Elverson, PA 
French Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
All Gold Everything

2-4    11/18/2017   11/18/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course blind, in a tournament, all gold baskets, and in the middle of a hot summer day.

And I loved every second of it.

French Creek is a perfect example of Pennsylvania woods golf, with magnificent rock structures, thick trees and punishing rough. Every hole winds through the forests withing the wooded walls of French Creek State Park.

The rubber tees were the best of the kind that I have played on, because even after a slight rain the day before, they stayed very grippy allowing for safe drives when you need both power and accuracy.

The baskets were older Mach III's that caught well, and with two per hole, you have a large variety of layouts that are available to play!

The design of the holes was amazing, as you were throwing shots around all different trees and rocks, with different lines to hit on every hole. You played up hills and down the hills, and with left turning and right turning shots.

Navigation was quite easy, with some signs to lead you down the mostly well marked paths, and the flow of the course was well done, with no holes leading to a super long walk afterwards.

The rough was clear, and the lines were there, even if they were small. You had a lot of different ways to get throughout the hole and escape with a par, and if your lucky you could get a birdie, as some of the holes are able to be gotten!
Cons: There is nothing too major that keeps this course from turning into a true destination, but maybe within the next couple years, we could dust off the old gem and turn it into a diamond.

The Mach III's are fine baskets, but when you have tight lines through the woods, an extra color could go a long way towards fixing any navigational issues. Maybe even new baskets?

Tight lines through the woods are some of my favorite holes in disc golf, but some holes led to me being very angry, with many trees causing severe problems for the less skilled player.

Also, tight lines on every hole can lead to some repetitiveness, which there isn't a whole lot of, but there are some holes that seem similar to each other. The design is well done, but there are a few holes that are just the same throw and pray type shot, especially for the shorter silver holes.

The gold tees are hard. Not a con, but more of a warning if you are hoping to come here and shoot under par, you won't, unless you are somewhere in the 1000 rated range.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course at French Creek State Park! A lot of tight fairways and sneaky lines lead to a fantastic course, a course that I could see becoming a true destination along with the other fantastic courses in Eastern PA!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Newer Review to Show Course Progress

1    7/2/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: wookieebeck
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teeboxes look brand new. Very nicely maintained. Good new signs with both baskets easy to find. Download the course map from DGCR and you are all set.
There is one teepad and two baskets per hole (long and short). Fun to play.
Cons: Rocks. Not just mountain stones (which there are alot of), but the grushed gravel in the fairways is not cool. To keep the weeds down, mulch would have been better here. Giving your discs road rash on every throw is just not right.
Other Thoughts: It is the woods. Getting off of the fairway can lead to some thick underbrush.
Very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and upkeep. I will make many return visits.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Perspective

1    5/17/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: xjwigluszx
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is really well maintained and have good tee pads. Being almost entirely in the woods makes for a very fun and scenic round. Another positive is that despite being heavily wooded, French Creek lacks the brush and bushes making disc finding relatively easy. Also some fun variations of holes with some fun hills both up and down early on. Fun enough to offset the frustrating aspect of the difficulty level.
Cons: The biggest con about French Creek is the lack of directions after holing out. If not for playing with an experienced friend, I may still be looking for hole 8. Only other real complaint is the 'silver" baskets are sometime hard to locate from the teebox, the simple orange tape around the post isn't always enough and you really have to look. Not an actual con, but as a beginner this course is very challenging. Some holes can be downright frustrating.
Other Thoughts: This is a really technical course that's really hard to negotiate. But despite the frustration from playing, the course is a lot of fun to play, even as a beginner... because your more experienced friends will probably be slamming trees as well. Definitely go out with someone whose played before to work as a guide because the next tee isn't always given.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Super challenging for new player

1    4/13/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: revans1009
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super technical and doesn't take a big arm to be effective.
Beautiful area and vast layout were extremely well maintained.

