Mobile, AL 
Municipal Gold DGC Share
Uploaded By: SAMSON Hole #1
3 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Neglected Course

1    7/6/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 126  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free, plenty of free parking
- located next to family park with playgrounds, swings, ect
- bathrooms on location
- plenty of shaded rest areas adjacent to the course
- art museum close by
- 8 DGA baskets in great condition
- next to another course
- clean, semi maintained park style course
Cons:

- listed as 18, but really only 8 holes
- still no marked tee locations
- no tee signs
- no directional signage between holes
- baskets are not numbered
- this particular section of land was soft and soggy in the middle
- later holes (6-8) located near a busy road and popular walking trail
Other Thoughts:

Basically, this is a collection of unmarked baskets in a field. There was nothing to indicate where to throw from or to which basket, not even an online map. I'm not necessarily convinced you should call that a course, especially if this has been the case for numerous years as indicated by previous reviewers. It's my understanding that this space is used for special events/tournaments, but has since been cannibalized. 1-3 & 5-9 are all that remain. I received their most recent course map that I will add to DGCR.

Going by the map, the course is deceptively long and fairly open with some ceilings. Much like the Langan course, I hardly used anything besides a max distance driver and a putter. The slab of land featured was your typical park style course. Trees and bushes of various sizes were evenly spread throughout. Baskets 2 & 7 were the most memorable holes on the course. Placing the 2nd basket between the concrete drainage convert and the parking lot access road gave it an island hole feel. Basket 7 features a RHBH hyzer line up and over the swampy lake to a basket, near the waters edge. This is the signature hole of the course and also the most likely way a player will lose a disc besides hole 9.

Besides that, it's hard to describe much more without knowing exactly where I was supposed to throw from. I've rated similar style 9 hole courses with concrete tees and adequate signage between a 2-2.5. If Muni Gold ever fixes up their course I'd revisit and adjust my rating to reflect the changes. I'd like to thank Mobile Area Disc Golf Association facebookers for coming to the rescue and sending me a makeshift map mid round, it was much appreciated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An updated look at an old course

2-4    8/9/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 106  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to start off by saying this course has been slightly redesigned with the addition of 9 more holes to make for a complete 18 hole course.

The biggest pro of this course is that like its counterpart right next door this is a course that demands some distance control with a variety of shots despite being relatively open. Scoring low will take a complete game.

There is a nice use of the land on both sides of the park with 5 holes bringing the giant lake directly into play. Lots of natural OB come into play.
Cons: There are a few big problems the course still has at this point. First and foremost there are no clearly defined tee signs. Using natural pads there are occasionally rocks or small stones which denote the tee pads, but unless you play the course with a local you will get lost trying to find your way around. Again, because of lack of any tee signs there is no way to know your distances on the holes.
The other big issue is that while there are 9 additional holes these are actually not located near the original 9. Your options are to either take the 5 minute walk across the bridge or hop in your car between 9s.
Other Thoughts: Being right next to Langan park, Muni Gold adds another good golfing option in Mobile. If you have the arm strength and endurance it makes for a nice day in the park to play both courses. You're gonna need to bring your A game to score less than 54 out here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

2-4    8/20/2016   9/18/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 60  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - the grounds are nice. has scenic overviews of the lake.
Cons: - Severe lack of signage
- No posts for tees
- Barely visible natural tee pads (can't find some at all)
- No amenities
Other Thoughts: I played here 4 years ago and remember it being slightly easier to navigate. Yesterday I returned because it seems like people still play it but theres a severe lack of signage. I imagine that there are locals who still know the layout, passing that info on to newcomers, but for someone trying to bag a "new" course you'll spend more time scratching your head then throwing your discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Finally!!! I figured it out!

2-4    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, let me say that this course grows on you. Every hole has a unique feel to it and it will make or break your confidence. There are so many different shots that this course will make you a better player. I would say these 10 holes, collectivly, are the hardest in Mobile.
Cons: I'm not gonna bash this course but I will lable what things i think need to be fixed

Dirt tee boxes, i'm not opposed to dirt tees if they are well defined

*Poor or no sinage* (worst part about the course)

Really bad undergrowth on hole 1

Thats it. Fix these things and lets play!



Other Thoughts: Im not sure who to talk to but if someone would donate some wood I would be willing to do the work and install some small signs. Also, it wouldn't take much to clean up hole one. I just need the go ahead!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NEED A GUIDE!!!

1    3/30/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Looks like it has potential to be a great course (needs some TLC)

2) great course to throw around on and practice shots from various locations/ elevations
Cons: 1) Pads are nearly impossible to find, because there are almost no markers.

2) The holes are a little beat up.

Other Thoughts: Unless you have a guide, or are familiar with this course, go to Langan P

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play it!

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice for a short play, or if you want to partner it with the Langan course across the lake, it makes a 28 hole complex. Many of the holes are well-conceived and executed. Lots of tricky angles and elevation. The first hole is tricky because the fairway (if you want to call it that) can't be seen from the tee. It throws from a pretty open spot into a thicket, with a diagonal lane cut through the thicket to the pin. The second hole is an easy sidearm or tumber ace run for righties, no more than 150 feet if that, downhill. The next hole is a 800 foot beast, throwing over a dam on a narrow fairway with fence OB on the right and some of the worst shule you'll see and a lake on the left. Good lord that hole is difficult, I've lost four discs in that spot. Hole 4 is a nice downhill hyzler skip back up a second rise, hole 5 is an ani with the lake/ shule in pay on the right and lots of trees on the left. Hole 6 pays downhill to a pin located in a corner created by a creek draining into the aforementioned lake/ shule. Hole 7 plays a long shot back up the hill to the pin, then Hole 8 plays back down that hill to another basket sitting on the side of the creek. Elevation changes on these last 3 holes are about 60-70 feet. Hole 9 is a long shot that you have to weave through a lot of tall spindly pines and Hole 10 plays past a wal of trees to a basket sitting on another rise. After daylight savings time, you can get off of work and have time to play all 10 before dark. Another thing I lvoe about this course is that I've never, and I mean never, had to wait for a tee box. it is absoltuely desolate other than a few walkers who use the conrete track around the course for exercise. Great scenery, lots of pines and oaks, big slope down from a bluff to the lake looks really nice in the winter time. Lots of cool brick and concrete historical markers that tell the history of Mobile, kind of look like the Washington Monument in shape. There are like 10 of them on that 800 foot hole's fairway, makes it look kinda "Lords of the Ring"-ish. Modern art museum on the same grounds with scultures on display all around.
Cons: Only 10 holes, though I think the club is working on getting clearance to add more. Natural teepads can get a little hairy when wet. There are some markers, but if you don't know you're way around you may have trouble finding the pins and tees.
Other Thoughts: Really a nice play, especialy if you pair the elevation of the Muni Gold course with the flat distance of the Langan Course across the lake. Good for all skill levels, the two courses together are the complete package for anyone wanting to test their skills (and pick up some new ones) while playing a really enjoyable round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible!

1    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Pretty land,
Cons: Worst coarse ive ever been too! I spent forever lookin for hole 1! Natural pads, no tee signs, trashy baskets. Bent up and everything. DONT WASTE UR TIME GOIN TO THIS COARSE!
Other Thoughts: I recamend if u want to play this coarse find a local

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.