Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7
4 / 390ft.   5 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Steele is Real

1    4/15/2017   4/17/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I do not play many nine-hole courses. If have the time, I would much rather prefer an 18+ hole course, but when in the area, and when I had an hour to spare in the evening, I stopped at Steele Creek. And I don't regret it.

Steele Creek was a relaxing break from the numerous wooded courses I had been playing for the last couple days. Well mowed fairways, open holes with rolling hills, but there was the occasional tree to make you think about your shot.

Each hole had two well sized concrete tee pads, including one beautiful ball golf style tee sign with map, distance, and par. Plus, at the end of the tee, a blue or white marker to tell you which tee you were at.

The park itself was beautiful. There were nice rolling hills, beautiful trees in the early spring. I enjoy a round in a well-kept area where I felt safe and welcomed.

The layout was nice, with mostly open holes, but trees on almost every hole presenting some challenge. There were instances where you had to shape your shot well to execute a birdie.

The Innova Discatchers were in great shape, Not much to say about baskets, but these were the standard, and did their job.

To play links style courses, mowed fairways and well kept areas were nice. Kudos to the people who keep the park clean and maintained.
Cons: Of course, every rose has it's thorn. As much as I enjoy park style golf, where every hole is wide open, you do not get as much difference in holes and score separation. I personally enjoy woods golf better. I think it provides more variety, as well as provides more difficult ways to challenge a player and separate scores.

Next, there was the fact of only one tee sign per hole. As nice as they were, if you were playing one tee that did not have the sign, you had to walk and find the other to check it out. Not a real problem, but it could be troublesome for a first time player.

Only nine holes. Driving out of your way to play a thirty minute round is not optimal. Two nice tees on each hole are nice to make an 18 hole round, but it is never the same.

Two dollar fee to get in park. Some people don't like to pay. I don't mind paying a measly two dollars, but everybody likes free.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course. It was a great way to play an easy, hassle-free round after a long day. I would definitely recommend stopping at Steele Creek if you are in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blue Steele

1    6/18/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really open ball golf style course on rolling land with the occasional pine tree(s) to get in the way. This is a really clean and well manicured park making it a perfect venue for gripping and ripping without worrying about losing discs in undergrowth and such. You get 9 holes currently with two sets of tees, I played from the Blues aka longs, and the round a here is low-stress and quite enjoyable. Most of the challenge is distance related but for the par assigned you don't need a cannon to score well.

I had no difficulties finding the next hole or any basket (despite playing in waning daylight) thanks to the openness of the course and the informative, very ball golf esque tee signs. Tees are terrific and flush and the baskets are nice and new. Just grading on style and appearances this course would get very high marks.

The elevation change is interesting and fun if well short of being extreme, for the most part you're throwing down hills or over depressions rather than uphill which is good for fun factor, and makes the longer holes more approachable for noodle arms. Also nice is how short the grass is cut so those with roller game will enjoy letting loose here.
Cons: Design-wise the course is a bit fur coat and no trousers. Not much in the way of fairway variety, generally just long, open rip straight across the field holes. If it weren't for elevation change it would get fairly repetitive. There are trees here and occasionally they do provide a bit of an obstacle but for the most part they are afterthoughts in terms of challenge. This is definitely not a course I'd like to play during the heat of the summer.

The only other real con was I thought the par was a bit forgiving on a few holes. I had Eagle chances a little too easily despite playing the long tees. Birdies are not hard to come by if you can throw decently long.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun and relaxing course to play. I'm looking forward to seeing where they put 9 more holes in but as it stands it's a great 9-holer. I won't go so far as to say it's a must-play in the area unless you prefer really open courses but it's definitely worth the while and a good course for warming up. The park is easily accessible off the highway so try to fit it into your road trip in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Round

5+    5/1/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Tonester
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Open course. Well kept up.
This course is in Steel Creek Park and is mown regularly. The course is a nice change of pace if you are looking for a open and failry relaxing course to play.
There are several longer holes that allow you to really open up when throwing.
It feels good to get birdies on half the holes.
Cons: There are only 9 holes but multiple tee pad on each hole so you can go through twice and come at it from a different angle.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play if you don't have a lot of time.

