Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 302ft.   4 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Steele is Real

1    4/15/2017   4/17/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I do not play many nine-hole courses. If have the time, I would much rather prefer an 18+ hole course, but when in the area, and when I had an hour to spare in the evening, I stopped at Steele Creek. And I don't regret it.

Steele Creek was a relaxing break from the numerous wooded courses I had been playing for the last couple days. Well mowed fairways, open holes with rolling hills, but there was the occasional tree to make you think about your shot.

Each hole had two well sized concrete tee pads, including one beautiful ball golf style tee sign with map, distance, and par. Plus, at the end of the tee, a blue or white marker to tell you which tee you were at.

The park itself was beautiful. There were nice rolling hills, beautiful trees in the early spring. I enjoy a round in a well-kept area where I felt safe and welcomed.

The layout was nice, with mostly open holes, but trees on almost every hole presenting some challenge. There were instances where you had to shape your shot well to execute a birdie.

The Innova Discatchers were in great shape, Not much to say about baskets, but these were the standard, and did their job.

To play links style courses, mowed fairways and well kept areas were nice. Kudos to the people who keep the park clean and maintained.
Cons: Of course, every rose has it's thorn. As much as I enjoy park style golf, where every hole is wide open, you do not get as much difference in holes and score separation. I personally enjoy woods golf better. I think it provides more variety, as well as provides more difficult ways to challenge a player and separate scores.

Next, there was the fact of only one tee sign per hole. As nice as they were, if you were playing one tee that did not have the sign, you had to walk and find the other to check it out. Not a real problem, but it could be troublesome for a first time player.

Only nine holes. Driving out of your way to play a thirty minute round is not optimal. Two nice tees on each hole are nice to make an 18 hole round, but it is never the same.

Two dollar fee to get in park. Some people don't like to pay. I don't mind paying a measly two dollars, but everybody likes free.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course. It was a great way to play an easy, hassle-free round after a long day. I would definitely recommend stopping at Steele Creek if you are in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9-holers I've seen

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steele Creek is the exception to the rule when it comes to 9-holers. Most are 9-holers for a reason, and not in a good way. I finished my round wanted to play nine more.
- Very good hole layout. Again, unlike most 9-holers, this course had a professional feel. It had solid, challenging holes, no gimmicky or way-too-easy holes. Every hole would be seen on any true 18-holer.
- Great use of the terrain. It starts with a tight fairway on #1 to the two long holes (#6 & 7) with strategically placed baskets behind trees; and a pair of nice downhill (#2) and uphill (#4) holes.
- Great tee signs. Some of the nicest I've seen. They have everything you need to know.
- Dual tee pads give a decent layout (2574) and challenging (3475) one.
- No easy birdies. Again, unlike most 9-holers in neighborhood parks, you have to throw well to score well here.
- Overall amazing park. I think it had everything from a golf course (the other golf) to big play area and even a train for kids. The park was absolutely packed on the Sunday afternoon I was there.
Cons: For a 9-hole course, this was as close to flawless as I've seen. I'll nitpick here, just to point out a few potential areas to be improved.
- There are no true wooded holes, or any other major obstacles. On most holes, baskets are strategically placed behind/near trees.
- Some people may not like because of the potential risk of hitting a car. There's a road on both sides of the fairway, so any shot that sails too far left or right could be in trouble. Granted, you'd have to be really far offline, but it's still worth pointing out.
- The two blandest holes are #8 & 9. After playing what I think are the course's two best holes, it's a little bit of a letdown to end on that note.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-holer, this is special. Still, it's only 9-holes, so it leaves something to be desired. This would be a great course if it were 18. If not, it would be nice to have more variety in the long and short tees to give each hole two different layouts. Look at Park Circle in North Charleston, SC as an example.
- As stated, most of the holes were enjoyable and well thought out. That should appeal to players of all levels. My two favorites were #6 & 7. #6 is a 466-footer with the basket behind a big tree, which forces you to play around the sides, instead of coming right at it. #7 is similar, only longer at 555 feet. Your first shot here is to a wide open field. Go too far to the left and you'll have a long second shot; too far to the right and this basket will be hidden by another big tree. Whether you play them as 3s or 4s, it'll take several solid shots for both of them.
- If this were a full 18, it'd be in the 3.5 - 4.0 range. I'm thinking it'd be very comparable to Wellspring in Burlington, NC or Bryan Park in Richmond, VA. That said it's only 9 holes, so the score will be lower.
- I don't know if there are plans to expand, or if there's even room, but I'd love to see it happen. At the very least, you should be leaving this course wanting more. And I think that's what every disc golf course should be aiming for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Manicured

2-4    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fantastic looking signs, depicting the tees, basket, and distances.

Located in a beautiful multi-purpose park, with fantastic views of the neighbouring wooded hills. Very clean and well maintained grounds.

Clubhouse selling discs, drinks, candy; bathrooms available. Scorecards, but no map, available here, too. Relatively easy to navigate, even without a map.
Cons:
Only nine holes, two dirt teepads marked by blue or white PVC pipe.

Update 4/22/11: Tees are now top-quality concrete.
Other Thoughts:
Gently rolling landscape with mixture of large hardwood and evergreen trees. Some minor change of elevation on most holes. Mostly grip-n-rip, needing to avoid a large tree or two at some point during the flight. Some holes offer a couple different flightpath choices. Nothing over 400' from the whites, while the blues offer a few holes over 400'.

According the the gentleman in the clubhouse, concrete tees will be poured in July-09, and some time in the future the course will increase to 18-holes by expanding into the woods.

To find tee #1, make a left into the gravel lot just after passing the clubhouse. Tee #3 is across the road from #2/#4. When looking for blue tee #5, you might find #9, instead, and visa versa.

Beautiful course offering many opportunities to air it out with minimal chance to lose a disc. Looking forward to the improved tees and increase in holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.