Layout Extinct

Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #13
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Best Course in the Area

5+    6/14/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Open fairways
- Technical holes
- Very well maintained
- Difficult for all types of players.
- Challenging distances on holes.
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - Some holes seem redundant
- Could use some completly wooded holes
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Lynchburg/Bedford area. It is challenging and humbling especially when compared to peaksview park. This is a great course to hone in on your long game and still have to complete technical shots.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite home course

1    5/20/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: jmitch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for airing it out!
Wind is an added challenge.
Good use of land for course.
Little interference from other in the park.
Cons: tee pads are made of brick and can be slick.
Other Thoughts: Great overall course with very little wooded holes to play through. Holes 16, 17 and 18 are GREAT finishing holes and will make or break your round.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/24/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Unique brick tee pads
beautiful setting in the virginia foothills
Course flows well, easy to find each hole
variety of shots
tough on a windy day
good signage
well maintained
Cons: Only a few difficult holes
Other Thoughts: Bring an extendable pole to get discs out of trees.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Hillside Course

1    8/19/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 16.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities, upkeep, landscape.
Other Thoughts: Falling Creek Park is a fantastic park with excellent amenities spread across some groomed and wooded hillsides just outside of town. The disc golf course plays mostly along an open hillside dotted by cedar trees, occasionally crossing the Falling Creek itself and dipping into the wooded section of the park. Like the park overall, the hallmarks of the course are its upkeep and amenities, in this case excellent signage and baskets, and firm brick teepads that are just barely long enough, or not quite long enough depending on your view or x-step. The fairways are well defined and well maintained, just about every hole plays up, down, or along a hill, making for some fun shots and a bit of exercise, and the creek and woods are incorporated into the course just enough to add a bit of variety and diverse challenge. Disc-eating cedar trees and holes that for the most part favor distance over touch may be negatives for some players.

Falling Creek is not all about open throws over a picturesque course, but that is the main impression. The upkeep is ideal, and the challenge on many holes involves throwing straight toward the basket and staying away from the cedar trees. The counterbalance, however, is adequate in my view, and provides enough balance to the course to make it one of the finest in the Old Dominion. Getting caught behind a cedar tree is not like getting caught in a stand of hardwoods; oftentimes a saving pitch-out is the only option. And while I wouldn't call Falling Creek a long course by any stretch, it does have a few long holes, including a challenging closing stretch of three legitimate par 4s. Thus, while the course features plenty of birdie opportunities for those that can throw long and straight, it also may impose more doubles upon you than you like, because if you veer off into the trees recovery can be a challenge. Finally, the course does include a few holes with either baskets protected by a wooded area, or with tees coming out of the wooded area, and the stream is in play on a couple holes. These features keep the course from being defined as a purely grip and rip experience.

Overall, Falling Creek Park is well worth a road trip. The landscape and amenities alone make the course a high-end option. Yes, there's not much need for touch off the tee here and the teepads might be a little too short for some. The scenery, fun holes along the hillside and down to the stream, and overall experience, though, well compensate for these shortcomings. What it all adds up to is one of the better disc golf courses in Virginia.

Favorite Hole - #17 - plays downhill through a gap in the trees along the streambed, then back up to a protected basket in the woods.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Morning

