Ferrum, VA 
Ferrum College Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #18 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Ferrum College

2-4    8/14/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: Palmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #5: A great hole to ace, but tough to birdie. You just have to play it.

Very technical and very challenging.
Cons: I don't recommend taking children to the course due to the beer cans and bottles. It is after a college campus.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are easy to locate. From the basket just follow the worn paths. 18 is a bit tricky. After the basket on 17 head up the hill to the field. Hang a left for about 30 feet, the start of 18 is on the edge of the trees heading down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 like a dorey park of the west

2-4    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 648  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are clearly marked(downed tree borders) and numbered with distance. Course is easy to navigate, most paths are easy to spot or lined with trees. Great mix of shots, left, right, straight, up and down. Technical shots make short distances challenging. Plays quick for multiple rounds. Room to grow.
Cons: Natural tees are the only con here and it's not really a big one they could just use some leveling and de-rooting.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course as I'm a fan of short and technical. They put some time and effort into making nice defined fairways and paths, most lined with downed trees. Because of the clearing efforts this course is easy to follow for first timers, a stripe of paint on a basket rung would go a long way but didn't see the need for a lot of signs. The hole variation is fantastic with 15 in the woods, and 3(3,4,11) that are fairly open. With most holes being fairly short the technical aspect still makes it interesting.

I think this course is still going to get better. They have room for a second set of tees I believe on most holes, and could clear the remaining roots from the shorts. I thought it was a shame the pond didn't get used but maybe the longs could use it on I think 13. I would also work on defining the fairways on 7 and 17, and get rid of the one little tree on 5's left route.

The course was great fun and had some fun holes like 5 that sat atop between to 8ft ditches, 18 that was a big downhill the fading left. I would have loved to of had this course on campus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2010   1/23/2009
Review By: 21730
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation on short, technical holes. You better make a good upshot because there is roll-away potential out there. The pin placments are the best part of the course design by far.

UPDATE - 4/26/2010: Lot of work has went into making the course better in the last 6 months or so. Ther are now a few alternate tees, and every tee pad has a solid base of gravel. Course is coming together nicely. Kudos to all involved on the hard work put into the course
Cons: - It's still a little rough out there, but that is to be expected on a brand new woods course. If you miss the fairway there is a good chance you'll find a brush pile. The tees are natural, and could use some attention as well. But, it is a new course, and most are a constant work in progress.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about the course is that it is only 10 minutes or so from my house, and rounds can be played rather quickly.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.