Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5
3 / 244ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Steele is Real

1    4/15/2017   4/17/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I do not play many nine-hole courses. If have the time, I would much rather prefer an 18+ hole course, but when in the area, and when I had an hour to spare in the evening, I stopped at Steele Creek. And I don't regret it.

Steele Creek was a relaxing break from the numerous wooded courses I had been playing for the last couple days. Well mowed fairways, open holes with rolling hills, but there was the occasional tree to make you think about your shot.

Each hole had two well sized concrete tee pads, including one beautiful ball golf style tee sign with map, distance, and par. Plus, at the end of the tee, a blue or white marker to tell you which tee you were at.

The park itself was beautiful. There were nice rolling hills, beautiful trees in the early spring. I enjoy a round in a well-kept area where I felt safe and welcomed.

The layout was nice, with mostly open holes, but trees on almost every hole presenting some challenge. There were instances where you had to shape your shot well to execute a birdie.

The Innova Discatchers were in great shape, Not much to say about baskets, but these were the standard, and did their job.

To play links style courses, mowed fairways and well kept areas were nice. Kudos to the people who keep the park clean and maintained.
Cons: Of course, every rose has it's thorn. As much as I enjoy park style golf, where every hole is wide open, you do not get as much difference in holes and score separation. I personally enjoy woods golf better. I think it provides more variety, as well as provides more difficult ways to challenge a player and separate scores.

Next, there was the fact of only one tee sign per hole. As nice as they were, if you were playing one tee that did not have the sign, you had to walk and find the other to check it out. Not a real problem, but it could be troublesome for a first time player.

Only nine holes. Driving out of your way to play a thirty minute round is not optimal. Two nice tees on each hole are nice to make an 18 hole round, but it is never the same.

Two dollar fee to get in park. Some people don't like to pay. I don't mind paying a measly two dollars, but everybody likes free.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course. It was a great way to play an easy, hassle-free round after a long day. I would definitely recommend stopping at Steele Creek if you are in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blue Steele

1    6/18/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 132  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really open ball golf style course on rolling land with the occasional pine tree(s) to get in the way. This is a really clean and well manicured park making it a perfect venue for gripping and ripping without worrying about losing discs in undergrowth and such. You get 9 holes currently with two sets of tees, I played from the Blues aka longs, and the round a here is low-stress and quite enjoyable. Most of the challenge is distance related but for the par assigned you don't need a cannon to score well.

I had no difficulties finding the next hole or any basket (despite playing in waning daylight) thanks to the openness of the course and the informative, very ball golf esque tee signs. Tees are terrific and flush and the baskets are nice and new. Just grading on style and appearances this course would get very high marks.

The elevation change is interesting and fun if well short of being extreme, for the most part you're throwing down hills or over depressions rather than uphill which is good for fun factor, and makes the longer holes more approachable for noodle arms. Also nice is how short the grass is cut so those with roller game will enjoy letting loose here.
Cons: Design-wise the course is a bit fur coat and no trousers. Not much in the way of fairway variety, generally just long, open rip straight across the field holes. If it weren't for elevation change it would get fairly repetitive. There are trees here and occasionally they do provide a bit of an obstacle but for the most part they are afterthoughts in terms of challenge. This is definitely not a course I'd like to play during the heat of the summer.

The only other real con was I thought the par was a bit forgiving on a few holes. I had Eagle chances a little too easily despite playing the long tees. Birdies are not hard to come by if you can throw decently long.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun and relaxing course to play. I'm looking forward to seeing where they put 9 more holes in but as it stands it's a great 9-holer. I won't go so far as to say it's a must-play in the area unless you prefer really open courses but it's definitely worth the while and a good course for warming up. The park is easily accessible off the highway so try to fit it into your road trip in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wish There Were 18

5+    6/1/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most wide open of the courses in the Kingsport-Johnson City-Bristol area. However, the baskets are placed so that you are not often just shooting across a straight grassy field. There are almost always trees or hills or rough close enough to make some control necessary. Still, it's the best place in the tri-cities area to go practice your long throws.

The blue and white tees provide enough variety to make the course worth playing once on each. On some few pins the blue is just a longer version of the white, but on many the blue and white provide very different angles and obstacles.

The pro shop is nice and carries a substantial number of discs from Innova and Discraft. I think they might have also had a few Prodigy discs last time I was in there.
Cons: This the best 9 pin course I've played, but it's still a nine pin course. There have been rumors for a while that the ball golf course will be shutting down and the disc golf extended to 18, but don't hold your breath.

Minor: The white tees are often harder than the blue; I consistently have a better round on the blue than the white. This is particularly true on 4. The blue is a straight, open shot. The white is technically shorter if you can shoot through the middle of a picket row of trees and over a depression on the other side of the trees. Nobody tries that shot; they shoot to the right (past the tree picket) and into the open field to the right (which blue starts shooting into). Personally, this does not bother me, but it might irritate some people.

Minor: There needs to be a sign from 2 to 3. The first time I played, I walked straight from 2 to 4. I had to have someone point out that 3 was across the road between the two roadways. However, the rest of the tees are easy to find.
Other Thoughts: If you go through the manned gate you have to pay to enter the park. However, if you drive past it and pull into the parking lot next to the pro-shop you do not. It makes for a bit of a walk, but nothing too bad. It's silly to pay to play here when there are three good 18 hole parks within 30 minutes that are free, but if you want to park next to the first tee instead of walking for less than a minute to get there you can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course. Well Maintained

5+    11/24/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: Hamlet
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice place to practice long drives
Beautiful Course: Tees and Pins are High Quality and there is Good Signage
Very Well Maintained
Well Stocked Pro Shop
Running Water
Cons: Only 9 holes
Too many open areas--not enough technical difficulty
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course with good flow and use of the terrain. There are reasonable ace opportunites on holes 1, 3 and 5.

