New Canaan, CT 
Waveny Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snowdisc Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 320ft.   4 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Blue Tee: Dogleg right



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Not bad

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 80  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the woods, lots of interesting lines to take and some pretty good basket placements. Accuracy will be tested here. I liked the multiple tees provided, and the signs were decent. Navigation was pretty easy, the hardest part was finding the entrance to the course. Lefties and righties will both be challenged here. The fairways were well designed and I thought they were generally fair, but a bad shot will leave you in a tough position. They've done a good job keeping things clear, walking is easy and a throw off the fairway is generally easy to find.
Cons: Some of the tees were pretty rough and need to be taken with care. I didn't really like the two holes that were out in the open, they didn't fit in with the rest of the course, just two long throws on a hillside basically. I could see this course being a little frustrating for beginners, even from the short tees because of all the trees.
Other Thoughts: Its good to see CT getting some more courses, we need some in the Danbury area though!
This was a pretty fun course and I think a good addition to the area. If I had to choose one course in southern Connecticut it would be Cranbury, but this would be next.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start

5+    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid-out, imaginative, good use of terrain. Requires a variety of finesse shots; only a few holes where you can uncork a huge drive. Free parking, right across the road from the entrance. Three tee options per hole allow for good options.
Cons: Might be difficult to find. Only 12 holes. Conflicting maps online. Signage is adequate, but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course; I play it at least once per week.

Updated to say that there are now 14 holes (2 new ones that are still being roughed out), and at least two other holes have different tee areas. The map is being updated, as well. Lastly, plans are in the works to upgrade this to 18 holes.

The new layout will definitely test your accuracy, while still letting your arm stretch. Can't wait until the final holes go in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 took a minute to find it

1    6/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 711  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Define and lined woods fairways. Variety of shots using the three tees and minor elevation changes. Actual park has lots of cool things to do even a pool.
Cons: Natural tees and some were kinda rough. no next tee signage. Basket Variety.
Other Thoughts: It took me a while to find the entrance to this course because I was being a retard so for others to learn from me, take the first entrance into the park, park, then walk back to the entrance and cross the road. It was nice to see the course designed from the get go with three tees. I play the whites but it seemed like a good bit of them used different lines from the longer tees, and not just distance. The course winds threw the woods with a good mix of shots and some minor elevation changes. The fairways are nicely lined with downed timbers and fairly well cleared of brush. I found some of the tees to be a bit too natural, and thought some simple next T navigation hints would have helped a little, although I still found the course easy to follow. The couple holes that are in the open are a nice break from the woods but don't have alot too them, the first one on a hill but its still just an open field shot. This course also features just about every make of baskets so not a huge issue but the mixing of baskets could play a little on the mental side of putting.

Overall it was a nice woods course and the three tees make for all levels of fun. Not to hard to follow, and you shouldn't have to bad a time finding you lies, which makes it beginner friendly too. Work on the tees and signage and get those 6 other holes in and your there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice to play alone

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Whit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you need a quiet spot to work on you game, this is it! Tight and fun holes(12) and a very challenging time. Three tees on each hole are great.
Cons: Some work is needed on a couple of tees, but overall the course is coming a long way and fast.
Other Thoughts: play two rounds from the blues and try to shoot under par----TOUGH.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    1/15/2010   3/16/2009
Review By: snowdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/13/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a very technical course with a variety of shots required. It also features both long and short shots.
The course now has 14 holes and score cards, maps and signs will be updated in the spring.
Cons: It would be great to see 18 holes but it looks like it will soon have 12 holes
Other Thoughts: It is never crowded!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.