Appleton, WI 
Plamann Apple Creek 18 Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #13 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 391ft.   3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Solid course

1    8/28/2018   8/28/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 418  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 25.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since Plamann Apple Creek 18 is considered separate from it's 9 hole buddy , I will treat it as such . Plamann is one of the older courses in Wisconsin . It sits on a very well manicured and taken care of park in Appleton . There is one tee pad per hole . The tee pads are long enough and most of the holes you don't have to rush , anyway , because only 5 of them are longer than 300' . The baskets are in pretty good shape , and the course seems to get a lot of love from the locals and park employees . There were a good number of people out enjoying this course while I was playing . The locals are friendly and are really into the game . This is a perfect course to learn and improve your game with . The holes are challenging enough to keep you interested , but not difficult enough to scare you away . Lots of elevation here , with baskets set every which way ( on hills , on sides of hills , etc. ) My personal signature hole was 16 , a 350 foot dogleg right that starts downhill where you have to sit it down before going into the brush , then throw your second shot slightly uphill with as many things going wrong as right if you aren't accurate on it . You won't lose a disc on this course unless it gets hung up high in a tree . Hole #1 starts off the round with the longest run on the course , a tight enough throw on the left with a lot of trees in the mix , or a long right to left throw over the road and back onto the course . . Hard to stray on this course as it flows well , with plenty of benches and trash receptacles on the course . The fun factor here is very high .
Cons: Good ams or any pros will destroy this course . It is more intended for occasionals , locals , out of towners or newbies . The course can be windy , and can hold a bit of water after a good rain . It can get crowded during the weekends and since the park is popular and well used , some of the park goers can walk unknowingly into the path of your throw . Be careful . I can only assume that the signage was installed by someone at the parks department that knows nothing about the game . The sign gives you the number of the hole and the distance , and gives you the same generic inlay with several fir trees on either side of a straight line . It would be a cool sign if it showed the path of where the basket is , instead of where it rarely would be . No pro/advanced tee pads .
Other Thoughts: All in all , this is a popular course and when coupled with the 9 holer ( you can start those after #11 of your round by throwing #2 and circling around to complete the 9 holer ) , you have 27 holes of enjoyment without throwing your arm out .Plenty of different looks on these holes . If I lived in the area , I would play it on many of my weekends . This course deserves more than a look .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    7/9/2018   7/9/2018
Review By: TrainHorn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Decent shot variety.
-Beginner friendly Par 3-5.
-Course is very well maintained, grass finely cut.
- 18 Holes no reuse of same baskets.(Course offers 27 holes)
- Signage, trash bins, and benches almost at every tee off pad.
Cons: -Signage could be better on where the basket is located.
-Needs a map of the whole course at the beginning.
-Can be muddy/damp in some areas due to weather.
-Feels like half of the baskets are straight shots.
-Some holes are par 4 when it should be par 3.
Other Thoughts: One of the top courses I've played at. Seems a bit too easy with these par 4 & 5 holes. No Advanced tee-off locations.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Open and Hilly

1    4/12/2017   10/5/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plamann - Apple Creek is a beautiful course nestled in a park north of Appleton. Parking is available in a lot on the east side of the park near the lake. Hole 1's tee pad and hole 18's basket are both right next to this lot.

The course itself is mostly open and defined by clean cut grass lined with some light brush or woods. It's more open than many of the other courses in the area, but the trees that do come into play require you to think a little longer about how to play each hole.

Holes 1 thru 4 were a nice start to the course and offer a few different shots and angles. Holes 5 through 9 are pretty standard, open holes. From hole 10 on, the course is excellent.

My favorite hole was hole 13. It was a 391 foot extreme downhill shot that made my disc look like it was flying forever. Easily the most memorable hole on the course for me.

Hole 15 also stood out as the opposite of hole 13. This one goes back uphill 245 feet. A little noodle arm like me couldn't quite get it there, but I'm sure most players could do it without any issues.

All in all, a very scenic and peaceful round. There weren't many other players out there during my round.

