Atlantic, IA 
Sunnyside DGC Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #16 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
top notch

5+    1/12/2020   1/13/2020
Review By: fsaddle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Everything you could want in a disc golf course. Empty your bag shots. Challenging. Fun. Well laid out. Each hole has at least two pin positions, some have three. Benches everywhere. Garbage cans on the course.
Cons: Just play and comment.
Other Thoughts: Cart friendly.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Overrated

2-4    9/20/2018   11/13/2018
Review By: LittleBigPutt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: It has a parking lot.
It has concrete tee pads.
It has tee signs.
Cons: Lot's of extremely muddy areas made getting around really difficult.

No directional signs, hard to find the next hole most of the time.

Creepy old man in park was following us around.

Lots of debris throughout the park.
Other Thoughts: Heard this park was a must play. Well I did - not worth going out of the way for.

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Solid course off the beaten path

1    10/6/2018   10/6/2018
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of holes. Has a couple of easily reachable ace runs, a "top of the world" bomber shot, and a bunch of moderate distances in between. Very few holes punish you for being forehand or backhand dependent, but it definitely benefits you if you are comfortable throwing with both techniques. Mostly park style golf, but there are a few wooded holes thrown in that add nice variety and a creek that comes into play on a couple other holes. The park itself is in fantastic shape; lush manicured grass is abundant, the teepads are concrete and in perfect shape, and there was no trash to be found anywhere.
Cons: A few of the shorter holes start to feel redundant -- simple putter or mid hyzer line thrown RHBH. One of the wooded holes is poorly designed (#6, I believe) from the pro pads; it's a double dogleg which seems like a nice idea, but the first angle is too severe to do anything other than layup to the corner.
Other Thoughts: Part of the appeal of this course is that it's tucked away in a small rural town. It's quaint and peaceful, and one of those places that you don't have to worry about dealing with big crowds. Will absolutely play again. Well worth the 70 minute drive from Omaha.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 City Park Disc Golf Done Right

1    9/9/2017   9/16/2017
Review By: hammerhead300
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads/basket locations for most holes, so there's a ton of replay value.

The signage is excellent. The basket locations and distances are shown, as well as the general direction of the next hole. Most of the holes with 2 tee pads have a sign for both tee pads.

Plenty of variety. There are a lot of open fairways, but several holes that require accuracy and make you think about line choice. It's not treacherous enough that a bad shot could easily cost you a disc, but there are a few places on the course where you can get in trouble if you miss the fairway.

Good amount of elevation change. Holes 10 and 12 provide some really nice downhill shots.

Beautiful park that usually isn't too crowded if there isn't a tournament going on.
Cons: As some others have pointed out, the signs don't tell you which basket placement is being used. This isn't an issue on most holes, but there are a few that you'll need to scout out beforehand.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the weekend after the Coca-Cola Classic on a Saturday, and it wasn't crowded at all. There were only a couple other small groups on the course at the same time as us. The course is over an hour away from both Des Moines and Omaha, so while the course gets a lot of players from both cities during tournaments, I think it's far enough out of the way that it doesn't have a lot of people from those areas who play it on a regular basis.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 marked as favorite

1    9/4/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 23.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice use of elevation
-fun, pretty
-nice, mature trees
-healthy, lush grass
-nice use of water features
-there is not one bad hole on this course.
this is my favorite course based on my abilities. i am not a 350+ thrower, but can get up to that. this course sits right at the edge distance wise to never punish me, but challenge me.
the course caretakers/designers have set up some obstacles on the "too easy" holes which i found to be a good idea.
course is very, very well maintained and i cannot think of a single found piece of trash in this nice park setting.
tee pads are great, baskets are fine, 99% of anything that can punish a shot is visible from each tee, so you shouldnt be surprised.
good blend of open and wooded holes, but no real "bombs" required.
fantastic property for a course and great design.
multiple tees and basket placements.
Cons: for what i want in a disc golf course, no cons other than the uncontrollable fact that it is nowhere near anything, with no good courses anywhere near it either.
Other Thoughts: check before you go to this awesome course for potential tournaments here. it is out of the way, so dont just show up. dont miss out on this course!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best park courses

1    7/15/2017   7/24/2017
Review By: kbeetdigger
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. It has a little bit of everything. The course is a park course with cement tee pads in a well maintained, hilly park. Fairways are lined with large trees making for great lines you have to hit to score well. Multiple tees and pins. Elevation is used well. There are a few holes in the forest where lines are extremely tight. We were able to navigate it fine as first time players. This course is truly one of the best of the best, and well worth a detour off of I-80 if you are traveling across Iowa.
Cons: The course isn't in Colorado so I can play it more often.
Other Thoughts: We met the designer and some other locals out doing maintenance when we were playing. Truly gracious people putting together a great disc golf course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/13/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: HabitualOffender
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms open during summer
- Palatable water from fountains
- Great Hole layout
- Multiple hole locations
- Pro and Rec Tees
- Concrete Tee boxes
- Some Benches
- Great location in town
- Frequently not busy
Cons: - Could be more trash bins (on weekends if you having a few beers you end up holding on to cans for multiple holes before you come to a bin)
- This course is a long one some holes have a good walk to the next tee
- Timber on the front nine can be punishing if you have a bad drive.
- Around hole 13 and 14 are usually city operated equipment that doesn't get moved frequently
Other Thoughts: Great course. Not a quick one but is really worth a play though if you are in the area. Lots of mature trees on the course as it is in an older park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sunnyside DGC

1    12/23/2016   1/31/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 203  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for all tees

Has nice tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

More open than wooded fairways with most holes having changes in elevations - which will be fun to the casual player

Water comes into play on some of the holes but they aren't really a factor in losing a disc

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Safety issues - course has a few holes that play near the road and playground

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are some moderately long walks between some holes

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging multi-use 18 hole city course in Atlantic that I enjoyed playing on a rainy Friday afternoon. I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the day I played. First thing that surprised me was that the course had varying elevations. The elevations and the mature trees scattered throughout the course reminded me to keep my drives in control from the concrete tee pads. There is nice artwork on the tee signs but it would probably be better if there was some kind of basket placement indicator on them. There are three par 4s but I felt that hole #4 was the only legit one while the other two fell into the easy par 4/hard par 3 category. This is a well-maintained course and I can see how this course can get crowded with other players and parkgoers. Some of the holes play fairly close to the park's amenities and roads so that potentially can cause some concern in safety and delays depending on how busy the park is. Some holes had some moderately long walks in between but they weren't that bad. Other than that, it's an excellent course to play. If you're in this area, I highly recommend playing this course as it's a fun one to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/8/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: corngolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: Well taken care of, good course for locals I suppose. Cement tee pads.
Cons: Crowded, other people in the park made it difficult to play. Basket locations always seem to be the same. Other people using the park. Rude
Other Thoughts: Too many park users in the course flow.

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite place to play around

5+    9/14/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Npieken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: challenging pin placement - they have a basket on top of a stump. might be hard to get your disc out if you are short
they move baskets often
well maintained
fun course to play
well layed out
Cons: nothing i can think of
Once in a while there are people in the way in parts of the park

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.