Silver and gold baskets play like two different courses and offer variable layouts, keeping it very interesting.
Cons: Super technical. Yes, pro and con. You simply have to focus on clean technique as trees abound everywhere.
I would have been completely lost from hole to hole if not for a great group of others leading the way.
Other Thoughts: This was a very tough outing for me personally but I really appreciated the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost entirely positive

1    11/17/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Improbably
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course requires both accuracy and distance on every single hole. That's a good thing.
Cons: I hate flymats! I can't stand flymats! I loathe flymats! All kinds of flymats! I hate black flymats! I hate green flymats! I hate flymats with brooms! I hate flymats without brooms! I hate them sanctioned and non-sanctioned! I hate flymats in bunches, one at a time, or playing in groups of twos and threes! I hate flymats!
Other Thoughts: Parking situation is unfortunate in off season. I blame DNCR the course designers routed it well.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Seasoned Disc's after 18 holes

2-4    8/26/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes of wooded elevation change, dual baskets on most holes, rubber tee pads, good tee signage, bring your seasoned discs, b/c if they aint chewed up....they will be after a couple rounds..it's rocky.
Brooms at every tee pad...two thumbs up!
I had a blast playing here while camping at French Creek Campground. Well worth taking a trip to this fine PA park.
Cons: First time I played here I had a hell of a time figuring out where the next hole was when playing the long baskets. I don't think there was any signs directing you where to go. Even log lined paths would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Great course and fun to play multiple rounds. Besides disc golf, this park offers many activities for the family, so if they don't play, there's so many other activities to suit their fancy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pardon my French

1    5/26/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 heavily wooded holes with nice dual tees and baskets providing a variety of distances and challenge of left, right and straight shots. The available elevation is well utilized. Surprisingly little underbrush for such a wooded course. Great signage and navigation for the most part. Seems to be well maintained and gets a good amount play from beginners to seasoned vets. Disc golf only area of park. Bathrooms and water in parking lot by pool.
Cons: Not much. A couple chuck and hope shots off the long tees. A few holes play a little close to roads, and other holes. Poison Ivy rough on a couple of the back 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a bon moment(french for good time) during my round on the long layout at French Creek. The state park is fairly big and has lots of other fun activities, and the course is in it's own secluded area for the most part. Hole 3 was my favorite. There is everything from an ace run to hope I get a 5. Off the fairway is tough to make any recovery shots from and the fairways aren't very big to begin with, but finding discs off the fairway wasn't much a issue. If you don't like playing in the woods you'll think the French are a-holes. There is some repetitiveness being in the woods the entire time and not much room to air anything out. Control and staying in the fairway is the name of the game. I was a little surprised there wasn't much elevation on the course, but there's not much that can done about the land provided. A little tricky finding hole 1 and 8, but after that it's smooth sailing from hole to hole for the most part. I don't recall any long walks playing the long layout, most were fairly close. The GPS coordinates on here took me to the lake not the course. Follow signs all the way to the pool and park there, then walk uphill to the far corner of the lot for hole 1. I'd recommend Frenchy to anybody that likes the woods and with Camp Sankanac fairly close it makes a pretty sweet duo to play when you can.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course to play

