Chattanooga, TN 
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Don't Throw It In The Dog Park

1    11/23/2017   1/31/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.123 Rating) An entertaining short and technical 9 hole course.
- TEES - For a nine holer, really nice tees. Concrete and 5 feet wide by 12 feet long and all of them were in great condition. Tee (2) however did have the back of the pad's foundation exposed.
- RAW BEAUTY - Above average. Seven of the nine shots are fully wooded and pleasurable to play. Not 5 star looks on these holes but I'd give them a solid 3 overall. There is a chain link fence from the dog park that comes in view but its impact was minimal. Hole (7) and (8) were the only slightly below average looking holes.
- ELEVATION - Every hole on this 9 hole course has some elevation to it. Nothing all that major but every hole varies between 10 and 25 feet. Hole (3) was my favorite being a 20 to 25 foot down shot pocketing to the right.
- SHOT SHAPING - Just about every tee shot has a defined line that will require the disc to move. (4) is an insanely difficult uphill left bender where it seems to border on fairness.
- QUICK PLAY - Like just about every 9 hole course, it seems like you can get in and out on this course in 30 minutes solo. Figure a group of four in less than an hour.
Cons: A solid 9 that most will wish it were18.
- NAVIGATION - Mostly not too bad but it could be much better. I spent about five minutes looking for tee (5). There is no course map on site and the one on DGCR is particularly confusing on the (4) to (5) transition. Backtrack back down (4s) fairway for about a hundred feet and there's a 6 foot wide unmarked tunnel pathway. The course could really use a few well placed directional cues.
- CHARACTER - The basic are good. Nice Chainstar baskets and solid tees as stated in the pros. However after nailing these two items, everything else comes up short. For starters, the hole signage is almost useless. No extra tees or alternate basket locations or practice basket. No seating at the tees either.
- UNIQUENESS - Not to be confused with shot shaping (see pros), Shepherd lacks the diversity of your average 18 hole course. There are no water features other than dry washes and elevation as mentioned above, is limited to 25 feet on any one given hole. There are no dogleg holes or par 4's or 5's. There is one big left bending shot, but no shot however bends that much in the opposite direction. The only time I didn't throw RHBH was on (3) where I flicked one.
- FORGIVENESS - Not all that bad but missing your shot can be quite punishing on a few areas of this course. The overgrowth can be thick but its generally not oppressive.
- SHORT - Wow, the longest hole out here is 270 feet. Many players will need nothing more than a midrange unless they throw half effort drivers for large arcing plays.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Although I didn't shoot well, I still feel that this course seems most appropriate for rec level players. In addition to the short length, the lanes are adequately spaced for those rated over 850. Figure the average rec player will shoot around par out here. Advanced players shooting this course will probable average 5 to 6 down.
Other Thoughts: A fun little 9 that will entertain those that live within a few miles. I have it rated about 1/4 point higher than two other 9s I've played in the area, Portland Park and 9 on Top. Unfortunately Shepherd is not going to test a players skills like that of The Sinks or Camp Jordan, but I'd be willing to bet that the purpose for this course was to be more rec friendly, mission accomplished. The course will work well for those newer to the game and build up a player's skill so they can go play the before mentioned courses. In all however, this is not a destination course for those outside of town unless they are trying rack up as many courses as possible.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

alright course

1    2/5/2017   2/5/2017
Review By: benwilly
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: -signs at every tee telling you the distance
-good trail leading to each tee off
-decent technical skill development with curves and trees to avoid
-good tee off pads
-nice chains that are numbered so you are sure to throw to the correct one
Cons: -heavy brush in some areas
-signs show distance but often show a picture of the chains to the right when they are actually on the left
-all tees are pretty short with not a lot of variety of distances
Other Thoughts: overall a decent course to practice your tactical game especially for a beginner

 Intimidating, but Worth It!

1    9/18/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Tee boxes and baskets are in good condition.
- There is a sign at every hole (excluding #5) that displays yardage, which is helpful, but... *
- Most holes are short, but require very technical shots; it is not difficult to wind up off the fairway and behind a row of trees.
- Although the course is heavily wooded, which can be intimidating, there is little to no underbrush, making it very difficult to lose a disc.
- Course has a good flow to it. Fairways never cross and you will loop back around to the parking lot at hole #1.
- This course WILL make you get better. With tight fairways, a mix of uphill and downhill shots, and tough putting, it's very easy to learn here.
- All in all, a fun course for the intermediate/expert disc golfer, but... **
Cons:
- *... the picture displayed on each hole sign is always the same, showing a straight shot to the basket. This is not the case, so do not go off the picture on the signs.
- I am no expert on plants by any means, but there is a solid chance there may be some poison oak/ivy back in the woods in spots. Just be weary if you notice the tell tell signs.
- No benches or trash bins present on the course, but since it's only 9 holes, maybe not the biggest issue.
- No true variety of shots, I got away with a mostly par round driving only RHB.
- **... the beginning player may have difficulty playing this course, which frankly can take a lot of fun out of a round. If you are a beginning player, or have a beginner with you, in the Chattanooga area I recommend Jack Mattox Rec. Complex in Ringgold, GA.
Other Thoughts: I have been waiting a long time to play this course. The "Heavily Wooded" symbol is nervewracking, so I put off playing here until a friend told me more about the course. It is not nearly as intimidating as the pictures make it seem; although the fairways are narrow, the holes are short, so it is easy to dig yourself out of a bad drive or approach. Also, as aforementioned, the trees may be many, but it is difficult to lose a disc here, there is little to no underbrush. I am slowly approaching the intermediate level of a disc golfer, and I walked away with 3 and then 4 over par after two round. A true intermediate player should throw just above par, and the expert might be able to walk away a couple under. I certainly recommend this course for anybody in Chattanooga who has yet to give it a try, you may be just as surprised as I was!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Center

