Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Suicide Flats Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #18
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun compliment to neighboring course

1    11/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 of the longest collection of holes to be found in Southern California.
-Relatively flat terrain makes for a pleasant round with little effort.
-Park is huge and quiet, spread out enough to eliminate any stress from other golfers or park goers.
-Cats AND peacocks roaming around. How cool is that?
-Tee signs and concrete tees. Distances are marked but holes are so long that it is hard to determine which pin placement's distance we were going for.
-All grass for you dirtaphobics.
-Some unavoidable water hazards....rare for the area.
-Great for big arms and rollers.
Cons: -All shots are great for big arms and rollers.
-Most holes follow the same pattern: Navigate the spread out trees and get it far!
-First time navigation without a map will probably get confusing.
-For being a park course, it lacks 'park course amenities.' No benches, few trash cans, and the two bathrooms were pretty sketchy.
Other Thoughts: Suicide Flats is a very long, relatively flat park course in a remote area near Bakersfield, CA. While the surrounding area is predominantly brush, the course like an oasis in the area; all grass, lots of trees for shade, and a variety of water ways that meander throughout the region. Even on a weekend, we found the park to be sparsely populated, resulting in essentially a DG exclusive area for us.

While the park is mostly flat, some holes have +/- upwards of 10 feet in elevation. I know its not much, but it has not been mentioned so I thought I would. Most of these elevation changes occur nearer to the tee than the pin, often playing some role in your shot selection.

If you have a roller in your bag, you will be pretty happy out here. Make sure you are familiar with the hole though, as at least two holes hide some water hazards, one of which is a stream that is completely invisible off the tee.

Hole 6 could be their signature hole, one of their shorter ones, crossing a road and a pretty wide creek. Safety throws for par near the edge of the water are possible as well as attempts for birdie as well. A road behind the pin punishes throws that are too strong. Hole 6 would definitely be a winner if you did not have to take a 5 minute walk to get from the tee to the pin, across a distant bridge and out of sight from your plastic for the majority of the time.

Two par 4 holes are sprinkled into the course, however we did not find their length or design to be different than any of the other 16 holes on the course. In fact, they were shorter than some of the par 3's.

Navigation at this course was pretty weird. Nothing too surprising at first, but after the long walk to hole 6's basket, you find yourself finding holes in little groups. 7, 8 and 9 are all close to each other, then a long walk. Same with 10 and 11. And 12 and 13. 15 to 17 are close, and one more weird long walk gets you to hole 18. I mention this because the walks between the above mentioned holes are quite long and the direction is not obvious. Bring a map! The walk to hole 18 takes you next to this weird abandoned mill that has been taken over by random house cats that dominate the area. And peacocks.

Hole 9's tee pad is down the hill a little bit by the river. Some have had trouble finding it, but just go next to the river, and you will see it. It's location adds around 10-15 feet of uphill elevation to the hole, and makes for one of the more unique experiences on the course.

Hole 18 looks like a simple, long closer to the course, but it hides a dirty secret about 250 feet up the fairway. A relatively wide and 'deep enough to be annoying' river hides between two hills that will eat your rollers and normal throws alike, so just keep that in mind to keep your disc dry and your score low.

Aside from holes 6, 9, and 18, the course is all 'flat, grass, spread out trees, roads ob' disc golf that you can find anywhere at any course. Combined with Shark Tooth Mountain, though, this course suddenly becomes a worthy visit for any Californian looking for some variety outside of their home courses. This course is certainly the longest I have ever experienced and would not be fun for beginners purely due to its length. While long, it does not require a ton of energy to play.

