Wingate, NC 
Wingate University DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrian24 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wingate first round

1    5/21/2017   5/21/2017
Review By: Shamrock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 28.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained overall, generous fairways for most part, baskets in good shape, no trash to speak of was noticed and course was in very good shape. Good length for beginners to also enjoy without feeling overwhelmed and as we were only people on course we could play at very nice pace.
Cons: Could use better teeing areas (If they ever put concrete pads in would be huge plus), better signage/directional markers (spent some time finding a couple of tees, especially #10, found earlier review that really helped on that one, thanks!!), only couple areas that really needed to be trimmed (#7 was really thick grass @ basket and couple fairways in power ROW needed mowing), also think some holes on back nine would be awesome if relocated to play around lake..
Other Thoughts: We really enjoyed playing this course, would recommend to anyone to play and we will definitely be back!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wing it at Wingate

1    5/6/2017   5/8/2017
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uncrowded college campus course that offers a good mix of fairly open holes reminiscent of a city park combined with wooded holes and mixed, in&out of woods holes. So it's a smorgasbord of DG hole types. The distances range from fairly long, legitimate par 4 distances to fairly deuce-able for most DGers. The woods are very nice and natural plus a swamp comes a bit into play to spice things up.

You've got fairly descriptive tee signs and Innova baskets that are holding up.

There's a handful of really fun or clever holes here, like 1 is a nice starter hole, 18 is a really pretty, wooded par 3 finishing hole through some old trees and along a little creek and hole 16 is a gap hitter's dream playing in and out of the woods with a nice green alongside the swamp tucked around the corner.
Cons: The rest is not much to toot horns about. Finding holes can be a bear, even with the map (biggest bugaboo for us was finding hole 4, head down the dirt maintenance road that goes around the swamp until you see an obvious gap in the woods on the left). Then you've got some long walks between holes that dampen the fun.

The wooded holes are really disappointing. Hole 4 is enjoyable but hole 5 is a goofy angled short hole that seems like a misuse of elevation. Hole 6 is decent but again, really short. Then hole 7 solidly disappoints by giving you no discernible fairway to begin your wooded Par 4. Poke and pray straight through the trees or upshot something up to that maintenance road and use it for the fairway? Then the green consists of thick, knee-high weeds in the open. Hmm. Seems like using the 5, 6, 7 stretch to make two higher quality holes like hole 4 would've been better than two blah holes and a hole that's a Par 4 to make up for a lack of proper fairway.

Hole 8 is...something. You immediately throw over a bridge, okay, through a tight tunnel of woods, uphill. This is another Par 4 but there really isn't an adequately sized landing zone and if you don't stay dead center on the fairway, you are up the proverbial creek. To mock you, there's a wide open power line right-a-way running parallel to this crazy straw fairway and it's very tempting to try and blast through the thick schule and forego the fairway altogether.

Hole 9 is alright, has a nice green with the basket perched on this little knoll in the field and gives you a nice, open field hole of relief to air it out after you've been bouncing back and forth from poison ivy roughs the previous two holes. I think you're supposed to play a gap along the treeline in a sweeping hyzer fashion but you can easily just throw over that parked trailer and the honeysuckle as the crow flies to the basket. Even then it's still a tough deuce if you don't have a fairly big arm but it's a much less stupid angle and an actual Par 3 that way.. Finding the next hole after this one can be tough, unfortunately you may wish you never find them (take a right after the basket back towards the woods).

Holes 10 through 13 are basically more tight, crazy straws using a gravel maintenance road as a fairway. You're surrounded by thick woods and you'd think you could carve out some cool holes through them so these just seem like super lazy design. Hole 11 isn't too bad though, the FW is at least adequately wide compared to length and is a basic flick hole. But the others feel like throwing down somebody's unkempt driveway, oh joy.

Hole 14 and 15 use a power line right-of-way. Wait, this option was on the table? Then why the Hell does hole 8 exist?! Hole 14 is an open deuce or die hole, kind of fun. Hole 15 is longer but what the hell is the tee sign doing over there off to the right side? Who wants to tee at a 45 degree angle to the fairway? I thought the tee sign locale of hole 2 was a mistake but now there's a trend. This smacks of Schwarz. More unused power line right-of-way that could've been used to make a proper dogleg just sitting here, curiously.

This course has natural tees. This isn't a huge con on the holes that are basically on flat lawns. All of the wooded holes however means ruddy, uneven, root covered ground, possibly muddy, with generally no place to do a run-up. At least none of the stupid tee locations are permanent.
Other Thoughts: If this is the redesign I'm glad I missed the original. By the by it's not a terrible course at all but it should definitely not be mentioned in the same breath with hardly anything in nearby Charlotte. Widen some fairways here and there, suss out proper tee locations for some, beat Nature back a bit so that the immediate rough gives some recovery options and you'd have a generally fun course. This course needs a dedicated group of locals that know what they're doing to tweak and maintain it before it can be moderately close to a 3-star course or better. Worth a round or need a change of pace if you somehow have played everything nearby to death, sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Adding Course Map

1    4/16/2017   4/16/2017
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 57  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Same as previous 2 reviews
Cons: As jbrian & heelboycraig have already stated, navigation is (was) a very big problem with this course. This problem has now been rectified as I added a map of the course layout in the links section. I hope this solves the problem. Maybe heelboycraig can up his review to a 4 now. :)

Also, even though there was not a lot of trash on the course (the staff at Wingate obviously keep the course clean), a few strategically placed trash cans may not be such a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: I only posted this review to call attention to the course map I have posted to the course listing.

This is a very nice course for those of us that cannot bomb a disc 400' with regularity. This is a much less frustrating course than say Nevin.

