Ocala, FL 
The Preserve @ Pine Oaks Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #14
3 / 240ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Amazing!!!

1    3/25/2016   4/18/2017
Review By: cmsieja
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Golf carts. Enough said. Hanging basket on the last hole, nice scenery, challenging enough but not too hard.
Cons: Shares property with a regular golf course, it's completely separate, but on a busy day I would bet it could get congested.
Other Thoughts: I was so excited to play this course because you can rent golf carts to use while you play. That made it a lot of fun, especially since the day continued to get hotter as it went on. There are some beautiful pond areas and a hanging basket on the last hole which is a neat feature. The regular golf course is just across the driveway, so beware of flying balls, and be careful not to throw your disc too far in their direction! We were being a little loud and that may have been a little distracting for the golfers on the other side of the course. Just something think about!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cart Disc Golf at is finest

5+    12/12/2016   1/18/2017
Review By: screvy
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great set of three big concert tees. Pro, Int/Adv, and Rec.
Easy to read signs, wide open fairways letting you air out shots and try new ones. Makes you feel like your at a high caliber course playing next to ball golfers. You can rent a cart and get food and drinks from the clubhouse and it cost less than $20. Cart is $10, $1 to play the course, rest for food and drink prices vary.
Cons: can be hard to navigate if first time/ walking. the course is long. grab a scorecard from the clubhouse for easy to follow direction. Baskets are the same as greenway and show there age. would be great to get better baskets on such a high caliber disc golf course used in so many tournaments. Bathrooms are far between same with water. you got the clubhouse at the start and a bathroom / water fountain in the farthest corner of the course.
Other Thoughts: Come play where GG, Avery Jenkins, Will Schusterick, Jeremy Koling, Paige Pierce, Johne Mccray and may more have played. The only course in Ocala that has had the top Pros in disc golf come to play in many tournaments. The longest par 5s in Ocala.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf And Ball Golf Living Together?

1    12/10/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 132  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 42.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Driving down the road to the clubhouse reveals a ball golf course on the left side of the road and disc golf course on the right. You arrive at the shared ball golf /disc golf pro shop featuring clubs and discs, a nice little food vendor (I had a decent hot dog and a beer for lunch), restrooms, etc. Get signed up ($12.00 for you and a buddy includes cart, or you could walk it for $1.00 each). I recommend using the cart, especially in the warmer months and because it's just so darn fun anyway!

The course has 3 sets of large concrete tees and offers more diversity than most of the ball to disc type courses that I have played on. Large trees, lakes, minor elevation changes and even a hanging basket add to the charm and make for an entertaining round.
Cons: Not too many cons here. It may be a little long for beginners. Navigation isn't perfect, but using the map and the cart help. The course is heavily played so following other players may also help.
Other Thoughts: This course will put a big smile on most dgers faces. It's good to see dg getting almost as much respect as ball golf at a ball golf facility. It is a little more costly than the average dg experience (i.e. free) but worth it IMO.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    1/30/2015   1/30/2015
Review By: adampietig
Played: 240  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome layout and beautiful course. A must play if you are in the area. Maybe they will turn the other side into a disc golf course also.
Cons: Needs signs to next tee.
Other Thoughts: Rent a cart, it makes it a breeze to play!!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Cart golf

1    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: chainsmoker12
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was nice to walk in to the clubhouse and see a rack with discs next to all the Ping and Nike apparel. I paid $12 dollars for my nephew and myself. More than a fair price for this experience. Not many times did I grab any less than a teebird off of the tee (my nephew played the short tees). Most approaches were heavily guarded by huge live oaks with Spanish moss hanging down. (Iron leaves?). I had an awesome time and would pay more than they were charging.
Cons: The tees were a little confusing to find but I rented a cart and this was not an issue. The grass was pretty high and the stinging nettles were stinging me crazy. They were mowing while we were out there which lets me know they do get out there. I would guess it had been two weeks since they last mowed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 So About Those Carts

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a lot to like about the course at Pine Oaks, even before you get to the carts. This is a long, tough course filled with long, tough holes. Hole average 421 feet from the middle tees and 505 from the longs. That's over 24 holes. That's a lot of golf.

Of course you will get to air it out a few times, how could you not with that kind of distance? But you will have to play careful as well. Many a fairway starts long and open before confronting you with trees. blocking your approach shot. Others, like 16, present the trees at once. If you can get through the tunnel, you should have an open drive towards the pin. So while this course is filled with bombs, they aren't straightforward bombs.

There is also water present on a number of holes. While most water holes aren't carries, they are creatively placed to force your hand. Two of the ponds are very clean. I tossed a Dragon in the water on 3 and another on 7. I left them and circled back after 12 and the current had pushed them close enough to shore to grab them with a stick. There's a true carry later on, over a pond thick with red algae of some type. Anything that goes in there isn't coming back but the pond is beautiful, mostly red with a streak of green leafery down the middle. Another favorite hole is 19. its a long carry over what looked to be pretty wet marsh. I didn't have to go down and wade, but I would treat it as water, and its very possible to reach the basket from the tee in one shot going directly over it.

