there's barely any possibilities of losing a disc on an errant toss. Good place to play with a large group as the rounds move quick.

Elon Park is definitely a destination for Disc Golfers of all levels, as it offers something for everyone from beginner to high level pro.

Were it just Eager with no Angry, I wouldn't feel the same, but the two courses really pair together well, the same way Renny Gold and Renske compliment one another to cater to a wide array of skill sets.

I prefer playing Angry first with a full bag, then playing a quick round at Eager after taking all my discs over speed 7 out of my bag. It's a nice way to unwind mentally after such a demanding round, and who doesn't enjoy some ace runs?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/10/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: adamwn9
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good signs and concrete tee pads - signs are much better and accurate than Angry Beaver
-Multiple tee pads
-Most of the holes are gettable - none are too hard
-Enjoyable for players of all ability
-Can play a round in a short time, but still feel good about getting a round in
Cons: -Some holes seem too short
-Not very difficult for semi-experienced players, but still worth your time
Other Thoughts: It is a decent course. It is very short, but I see it as a warmup for the Angry version. I'll play this one if I don't have time to play Angry Beaver. I can finish in 30-45 minutes, which is prefect for a pit stop on the way home from work. It is good for what it is, and it is a nice course to bring a beginner to without them getting too frustrated with the difficulty level.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well broken in

5+    9/8/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: tom12003
Played: 148  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most popular course(s) in Charlotte, based on the number of players using it; there are a lot of casual players on non-school days or after school (high school) and is an intermediate level but fun course, The more advanced players would probably enjoy its next door course--the Angry Beaver. Short tees (probably a 2.7-2.9 rating) on the Eager Beaver is a 45-55 minute play while the long tees (probably a 3.3-3.5 rating) take about 65-75 minutes, both without crowds. The new tee signs on both layouts are well appreciated. Both tees require hitting your line on the tee shots (d*mn Stan McDaniel trees)--hit the line and have a good birdie chance, miss you will need to scramble to save par.
Cons: If after a challenge, play Angry Beaver (it could easily make you mad) but newbies will be challenged on Eager Beaver. Many previous reviews commented on poor signage; this is no longer an issue. The course flows well, but if you follow the DGCR course maps, a reconfiguration scrambled the distances on holes 4, 5, and 6.

During crowded times, expect delays from novice groups ahead of you.

There are really no memorable signature holes, but there is a remarkable variety of required shots overall. Still leaves you a little thirsty for those 1-2 super holes.
Other Thoughts: Both the Eager and Angry Beaver courses are named after a long-time Disc Golf Hall-of-Famer, Alan Beaver, who was instrumental in allowing the Charlotte Club to get access and permission to build 17+ tournament courses in the county.

Eager Beaver is a really good warm-up course for taking on its harder next-door cousin.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver

5+    5/24/2013   1/9/2016
Review By: dndelli
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eager Beaver at Elon Park is sometimes overshadowed by the newer Angry Beaver for experience players. Though Angry is one of my favorite courses, Eager is an absolute blast to play. The fact that it is right next to another top quality course is just an added bonus.

This course features both long and short tees making it a great course for both beginners and intermediate golfers. Advanced and Experienced players may use it as a warm up or a place to take friends who are just beginning to learn the game. There is a lot of variety on this course: different shots to take, different elevation changes, a couple split fairways, and a potential water carry (Hole #15 Hyzer Route).

The course starts off fairly simple, but picks up slightly as you get a few holes in. This course is a great place who struggle with technical shots to begin touching up their finesse game.
Cons: Some of the tees feel bit short (and I rarely use a lot of space on the tees to begin with).There is also a distinct lack of both benches and trashcans around the course.

Some might complain that it simply isn't challenging enough, but those who are looking to test their mettle can hop across the parking lot and play Angry Beaver. I do not consider this a true con.
Other Thoughts: Eager Beaver will always, and I mean always have a place in my heart. One day some friends and I decided to play 63 holes of Disc Golf in one day. We started with Eager Beaver - Long and it was going absolutely terrible. On Hole #10 I had had enough of the course, stepped onto the tee pad and just threw my disc out of sight without taking anytime to aim or set my drive up. Within the next 5-6 seconds we heard the distinctive "chinking" sound associated with the chains. My first ace.

That being said, this course is an amazing course for Ace attempts.