 A 9-Hole course you should stop and play!

1    10/5/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 153  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is among the best, if not THE best 9-hole course I've ever played. It's not the most challenging, or even the most well-rounded, but there's something about it that just exudes excellence!

First off, you'll arrive at the gate of a VERY well maintained state park. This also means you'll pay $2 for entrance, but it's for the day and trust me, you won't regret it.

The parking lot for the disc golf course is straight ahead from the entrance to the park on the left. You'll see a practice basket from the lot.

Immediately, you'll notice how nice the signs are. They are quite possibly the very best signs I've seen on a disc golf course. The only signs I've seen to rival these are the same CNC'd type up the road at VHCC. All dg courses should try to have signs this nice!

There are two tee pads for each hole, which creates a little bit of extra challenge for the advanced/open players, while still remaining fun and approachable for the novice.

All 18 tee's are concrete with an easy to find stake in the ground depicting the tee color.

Baskets are top of the line DISCatchers and are in excellent shape.

There really is a chance to open up a big arm on this 9-holer! In fact, I'd say the majority of holes will allow you to open up and let them fly!

One of the best things about this park is the sheer beauty of the place. It's tucked in between the rolling hills and some picturesque water at the back of the park. I was in awe when I walked up to hole 2 and from there it only got better.

You'll have literally ZERO chance to lose a disc. If you do happen to manage that somehow, I'm sorry.

The other ammenities at the park are excellent as well. I noticed plenty of picnic tables, other sports fields/courts, etc...It's a place your significant other or family could hang out without problems while you play your round. There is even a large field near the practice basket where you could warm up your drives before your round.
Cons: Several of the tee signs are at the white tee, while others are at the blue tee. Seemed kinda strange at the time, but in retrospect they were probably staggered in order to not be in the way of certain shots. Only a minor con.

There isn't any water involved. I saw a large body of water at the back of the park and I sure hope they intend to incorporate that in the upcoming 18 hole rendition of Steele Creek!

There isn't any truly wooded shots. They're mostly open field with a few tree patches or larger trees to navigate. Nothing that says tunnel shot at all except for maybe hole 1 (which also has a hyzer route)

No benches or trashcans, but the current 9-hole course isn't long or exhausting enough that you'll really need them. Only a con because once they add 9 holes, they'll be a necessity.

Shot variety was kinda lacking. Yea I know, it was only a 9-holer, but nearly every shot was straight ahead for the most part, no real dog-legs to speak of. This led to the course feeling a touch repetitive and not as challenging as I would have liked.
Other Thoughts: I started off my round hot by hitting the yellow band on the top of the basket! Riding the high from that near ace was fun for the rest of the round, but that's not what made this course awesome.

It really is one of the best 9-hole hole courses I've every played, if not THE best. Sure, it may not be challenging enough for some really advanced players, but certainly more so than most other 9-hole courses and toss in the overall feeling of the place and everyone is certain to have a great experience!

This is a wonderful 45 minute break when you're driving on 81 and is even a course worthy of driving to play, whether for a tourney or a casual round. Trust me, you'll have fun. It received the highest rating I ever give a 9-hole course and for good reason. When they take it to 18, I hope they can include water, some more variety and wooded shots and they will really have something special in the tri-state area!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-Hole Course in Tri-Cities