1    5/2/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: Mateuis
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shaded
Good variety of holes
Nice baskets
Holes fairly easy to find
Cons: Quite a few mosquitoes and spiderwebs
Hole markers do not show actual hole layout

Other Thoughts: This is your typical wooded course. Some holes have a nice clearing to throw through and others have a few more trees. It has a nice variety of holes that require different shot types. I would advise scouting where the basket is before throwing as the hole map does not reflect the actual layout. This is a nice course to practice on and is never crowded. It kind of has a run down sort of feeling, but it is a fun course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  great technical course

2-4    7/27/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: ahanley89
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course, very technical.. One of my favorite courses in the area, conveniently located off of HWY 153, right off the exit. Love the shaded woods. Played this course twice for the first time on Sunday 7/29/14..Great for the kids as well as they have the best playground i've seen around this area
Cons: Only downfall I would say is the Hole Information signs, there is no correct description of the sign. Example: Basket is around the corner to the left.. Sign still shows the basket is on the right. This should be fixed, no other complaints
Other Thoughts: Was less than 5 feet from Ace'ing Hole 8 and Hole 9.. Flicked hole 8 forehand style with my StarTern(171 weight) and Tomahawk'd Hole 9 with my Champion Mamba(166 weight) and should've ace'd them both.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    5/15/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: xbn1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: I love this little course. It is somewhat technical in spots, and has some great open shots.There are a couple holes that you aren't spoon fed a birdie. There are hills for your disc to roll down, but I find it fun and an added challenge, despite some reviews.
Cons: I can not think of a con. The pads are concrete and I have no problem with them. The signs are not anything great, but I always walk the course to see where the trees are anyway, so it isn't even a small deal to me. As far as scenery, there are mosquitoes as large as teradatul and a ton of turkeys.
Other Thoughts: I have to disagree with all the reviews on this page, because I love this little course. It is fast and fun and gives you a variety of shots for a small 9 hole. You have straight, left, right, impossible, uphill, and downhill.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 good course that is located near i75

5+    7/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Convientally located of i75, no more than 5 miles. The course is set up at a rec center so there is playground for children and basketball goal in parkinglot. Also bathrooms located inside the building. The course has 9 holes, with a mixture of shots. The course also has a few mandos making it a little difficult to birdie every hole, like hole 4. Also they have been working on clearing some of the holes out like hole 3. Concrete teepads on all the holes. Excelent 9 hole course.
Cons: The signs at each hole are generic. They do not always tell the location of the basket correctly. Only having 9 holes is also a con, but I do not think there is room to add more holes.
Other Thoughts: This a a fairly easy course but does have its challenges. Like the few mandos and hole one, up the hill and to the left. Not difficult but does need some skill to end with a negative game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Camping fun

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: vidyogamer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great utilization of the land available. Amazing mix of shots and elevation. Concrete tee pads on every hole with well defined fairways.
Cons: Other park amenities in close proximity to fairways. Little bit of a litter problem on the back side of the rec. center building.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch, Putt, Good times

5+    2/24/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 74  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great condition for being here a few years. All Innova discatchers I believe. Tee pads (only 1 per hole), are all concrete and are of normal size. None are cracked and all are level. Signs are there but only give distances.

All fairways are extremely well groomed with mulch. The brush on the sides, are kept to a minimum. The 9 holes make a great loop and you end up where you started at.

Even though this is a short course (average 216' holes) elevation comes into play on every one. Holes 1 and 2 play uphill and make for longer shots than they appear. Hyzers and anhyzers are required to do extremely well on this course. Trees come into play as well on every hole.

A few holes have mandatories which makes this short course a bit more challenging.

Plenty of parking is available here 50+ spots, not that I have ever seen it have more than 10 cars there. It is at a youth recreation center so most traffic will be in and out of the building. A playground is on site so bring the family.
Cons: The signs are a bit lacking as others have said. Too much money was spent for them to be so generic. No benches are out there either. Occasionally a large group of people will be out there but not too often
Other Thoughts: This is known as "The Sinks" little sister course. I play this 2 times a week usually so I claim this to be my home course.

Signature hole: Probably Hole #8. Straight from the tee, downhill 210', between 2 mandos and into a grove of mature trees. Plenty of ace opportunity here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great little used course

5+    1/3/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: love this course(and hate as always;) )good variety of throws needed, nice hills, good double chain baskets, free, concrete tees, a few holes need accuracy, fear of radiation is always a good thing....close to highway, mulch on the trails, have NEVER had to wait on a group and have played countless times! plenty of parking except on election day.and most importantly-no sinks snobs! you see more gentle hippies and city dwellers if you catch my drift

chatt town's less known basket haven
Cons: no long holes......

...only nine baskets? not too much bad to say about it other than the signs leave some to be desires and the trash on the holes the rec center users are on or nearby.
Other Thoughts: bring the baskets from carver over here and make it an 18!

please! if there is room up the hill there....or we could always commandeer one of the cemeterys

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.