New Bern, NC 
Glenburnie Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 317ft.   4 / 454ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Scenic, F9 Elevated along a River

1    1/4/2022   5/27/2022
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 3.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -An 18-hole course along the scenic Neuse River with moderate woods, elevated tees and baskets, and roller greens. The F9 the river can be seen from all holes and meanders up and down the elevated bluffs, the B9 plays deeper into the park. Trees are peppered thru most fairways having to hit gaps down fairway from the tee, and a few holes with tight woods.

-All F9 holes are memorable including in my top 10 for scenic play. Often found me looking towards the river. #7 ranks in my top 50 for scenic holes, and #8 in my top 25.

-There are two tees on most holes, some holes share a tee, and I only saw #2 with a long basket. The roller greens are mostly on the F9 including a few death putts. #12 basket is raised. I played long tees when they were present.

-The newer tee signs have hole number, par, distance, and excellent map graphics. Navigation is counterclockwise with most tees seen from played basket. Didn't need navigation help.

-The Spanish Moss is mostly present on the F9 providing unique flight experience, and my first on a course.

-A unique object on the fairway of hole 15 to fly past, an ocean buoy.

-From the bag on the tee a mid, fairways, and drivers.

-Parking about 10 seconds after shutting my car door, flipping my legs over the rope, and onto the #1 long tee. I think that could be the quickest I've made the first tee from parking.

-Beginners and Recreational will be tested enough from the shorts. Intermediate and Advanced from the longs it will be fun! And a good test of your all-around game, enjoy those views!

Cons: -#18 is a limp finishing hole compared to the previous 17 holes. The long tees are open with the fairway uphill crossing the park entrance road to an open basket with a few trees to work around. The hole doesn't fit in with the rest of the course.

-Some of the B9 holes are not memorable such as prior to writing the review I can remember the raised basket on 12, and the ocean buoy on 15, but nothing about the entire holes themselves. Regardless the B9 is fun wooded golf just not memorable.

-The flight of the disc from #8 long tee crosses in front of #7 green area.

-There are concrete tee pads in need of repair, there's portions missing or cracked. I had no footing issues, managed to avoid that portion of the tee pad.

-On busy days there could be distractions waiting on passing cars on the #18 fairway. The F9 has picnic tables, pavilions, and a playground proximity to fairways. With the attraction of the river, you may have walkers on fairways. On a weekday morning I was the only one in the park.

-Lost disc potential can be high with the roller greens into the heavy brush or even making it into the river on the F9. Heavy brush here and there on the B9. Also a few blind throws from the tee.

Other Thoughts: When I did my homework on Glenburnie Park, I had a good feeling this was going to be a fun bag, and a possible favorite. With the elevation, gaps off the tee and down fairway thru woods, well placed baskets, a scenic river, and the new experience Spanish Moss I wasn't disappointed, and I was left with a few memorable tee shots. Even an ocean buoy to remind of those days punching holes on Submarines. Glenburnie Park is a course I hope to play again someday, and if I lived within an hour would be a monthly visit. I still have the personnel con which belongs to the finishing hole #18 for my purposes the weak link of the course, but I didn't see any other way without screwing up the previous 17 holes. Picking up my disc from the #9 basket the course was a 5.0, the B9 started slipping down the 4.5 ladder, and #18 sealed the deal at a 4.0.

My overall rating is anchored on a 5.0 based on a phenomenal F9, the scenic Neuse River, and the experience of Spanish Moss. The time to play 70 minutes.

The Spanish Moss:

-The moss on the course was wispy, just clinging from the branches primarily on the F9. On the elevated 4th tee watched my disc pass thru the moss and brushing it to the side with my disc unfazed. Just mesmerizing to watch expecting my disc to get struck down, only to glide thru. I hope to have that experience again and will remember this one.

Notable Holes:

-No. 5 Par 3 Longs at 360 feet is an elevated tee to a basket that's elevated higher on a hill. From the tee the fairway slopes down to a wall of trees about 90 feet with spacing about 10-20 feet pick your gap. The fairway drops on a dogleg right and sloping right with a diagonal valley leading to the river, to reach the valley about 200 feet. The rest of the way takes you uphill to the basket with guardian trees, with a green roller backed by heavy brush and trees, and could reach the river. Very scenic hole, and dangerous behind the basket.

