New Canaan, CT 
Waveny Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rplus84 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Calm Yourself With Waveny's Twelve

2-4    7/16/2019   7/20/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Dozens of pencils and paper scorecards for the taking at the small information board near hole 1.
+ The whole course takes place in a rich, shadowy and quiet forest away from the main park.
+ Big and bright 'next hole' signs after every basket.
+ Most of the fairways are clean and appear well-maintained.
+ Eight of the twelve holes offer three different tee pads to play from. However...
Cons: - All tee pads here are dirt full of exposed roots and rocks with short wooden stakes denoting the color. For most of them, it's hard to tell where they stop and start.
- The one tee sign per hole is functional but faded. Some are broken or missing.
- Some fairways have areas that look like they are part of the rough. Holes 1, 4, 6 and 8 come to mind.
- The rough itself is a little unforgiving in some of the raw areas.
- No practice pin and no lost disc box.
- Some tees are too close to the previous hole's fairway.
- No opportunities to throw at full power.
- Mostly flat course offers just a few elevation challenges.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole at this course would have to be hole 8. After a brief tunnel, the player throws over an open slanted fairway covered with fluffy foliage and fallen logs before arriving to the protected pin. My least favorite hole here might be hole 3 because of how straightforward and plain it is.

As for the course overall, Waveny Park is a reasonable little course that takes the player on a small sampling of what disc golf in the woods can be.

Most of its twelve holes are different variations on tunnels and tree dodging with some wooded clearings throughout to give players some space to take big approach shots or just relax a little. I would say that the whole course is relaxing, though. It may not have much in the way of variation, but it does a good job at helping the player forget about life for awhile. There are no pedestrians or dog-walkers here because the course is a stand alone feature across the road from the pool, which gives the course a somewhat secretive and exclusive vibe. Plus, it plays pretty quickly so golfers can get in multiple sessions.

On the downside, the tee pads are quite bad. Rocks and roots make for some serious tripping hazards, and it isn't even quite clear where the boundaries of a few are because of some areas of expanding growth. Some fairways are a mess of weeds and short dense foliage. In those cases, it felt possible to lose a disc just by landing in the fairway. And the layout is rather basic with different variations of basic wooded golf, which can feel tedious- even for those who prefer throwing among trees.

So, in closing, it isn't a top-notch course. It lacks pizzazz, polish and any true meaty challenges. I get the feeling that this course doesn't have any bright-eyed ambitions to become too much more than what it is, but not every course ought to be championship-level difficulty. Waveny is fine for what it is. The tacticians may find something to enjoy here because of some tricky tree shots. Those who prefer wide open or the park-style hybrid courses may want to give this one a miss, but it is still a peaceful place to go throw and let life's pressures dissolve away for a bit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

What an adventure!

2-4    11/28/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: WDM3
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick game*
- Location. Close to Stamford/Merritt Parkway
- Great signage
- Freeeeeee!
- Hole 12
- Clearly marked multiple tees (white, blue and red)
- Someone is working to improve this course
- Potential

* unless, like me, you have terrible accuracy, and your discs often end up in the rough ...
Cons: - Unforgiving Rough. Full disclosure: I suck at disc golf ... but I've played my fair share of courses and this one features some of the most difficult disc retrieval challenges that I've encountered yet. A few drives, which strayed only a few meters from the fairway into the rough, were almost unrecoverable due to thick brambles and dense foliage. Even after spotting them, the discs were difficult to recover due to thick, thorny ground cover.

- Tees. I'm not opposed to natural tees. They can be quite charming. And I love that the Waveny course has three well-marked tee options for most holes that provide wonderfully diverse skill options for each hole. But some of the tees on the Waveny course are unacceptable. A good measure of leveling and root removal needs to be done. Or some tees need to be relocated.

- Exiting The Course. Twelve holes. Sure. Kind of an odd number, but more is always better, whether it's 12, 18 or 36. Hole 12 is actually one of the best on the course. But once it's done, you either have to take a long walk along the side of the road to get back to the parking area, or (as I elected to do) orienteer your way back along the overgrown and often dead-ending trails through the course to get back to your car. It seems like a trail could be blazed from the 12th basket back to the course entrance that parallels the road while staying in the woods, making for a much simpler and enjoyable exit.
Other Thoughts: *Update: This course has continued to improve since my first review. So take, some of what's written below as outdated. This course is still a little rough around the edges but efforts made to upgrade it really have made it a more enjoyable course to play. *

New to the game, I've been playing my way through all of the courses in the area. Waveny is the closest to my job and would be a very convenient course to play before and after work ... but I've stayed away due to the negative reviews on this site.