A day needs to be set aside to enjoy the two courses out here, as they are just too long to 'stop by' to on a road trip. Play Shark Tooth first as it requires more elevation and is clearly the destination to the area. While overshadowed by its neighboring course, Suicide Flats is a descent park course in itself, helps absorb any crowds that may be around, and makes the two hour haul from LA justified.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly Named

1    5/12/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 188  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Mature Trees Provide Some Challenge
Water Hazards on a Few Holes
Concrete Tee Pads
Huge Park
Plenty of Parking
Clean
Very Quiet
Another Course In Park (Total of 36 Holes)
Camping in Park
Cons:
Navigation Was Difficult (Even with Map)
Restrooms are Downright Disgusting
Trash Cans Were Overflowing
Many Holes are Somewhat Monotonous
Other Thoughts:
This is a fairly long course located in a huge county park. Park is home to two 18-hole courses which would make for a decent day of disc golf. While the courses seem to be well-maintained the park itself could use a lot of work. The bathrooms were disgusting and what trashcans were there were over-flowing.

The course itself lives up to its name, flat, and to be perfectly honest could drive you insane. It seems nearly every hole was the same, long, flat, and straight. There were some highlights however, hole 6 being the first. The only hole with any elevation change, it also has an awesome water hazard making it the signature hole on Suicide Flats.

While the holes were all pretty repetitive, the mature trees and the water hazards throughout make it worth the play if you are in the area. Add the second on-site course and its worth the drive out there.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Get Your Suicide On!

1    6/21/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 20.5 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Clean concrete pads
-Semi-reliable tee signs
-Pretty good use of the meandering stream in hole layouts. A good amount of danger on a few holes.
-Long holes with plenty of trees cutting off the high road...those with a developed roller game will thrive here.
-Lots of wildlife. In the 3 hours we spent there dog got sprayed by a skunk, the roving peacocks mocked my putting and a coyote eyeballed our more tender pieces for dinner.
-Seemed a relatively unused park when we were there. Didn't see another golfer or patron of the park.
Cons: -Navigation. Not all tees have hole maps (I think. Somehow, even with the aide of a map, we lost hole 9...no sign of either that tee or basket.:() and it is often a hike from basket to new tee.
-Topography. This course is as flat as your first girlfriend.
-Hole design is on the repetitive side. Flat and straight or with water to the left of target.
-Restrooms few and far between, as are water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Suicide Flats is a fun little course, especially for rollers. The course is longish with plenty of trees in between the shooter and most targets.
The signature hole would have to be hole six. It is maybe 240', slightly downhill on a little island across the stream. Danger in front, left and right. A pair of trees close to the tee to compound the problems this hole presents to golfers. Fun and rewarding.
Suicide Flats is a great place to practice your rollers, but, overall, the course sits on an unremarkable piece of land for a golf course.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Flat!

1    6/21/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of parking, not crowded, large concrete tee pads, new baskets, new tee signs, wildlife, water hazards , picnic tables, BBQ's, shade and best of all it's free

Cons: Trash throughout the course, tee signs lacking information or direction of the basket, navigation was challenging and restroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: This has a typical links course layout with a longer than normal walk to the next tee pad. Sometimes requiring you to cross over roads with no navigation aids(next tee signs). The course is very flat with manicureed grass throughout and no underbrush. There is some water hazards that come into play and can wreak havoc if not careful. The course is a dream for those that have a roller in their arsenal with the low ceiling and the flat manicured grass. There are mature trees throughout the course with basket placements leaving you narrow lines or low ones. Most holes are long playing upto 700ft with only a couple under 300ft. This is not your beginner course. Eventhough this is out of the way for those traveling on HWY99 or I-5 its worth the time just make sure you bring a lunch and plenty of water!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Disc Golf Oasis

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were returning to NorCal after visiting NorAZ, and looked on the map to see where we might be able to stop and play a round or two of disc golf. Bakersfield was perfect, and we arrived around 5:00 PM, just when we wanted to be off the road for a while (hwy 99 can be trafficky during rush hour).

We were amazed to find, after following Comanche Rd for about 9 miles from hwy 58 (we checked it, though the course description directions say 8 miles), a wonderful oasis full of trees, manicured grass expanses, ponds, lakes, streams, etc., unfold in front of our eyes. We found ourselves in a manicured park next to the Kern River, with great shade trees, ponds with bull frogs, dozens of peacocks, scores of cats, a handful of skunks, and even a large snake! And of course, 36 holes of disc golf.

