Hopkinsville, KY 
North Drive DGC Share
Uploaded By: mreynolds24 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
4 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A Well Executed Niner

1    7/4/2018   9/11/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.345 Rating) A lightly wooded easy going course in a well maintained city park.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course should work for a wide swath of players. For Beginners, it's mostly forgiving. The only good chance for a newer player to lose a disc is on (5), as the pond and creek on this hole requires about a 210 foot clear. The fairway lanes are also wide and forgiving. For higher skilled players, perhaps up to Intermediates, there's just enough length and obstacles to keep it entertaining. Some of these players may actually love this course unless they prefer tight technical courses.
- SIGNAGE - HB Clark's typical trademark looking course map and tee signage. It will work for this style of course and it's well built.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate due to the pro comment above. There are no additional navigational cues between holes but that's not really a requirement on a course this open. Tee signs have next tee direction on them.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean with several garbage cans along the layout. Overgrowth is limited to a few fringe areas.
- CHARACTER - In addition to signage, navigation and maintenance, the course has some good basics and a few extras. There's a practice basket next to tee (1). The tees are great being 5 feet by 12 feet and they are all in good condition. Baskets I believe are MachVs. There was a porta potty near to (2s) basket on my play and there's also a huge shelter with picnic tables. Missing items include multi-tees, alternate baskets and tee shading.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Although there are no exotic looking tee shots or backdrop features, the course has a very nice pleasant charm to it. Few, but healthy large trees are sprinkled along the layout. In totality, I scored the course a 2.75/5 for beauty, a touch above average.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, little overgrowth and few water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in under an hour.
- LOCATION - 5 to 6 minutes from I169 and 15 to 20 minutes from I24.

Cons: A couple small city park issues but otherwise very few complaints.
- WALKING PATH - A walking path is in play on every shot but hole (9). There were no walkers the day I showed up, but there will likely be some waiting when this feature is in use.
- SPACING - In addition to the pathway, the holes are squeezed together a bit tighter than normal. I'd be aware of other groups teeing off as there is likely going to be some errant throws into an adjacent fairway.
- UNIQUENESS - On some courses, players will look in their bag and realize they only have one disc that can maybe do what they need it to do, to hit a fairway. North Drive DGC is the opposite. Eight of the Nine holes are straight, generally open and can be approached with by a multitude of angles.
- ELEVATION - Not flat by any means, but definitely subpar among the Kentucky courses I've played. Perhaps hole (4) hits the 15 foot mark over the creek.
- WIND - Due to the lightly wooded nature of the course, wind will likely be an issue.

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this nine hole course. I've played 88 nine holes as of this review and North Drive would be on the edge of my top ten among those course. Rarely do I find small city courses offering this much. Definitely worth a look see for players looking to add another nice course between stops and I personally stopped here before hitting Madisonville. Also a good leg stretching course for those traveling down I169.
- CHALLENGING - About average. Although listed as a par 28 with one par 4, Its really an all par 3 course for Intermediate level players and above. Regardless, I see 900 rated players averaging 25 out here or 50 if played twice thru.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better 9 holers

5+    7/13/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage and teepads.
Hole 4 and 5 are unique holes with great lines. Fun to throw bombs down hole 4!
A few ace runs with well placed trees.
Located in well-maintained park that continues to improve!
Beginner friendly as a 9-hole course should be.
Awesome creek that flows throughout the course and coming into play on 5 holes.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Hole 3 and 8 feel like you are throwing in an open field.
The small pond on hole 5 doesn't really come into play unless you are a brand new player.

I'm going to list this as a con and everyone will think I'm crazy, but the park fixing the drainage and eliminating the natural spring between hole 7 and 8 made the course easier. That used to be a major disc snatching hazard we would sweat standing on the teepad. There was no way you were going to find it.
Other Thoughts: This course may be too easy for an experienced player, but it's still fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9er

5+    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Bobs DG 12
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be deceivingly difficult, but as far as 9 hole courses go this one is pretty solid. There are a few open holes that allow you to let a few shots go as well as some holes that require solid technical shots. The par 4 on this course is a nice bonus allowing for scoring when a well placed drive is thrown, but if the drive is errant this can easily become a bogey. The fifth hole is probably the most difficult on the course requiring two solid shots for a chance at par. All Around this course will test you and give you a few easy holes as well.
Cons: There can be a few irrigation issues especially on hole 8 but work is being done on it to solve these issues but often in the summer this is no longer an issue as the ground's are mostly dry.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I especially enjoy the large practice putting area at the start.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: DGTyler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice 9 hole disc golf course, with concrete tee pads. This course is very beginner friendly. It is very open, so feel free to launch your disc. Very easy to navigate, and doesn't take very long to play a quick 18.
Cons: On hole 8 there is usually standing water whenever it rains, but the grounds crew has done the best they could do to fix the problem. Its a fairly short course and not a challenge to experienced players. The only "tough" holes are 4 and 5. All par 3's except 4. Kids from the play ground tend to wander on the course and "play" right in the middle of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course just to bring a few friends and chuck some plastic.