-No. 7 Par 3 Longs at 268 feet is a downhill fairway with a beautiful backdrop of the river behind the basket. The fairway is very well shaped with a scattering of trees on both sides. At 60 feet out a bulge of trees on the right will push you to the left, and then doglegs right straight for the basket. The basket a green roller sits open with some brush, a few trees, and the river behind the basket at about C2. The most scenic hole on the course.

Signature Hole:

-No. 8 Par 4 Longs at 473 feet elevated tee straight away to an elevated well protected basket. From the elevated tee the fairway slopes downhill left to right into the river. On your left trees, with the river on your right high grass and trees not until about 220 feet down with a tree line across the fairway as well. The rest of the way are scattering of trees with gaps of 10-40 feet. Beautiful C1 setting basket sits center right and back on a small hill with guardian trees. Depending on where you are in the fairway you may only see a portion of the basket. In C2 to the left heavy brush and a cluster of trees, to the right of basket a death approach or putt into the river. River borders C2. A set of wooden steps up to the green and adds charm. Very scenic hole! I ripped what is still my best Star Wraith, was licking my chops just outside C1 for birdie, but as I walked up the steps onto the green and saw that drop to the river, dump putt.

Trouble Hole:

-No. 3 Par 3 Longs at 295 feet is a straight away uphill hole not seeing the basket from the tee. The left side of fairway is safe, on the right is a drop into heavy brush, trees, and the river. About 100 feet out is a wall of trees with a cluster in the middle a left and right gap of about 20 feet each. The right gap you're flirting with the drop, the left is good. Around the green area on the left a cluster of trees where you may have tree blockage on a putt or approach. Any disc landing to the right of basket could skip or roll down the drop towards the river. As a lefty stayed left, walking up to my disc in C2 and seeing the river behind the basket, my first dump putt of the round.














9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best in The Area!

1    4/20/2021   4/20/2021
Review By: DanielSon09
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enough variety in shots and shot shapes to make you test your skills but not too narrow and closed in. Two tees or basket placements makes it good for new or seasoned players. Course is in great shape as of 4/20/21. Easy to navigate, surprisingly beautiful by the river. A good course for anyone.
Cons: A little smelly by the water sometimes. Some blind shots require you to know the course a bit. Grass can get a little long it seems, limiting skip and rolling shots.
Other Thoughts: Got there around 4pm on a weekday and had the course to myself. If you have the early/mid afternoons free this course will let you breeze right through.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar course

2-4    9/13/2020   9/13/2020
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 41  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 36.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems like the idea during the design of the front 9 was "use the elevation changes and hills to the maximum extent we can." While the back 9 idea was "carve through the trees." There are still plenty of trees on the front 9, but the elevation is what defines the first half of this course. It is a difficult course. It plays longer than its measured length. It will test you. There are a couple more open holes (17-18) that feel rather welcome after the beating you'll take on the rest. I have played a lot of woods courses; this one is better than most at usually giving you at least 2 fair openings so if you hit your line on the drive, you will be rewarded. I often debated between backhand and forehand. But if you miss your first line, you're often in a pinball machine to get to the basket. The rough isn't terribly bad - it is fairly easy to find discs, but sometimes finding open lines from the rough is difficult. The age and size of the trees is impressive and beautiful.

Benches on every hole. Love that.
Very good signage.
Cons: The designer seemingly pushed to fit the toughest course they could in the park, to the compromise of speed of play and typical safety clearances you'd expect. #17 throws past a dog park and over a parking area. #18 throws over the main park road. #7 and #8 fairways cross each other so that the designer could create a long fairway down to the river (death putt style) on #7. Other holes are a little close to picnic shelters. I could see this course requiring a lot of patience on a busy day.

The front 9 has so many holes with baskets on the tops of hills, it starts to feel a bit repetitive. Design could be a more creative/varied.