Summary of pros:

- Well maintained park
- Easy parking
- Nice teepads
- Clearly defined fairways
- Significant elevation on some holes
- Beautiful scenery with lake and creeks
- Tee signs
- 9 hole course also on property
Cons: It was very muddy when I played my round. It looked like the park didn't drain very well. You might want to keep this in mind if playing after a storm or a few days after significant rain.

Some of the holes were confusing to me. The baskets didn't seem to match the signs at all. I had to walk ahead a few times to see where I was going, then return to the pad and throw. This is probably a non issue if you play with a local.
Other Thoughts: Plamann Park is another great course in the Appleton area. If you consider the additional 9 hole course, there are 27 holes of disc golf here waiting for you. I would add it to the list to play if you're visiting the area. Park in the lot on the east side of the park near the lake, and enjoy!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Parks Course

2-4    5/6/2016   5/6/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 97  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation
- Good shot variety
- Concrete tee pads and baskets in good condition
- Additional 9-hole loop from the Meadowview 9 adds variety and makes for a great 27 holes
Cons: - Plays a bit short and straight, long tees would be great
- No helpful fairway geometry/pin location on tee signs
- Can be quite muddy after sustained rain
Other Thoughts: Plamann is a fantastic parks style course that is both accessible to beginners, and still fun and challenging to more experienced disc golfers. This course really shines in its use of elevation. Most of the holes have you throwing either uphill, downhill, or to a sloped green. This really helps make the course interesting and provides some risk/reward. There are definitely some lines you have to hit, but the course plays fairly straight and mostly open so bad shots are usually not severely punished. This is a fun course with some really interesting holes that won't beat you down. I enjoyed this course just as much in my first year playing disc golf as my 7th.

The length of the course makes it accessible to newer players as well. There are a handful of longer holes, but they mostly play downhill. Players with 300' of distance on their throws will have a chance to get a 2 on just about every hole besides 1 and 7. This is not a particularly challenging course, but it will still make you work for your birdies.

The equipment here is generally good. The concrete pads are plenty big, the baskets catch fine, and there are benches scattered throughout the course. However, while the tee signs give you the hole number and distance, they are pretty useless as far as telling you where the basket is. This is not always an issue, but there are a good number of blind shots, and it would be nice to have an idea of where to look before wandering up the fairway to find the basket.

This course is a bit hard for me to rate, on its own I probably give it around a 3.5-3.75 but the presence of the Meadowview course as an easily accessible additional 9-hole loop adds variety and some more good holes to an already great course, and bumps my rating up to 4. The Meadowview holes add some tighter lines and more sinister rough that contrast well with the more open lines at Apple Creek. There isn't much more distance on these holes, but the tighter lines add difficulty. It is quite easy to jump onto this extra loop at hole 2 after hole 11 on Apple Creek. Finishing Hole 1 of Meadowview puts you right back towards hole 12.

This is a great disc golf complex, and could probably be listed as a single 27-hole course. The ability to easily play 9, 18, or 27 holes is great, and truly makes the total better than the sum of its parts. There is a lot of fun golf to be had here, and both beginners and experience golfers alike should check Plamann.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Very First Tournament Course

5+    5/20/2015   1/18/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 25.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My first experiences with disc golf were with highly technical, hilly and heavily wooded courses in Madison (which remain, to me, what disc golf is all about).

This was not only my first tournament course, but it was the first course I saw that looked and felt somewhat like the ball golf courses I grew up playing as a member of my HS team.

It's also one of the very few that is well designed, flows well, and has enough foliage as obstacles to make for interesting and challenging golf.

There is a good mix of long and short holes. There is very little in the way of extreme elevation change, but what little elevation there is is used to great effect (mostly by putting holes on side slopes, which can trick a player in terms of distance, and especially in terms of angle of release, as much as straightforward up and down).

The greens are exceptionally well guarded on the longer holes, offering the challenge of the hero shot to try for a long deuce, a risk that might not lead to reward and cause a player to bogie instead.
Cons: While the carved tee signs appear quite beautiful, they don't really give any idea of the true shape of the hole nor where the vegetation is located. They are largely ineffectual.