We Need An 18 Hole Course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Course

5+    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 29  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole small town course. Great for beginners. They have done a lot to fix the irrigation and I can now go out the day it rains and only need to avoid one spot on hole 8. A few good holes (2,4,5,7). Nice teepads, baskets and signs up. Easy to navigate. It requires all the shots too, I throw normal backhands on 1,3,4,9 a forehand on 5,7, a thumber on 6, a roller on 2, and a spike hyzer backhand on 8. It's nice to come to a small course but need so many shots. HB Clark did good with what he had to work with.
Cons: on holes 1,3,6,9 it feels like i am just throwing. I have no strategy on those holes just aiming for a spot. Also, people get in your way all the time, especially along the creek and on the bridges. After a while, it becomes annoying.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course for a 9 holer in a small town, it's my hometown but if I was driving by I would stop and play it and be satisfied. It does just what is needed for a town developing in this game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Couple Great Holes

1    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 534  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A Couple Great Holes. The middle of this course had some really great shots. Holes 3, 4, 5, 7 were good enough to be on any city park course and not be "filler". Hole 4 was especially nice: a 400+ foot, slightly downhill, trouble right, creek mid-fairway, etc... Nice Hole!
- That it's There. Hokinsville seems like a small town in the middle of nowhere (don't hate me for saying that if you're form Hopkinsville)... and therefore, it's a great thing that they have a course there. I hear from a local that I played with that they have a great crowd of players and are trying to get another 18 hole course somewhere else in town.
Cons:
- That it's only 9 Holes. This course was pretty fun... too bad it was only 9 holes. I could have played 9 more similar holes and been happy with it... as it was, I wasn't mad at it.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. North Drive Park DGC was a really fun 9 hole course. Probably one of the better 9 hole courses I have ever played, especially due to the strong run of holes in the middle of the course. The course was complete with great concrete tee-pads, good tee-signs, DGA Baskets, a detailed kiosk and great design. The course made exceptional use of the natural features (creeks and elevation) and was a really fun time.
- My Disc Score. I had to give this course a 2.5 based on where the course rates against my other courses played and reviewed list. Although, it's funner than that.
My Score: -5

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 his is why DG is growing

2-4    1/31/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: KMorgan
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I gave this course a little higher because it is a very new course that was planted in an area that never had a course. It is a usual HB Clark course that takes a once pointless piece of land and turns it into a place for both exercise and and an asset to the park. There is a lot to appreciate on this simple 9-holer. Any course with at least one 400+ footer should not be shrugged off as unworthy of any advanced+ player. Yes, anyone wantingto learn the sport will greatly enjoy coming here. Some minor water hazards and a few trees make for some very definable risk/benefit scenarios. Don't pass it up if you actually enjoy playing and aren't just trying to pass judgement on a course that will allow for all ages to learn the game. Practice putting area too.
Cons: Yes, irrigation is a problem. I found several spots that were saturated, but most of the definable fairways are not part of those spots. the course could use a couple more bridges because there are several creeks/streams that mustbe crossed if you want the most direct route to a basket.
Other Thoughts: The game is what you make it. I'm not just giving this course a little better score because I have any bias. Not from the area. Only here for a short while, and really glad I got to enjoy a few hours out on a nearby course.

New courses like this are not built for hardcore competition. They are built to provide opportunity for interest in the game. If you cannot appreciate that, then it is like saying that you don't like the local basketball court because the backboards are not glass and there is a puddle on the sideline after it rains. Anyone can still play on it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better thans it average rating

1    2/23/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 575  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 30.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads for every hole

Tee signs were on every hole.

Easy to follow layout.

Several holes are very good.

Good use of the land given.

Rec center at hole 1 has indoor pluming :o)
Cons: The holes that are not good are run of the mill.
Other Thoughts: you can't expect much from a 9 hole course. With that in mind I actually enjoyed this little 9'r.

Holes 4 and 5 are the best holes on the course, but several of the other holes are not all that bad.

Sure I was putting for 2 on every hole, but I really did enjoy my round and if I had time, I would have played it again.

I will be playing this course again next time I am in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Learning

2-4    12/30/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to learn how to play on. Mostly straight forward design with few trees and nice water hazzards on 5 of the holes. The Creek that is in play is easy to retrieve a disk from, however the pond on hole 5 a disk is probably a goner. The few times I have been there it was not very crowded, maybe one or two other groups. There is a small parking lot next to hole one and the comunitty center, and a large parking lot after hole two. There is a Port-a-potty by the large parking lot.
Cons: Water every where!! Not just the good obstical kind of water, but Marsh like bog water. Bring good waterproof shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is not too busy, and can be played in very little time. It is a fun course with little trees mostly open and some fun water hazzards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 limited and lame

1    9/12/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: Jenn
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Its contains baskets for throwing a disc at.
Cons: Its designed for someone that could care less about the concept of discgolf. There are only 9 holes and its totally open and completley lame.
Other Thoughts: waste of time and a huge dissapointment.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.