No trash cans away from the main road. Thus some litter sits around.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. One of my favorites. Worth a drive from anywhere in the eastern half of NC. I can't in good conscience give it more than 4 stars due to the safety issues and their effect on the pace of play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    8/13/2019   8/14/2019
Review By: blakem0714
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course i have ever played. The short tee pads make for a par 3 the course thatis a good mix of fun and scoreable without being a birdie or die course. the blue pads make for a much diffrent feel, with a few par 4s in the mix its a layout that can be scored on but you will need to execute all area of your game.
Cons: the only con i have with the course is the city of new bern waste trearment plant is right next to the park so if the wind is blowing the right direction you will be able to smell it , but thats never been a problem just a mino annoyance

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course east of 95!

5+    6/20/2018   6/22/2018
Review By: kiwichiwi
Played: 143  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation use on this course is phenomenal.
Hole 1 is such a great start to the course with the downhill valley looking shot. The spanish moss and high trees make for an amazing sight. Teepads are in great shape other than a few cracks on the back 9. The course is very easy to follow with each hole ending within easy site of the next and very nice looking tee signs. With all of the walking up and down hills its nice to be able to sit down and there are benches on every hole with shade everywhere to help with the summer heat. Hole 8 is by far one of my favorite holes in NC.
Cons: Holes 13 and 15 are almost the same to me. They both require some luck down near the basket to be parked and are somewhat the same shot. Hole 17 can get a bit scary on the drive with the OB dog park being a common landing zone. Hole 18 long requires you to throw over the road so on a busy day you can be waiting for some time.
Other Thoughts: You can come to this course with a mid and a putter and play shorts with no problems but longs require almost every disc in my bag. If you have a chance to play this course do not pass it up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2013   9/8/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 195  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenburnie is a must-play course in eastern North Carolina. You would think that a coastal area course like this would be relatively flat. Not the case here. Glenburnie has great elevation, including numerous valley shots -- one hilltop to another -- and a ridge shot to a blind basket on the banks of the Neuse River.

Speaking of the river, the course designers did a great job of incorporating it into the course, with holes laid out parallel or perpendicular to the water.

The natural beauty of the park is terrific. Lots of big, mature trees, rolling hills, and of course, the river.

Course navigation and tee signage is good.

There's a good mix of open and wooded holes, with the back 9 being much more wooded, until it opens up again on holes 17 and 18.

White and blue tees: great for intermediate to advanced players.

In my opinion, this is one of the most serene, peaceful, yet challenging and fun courses in North Carolina. If you're in the area, put it on your wish list.
Cons: I share the same cons mentioned by others: holes 17 and 18 aren't great for safety or co-habituating with dog walkers or other park goers.

Another con for me was bugs. Definitely wear your bug spray. But even that won't stop the horsefly that had it out for me.

Some of the rough on the back 9 is truly rough, as the course moves from the more mature trees to pines and "Carolina Scramble" golf.

As you can see, I'm reaching for cons. All in all, this is a great course. I'm tempted to give it a 4.5, but the safety issue (holes 17 and 18), the rough, and bugs knock it down just a peg. Still, an excellent course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day to play

1    7/9/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout. space was used well. Course has a little bit of everything, and is well maintained. I enjoyed the course and it was family friendly.
Cons: I have nothing bad to say it was an over all good course. for the area its worth a toss.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly in Eastern NC