We had hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon the previous day in blistering desert heat, so as attractive as the Shark Tooth course sounded in principle, the lack of shade and the steep topography were not nearly as attractive to us as the wonderful shade and green expanses of Suicide Flats.

The holes were a lot of fun. Some of the positions were set over 700', which made for a fun challenge to score a 3. Most other holes were in the 350-460' range, and only a few were under 300'. The creeks and ponds come into play on a few holes, giving a nice psychological challenge and a serious gut check. I watched my wife chuck her Tee-Rex right into the middle of the pond on hole 6, and we also got wet on a few of the later holes as well (although we recovered the discs).

This course requires you to hit some narrow gaps and tunnels, and there are usually several routes to choose from. For big arms and strong overhand throwers, some of the tree lines are low enough to allow over-the-top routes. The grass was a bit too grabby/sticky for rollers when we were there, but if it ever stiffens up I can imagine this would be a great roller course, which would also mitigate the risk of hitting tree branches and such.

The tees were fantastic, and all the baskets were in great shape and quality (Mach 3). There was even working water fountains near the 1st tee (in the small round rock building).
Cons: A lot of the fairways/available routes were hockey sticks, favoring RHBH/LHFH throws. I never once felt the urge or need to throw a forehand shot. I only once thought about it on number 8, but instead I hyzer-flipped my Valkyrie and parked the hole with little trouble.
Other Thoughts: There is no visible sign that you are entering "Hart Park" as such. It just kind of appears around you. I'm not sure how to describe better directions, but the 1st tees for both courses are near where the road forks in 3 different directions.

The bathrooms were a little dubious, but heck, at least they exist! I'll take almost any bathroom in a pinch.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Suicide Flats

2-4    12/30/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 467  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- 2 Courses in 1 Park. It's always a pro when there are two good disc golf courses in one park. I love tagging two new courses in one day. Plus, it makes for a great day of golf!
- Roller Practice. It's not too often I get to break out the old roller disc and go to town. Because this course is so long and flat, and has manicured grass, it is a great place to throw rollers. However, when you don't throw rollers all the time, it's not necessarily best for your scorecard.
- Winged Wildlife. There were so many different types of birds there it was amazing. Possibly one of the most bird filled disc golf courses I've ever played. We saw black cormorants, great blue herons, egrets, mallards, some other kind of ducks, acorn woodpeckers, wrens, finches... all types of birds. With the river, creeks and waterways, as well as grass fields, variety of trees and mountains nearby, there was something for every kind of bird.
- Lots of OB. Although a fairly open, flat, grass course, Suicide Flats has enough OB and pins positioned in proximity to OB to make it interesting. OB is usually in the form of park roads, but there are also several fairways that are flanked by water, and one hole (#6) that requires a decent drive (250') to carry the water.
Cons:
- Straight, Straight, Straight... x18. This course is appropriately named... because I wanted to commit suicide after about 6 holes; and not because it was flat, but because every hole was STRAIGHT. Sure, you could throw a hyzer, or anhyzer, or a sidearm... but it certainly wasn't the holes design that forced your shot. Not one dogleg, not one mandy designed to force you to have to shape a shot... Just grip it and rip it, and hopefully straight. After about the 6th hole it became a game to see if the next hole might offer up something new... but, it never did. Disappointing.
- Litter. This place is trashed... LITTER-ally. Diapers, food trash, soda cans, water bottles, beer cans wedged in trees (???)... And, unfortunately this trash has blown into the waterways that much of the bird wildlife rely upon. Here you are, watching a mallard swim along or watching a crane wade on the edge of the creek looking for a meal... and then an Aquafina water bottles floats past the mallard and paper plates and plastic bags line the shores with the crane. Terrible.
- Poop before You Arrive. Probably one of the worst bathrooms I've seen in my life! It's the kind of restroom where people hover when they take a shit because they'd be too scared not to, but they accidentally miss the toilet and their crap lands on the seat... and then they do nothing about it, but neither do the park maintenance personnel. The kind of bathroom where there are no doors on the stalls and the walls are 10" thick with layers of paint covering up graffiti.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall... It's great that the city decided to put two - really decent, but far from perfect - disc golf courses in one location. At Suicide Flats: the shots are decent, but in general lack variety. The long Par 4/5ish holes are great, but tee-signs are needed to tell you the actual distances and pars. And, although there are plenty of birds who call Hart Park home, the course is probably just a little too long for 95% of players to see a lot of "birds".
- My Score: 59