I will play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course on a nice campus

1    7/6/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: jbrian24
Played: 39  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 18 holes of varying difficulty. It does require you to use a variety of shots. Course is very well maintained and has clear fairways on the holes that are wooded or have rough. It is located on a beautiful section of Wingates campus mostly away from any other activities that may be going on. Playing in July myself there were very few people around. I will be adding some pictures to give other players a little more insight this nice course.
Cons: This course has natural tees, which is a con to me, but maybe a positive to you. There is no course kiosk with a course map or any direction. The tee signs only contain hole number and distance. There is no indication of basket placement, though this is only an issue on a few holes. This course could benefit from some "next tee" directional signage, especially for holes 4 and 10.
Other Thoughts: Just a few helpful directions for future first timers. From the parking lot that the directions lead you to the first tee is near the road where you entered the lot. After you finish hole 3, make a right and go past the gate and you will find hole 4's tee. After you finish hole 9 look right and back from basket. You will see a path into the woods, take this to find hole 10.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wingate? More like Win-Great...well, almost.

1    2/18/2017   4/12/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wingate? More like Win-great!
I've seen courses undergo changes - remaking a couple holes or adding new ones to an existing layout. I can't recall a course turning an average 9-hole layout into a great 18-hole design. That's what I stumbled upon at Wingate.
- If you ever played the old layout, block that out of your memory. If you didn't play the old layout, you've now got a reason to head this way.
- Course has a solid, wide-ranging variety of holes - open and wooded holes; tight gaps and open, bomber layouts; doglegs and even some water. It also somehow manages to be the only course in Union County that has elevation.
- Course starts out with a couple open holes - #1 - 3. #3 can be tricky with the OB road being hidden from the tee and water along the right side of the fairway. From there, holes #4 - 8 are a fantastic series holes that flow through a stretch of woods that seem to exist simply for disc golf. This stretch of holes should be the envy of most courses, showing the potential this course offers.
- Hole #9 was a fantastic change of pace. An open, uphill, bomber hole at 372 feet. To top it off, there are some fantastic views of a pond and all this unused, rolling fields and wooded area circling the water. If the course could incorporate the land around the pond, and make this parking lot the beginning & end of the disc golf course, you would have an absolute gem of a course. It'd be so easy to chop off 4-6 holes from the existing layout and create a stretch around the pond instead.
- Course is almost completely isolated from the rest of the campus. I played on a Saturday in February. Other than watching the baseball team across the street, the course feels removed from all college activities.
- Overall, the course is tough, but fair. There are a couple junk holes (#10 - 12) that play along a path that could easily be removed for an improved layout (see above comments). Outside of those holes, it's nice that most of the wooded holes have enough room to allow you to recover from a less-than-perfect tee shot.
Cons: The course ends on a dud. #17 is the most wide-open hole on the course; the only one without any trees in play. Then you close with #18, which in and of itself, is an acceptable hole. It's just 'off' because it's the complete opposite direction (from the parking lot) of the rest of the course. You play holes #1-16, on one side of the parking lot; play #17 which runs alongside half of the parking lot; then walk past the far side of the lot to #18. You play #18, then turn right back around heading back the opposite way.
- I hate the feel of #10-12. There are other holes on the back 9 that use a path as a fairway. #10, especially, is such a downer after such a great stretch of holes, that it's the first cold water thrown onto a hot course. What makes these paths-are-fairways holes is that you're travelling through wooded, hills. If only someone could find a way to put a basket or 6 in the woods.
- I never saw a trash can or bench on the course. **possibly one by the shelter near #9 or the softball field behind #16, but that's technically off the course, so I'd still be right**
- Why start and stop the course with the easiest stretch of holes? Even if no holes changed, if the course started and finished in the parking lot by #9 (off Zeb Goodman Road), you have your open stretch of holes in the middle of the round.
- Navigation needs to be improved at times. There are confusing transitions, with multiple paths/directions you can travel between #3 & 4, #9 & 10 and #14 & 15. Of those three transitions, I picked the right direction once (#3/4), walked all around until I found the next tee (#9/10), walked down a fairway trying to determine if I was looking at the correct hole (#15/16). Arrows/signs are so simple, but without them, it can be very aggravating.
- Course also is a long, long loop of 9 holes out. 9 holes back. There's no real bail-out point, so don't think you can get a quick 9 in and/or a fast round.
Other Thoughts: I was shocked just how good this course has become. It was a fun 9-hole layout before; the type of layout you'll only see on a 9-hole course. This is movie cliche' of the ugly, unassuming girl suddenly turning into the knockout. And I was one of the jaw-dropping guys standing there, staring in disbelief.
- Course is right up there at the same level as Dry Creek for Union County courses. It had lots of similarities to Goose Landing, another solid layout 45 minutes north of here.
- So, here's what I'd do to make this the best course in the County. Move the course's starting point to the parking lot by hole #9. Get rid of the existing holes 1-2, 17-18 and several of the path-fairway holes on the back 9 (say 10 & 11). After the current #9, head left of the shelter, play 6 holes around the pond (to replace the six holes I just nixed), and you've not got an outstanding layout. Of course, if that land isn't part of the campus, it's a moot point. In that case, put a couple holes in the woods and it's still an improvement.
- Holes #7 & 8 were the highlight of the course in terms of challenge and layout. Two 400-foot plus, par 4 holes. Both offering a solid risk/reward factor. #7 is the easier of the two, but a 4 on both isn't a bad thing.
- This is an easy 3.5 in my book. It's a classic 3.75 rating. I just couldn't go up to a 4 with a couple issues - mainly navigation - needing to be addressed. With a few tweaks, this could be a 4.0 or 4.5 course someday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.