Favorite Holes: 8, 10, 13, 15

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver visit

1    12/25/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short tees were great for my 10 year old. This course has great drainage which after a week of rain was a huge plus. I threw a Roc3 or putter on almost every hole but still had a great time.
Cons: Tee pads are short, signage is damaged but the layout is obvious enough that it didn't matter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Starter Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 97  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My disc golf addiction was born and grew at the Eager Beaver.

As previous reviews have stated, this is a great beginner-friendly course. There are two sets of tees, with the "super shorts" coming in at less than 200 feet per hole, on average. Even though it's a very beginner-focused course, it's still a good one that intermediate players will find enjoyable as a warm-up round before the Angry Beaver (or a cool-down to help repair a shattered ego).

From the long tees, there are some challenging, technical shots here. There's a good mix of tightly wooded and open holes. My favorite hole is #17, which has a huge, over-sized tee pad and throws downhill, with the lake off to the right.

The other big pro for me on this course is the beauty of the park. The setting is a mature forest, so playing in the fall with the changing leaves is just about a perfect afternoon in North Carolina.
Cons: This isn't a challenging course, especially by Charlotte standards. If you're looking for something more advanced, hop next door to the Angry Beaver or any of Charlotte's other, much more challenging courses.

There can be crowds here, depending on when you plan.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a pro- or advanced-level course, the Eager Beaver isn't the one for you. But if you're just starting out or want to introduce someone to the game, this is a darn near perfect course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creative short course!

1    1/8/2015   1/12/2015
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The short course at this facility is appropriately named Eager Beaver, and it would make me eager to play more disc golf if I were new to the game. I would not only introduce people to the game here, but would also play this course on every visit in addition to its Angry cousin.

Two tee pads per hole create two experiences here. The short tees are perfect for beginners or anyone looking to have a fun and casual short game. The long tees usually add an extra level of challenge (sometimes technical, and sometimes in extra length only). It's an even mix of open, moderately wooded, and tightly wooded holes. The designer cleverly made some of the short tees an open run to the pin, while the long tees in the same holes have just enough trees in the line to add some pucker factor. Most of the holes are fairly short, but there are a few longer ones and some of the shorter ones (especially #8 - a nasty wall of trees blocking you from both tees) will punish you if you hit a tree early.
Cons: Things are pretty tight, space- wise, and it seemed there would be many ways to get hit by discs coming from adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course may not "wow" more experienced players, but I found it to be very a enjoyable way to feel better about my game after the Angry Beaver handed me my arse. I think there's a place for these types of courses and am glad they have made courses for a variety of skill levels. The only thing lacking at Elon is a mid-grade course to balance out the Easy (Eager) and Hard (Angry). But that's asking a lot, I suppose.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where you begin

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 374  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Much like Bailey on the north side of town this course is the place to take someone who is just starting. I saw a group of 7 or 8 kids and there parents using lids having a blast on this course from the shorts. It may be the easiest course when you play all short pads.

The longs are not all beginner friendly and can be a fun challenge to the more experienced players before or after they play angry.

Teepads are good enough for what shots are there because you dont need a massive run-up for most of these holes.

Hole 17 is a lot of fun to throw!
Cons: Some teepads get close to baskets which I'd imagine was tough to avoid in such a small area.

Although its pretty straight forward there is very little if no directional signage.

Very few trashcans. and no benches

It can be confusing to newcomers which course is which because the first few holes of angry arnt very long so theyre thinking" man I can do this" then holes 4 and 5 hit them hard.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a fun play and an accuracy challenge from the longs. Also if you are traveling through it is a nice warmup or cooldown before/after Angry has its way with you. Its worth the play since angry is right there nearbye.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Personal Favorite

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: bamadawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Clear fairways and good layout. Discatchers all in good shape. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Short tees are fair for beginners; long tees can challenge seasoned players. Practice basket in parking lot is a plus.
Cons: Can get crowded unless you play early or off peak times. Some of the rough can be unforgiving. Signage on last few holes missing, but does not affect play.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will play more often, as it is great for finesse practice. Good, quick rounds are possible. My personal favorite so far!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Fun

1    6/30/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, short course, great for playing with the family...
- Two tee boxes on each hole
- Contained within very nice park
- Great warm-up for much longer and more challenging course that is right next-door (within the same park)
- Often played so minimal undergrowth
- Decent hole maps
Cons: - All par 3s
- Very short and easy for experienced players, virtually no holes where you should not be putting on your second shot
- No benches at the tee boxes
- Hardly any trash cans throughout the course

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.