Atlantic, IA 
Sunnyside DGC Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
City Park Disc Golf Done Right

1    9/9/2017   9/16/2017
Review By: hammerhead300
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads/basket locations for most holes, so there's a ton of replay value.

The signage is excellent. The basket locations and distances are shown, as well as the general direction of the next hole. Most of the holes with 2 tee pads have a sign for both tee pads.

Plenty of variety. There are a lot of open fairways, but several holes that require accuracy and make you think about line choice. It's not treacherous enough that a bad shot could easily cost you a disc, but there are a few places on the course where you can get in trouble if you miss the fairway.

Good amount of elevation change. Holes 10 and 12 provide some really nice downhill shots.

Beautiful park that usually isn't too crowded if there isn't a tournament going on.
Cons: As some others have pointed out, the signs don't tell you which basket placement is being used. This isn't an issue on most holes, but there are a few that you'll need to scout out beforehand.
Other Thoughts: I played this course the weekend after the Coca-Cola Classic on a Saturday, and it wasn't crowded at all. There were only a couple other small groups on the course at the same time as us. The course is over an hour away from both Des Moines and Omaha, so while the course gets a lot of players from both cities during tournaments, I think it's far enough out of the way that it doesn't have a lot of people from those areas who play it on a regular basis.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

marked as favorite

1    9/4/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.5 Years
Pros: -nice use of elevation
-fun, pretty
-nice, mature trees
-healthy, lush grass
-nice use of water features
-there is not one bad hole on this course.
this is my favorite course based on my abilities. i am not a 350+ thrower, but can get up to that. this course sits right at the edge distance wise to never punish me, but challenge me.
the course caretakers/designers have set up some obstacles on the "too easy" holes which i found to be a good idea.
course is very, very well maintained and i cannot think of a single found piece of trash in this nice park setting.
tee pads are great, baskets are fine, 99% of anything that can punish a shot is visible from each tee, so you shouldnt be surprised.
good blend of open and wooded holes, but no real "bombs" required.
fantastic property for a course and great design.
multiple tees and basket placements.
Cons: for what i want in a disc golf course, no cons other than the uncontrollable fact that it is nowhere near anything, with no good courses anywhere near it either.
Other Thoughts: check before you go to this awesome course for potential tournaments here. it is out of the way, so dont just show up. dont miss out on this course!!!

One of the best park courses

1    7/15/2017   7/24/2017
Review By: kbeetdigger
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. It has a little bit of everything. The course is a park course with cement tee pads in a well maintained, hilly park. Fairways are lined with large trees making for great lines you have to hit to score well. Multiple tees and pins. Elevation is used well. There are a few holes in the forest where lines are extremely tight. We were able to navigate it fine as first time players. This course is truly one of the best of the best, and well worth a detour off of I-80 if you are traveling across Iowa.
Cons: The course isn't in Colorado so I can play it more often.
Other Thoughts: We met the designer and some other locals out doing maintenance when we were playing. Truly gracious people putting together a great disc golf course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    7/13/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: HabitualOffender
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms open during summer
- Palatable water from fountains
- Great Hole layout
- Multiple hole locations
- Pro and Rec Tees
- Concrete Tee boxes
- Some Benches
- Great location in town
- Frequently not busy
Cons: - Could be more trash bins (on weekends if you having a few beers you end up holding on to cans for multiple holes before you come to a bin)
- This course is a long one some holes have a good walk to the next tee
- Timber on the front nine can be punishing if you have a bad drive.
- Around hole 13 and 14 are usually city operated equipment that doesn't get moved frequently
Other Thoughts: Great course. Not a quick one but is really worth a play though if you are in the area. Lots of mature trees on the course as it is in an older park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sunnyside DGC

1    12/23/2016   1/31/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 144  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for all tees

Has nice tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

More open than wooded fairways with most holes having changes in elevations - which will be fun to the casual player

Water comes into play on some of the holes but they aren't really a factor in losing a disc

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Safety issues - course has a few holes that play near the road and playground

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are some moderately long walks between some holes