I went there today hoping to be pleasantly surprised. I wasn't. The previous reviews are accurate. It was quite an adventure in the woods.

BUT ... I see potential in the Waveny course. It offers challenging but realistic holes for beginner/intermediate players. And it's fun! The course design isn't bad. The variety is there: some technical tree play, a few open 250-300 ft bombers, some interesting doglegs (not much elevation to work with though). And, it's a little wild. Nice and empty. I love Cranbury Park, but I hate waiting at tee boxes for the (lovely and fully-entitled to take advantage of their public spaces) people walking their dogs to clear out of the fairways. This is not a problem at Waveny. There are no hiking trails or dog parks in the disc golf area. You feel like you're tromping around through the woods all by your lonesome ... that's fairly unique for the region.

Playing there today, I started to notice the piles of logs and branches stacked off to the side of fairway, particularly on the last few holes ... someone is working to keep the course up to some sort of standard. Good on you. I hope that the town/park authority is offering some kind of support in these efforts.

In my opinion, the only thing holding this course back from an extra star or two is a few days/weeks of volunteer maintenance.

Step 1: Improve the trails. Add signs to help you navigate the course. e.g. "Hole 1 ->", "<- Hole 5", "<- Parking Lot"

Step 2: Tee maintenance. Level 'em out. Take care of exposed roots. Upgrade tee maps if financially feasible.

Step 3: Do some strategic rough thinning.

I like the idea of having a course so close to work. I'll keep playing at Waveny when I don't feel like playing Cranbury ... but would be stoked to see some work continue to happen. And I'd be more than open to volunteering if anyone is recruiting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Do yourself a favor and play somewhere else

1    3/2/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: dhnwins
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: None
Cons: At some point in time someone took a lot of time and placed 12 baskets in the ground. Since that day, I'm not sure if anything has been done to this course. There is trash everywhere. There are no clearly defined tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the amount of work it took to place the baskets, but if this review prevents even 1 person from deciding to goto this course it was worth it. Goto Cranbury park instead

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First time playing a DGC

5+    7/20/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
Pros: -fast play
-easy access, close to the Merritt parkway
Cons: -course not easy to find for first time goers
-course not very well maintained these days
-trees everywhere with high vegetation, best to throw strait
-lack of signs
-natural tees; roots disturbing ur shot
-hole 5 is not obvious from 4 basket
-blue, white and red markers r not all obvious, if they still there at all
-bees, spiders and other insects throughout
-course not in a loop have to walk back to ur car after 12th hole
-sign for hole 9 still broken
-map does not include holes 11 and 12; its not well designed (not to scale)
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i played as a disc golf enthusiast... its situated in the woods next to waveny park, not easy to spot if u never been there... Locate the sign "waveny park disc golf course" on Laphan Rd and park next to the pool... even with a map its not all that helpful... IMPORTANT: pay attention to the sign on each tee to determine the direction of the next tee

the second time i played there i still had a hard time locating hole 5... on hole 6 i flunked my tee drive way right and was attacked by beehive trying to throw my disc, had to abandon the course immediately... there is also spiders and ticks and other things u rather avoid... so shoot strait and stay out of trouble... i will be playing here again though... since this is the closest course to where i live and hope to see my game improve

i wish to see this course be an 18 hole course one day... it definitely has room for 6 more holes which would make the course a lope... in the mean time, i created an aerial map of the course using gps in my phone...

 short, quick, ok

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Quick course to play (easily under 1 hour)
- not very busy
- very accessible from Merritt Pkwy
Cons: - much of the course is lined with overgrown vegitation
- course is not in a loop
- moving from tee to tee isn't intuitive. Need to pay attention to course map
- broken sign for hole #9 and no white or blue tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall there is not too much to say about this course. Not very well kept up and not very memorable. One nice thing however is that it is quick to play which can be nice after work as we are losing sunlight. I would go out again for a quick round by myself, but with Cranbury being 15 minutes away I don't think i will come back very often.

Update: I was at the course yesterday and it was clear some maintenance had just happened. A good deal of the vegitation was cut back. Course looks much cleaner and subsequently made tracking and finding your frisbee much easier. Much more enjoyable to play now!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Neglected Course

