Madison, AL 
Dublin Park Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Ehhhh

1    1/30/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept, pretty park.
Good course for children and people who want to practice putting.
Cons: Kind of obvious that the disc golf course was put in just for the heck of it. Poor baskets, no tee pads, extraordinarily short.
Some of the other reviewers suggested bringing beginners there, but I would rather take them to Brahan Springs in Huntsville.
Other Thoughts: Not a course that I would ever play again, but I appreciate the effort in trying to spread the sport. For what it is (an extremely short course with little technical difficulty), it's passable. There is a lot of room around the park, but they might have concerns with hitting the hordes of pedestrians that are in the park 98% of the time.
Any experienced players in the area should take the 5-10 minute drive over to Indian Creek instead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Dublin

1    5/5/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: babbakanoush
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very well kept. Great for a fast game of disc golf. The best place to take someone who has never thrown a disc before.
Cons: The baskets only have an outside chain. The pine trees grab discs out of the air. Sometimes cars park in the fairway of hole #1. There aren't any trashcans on the course. Mostly in the open field so no real obstacles and it gets pretty hot.
Other Thoughts: This course is what you make it out to be. Sure if you play all 9 holes (which you can do in 15 mins) and it will be a short lived and mostly boring experience. But what I usually do is play the 9 holes and then switch it up and play from tee-box 1 to pin 2, or pin 9 to pin 7 etc. It adds a great twist to the little course.

 

1    10/17/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 259  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little beginner course in well kept park. The course is very short, but elevation changes on nearly every hole help keep it interesting.

The course layout is pretty easy to follow. There are two and a half foot tall portable white posts marking the grass tee area. It doesn't look like the course gets a lot of use so the grass around the tee area is in nice shape.

Hole 7 is a short, but fun turnover shot up a big hill. The rest of the holes are straight or hyzer shots.
Cons: This course is what it is, a short easy course designed for new players and families.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course for beginners and families to get out and play. If you can throw over 200ft, don't expect a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Pitch & Putt Course!

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1028  Reviewed: 977  Exp: 39.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, the course is not mostly flat, it's mostly on the side of slightly, sloped hillside. There wasn't one hole that was flat. It's set below a children's play area fort and some tennis courts in a small wooded area. I've never seen these baskets before. They're made by Instep and they are made of the thinnest guage metal (with single chains) that I've ever encountered. Thus far, no goofy teenager has climbed up on one and bent it all to hell. The course is very short but four holes do play uphill adding to the difficulty. It is a perfect place to bring the beginner or for the neighborhood 5th graders to learn to play. There are no teepads, just white posts with a number on them. There are a few trees to throw around.
Cons: I looked long and hard for the # 9 basket but couldn't locate it. I asked a maintenance worker and he looked at me like I was green with an eye in the middle of my forehead! The white tee markers are freestanding. A teen prankster, not really being malicious, could really screw with visiting players like me by moving these around.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course for what it is, that is a Pitch & Putt or a beginner course or maybe a total recreational course. I can always see the purpose of these types of courses and appreciate having them around. If I lived in this neighborhood, I'd be over trying to rack up the aces or trying to shoot 9 under.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Quick

2-4    4/27/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: roc54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Good for a quick game after work or for beginners like me.
Cons: None for me yet. Still learning. I figure that experienced players would need more of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Got my first hole in one here!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the newbies and children!

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: wirerat123
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I gave it a low score for one reason only, it's not going to appeal in the least to your typical disc golfer that started on other courses. But grab your buddies who have kids and wives that want to go try this Disc Golf thing you keep talking about and this is PERFECT.
Cons: It is what it is, and nothing more. This is a course designed with one thing in mind. Family fun and introducing new people to the sport without them getting frustrated because they can't throw a 300' drive.
Other Thoughts: Snatch up those that never can get away from their families long enough to try the game, make em pack up the kids and the wife, hand them all some of your spare beat up discs, show them some basics, and watch em have a blast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.