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Dudly
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is very well cared for! Big mowed fairways on the open holes, underbrush to a minimum around the wooded holes.
-Good basket placements even on the open field holes, might not give pro's a challenge, but a recreational player (like me) has to think about how to work around an obstacle on almost every hole, then make the throw as planned.
-only time I've ever seen brick tee pads
-Really liked holes 4 & 17...
--4 shot out of the woods, over a small creek, up a hill, and you ideally get through a grove of pine trees for a manageable par lay up.
--17 started about 150 feet up a hill, down over a creek through a break in the trees ideally leaving you near the entrance to a wooded enclave protecting the basket, which sits another 80 feet up.
Cons: -2 or 3 holes on the back 9 were flat, basically open shots at the baskets, in the 200-300 foot range. It seemed like they were crammed in just so the course would be 18 holes. That said, I liked how they helped out my score, and I want to play the course again for another couple shots at my first ace.
-played at 8 am in August, course was completely dew soaked, still was when we left at 10 am. Obviously, beyond the designers control, but players should take it into account when planning footwear.
-under above circumstances I slipped quite a few times on the brick tee pads. I was wearing fairly new Keen sandal/sneakers which I normally get good grip with on concrete but the brick was slick.
Other Thoughts: -played this course, as well as near by Sontag DGC in Rocky Mount VA, with my bro on back-to-back days. We're both recreational players that are serious about getting better so Sontag was a great challenge, but... Falling Creek was a lot more fun while still being a challenge (on most holes). If you can only play one, play Falling Creek, unless you have a dedicated group of experienced players.

-I think a mason/quarry owner in the Bedford VA area must be an avid disc golfer as well as very generous. This course not only has a the brick tee pads but most holes have benches made out of huge single slabs of rock. Very cool aesthetic touch. Really can't say enough about the upkeep of the park in general, it's awesome.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Challenge

1    5/14/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the brick paver tee pads. Played right after a rain, but the tees weren't a problem - not that slick at all. Easy to navigate -- just follow the paint on the basket to the next tee.

More open than I'm used to, but it was a good challenge for me. Keep your disc on the fairway -- otherwise you may end up stuck behind a tree with no shot to the basket at all.
Cons: The holes are VERY similar -- I have a hard time picking out a favorite, or even a signature hole for this course. I'm used to wooded courses with a lot of variation from the tee, and this was just "throw straight and long" over and over again. I also had a problem a couple of times with basket positions; I would throw where the tee sign said the basket was, but it was incorrect. Cost myself a couple strokes by throwing to the wrong place.
Other Thoughts: The grass was pretty wet when I played, and that affected how well I did. Next time, I'll bring two towels so I have a dry backup!

This course will challenge you if you don't have a decent arm off the tee. I can get it out there, but when I throw it hard, it's not always straight, so I had some problems. I had very few clear upshots, and had to just toss back into the fairway more than once.

All in all, a welcome change from what I'm used to. I'll certainly be back next time I'm in town!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Falling Creek