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging multi-use 18 hole city course in Atlantic that I enjoyed playing on a rainy Friday afternoon. I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the day I played. First thing that surprised me was that the course had varying elevations. The elevations and the mature trees scattered throughout the course reminded me to keep my drives in control from the concrete tee pads. There is nice artwork on the tee signs but it would probably be better if there was some kind of basket placement indicator on them. There are three par 4s but I felt that hole #4 was the only legit one while the other two fell into the easy par 4/hard par 3 category. This is a well-maintained course and I can see how this course can get crowded with other players and parkgoers. Some of the holes play fairly close to the park's amenities and roads so that potentially can cause some concern in safety and delays depending on how busy the park is. Some holes had some moderately long walks in between but they weren't that bad. Other than that, it's an excellent course to play. If you're in this area, I highly recommend playing this course as it's a fun one to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/8/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: corngolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Well taken care of, good course for locals I suppose. Cement tee pads.
Cons: Crowded, other people in the park made it difficult to play. Basket locations always seem to be the same. Other people using the park. Rude
Other Thoughts: Too many park users in the course flow.

0 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite place to play around

5+    9/14/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Npieken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: challenging pin placement - they have a basket on top of a stump. might be hard to get your disc out if you are short
they move baskets often
well maintained
fun course to play
well layed out
Cons: nothing i can think of
Once in a while there are people in the way in parts of the park

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Home of the Coca Cola Classic!

5+    7/6/2016   6/4/2015
Review By: bogeys suck
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2017
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads, multiple pin settings which are moved often. Water and restrooms in multiple areas.
A mature city park with mature trees. Two holes (6&7) are in full timber with lots of punishment for errant shots.
Two holes (14&15) have water hazards (a small creek)
Long bomber shots will be found on a few holes. 4 & 12 come to mind first. Along with hole 10 and its OB road
The course is well designed, with a lot of thought and continued hard work put into it, to make it one of the best courses in Iowa!
Cons: It's a popular public park and a lot of events are held there.
Other Thoughts: Some folks have complained about a need for more trash cans There are trashcans on holes 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 and 16. You may have to keep an eye out for them but they're there.
Atlantic Disc Golf League holds organized league rounds. Look them up on Facebook

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding Course

1    4/13/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 188  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the prettiest park courses that I've played. It is built on and around a large hillside that is covered with huge mature trees. There are a couple of small creeks along the base of the hill that come into play on several holes.

Quite a variety of hole lengths from 186' to 550' (from the blue tees) gives you everything from short "touch" shots out to full power drives. While all of the holes have trees to navigate, only a couple are what I would describe as tightly wooded. Much of the interest on these holes come from the uphill, downhill, and sidehill orientations of the fairways.

Hole 6 is the one of the tight wooded holes. From the blue tee is is about 100' straight ahead to a hard right turn into a narrow fairway. From there more tight woods to the pin on the left. Very tricky hole. And Hole 7 is a nice tight tunnel drive over a creek to the pin on the opposite side.

Outstanding concrete tee pads are large and level, with good texture. Many are boxed in on two or three sides because of the sloping ground, and look just about erosion-proof. Benches on many of the pads as well. Really nice job by whoever put these in. For all but a couple of holes there are two pads, labels "Rec" and "Pro".

Generally two or three basket positions for each hole, with some good variety. For the creek holes one position is on the near side of the creek, with a second on the far side, presenting very different looks.

Excellent tee signs at each pad location. Good visual diagram of the hole along with the usual hole number, par, and distances to each pin. No tagging or vandalism of the signs which speaks well of the local teens.

Paved parking lot with restrooms and a large pavilion near Hole 1. Course is set up a two, 9-hole loops so you return to the parking area mid-round.
Cons: This is an outstanding course and it is hard to come up with cons.

The only thing that detracts from it for me are that many of the holes are clear enough that even an early tree hit doesn't necessarily mean a bogie. A deflected drive will generally land in an area that gives you a reasonable approach to the basket. So you would expect advanced players to birdie many of these holes regularly.
Other Thoughts: For a small town in Western Iowa, it is amazing that they've got this course. After your round check out the "Pizza Ranch" in town. Really good food.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

2-4    6/10/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, some woods and some long down hill throws. Just a great course. The only reason it's not a 5 for me is only because it's an hour drive from Omaha. The course is put together well and there is a lot of pride the locals take in making it great. Very clean, you can drink in the park so there's no worry of police ticketing you. A great place to camp as well for some night golf!
Cons: It's a long drive from Omaha and that's it!
Other Thoughts: Just don't leave your disc in the basket up a hill.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.