New Canaan, CT 
Waveny Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snowdisc Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee: Fairway goes to the left



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wooded, Short, Fun

1    12/29/2020   12/30/2020
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 171  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:


Set in a deeply-forested sloping area set away from the main park; originally 12 holes - now becoming 18.



+ Three sets of tees. Not a lot of difference between the Blue (long) and the White, but the Red (short) really do provide some appropriate relief to newbies


+ Big signs pointing to the next tee make this easy to navigate for a heavily-wooded course


+ The design presents a decent variety; holes don't feel quite as "samey-samey" as a lot of wooded courses. One standout is #6, where most of the 265' is through an open area, with the basket tucked into the woods at the far end


+ A few holes incorporate old stone walls that run through the property - nice touch!


+ A bit rough for a cart, but it's doable. Most of the problems are in the low areas, where the boardwalks installed by the club are too narrow for a cart. But hey: somebody installed boardwalks! So I'll just shut up and carry my cart to the next tee

Cons:
- No teepads


- The "trial holes" (A and B, C and D) are out and back pairs inserted into the original layout. They're short, but have a decent amount of character due to elevation changes or specific throwing lines

- I played in December. From the looks of the pictures, this course might feel really overgrown and a bit raggedy during the summer

Other Thoughts:

~ Entrance is across the road from the main park


~ This is in the process of becoming an 18 hole course, with "trial holes" interspersed among the original layout


~ Waveny is a good (3.0) course. Thanks to the Town of New Canaan for providing the land, and to locals for a ton of effort to improve on the original course. Tees would obviously help a lot, but in the meantime, this is a fun play and worth the stop



8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What an adventure!

2-4    11/28/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: WDM3
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick game*
- Location. Close to Stamford/Merritt Parkway
- Great signage
- Freeeeeee!
- Hole 12
- Clearly marked multiple tees (white, blue and red)
- Someone is working to improve this course
- Potential

* unless, like me, you have terrible accuracy, and your discs often end up in the rough ...
Cons: - Unforgiving Rough. Full disclosure: I suck at disc golf ... but I've played my fair share of courses and this one features some of the most difficult disc retrieval challenges that I've encountered yet. A few drives, which strayed only a few meters from the fairway into the rough, were almost unrecoverable due to thick brambles and dense foliage. Even after spotting them, the discs were difficult to recover due to thick, thorny ground cover.

- Tees. I'm not opposed to natural tees. They can be quite charming. And I love that the Waveny course has three well-marked tee options for most holes that provide wonderfully diverse skill options for each hole. But some of the tees on the Waveny course are unacceptable. A good measure of leveling and root removal needs to be done. Or some tees need to be relocated.

- Exiting The Course. Twelve holes. Sure. Kind of an odd number, but more is always better, whether it's 12, 18 or 36. Hole 12 is actually one of the best on the course. But once it's done, you either have to take a long walk along the side of the road to get back to the parking area, or (as I elected to do) orienteer your way back along the overgrown and often dead-ending trails through the course to get back to your car. It seems like a trail could be blazed from the 12th basket back to the course entrance that parallels the road while staying in the woods, making for a much simpler and enjoyable exit.
Other Thoughts: *Update: This course has continued to improve since my first review. So take, some of what's written below as outdated. This course is still a little rough around the edges but efforts made to upgrade it really have made it a more enjoyable course to play. *

New to the game, I've been playing my way through all of the courses in the area. Waveny is the closest to my job and would be a very convenient course to play before and after work ... but I've stayed away due to the negative reviews on this site.

I went there today hoping to be pleasantly surprised. I wasn't. The previous reviews are accurate. It was quite an adventure in the woods.

BUT ... I see potential in the Waveny course. It offers challenging but realistic holes for beginner/intermediate players. And it's fun! The course design isn't bad. The variety is there: some technical tree play, a few open 250-300 ft bombers, some interesting doglegs (not much elevation to work with though). And, it's a little wild. Nice and empty. I love Cranbury Park, but I hate waiting at tee boxes for the (lovely and fully-entitled to take advantage of their public spaces) people walking their dogs to clear out of the fairways. This is not a problem at Waveny. There are no hiking trails or dog parks in the disc golf area. You feel like you're tromping around through the woods all by your lonesome ... that's fairly unique for the region.

Playing there today, I started to notice the piles of logs and branches stacked off to the side of fairway, particularly on the last few holes ... someone is working to keep the course up to some sort of standard. Good on you. I hope that the town/park authority is offering some kind of support in these efforts.

In my opinion, the only thing holding this course back from an extra star or two is a few days/weeks of volunteer maintenance.

Step 1: Improve the trails. Add signs to help you navigate the course. e.g. "Hole 1 ->", "<- Hole 5", "<- Parking Lot"

Step 2: Tee maintenance. Level 'em out. Take care of exposed roots. Upgrade tee maps if financially feasible.