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 97  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent signage, some really open shots that you can let em rip on. Awesome brick paver tee boxes. They were huge!! Easy to navigate and everything was super well maintained.
Cons: Pretty windy the day I went, but that's not the courses fault I guess. Not a whole lot to dislike about this course.
Other Thoughts: Possibly the nicest, most well maintained course I have played. Really set the bar in this area. Liberty may well catch up to it and quickly, but these two courses make fro a great couple rounds of dg.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2017
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very solid, mostly open course. This was a nice change of pace to the typical wooded courses I play in North Carolina.
- Very good layout. Course flows nicely through a top-notch park. Baskets have prongs painted a different color pointing you in the direction of the next hole - always a good touch. Course also has some signs to point you to hard-to-find next holes, such as trying to find the tee for #4.
- Course has good variety of holes with some good, enjoyable hole layouts. Most fairways are open, with little to no trees, allowing you to be aggressive with your tee shots. Many baskets are placed near/behind trees, slopes, forcing you to be accurate with 2nd, 3rd shots. It has the feel of a traditional golf course.
- This is the best manicured course I have ever played. It has the feel of a traditional golf course with well-defined, cut fairways. Winthrop had been the gold standard when it came to best maintained courses, but this surpasses even that. I was impressed the grass was cut around small bushes and trees that would seem to be out of the way, and in turn, could/should be ignored. Even in the back of the park, where it's disc golf only, there was no slacking off on the maintenance.
- Course has a good mix of some shorter holes (4 at 250 & less) and longer ones (5 at 400 & longer). The others (obviously) are in between, with holes averaging 320 feet.
- Two sets of tees (although the long tees are only dirt). The brick tees (for the normal layout) are great, but I suspect they get slippery real easily after it rains.
- This is a beautiful park with great amenities. Restrooms and water fountains are by the first hole. My random observation about the course: there's a walking trail that has exercise/activity stations placed throughout it. Walking from the 18th tee back to the parking lot, my buddy & I passed 3 such stations which emphasized: back stretches, ab crunches and a modified exercise bike. I guess they're telling you that walking/running on the trail isn't enough, you need to be doing exercises during your exercise time.
- Very little risk of losing a disc. Your biggest threat actually would be to have one sail into one of the big, thick evergreens, and trying to spot/retrieve it.
Cons: There weren't many major cons here. The course is pretty close to perfect in what it aims to be: a very good, but not great course.
- I wish there was more use of the hills/elevation that's seen throughout the park. There were a couple places with good elevation changes (better than any of the existing holes) that would have been fun downhill throws.
- If you don't use a map or pay attention to the painted prongs on the baskets, you could easily wind up at the wrong hole. At one point on the course you can see 3 different tee pads (holes #6, 8 & 18) as well as baskets for several other holes. Common sense, and/or a little planning (like printing out a map) will eliminate this problem rather easily.
- As mentioned above, the brick tee pads look like they can get slippery real easily. Even on a dry day, when I played, you slide a little more than you would on concrete. I think the pads look great, but they could be frustrating at times.
- The front of the course (holes #1 & 2), and the parking lot are right behind a nursing home. The two really don't affect each other, just weird that it's right there.
- This seems dumb, but if you don't like open courses, you probably won't be a fan of this one.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top "open" course I've played. The back 9 definitely has more trees, but you can still be aggressive with your tee shots on just about every hole.
- The course was solid from start to finish. It speaks well about the course that there was only one part that seemed out of place. The area around #10 basket was essentially just dirt and didn't seem too cared for. Again it says a lot about the course that this was the only area I noticed something.
- From my Charlotte perspective, this course reminded me of Mint Hill. Playing the back 9, I had an epiphany of what Mint Hill would be like if it were expanded to 18 holes.
- I didn't feel the course had a signature hole. There were a lot of A- & B+ holes, but not one that stood out above the rest.
- I hate that this course isn't close to anything. It's probably 45 minutes off the interstate, not really close to any big towns. It's definitely worth the detour. I'd play here again if/when I find an excuse to be in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

36 Basket Course

5+    11/27/2016   9/10/2009
Review By: basketcase
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/28/2016
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are now 36 holes. The "Red" course and the "Yellow" course. The Front 9 for both courses play from a common tee pad, the Red course, in general, is in the shorter pin placement and the Yellow course plays to longer. The back 9 are completely separate and share nothing. The new Red back 9 hole are generally much shorter(between 185' and 295') but are mostly wooded and tight. The Yellow back 9 is the original back 9 and plays much longer through the Cedars.
I like to mix it up a bit and usually play the opposite back 9 than the front(Red front Yellow back or vice versa).
The signage is now accurate for both courses.
Cons: Some of the Red back 9 holes are a little short not letting you really air it out much. All but 3 of the Red back 9 are brick, it would be better if they all were.
Other Thoughts: There are plenty of Birdie opportunities on the Red course and a few ace runs too. There are far fewer on the Yellow course due to length...I guess that's why I like it better now, you have options.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with great surroundings

1    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Vicarious
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was the first 18 hole that I have played. I was very impressed with the layout of the course. It looked more like a golf course by the way it was set up. great obstacles. The cedar trees define the fairways very well and also become good obstacles. The brick tees are quite unique and are very well maintained. Also, if a disc gets stuck in a tree there is no need to climb because near every hole is a stick of bamboo about 10-15 feet long, so you can prod at your stuck disc. Overall there are really too many pros to name about this course.
Cons: aren't many but there aren't any bathrooms located around the course other than the start and the finish. Hole 4 didn't have a brick tee but an all natural tee with has become more of a horseshoe pit than an tee. Very little litter but there was some. The park is shared so there is also a hazard of hitting little ones and adults as well on accident.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play for amateurs and pros alike. Easily the best course that I have played thus far.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.