Appleton, WI 
Plamann Apple Creek 18 Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Open and Hilly

1    4/12/2017   10/5/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plamann - Apple Creek is a beautiful course nestled in a park north of Appleton. Parking is available in a lot on the east side of the park near the lake. Hole 1's tee pad and hole 18's basket are both right next to this lot.

The course itself is mostly open and defined by clean cut grass lined with some light brush or woods. It's more open than many of the other courses in the area, but the trees that do come into play require you to think a little longer about how to play each hole.

Holes 1 thru 4 were a nice start to the course and offer a few different shots and angles. Holes 5 through 9 are pretty standard, open holes. From hole 10 on, the course is excellent.

My favorite hole was hole 13. It was a 391 foot extreme downhill shot that made my disc look like it was flying forever. Easily the most memorable hole on the course for me.

Hole 15 also stood out as the opposite of hole 13. This one goes back uphill 245 feet. A little noodle arm like me couldn't quite get it there, but I'm sure most players could do it without any issues.

All in all, a very scenic and peaceful round. There weren't many other players out there during my round.

Summary of pros:

- Well maintained park
- Easy parking
- Nice teepads
- Clearly defined fairways
- Significant elevation on some holes
- Beautiful scenery with lake and creeks
- Tee signs
- 9 hole course also on property
Cons: It was very muddy when I played my round. It looked like the park didn't drain very well. You might want to keep this in mind if playing after a storm or a few days after significant rain.

Some of the holes were confusing to me. The baskets didn't seem to match the signs at all. I had to walk ahead a few times to see where I was going, then return to the pad and throw. This is probably a non issue if you play with a local.
Other Thoughts: Plamann Park is another great course in the Appleton area. If you consider the additional 9 hole course, there are 27 holes of disc golf here waiting for you. I would add it to the list to play if you're visiting the area. Park in the lot on the east side of the park near the lake, and enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My Very First Tournament Course

5+    5/20/2015   1/18/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My first experiences with disc golf were with highly technical, hilly and heavily wooded courses in Madison (which remain, to me, what disc golf is all about).

This was not only my first tournament course, but it was the first course I saw that looked and felt somewhat like the ball golf courses I grew up playing as a member of my HS team.

It's also one of the very few that is well designed, flows well, and has enough foliage as obstacles to make for interesting and challenging golf.

There is a good mix of long and short holes. There is very little in the way of extreme elevation change, but what little elevation there is is used to great effect (mostly by putting holes on side slopes, which can trick a player in terms of distance, and especially in terms of angle of release, as much as straightforward up and down).

The greens are exceptionally well guarded on the longer holes, offering the challenge of the hero shot to try for a long deuce, a risk that might not lead to reward and cause a player to bogie instead.
Cons: While the carved tee signs appear quite beautiful, they don't really give any idea of the true shape of the hole nor where the vegetation is located. They are largely ineffectual.

A few of the shorter holes on the back 9 could stand to have more protected greens and a design opportunity has been missed here to make for a more challenging championship caliber course (11, 12, 14 and 15 and possibly even 17 and 18).

Other Thoughts: I played this first in 1995 when it opened and I'd only been playing for a year. I finished 3rd in the advanced division and more than quintupled my entry fee in funny money.

Climo and Steady Ed were here, so it was probably the biggest thrill in my early discing career.

It's not among the best courses in WI, but I will always think of it fondly.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2014   1/25/2015
Review By: Baueezy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short shots throughout. Rolling hills with varied shots favoring forehand and backhand throwers. Had the feel of a ball golf course, basically being that it was well maintained and contained unique features for a disc golf experience.
Cons: Signs looked nice, but were not very practical. It was hard to see or understand the shot ahead. Some shots could have been more challenging, but that is a variable for different golfers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing round

2-4    10/26/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plamann 18 is a very serene course set in a very well kept city park, just outside of Appleton on the north side of town.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and all caught very well. One pin placement per hole, although there are apparently different setups for tournaments.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Plenty long enough, rectangular, and grippy. One tee position per hole.

The course has a nice mix of distances, from a 436' first hole, down to a 179' hole, and just about everything in between.

The course is FULL of rolling hills and elevation. This is probably the biggest theme of this course, and provides some difficulty. Hole 13 is an especially fun hole, 391' down a big ol' hill, with a creek behind it. Good stuff.

Lots of mature trees will punish errant drives. The fairways are generous on almost every hole, unless you hit one of these trees!

Navigation is pretty intuitive, with most tee pads near the last basket.

Cons: One tee/one pin position is kind of a drag. It's a fairly open park, and at least could use some variety.

It can get swampy here in the spring, especially on the early holes.

You do get the feel that a lot of the holes are either straight, or slightly left to right, which can be tough if you're not throwing particularly straight that day, or depend on a lot of hyzer shots.

There can be a lot of traffic here on nice days. Get there early, and it won't be a problem. Being a big, beautiful park, you also get some stray pedestrian traffic as well, especially around the back side.
Other Thoughts: Plamann is a really fun course for an Int player. It's one of those courses that I always feel like I left a few shots on the course. The lines are fun, and rewarding.

This review is only for the 18 loop, but you can jump into the back 9 after hole 11 (start on hole 2) and it spins you right back to hole 12. Easy peasy.

We were informed that Plamann is one of the first 10 courses in Wisconsin, which was a surprise. It has definitely stood the test of time, and the length is surprising for such an old course. I have a blast every time I play here, and would highly recommend it to anybody looking for a round that isn't a beatdown, but isn't some wide open course.

Plamann is like Flip City's older sister. Flip City is the hot younger sister that everyone wants to get with....Plamann is the slightly older sister that's a bit easier to score on, but not quite as exciting. The ride will still be fun, though!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Apple Creek 18 hole.