2-4    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Upon arriving, there is a course map found beside the parking lot and hole maps are found throughout the course.
- A practice basket is located beside of the tees to hole one.
- There are two tees (white front and blue back) at every hole, allowing for varied difficult for all types of players.
- Great variety of holes; some are among rows of trees while others are distance holes in open field.
- This course will require the use of all types of discs in your bag along with the use of multiple driving styles. (I am predominately RHB, but I had to go forehand a couple times for the best drive.)
- Grass and foliage is well maintained.
- Concrete tees, hole maps, and baskets are in great condition.
Cons:
- Shrubbery to the left of holes five and six is dense. A drive that slips into the high grass may not be found with ease.
- This course, being so popular, can be rather crowded on the nicest of days. Plan to play a round either early in the morning or later in the afternoon in order to avoid waiting at holes.
Other Thoughts: Critiquing this course against other 9-hole courses, Steele Creek Park excels. From beginner to intermediate to the advanced player, this course is both challenging and fun. I would highly recommend this course to all players in and outside of the tri-cities. In addition, the small shop found across the street from the parking lot features a great selection of discs you won't find at your local Dick's Sporting Goods. I will undoubtedly be returning to Steele Creek Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish There Were 18

5+    6/1/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most wide open of the courses in the Kingsport-Johnson City-Bristol area. However, the baskets are placed so that you are not often just shooting across a straight grassy field. There are almost always trees or hills or rough close enough to make some control necessary. Still, it's the best place in the tri-cities area to go practice your long throws.

The blue and white tees provide enough variety to make the course worth playing once on each. On some few pins the blue is just a longer version of the white, but on many the blue and white provide very different angles and obstacles.

The pro shop is nice and carries a substantial number of discs from Innova and Discraft. I think they might have also had a few Prodigy discs last time I was in there.
Cons: This the best 9 pin course I've played, but it's still a nine pin course. There have been rumors for a while that the ball golf course will be shutting down and the disc golf extended to 18, but don't hold your breath.

Minor: The white tees are often harder than the blue; I consistently have a better round on the blue than the white. This is particularly true on 4. The blue is a straight, open shot. The white is technically shorter if you can shoot through the middle of a picket row of trees and over a depression on the other side of the trees. Nobody tries that shot; they shoot to the right (past the tree picket) and into the open field to the right (which blue starts shooting into). Personally, this does not bother me, but it might irritate some people.

Minor: There needs to be a sign from 2 to 3. The first time I played, I walked straight from 2 to 4. I had to have someone point out that 3 was across the road between the two roadways. However, the rest of the tees are easy to find.
Other Thoughts: If you go through the manned gate you have to pay to enter the park. However, if you drive past it and pull into the parking lot next to the pro-shop you do not. It makes for a bit of a walk, but nothing too bad. It's silly to pay to play here when there are three good 18 hole parks within 30 minutes that are free, but if you want to park next to the first tee instead of walking for less than a minute to get there you can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/12/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: jmiller
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: beautiful park overlooking a lake. friendly environment. pro shop just across from the first hole. well maintained course. has 2 places to start from on each hole so kind of makes it like an 18 hole park.
Cons: only 9 holes. not too technical (not really a con)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/5/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: bigegan18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very scenic and beautiful course
Very good layout signs at each hole
Two sets of tees
Cons: Only 9 holes
Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to play at. A lot of the holes are open or have trees that are not in the way. A few of the holes make up for this by having 400+ ft holes but still not a big challenge. There are are only 9 holes but two sets of tees makes up for that since you can play a different tee on the second round. Will be returning to play this course again and recommend anyone to visit this course. If you've played Kingsport's Borden and Warriors courses, this course is like an in-between course; easier than Warriors and tougher than Borden.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

5+    4/15/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: rvajf00
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide Open
Beautiful Views
Not very crowded
Easy to find
Nice tee pads
Cons: Only 9 Holes
White and Blue tees are very similar on some holes
Not very challenging after a few plays
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course with a good location in a beautiful area. The tee pads are concrete and there are signs for each hole.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 open course

5+    3/30/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun open course for people that dont like long shots and no trees in the way..
Cons: could have fit 18 here pretty easy. very open course with not a lot of trees in the way..
Other Thoughts: i like playing this course cause it def gives u practice throwing in the wind due to lack of trees..

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.