1    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 64  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Waveny park is a beautiful Fairfield County park. The stone walls weave throughout the course and add a distinctive CT aesthetic to the course. The baskets are in good condition and the tee pads are natural but mostly level. There are signs at each hole and multiple tees on most. Some signage aids in navigating the course. There is a sign and bulletin board for the course so it's easy for a first timer to find as long as you've read the directions on this site.
Cons: Some tee pads have tree roots making any footwork potentially dangerous. The multiple tees don't add a ton of variety. Additional signage would aid in navigation. I don't think any maintenance has been done all season. Many holes are overgrown with knee to waist-high grass. A couple uprooted trees and broken tree limbs are in very precarious positions. Some garbage throughout the course. Barbed wire and prickly bushes are dangerous. The layout is another weak point, it's not a loop, and you have to walk back to the parking lot on the road with no designated walking path and CT drivers that drive too fast. Parking is on the opposite side of Lanham rd. Most holes are pretty forgettable, not a lot of creativity on this course. Baskets are hard to see from the tees, in large part due to the overgrowth. Some holes have WAY too many trees (esp. #2). Elevation is present but could be much better utilized. It's a shame that the open field holes have been scrapped.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a 2.5 or a 3 rating easily with a little bit of regular maintenance (and there certainly is enough money in New Canaan to keep up a 12 hole disc golf course). Even so, I don't know why you would even bother with Waveny; Cranbury so close by and Veteran's Memorial in Bridgeport is a great alternative to Cranbury. My round here was probably the least enjoyable round I've ever played and some aspects of the course were outright dangerous.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pads, some level of challenge.
some shot variety and somewhat attractive holes with lots of wildlife; I saw deer, chipmunks, and even a coyote.
decent signage and chainstar baskets.
Across the street and isolated from the rest of the park activities.
Cons: The most challenging part of the course was the navigation. baskets are not numbered, so even if you find one you have no idea where you are until you find the tee. After hole 4 there was no way to find 5. Several times the trail splits with no navigational signs. After 8 there was no sign to 9 and no sign to 10, but 10 was visable if you looked hard enough. Holes 11 and 12 are not even on the course map.

Only 12 holes and hole 12 ends way back on the other side of the dog park and pops you out at the main road leaving you with a long walk back to the car.

Lack of maintenance, grass was knee high in many areas.

some tee pads are getting over grown. a few reds and whites were nearly gone.

Many of the 3 tee pads were shared tees, so there was not 36 individual shots.
Other Thoughts: 12 is an unusual number of holes. Add this to the navigational issues and shin high grass and it pushed this average course to a "reasonable" course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all!

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 86  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 11 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees offered and gives you three totally different courses. Large range of shots from easy to challenging. The signs are easyto read and very informative. Large array of different holes requiring many different types of shots. Fairways are clear of debris. There is a welcome board with scorecards available by hole one. Navigation was easy and next tee signs were posted when needed. Really fun on the short tees and challenging on the long tees. There are clean bathrooms across the athletic fields. The baskets are in great shape. Waveny is close to the must play Cranbury.
Cons: The dirt tees are uneven and loaded with roots and rocks. Some of the tees are on top of the baskets or in the middle of the last fairway. Hole twelve does not end up near hole one. Some holes force your shot (only one lane to basket). There are large felled trees all over the fairway of hole eight. There are only tewlve holes!
Other Thoughts: There is a pool and athletic fields. There is a fenced in area that you can let your dog run without a leash. From the parking lot you walk across the street you will see a a sign that says Waveny disc golf. They are currently trying to expand to 18 holes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 72  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the woods, lots of interesting lines to take and some pretty good basket placements. Accuracy will be tested here. I liked the multiple tees provided, and the signs were decent. Navigation was pretty easy, the hardest part was finding the entrance to the course. Lefties and righties will both be challenged here. The fairways were well designed and I thought they were generally fair, but a bad shot will leave you in a tough position. They've done a good job keeping things clear, walking is easy and a throw off the fairway is generally easy to find.
Cons: Some of the tees were pretty rough and need to be taken with care. I didn't really like the two holes that were out in the open, they didn't fit in with the rest of the course, just two long throws on a hillside basically. I could see this course being a little frustrating for beginners, even from the short tees because of all the trees.
Other Thoughts: Its good to see CT getting some more courses, we need some in the Danbury area though!
This was a pretty fun course and I think a good addition to the area. If I had to choose one course in southern Connecticut it would be Cranbury, but this would be next.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start

5+    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid-out, imaginative, good use of terrain. Requires a variety of finesse shots; only a few holes where you can uncork a huge drive. Free parking, right across the road from the entrance. Three tee options per hole allow for good options.
Cons: Might be difficult to find. Only 12 holes. Conflicting maps online. Signage is adequate, but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course; I play it at least once per week.

Updated to say that there are now 14 holes (2 new ones that are still being roughed out), and at least two other holes have different tee areas. The map is being updated, as well. Lastly, plans are in the works to upgrade this to 18 holes.

The new layout will definitely test your accuracy, while still letting your arm stretch. Can't wait until the final holes go in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.