Each hole has 2 Tees which helps with the only having 9 holes problem




3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9-holers Iíve played

1    7/25/2009   2/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 266  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really, really good 9-hole course set in a very nice city park. The holes are your usual city park style, mostly open lush grassy fairways with large mature trees to navigate around and for the most part little-to-no undergrowth. Elevation is a big factor here and adds to the difficulty. The land itself is very nice (I think it used to be a ball golf course, so it is nice for a change to see a disc golf course put on good land often reserved for ball golf courses!)

There are two tees per hole so you could make it 18 holes as the 2 tees are quite a bit different in length and many play from a completely different angle. The length of the course is much longer than your average 9-hole park course. The longer blue tees are great for those that like to throw long bombs as they average close to 400' with the longest at 555'- many 18 hole courses don't have that kind of distance. The white tees are perfect for the distance-challenge and the casual player to make the round more enjoyable.

There are concrete tees for the blue and the white tees which are clearly marked with colored PVC. The signs are excellent- detailed, informative, and in color. The baskets were in terrific shape. The park and course were very clean. There was a lot of parking available by hole #1.
Cons: Not too many. There are only 9 holes where there might be room in the park for 18. The 9 holes are unique enough from each other, but there are no woods-style technical holes here. Also, because it is nice and caters to everyone, I could see at certain times this course getting crowded with lots of recreational players, which could be a con for some people.
Other Thoughts: As others have said, for this only having 9 holes it is an excellent course and one of the best 9-hole courses I have played. A plus is that it has appeal to players of all skill levels. The city of Bristol is lucky to have this course and they seem to be proud of it and take good care of it. It is also not too far from a couple other solid courses: Warrior's Path and Winged Deer.

*Despite the name of Steele Creek, there is no water in play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Might be the best 9 Holer I ever Played!

2-4    7/30/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 420  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- 2 Sets of Tees. Not only does having two sets of tees let people chose the game that's right for them, it also allows this course to be played as an 18 (kinda sorta). Both sets are different enough to make the holes unique (kinda sorta).
- Ball Golf Feel. Because the course is on an old "ball golf" course, it feels like Golf. Rolling terrain, manicured grass, use of available trees, use of elevation, use of available opportunities for punishment... Fun Times!
- Air it Out. With a few holes being over 400' and one over 550', and with the terrain being mostly open, you really get to air it out at Steele Creek.
Cons:
- Only 9... Bummer. This course is pretty cool as is, but if they had an additional 9, it would be elevated to a whole new level.
- Labeled Par. I appreciate that they didn't try to go "Pro-Par", but, they were a few questionably labeled Pars out there. I had 3 realistic "eagle" putts... and that's probably a little unrealistic. Two of the 4's should be 3's and the 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts:
- Best 9 Holer? As my review title states, this might be the best 9 hole disc golf course I have ever played (out of 20 nine-holers played in six states). The "ball golf" atmosphere, rolling terrain, manicured grass, elevation use, "Par 4's and 5", and dual tee-pads make this 9 Holer stand out.
- Other Nearby Courses. This area in north east Tennessee is a hot bed for GREAT disc golf. My Rankings: Harmon Hills (and I haven't even played the whole thing yet), Winged Deer, Warrior's Path, Fossil Hill, Steele Creek.
- My Score: Depends on what you call "Par". I would consider it a -1 (28).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nine more, please.

2-4    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 113  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Situated in a humongous city park that was formerly a state park (before the state shifted it over to Warriors Path). Gorgeous property with a lake, ball golf and disc golf. The DG course is actually on the old ball golf site and is open,rolling with scattered trees. The design fully utilizes all the trees for an interesting layout. Two separate tee pads gives you 18 holes. Fantastic signs.
Nice bike path.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: If the city adds 9 more holes in the woods, this could be an elite course...one of the best in TN. Please treat this place with respect to enhance the chances of 9 more.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    2/8/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: G-money
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open course with strategic basket locations; Very well marked; good pro shop; good scenery, (lakeside holes).
Cons: None apparent, except more holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is where I started seven months ago; good beginner's course. Not too long, and achievable pars, even for the novice. Builds confidence level.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners

5+    10/6/2012   8/28/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, well maintained, the short holes are equally difficult compared to the longer holes through the use of trees, the signs are very nice
Cons: There is a road that runs through the park that is in play on two holes. There is also a greenway that is in play on one or two holes. Remember it is a public park so people can come out of no where, not just from the roads and greenway.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to introduce someone to the sport. There is even a sign with general rules of the game at the first hole. If you don't have discs, you can rent some from the shop at the golf course. The white tees are easier for the most part.

I haven't heard any more on the course growing, so I doubt it will be expanding any time soon.

A tree on the second hole has been removed making the drive from the blue tee easier and more forgiving.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bristol's first

5+    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: wooky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good draw course for the area, beginner friendly and very good course to introduce this area to disc golf. I think the back 9 when planted will be good for those of us that are more experienced and do not want to make the Ktown drive
Cons: The only con would be that there are alot of people that are just wandering on the course. But I think that once people get used to the course being there and the concept that "discs" hurt that will correct itself
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the area club for getting another course planted in the tri-cities area and expanding the DG scene

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.