Step 3: Do some strategic rough thinning.

I like the idea of having a course so close to work. I'll keep playing at Waveny when I don't feel like playing Cranbury ... but would be stoked to see some work continue to happen. And I'd be more than open to volunteering if anyone is recruiting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short, quick, ok

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Quick course to play (easily under 1 hour)
- not very busy
- very accessible from Merritt Pkwy
Cons: - much of the course is lined with overgrown vegitation
- course is not in a loop
- moving from tee to tee isn't intuitive. Need to pay attention to course map
- broken sign for hole #9 and no white or blue tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall there is not too much to say about this course. Not very well kept up and not very memorable. One nice thing however is that it is quick to play which can be nice after work as we are losing sunlight. I would go out again for a quick round by myself, but with Cranbury being 15 minutes away I don't think i will come back very often.

Update: I was at the course yesterday and it was clear some maintenance had just happened. A good deal of the vegitation was cut back. Course looks much cleaner and subsequently made tracking and finding your frisbee much easier. Much more enjoyable to play now!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all!

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 89  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 12.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees offered and gives you three totally different courses. Large range of shots from easy to challenging. The signs are easyto read and very informative. Large array of different holes requiring many different types of shots. Fairways are clear of debris. There is a welcome board with scorecards available by hole one. Navigation was easy and next tee signs were posted when needed. Really fun on the short tees and challenging on the long tees. There are clean bathrooms across the athletic fields. The baskets are in great shape. Waveny is close to the must play Cranbury.
Cons: The dirt tees are uneven and loaded with roots and rocks. Some of the tees are on top of the baskets or in the middle of the last fairway. Hole twelve does not end up near hole one. Some holes force your shot (only one lane to basket). There are large felled trees all over the fairway of hole eight. There are only tewlve holes!
Other Thoughts: There is a pool and athletic fields. There is a fenced in area that you can let your dog run without a leash. From the parking lot you walk across the street you will see a a sign that says Waveny disc golf. They are currently trying to expand to 18 holes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 80  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the woods, lots of interesting lines to take and some pretty good basket placements. Accuracy will be tested here. I liked the multiple tees provided, and the signs were decent. Navigation was pretty easy, the hardest part was finding the entrance to the course. Lefties and righties will both be challenged here. The fairways were well designed and I thought they were generally fair, but a bad shot will leave you in a tough position. They've done a good job keeping things clear, walking is easy and a throw off the fairway is generally easy to find.
Cons: Some of the tees were pretty rough and need to be taken with care. I didn't really like the two holes that were out in the open, they didn't fit in with the rest of the course, just two long throws on a hillside basically. I could see this course being a little frustrating for beginners, even from the short tees because of all the trees.
Other Thoughts: Its good to see CT getting some more courses, we need some in the Danbury area though!
This was a pretty fun course and I think a good addition to the area. If I had to choose one course in southern Connecticut it would be Cranbury, but this would be next.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start

5+    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid-out, imaginative, good use of terrain. Requires a variety of finesse shots; only a few holes where you can uncork a huge drive. Free parking, right across the road from the entrance. Three tee options per hole allow for good options.
Cons: Might be difficult to find. Only 12 holes. Conflicting maps online. Signage is adequate, but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course; I play it at least once per week.

Updated to say that there are now 14 holes (2 new ones that are still being roughed out), and at least two other holes have different tee areas. The map is being updated, as well. Lastly, plans are in the works to upgrade this to 18 holes.

The new layout will definitely test your accuracy, while still letting your arm stretch. Can't wait until the final holes go in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 took a minute to find it

1    6/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 711  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Define and lined woods fairways. Variety of shots using the three tees and minor elevation changes. Actual park has lots of cool things to do even a pool.
Cons: Natural tees and some were kinda rough. no next tee signage. Basket Variety.
Other Thoughts: It took me a while to find the entrance to this course because I was being a retard so for others to learn from me, take the first entrance into the park, park, then walk back to the entrance and cross the road. It was nice to see the course designed from the get go with three tees. I play the whites but it seemed like a good bit of them used different lines from the longer tees, and not just distance. The course winds threw the woods with a good mix of shots and some minor elevation changes. The fairways are nicely lined with downed timbers and fairly well cleared of brush. I found some of the tees to be a bit too natural, and thought some simple next T navigation hints would have helped a little, although I still found the course easy to follow. The couple holes that are in the open are a nice break from the woods but don't have alot too them, the first one on a hill but its still just an open field shot. This course also features just about every make of baskets so not a huge issue but the mixing of baskets could play a little on the mental side of putting.

Overall it was a nice woods course and the three tees make for all levels of fun. Not to hard to follow, and you shouldn't have to bad a time finding you lies, which makes it beginner friendly too. Work on the tees and signage and get those 6 other holes in and your there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.