1    6/21/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 88  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 21 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation that is used well. This is certainly unusual in eastern North Carolina and makes this park stand out from many of the other area courses.
- Nice signs at every hole
- Most holes have two different tees, a white and a blue
- Concrete tee pads in good shape
- Benches at every hole
- Beautiful tall trees throughout course, with scenic views of the Neuse River
- Good use of the trees to force you to shape your shot, without it being overly difficult. A few holes do have the plinko feel though.
- Well maintained (ie mowed) park with restroom
Cons: - The biggest downside for me is the proximity to other features of the park. A couple holes are relatively close to the playground and when busy people/children will stray onto the course. Also, hole #17 plays right along the dog park, and it wouldn't be hard to throw your disc into the dog park or into the parking lot next to it.
- Next to a waste treatment plant so it can get stinky if the wind is blowing right
- You can easily lose a disc in the river on a few holes if your shot caroms off a tree the wrong way
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course. Perhaps my favorite in the eastern half of the state outside of the Triangle area. The elevation changes really seem to set it apart. And of course, who doesn't love a scenic view (in this case the river) while playing a round. Random note: the first time I played this course an older man had set up his video camera on one of the fairways to videotape himself ranting about religion; it was bizarre and I had to tee off from a different spot so that he wasn't in the line of fire. If you're in the New Bern area you should definitely take the time to play this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Glenburnie had a lot more elevation than I expected, the front half is the open half but just about every hole in it has you throwing down up or over. There is a decent depression that runs parallel to the river and the designers here took every chance they could to put a tee looking over it. I'd say half of the time the basket is considerably lower than the tee but often it is on the other side of the valley. The back half is wooded and semi wooded, with trees forcing shaped shots and much less elevation. Nice new tees and signs that make navigation easy, both from basket to tee and from tee to basket.
Highlights include 5 a gradual downhill that leads to a basket on a sharp rise as well as 6, a long climb with large trees, almost in two rows, effectively limiting shot selection. 7 is a fun, right-turning shot with a completely blind basket below a sudden decline in elevation.
Cons: The course definitely ends on a low note. 17 is a longer hole that starts downhill with some tree cover leading to an open flat stretch which could be a cool hole if there wasn't a dog park right there. Now the park itself shouldn't come into play but the parking lot for said dog park is in front of the basket and people walking to and from the park will cross the fairway. That leads to 18 which plays over the park road and through the main section of the park.
As much as I like most of the holes of the front nine, there are a few areas of conflict that could be trouble on a busier day. Parts of the fairway on 4 will prevent players from safely teeing off on 1. The 8 long tee fires directly over the 7 basket.(extra unnecessary because only half the holes have a long tee) And a few places like 9 and 11 are shaped that one can't be sure from the tee which hole other players are on.
Other Thoughts: Glenburnie and nearby Barnet are both currently in the back end of the North Carolina top twenty and

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Glenburnie Gets Me Going

1    8/2/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 523  Reviewed: 415  Exp: 19.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Glenburnie Park is great. I liked the big grassy hills with great elevation changes, that are shaded by numerous mature trees. A little bit of water in play for good measure. 18 holes with dual concrete tees, signs and baskets are also good quality. The first few holes were a little windy, as the park is alongside the water on the river. Hole one is a pretty good downhill warm up, and hole 2 has two baskets, as well as two tees. It's another pretty decent hole, but this course really gets going on hole 3. Uphill to a pin that drops off steeply behind. I hit the drive, but my birdie putt hit the basket, caught an edge and rolled, leading to a 3 putt bogey. The next several holes run back and forth, up and down hills through the trees. Hole 8 is a par 4 along the water, teeing high crossing a lower area to a basket on top of another hill. I chose the direct route and made par, but if you can crush a righty backhand hyzer, you can take the big window over the trees and try to spike it in front of the hill. I played with Scott, who tried that route and nearly made it. He nipped the top of a tree, but was still able to save a par. To see that shot work out would be pretty cool to witness, but I think it would probably result in a lost disc if I tried. Hole 9 got me for a 5 after bonking two trees solidly in the long fairway, and then two putting. 10 is a good downhill putter throw about 250', with a couple of possible routes. Hole 13 is a fun mid range, that drops downhill about half way. On hole 15 I saw an obstacle that I haven't seen anywhere else, I giant, red, buoy that is grounded firmly in the middle of the fairway. If you get past it, you should have a good shot at par. Hole 17 is a monster downhill, right to left hyzer that cuts in between a stand of trees and the dog park. I got off a good drive into the open, and still had to make a 200'+ approach to get my 3. 18 finishes up playing across the road and around some more tall lumber.
Cons: I really can't complain. I wanted to rate this one a 5, but there are one or two holes that are just good, not great. Hole 18 playing across the road next to the entrance is not ideal. Not championship caliber difficulty, but super fun if you ask me.
Other Thoughts: I like this sort of course the best. The fairways are roomy enough to make shots, but there are numerous trees. The big hills let you get some extra glide on those downhill drives. All the equipment is good. I played 9 courses in the northeast region of North Carolina over the weekend trip, and this was my favorite (Buckhorn a close second). Kind of reminded me of Flat Rock Park in Columbus, GA.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.