The course has recently been mowed, and I can only judge by what I've seen, which is a well-maintained ball golf curse turned over to the disc hurlers. Three cement tees per hole, with the sign from the far tees pointing you towards the other tees.(which are usually visible from the far tee anyways.)

So, about those carts. I know they would be impractical on most disc golf courses, but it would be fantastic if they were more universal in the sport. Especially on a course with length like this, they speed up play a lot. Everyone tees off, then hops in the cart to get to the closest disc. Amazing. You can forget your bag, too. There is essentially a rack in the back where you can line up your discs. And since there is no underbrush here, finding discs is easy; you can drive almost anywhere.It's going to be tough to go back to walking a course.
Cons: The flow isn't top notch. Sure, you get a map when you sign in. But next tee signs would still be appreciated in a number of locations. I do prefer an obvious path leading to the next hole, and I've seen that even on open ball golf courses like this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

1    7/14/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On an old ball course. NIce basket placement. Good long somewhat open holes. varied shots can be made. Some H20 to keep you honest. the players on the course were great and very friendly. the proshop personel were great.
Cons: the grass should be cut, it was very high. threw discs in the middle of the course and had to hunt for a while to find them (not good). Signage could be improved a bit. A little confusing sometimes trying to find the next tee pad
Other Thoughts: Super nice course. If they would just cut the fairways and leave the rough this course would get a 5 rating and be right up there with the best of them in FLA. I know they are worried about expenses that is why they did away with the last 9 hole ball course they could not afford to keep it open. I would pay $5 so they could cut the grass to make it a much better course. Spend the $$ and rent a cart, this will help with the long grass issue.. Also eat your wheaties this course will test your stamina in the summer bring pleanty of H20 to drink. Club house was great and the beers were cold. Big Arms rejoice you will love this place

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wont be going back

2-4    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: pimpski03
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course has a good layout and great T pads
Cons: I played this course about 3 months ago and said i will not go back because the weeds and tall grass were so bad. I had some family come into town so i decided to give this course another chance. When I arrived i saw that the course looked terrible again. There were weeds up to my knees and it made it kind of hard to throw and find discs. The family I was with is a die hard disc golfer who was very upset to see a course with such potential going to crap.
Other Thoughts: This course is directly next to a ball golf course. When your on the dingy disc golf course and look over to the ball course and see what the disc golf course could be its kind of depressing.....All I need to say is "c'mon pine oaks, dont neglect your disc golf course. It has so much potential".

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lengthy course

1    8/16/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Hitman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1- The wide open distance. On most of the holes you can just let it rip & not pay for it to bad if you threw a not so perfect shot.
2- Golf Carts. It's a real long walk.
3- Well maintained
4- Nice lanscaping
5- Multiple tees. Blue tees are concrete. Well marked.
6- Bathrooms on the course.
Cons: 1- Terrible markings if any for white or red tees. However the blue tees had nice marker posts showing where the other tees are supposed to be. We played the red tees & just agreed on a start spot based on the sign at the blue tee.
2- Next tee markings could be better.
Other Thoughts: If you walk the course you pay $1. $5 extra to get a cart. I would recommend getting a course map when you pay, that's the only way we stayed on course. Played mid-day during the week, we were the only ones on the course. Lost a disk on hole #7, my fault bad shot, a little to far left but man did it have some distance. Proud of that fact even though I lost the disc.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Moly

1    6/13/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great place for the "Gun Show" as I call it. What I mean is that you must have a heck of an arm to make it since it use to be golf ball course. It was wonderful for me since I really don't get to open up with my drives that much with wooded courses. Concrete pads for the pro tees. Use of a golf cart was a plus (that would have been a lot of walking).
Cons: The Pro tees were the only concreted sections. The others were on natural grass. My brother (who I got interested in the game) had to play off the Pro Tee because he got frustrated trying to locate the others. The advertisement for $1.00 to play and a small fee for a cart was a joke. In order to use the cart, one had to pay $5.00. That is fine, but if you playing and not driving a cart, you still have to pay $5.00. So my brother and I got separate carts. What's the use of paying $5.00 if all you're gonna do is go for the ride? Why pay five dollars a piece to share a cart?
Other Thoughts: Since it use to be a ball course, it has bathroom facilities, club house, pro shop, covered area for talking and socializing. But I did not like to "Pro Shop" and it's lack of equipment. I love Barnet Park in Orlando. Barnet Park is a "Pro Shop" in my eyes, not this place in Ocala. But overall, I enjoyed this place, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys "Disk Golf".

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.