A few of the shorter holes on the back 9 could stand to have more protected greens and a design opportunity has been missed here to make for a more challenging championship caliber course (11, 12, 14 and 15 and possibly even 17 and 18).

Other Thoughts: I played this first in 1995 when it opened and I'd only been playing for a year. I finished 3rd in the advanced division and more than quintupled my entry fee in funny money.

Climo and Steady Ed were here, so it was probably the biggest thrill in my early discing career.

It's not among the best courses in WI, but I will always think of it fondly.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    9/10/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: jowjohns
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course to play with a good mix of Long and short holes. Great use of space.
Cons: The basket locations are not mapped out. If you have never played before it is hard to figure out where the baskets are.
Other Thoughts: Good course for begginers and experienced players alike.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 27 holes

1    8/23/2015   8/23/2015
Review By: sgouletas
Played: 155  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just played 27 different holes on this course, so I am confused as to why it is listed as 18 holes. Loved the course, clean, challenging but not a killer. It is my girlfriend's favorite course because it is relatively bug free and beautiful.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2014   1/25/2015
Review By: Baueezy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short shots throughout. Rolling hills with varied shots favoring forehand and backhand throwers. Had the feel of a ball golf course, basically being that it was well maintained and contained unique features for a disc golf experience.
Cons: Signs looked nice, but were not very practical. It was hard to see or understand the shot ahead. Some shots could have been more challenging, but that is a variable for different golfers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing round

2-4    10/26/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 455  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plamann 18 is a very serene course set in a very well kept city park, just outside of Appleton on the north side of town.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and all caught very well. One pin placement per hole, although there are apparently different setups for tournaments.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Plenty long enough, rectangular, and grippy. One tee position per hole.

The course has a nice mix of distances, from a 436' first hole, down to a 179' hole, and just about everything in between.

The course is FULL of rolling hills and elevation. This is probably the biggest theme of this course, and provides some difficulty. Hole 13 is an especially fun hole, 391' down a big ol' hill, with a creek behind it. Good stuff.

Lots of mature trees will punish errant drives. The fairways are generous on almost every hole, unless you hit one of these trees!

Navigation is pretty intuitive, with most tee pads near the last basket.

Cons: One tee/one pin position is kind of a drag. It's a fairly open park, and at least could use some variety.

It can get swampy here in the spring, especially on the early holes.

You do get the feel that a lot of the holes are either straight, or slightly left to right, which can be tough if you're not throwing particularly straight that day, or depend on a lot of hyzer shots.

There can be a lot of traffic here on nice days. Get there early, and it won't be a problem. Being a big, beautiful park, you also get some stray pedestrian traffic as well, especially around the back side.
Other Thoughts: Plamann is a really fun course for an Int player. It's one of those courses that I always feel like I left a few shots on the course. The lines are fun, and rewarding.

This review is only for the 18 loop, but you can jump into the back 9 after hole 11 (start on hole 2) and it spins you right back to hole 12. Easy peasy.

We were informed that Plamann is one of the first 10 courses in Wisconsin, which was a surprise. It has definitely stood the test of time, and the length is surprising for such an old course. I have a blast every time I play here, and would highly recommend it to anybody looking for a round that isn't a beatdown, but isn't some wide open course.

Plamann is like Flip City's older sister. Flip City is the hot younger sister that everyone wants to get with....Plamann is the slightly older sister that's a bit easier to score on, but not quite as exciting. The ride will still be fun, though!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plamann Course Review

5+    7/20/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a really long and well laid out course. Plenty of hills to throw up or down from. There is also an optional 9 holes off of the back 9.
Cons: The holes a too straight. They don't offer any type of obstacle to throw around or trees to maneuver through. It seems like every hole par is made for beginner throwers. Some holes could easily be made in 2, but has a par 4 listed.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, definitely check this place out. When its not busy, its a fun and a smooth course to play. The ground is normally good and not too swampy. Bugs aren't a huge nuisance, unless you get into the water and muddy areas.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.