1    5/18/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Course good. Good layout. Some parts were really challenging. Nice bright yellow signs for the holes lead me right to the next one every time so navigating through the course isn't that bad. There are two holes a silver for more casual or amatures, and there are gold holes for better players or pros.
Cons: Where there's good there's usually some bad and this course is no different. In other reviews some users made the point that there isn't much variety in the holes well that's unfortunately true, it's a very nice course just be prepared to hike through woods...woods and well more woods, I would've liked to see some variety like hills or water for a better challenge. Also that was the second time I went french creek for disc golf, but the first time I couldn't find the course at all, I went to the office to ask but they were closed for the day. I had trouble finding it this time as well and when I went to the park office again they were closed, but the hours said they were open from 8 am to 4 pm, I arrived at 10:30 am, not really a fault on the course, more so a fault against the park. I did finally find the course, if you go though just keep in mind you go down the road to the right of the office and follow that about a mile or 2 down and you'll see the first hole on the right. So they should add some signs for cars pointing to the disc golf course because they have signs for almost everything else except disc golf, they do have disc golf on the map, but it doesn't really help because that's where the course was before they moved it. Also signs to the next tee would be nice, I know I said navigating through the course wasn't so bad but there were some holes that I had trouble finding like # 8 the next tee is usually somewhere near the gold hole but that one wasn't even close. Lastly and this really isn't a major problem, but I can't ignore it either. on the holes I didn't see what the par was on any of them. They could be there and I just didn't see them so that didn't effect the rating, however there were also no score cards and that would've definitely been nice to have that and a map of the course layout on the back.
Other Thoughts: Overall this isn't a bad course. It's good for beginners and pros. but if your a beginner or intermediate like me i'd suggest playing the silver first to get to know the course, because at some holes the gold isn't far off from the silver, but in others its a major difference. (hole 3 for example has about 250' to the silver and over 900' to the gold) oh and also when you play this course you may want to park on the other side of the parking lot from hole 1, because 18 is way over there and nowhere close to hole one. However if you enjoy long walks you wont have a problem

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 PA woods and rocks!

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course in a large State Park. Very nice tee pads with rubber mats. Installed very well, and plenty long for any run up. Flat and smooth. No lumps, bumps or problems. Signs at each pad showing both basket positions and flight paths, as well as distances. Silver baskets play short, and golds play long. Sometimes really freaking long.

Course is well secluded from other park users and trails.

Well defined fairways. Also there is very little under growth if you get off the fairway. Not a lot of weeds or thorns to deal with.

Nice choice between a typical wooded, technical course, or playing the Gold baskets, and playing a long Pro level course. Golds play over 8200', and will put you on a course much like Nevin in Charlotte, Nockamixon or Iron Hill.

Decent variety of left and right shots. Course doesn't really favor a particular throwing style.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to see in the woods. Golds weren't too bad, but Silver was hard to locate in the trees. Could use some bright colors to help out.

Navigation fooled me a few times, but that may have been due to heavy leaf cover on the ground. There was some walkways that were probably more visible inn the summer. Might need a few signs or arrows for fools like me. Print the map, and you'll be fine.

No real exceptional holes or shots that are unforgettable. A little elevation is used, but there appeared to be some land available that could have offered some nice up or down hill bombs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed a nice round on a perfect 70 degree November day in PA. Course was just about completely wooded, but not overly tight. Hit some very fair lines, and you'll play well. A few holes were tight, but not brutally so. The under growth was almost non-existent so even if you're off your game, you can save par on most holes. This was a very good course, but lacked the wow factor I kept waiting for. The park has a nice lake, lots of rocks and so e decent hills, so I kept expecting some unique or exciting holes. They just never happened. But there was also no bad holes here. Just 18 nice, wooded holes with a short position for us humans, and a long positions for the poor fools that want to throw 450-900' shots through the woods. I would definitely recommend this course if you're close by. It it well kept, and offers two versions for different moods or skill sets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: gauma369
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Two pin positions (gold/silver)
-Good signage
-Well maintained
-Benches
-Rubber tee pads
-Well defined fairways
Cons: -Very tight wooded holes
-Gold pins are very tough and long
-Lots of bugs
-No water in play
Other Thoughts: I just finished playing my first time played the gold pins first and went back and played silver pins right after. Overall very well maintained course. I enjoyed playing and would recommend and come back to play again. Although I listed no water as a con it doesnt bring down the overall rating of the course but would have been nice to have a hole or two that had water in play. I love wooded courses that are challenging and this course is def. both wooded and challenging. As others have mentioned an orange flag on the holes would help out a lot with spotting the holes from the tees which is some times very difficult. A 'next tee' sign would be helpful between 7 and 8, luckily there was a group teeing off hole 1 which helped me to find 8 tee. Very challenging course with very tight almost impossible fairways make playing gold pins frustrating at times. I am no pro so some fairways were almost impossible to stay on. If you are more of a recreational player I would def. recommend playing the silver holes although much shorter still a nice course and difficult.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.