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Small arms need not apply

1    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: sideArmSal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, lots of trees, well groomed grass. Long holes, big arms and rollers will love it. It is like having two drives on half of the holes.
Cons: Danger of pedestrian interference. Watch out for the many large gopher holes on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Great course! This combined with Shark Tooth make Hart Park a must play.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whip out your Rollers

1    9/19/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 481  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 16.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very nice sign & information kiosk in between the two Hart Park courses
- nice, new, large cement tees
- great risk/reward shots dealing with water (canals/Kern River), and the park lakes
- awesome layout, and good use of mandos & longer holes to separate the technical ones
- shiny new baskets, easily visible
- forces a player to use every shot in the book
Cons: - as of the first Sharktooth Open there were no signs on this course, so navigation is tricky. make sure you look at the map before playing your round
- no water (only the rock structure by the course map has drinking fountains) or bathrooms close by
- kind of in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: As far as the navigation issues that I mentioned in Cons, 1-5 are easy to follow, after you throw 6 you have to walk across a bridge and then 200' back to the basket to get your disc. After six, walk back toward the bridge, and tee 7 will throw through ALL the trees toward the road about 360' away. It's a bit difficult to see the basket from the tee. After 8, Tee 9 is down by the canal to your right. After 9, walk across the street and tee 10 is about 150' up the road and on your left. Lastly, after 15, walk past the basket, up toward the road and across the bridge to your left. Tee 16 is on your right, immediately after the bridge. Hope this helps any first time navigation issues!

As far as newer courses go, Hart Park has some of the best. You come to Hart for a challenge, and use the four 9 hole course in Bakersfield as your ace run/birdie courses.

Suicide Flats is extremely roller friendly due to many low ceilings.

If you're looking for water, and don't want to wait for someone in the stone building with the drinking fountains, there is also a well surrounded by a cut-off, 50 gallon, bright blue barrel by Sharktooth Mountain 17.

I thought the Flats was a little bit better than the Mountain because of the solid tees and multiple pin locations. It is an awesome addition for the Central Valley and Bakersfield area. I recommend playing both Hart Park courses to anyone passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Flats

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As another reviewer said, this course was designed to be the complement the mountain course. This course is shady and grassy, but still very challenging and holds good risk/reward situations. Where the mountain course has elevation to challenge you, this course has trees, OBs and water to trip you up.
-Big concrete tee boxes
-Big, long holes with a balance of shorter technical holes to get your birdies on. To play this course well you must grind out pars on the long holes and take advantage of the birdie holes.
-Great park setting with scenic holes that have the Kern river, or the lakes in the park as backdrops.
-Lots of water fountains, bathrooms and shade.
Cons: -Until we finish the tee signs navigation can be tricky in a couple spots.
Other Thoughts: Ignore the other post about "gang violence" that was bogus and a sheriff's training facility is at the park, which is probably why he saw a lot of police. Also the county was working on the river system for a few days and the canals were dry. Trust me, the water holes are indeed water hazards.

Bakersfield has 4 other courses that are designed for beginners. The 36 holes as Hart Park were designed to be challenging for 950+ rated players and for tournament play. If you want a birdie fest go into town. If you want a strong test of your throwing skills and course management in a beautiful, peaceful setting, then come to Hart Park. You will not be disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long drives and many challenges

1    8/8/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Beautiful park-like setting with some water/mud hazards.
*Very long holes which can be fun but tough.
*Lots of friendly locals who were more than happy to show us around.
*Water hazards are challenging.
Cons: *Very long holes - be nice to have a birdie shot once in awhile.
*Lots of people in park and sometimes in the way.
*Some potential gang violence and police presence never helps.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center