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be played by itself or you can jump onto the meadowview course after hole 11 to play the whole 27 hole loop. All holes have nice large, level concrete tees that are plenty grippy. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in excellent shape and catch nicely. these also have the number plates on top of each which is always nice. There are signs at each tee that have a map of the hole, par, hole # and distance. The flow from hole to hole is very intuitive. the course was well mowed and maintained when we went. There are benches and trash cans all over throughout the course. There's a really good amount of elevation on this course. It's one of the major challenges on this course. There's a really solid mix of left, right and straight shots required here. It's a pretty well balanced course in this regard. Other than that it's moderately wooded with a number of holes being mostly open. There's a good mix of different distances on this course. It starts out with the longest hole at 463 feet on hole 1. The shortest is 179 feet on hole 11, however this is a blind uphill shot which makes up for the shortness here. All the holes have either wood chips or metal grating around each tee pad. Some have both. There's a great variety of different types of trees throughout the different sections of the course making it a very visually appealing course. The course is also free to play. They have a large board at the start of the course with any kind of disc related postings on it.
Cons: My main con here is the tee signs. The map of each hole layout is pretty much useless for first time players. It's basically just a blob that's supposed to be the fairway with a cartoony basket on top of the blob. It doesn't help at all in knowing where the basket is. The course is only open late spring to late fall. It's always nice seeing courses being open year round but there's plenty of other courses nearby that stay up all year. Also the drainage can apparently get pretty bad here. Everything was good as far as that when we went, however it was late October. Something to remember if you go in the spring or after any rain. In order to jump onto the 9 hole loop you need to cross the road after hole 11. You'll see hole 12 to your left and hole 2 of Meadowview to your right. It's just easier to start on hole 2 of Meadowview and finish with hole 1 which will bring you right back to hole 12 to finish the 27 hole loop. I can see why hole 1 is where it is just a little confusing for first time players. There's only one set of tee and basket locations here. It would be nice if at least they had multiple pin locations on such an otherwise real solid course.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a plenty fun course that would make for a fun day of disc golf by itself or combined with any of the many other nearby courses. I gave it a 3.5 because it is very good. There's just nothing that really sticks out to make it super memorable. It's just a real solid well designed course. I'd definitely check this one out if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/23/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Dan K
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, Some big distance holes.
Cons: Wasps and Bees! Not going to lie, after going into anaphylactic shock years ago the amount of potential near death experiences made the course particularly challenging for me. :)

Besides a few holes, it seemed the majority of holes were shorter with not much variety in technical difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Over-all one of the better kept courses I've been to. Garbage disposal options were stellar!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Apple Creek AND Meadowview review

1    7/28/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great layout, with a variety of obstacles, elevation, tight and open shots. Meadowview plays more on the tight and narrow side.

- Tees, baskets well maintained. Garbage and benches at nearly (if not all) holes.

- Ton of fun factor
Cons: - Biggest complaint is drainage. Played after a slight rain, and was muddy, etc in places. Nothing crazy, but could use a bit of work in this area.

- Tad short for the experienced player, but makes up for it with variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this 27 hole course. Might be biased as I played a -7 here, but I found it very enjoyable and never felt repetitive. Was sad there wasn't a couple super long holes to let the big dog hunt, but not all course can have a 700' fairway. Will DEFINITELY play this course again if up near Appleton.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stopped out for a quick round

1    10/2/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Awol
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good variety of holes
- Benches at most of the tees
- Bag hangers and garbage at every tee.
- Well groomed
Cons: - A second tee would be nice for some of these holes.
- Blind baskets require a bit of wandering if you are a first-time (I was.) Minor complaint though.
- Signs could be a bit more descriptive. To explain a bit, the signs seemed to be too small to show an appropriate scale for the hole. A dog leg left that was a sharp turn was shown the same way as a gentle dog leg. The signs seemed too cramped to offer what people expect from a sign.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, definitely worth stopping at. I wasn't able to try the suggested 27 hole path, but look forward to getting back out there to try it.

I can't speak to how busy it was. I only saw one other group on the course but I was there mid-day on a Tuesday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: BKGuitar9
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good variety in holes. Some fields, some trees, some open, some elevation in addition to great variation in distance.
2. Great, large concrete tee boxes.
2. Clean (Garbage cans on every hole)
3. Good signage
4. Great fairways- with the exception of a couple of holes every fairway is grass
5. Huuuge park
6. Great layout and flow

Cons: 1. Holes 1,3,5,6,7,9 often acquire large amounts of water
2. Late summer = lots of apples on the ground. Lots of apples on the ground = lots of bees
3. Highest chance of encountering large groups of rude disc golfers in the area as Plamann is often crowded.
4. It's always more windy in comparison to other local parks
Other Thoughts: My favorite place to go when it isn't windy or crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Plamman 18

5+    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 45  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) nice country club feel
2) concrete tee pads offer great footings for drives.
3) great use of the hills and small patches of woods.
4) has a few good places to bomb a disc
5) very good flow throughout course.
6) practice basket
7) well manicured
8) benches and trash cans at nearly every hole
9) the Medoview 9 picks up after hole 11, makes a good 27 hole course if you have the time.
Cons: 1) there's a drainage problem that causes holes 1, 3, 6,7, and 9 to be very wet and soupy more often than not.
2) holes 7 and 8 run very close together and can cause problems with golfers on the adjacent hole.
3) VERY undesrciptive tee signs
4) busy, busy, busy
Other Thoughts: An all around good course that has had trouble keeping up with the times and really has no legitimate par 4s or 5s.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.