Madison, AL 
Dublin Park Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #5 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Casual Course

5+    6/18/2018   6/19/2018
Review By: youjon5
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - As many other reviews state, this course is great for beginners. This was the first course I played with real discs, and I enjoyed it much more than UAH, which I played some of later in the day.
- The course is always mowed short, with no litter.
- Impossible to lose a disc, unless you get it stuck in a tree on Hole 1.
- Great use of elevation. Every hole except hole 5 uses elevation in an interesting way. Hole 1 is a long downhill with branches overhead. Hole 7 is a very steep uphill with a small landing near the basket, and holes 8 and 9 use the uphill to make the holes feel longer.
- This is a friendly, casual course. You can play through it 3 times in a row easily, there is no intimidation, you never have to drive more than 200 feet, and it just feels relaxing. All together, this is the "chillest" course I have played to date.
- Not at all crowded.
Cons: - The baskets are very cheap, single-chained with shallow baskets, meaning putts must be precisely thrown to get them to stick (Note: since I learned to putt here, I am an extremely accurate putter, so it's not all bad for a new player)
- The holes are all short and some feel repetitive.
- With a playground and a road nearby, missed shots can be dangerous to other park-goers. Be careful on holes 1, 4, and 6, especially.
- No tees, just small poles labelled with the course number.
- As the course sits between a road, playground, and soccer fields, noise can be a distraction.
- While the land is beautifully maintained, the course is not. The posts used as tees are damaged,the flags have torn off the top of the baskets (the baskets are still numbered on the pole), and several of the baskets are leaning.
- The layout is confusing, as there is no signage, no obvious flow, and multiple baskets always within sight. Use the map in the "Links/Files" tab, or be prepared to walk through the course before you play.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course for a quick play through, but don't expect a challenging layout or long drives.

BE SURE TO VIEW THE MAP ON THIS WEBSITE BEFORE YOU PLAY.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chain Out

2-4    11/1/2018   12/14/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0.935 Rating) (REVISED - replayed November 2018) A family friendly park with an awesome playground.
- ACEABILITY - So short that aces seem inevitable. Although, I'm not sure the shallow baskets or chains will hold the disc very well when the chains are smashed. I've already had a few short putts get pushed out.
- FORGIVENESS - An open too lightly wooded layout with no overgrowth and no hazards. Losing a disc here would be next to impossible. The course is very beginner friendly.
- FAMILTY FRIENDLY - Lots of other park amenities in addition to this beginner friendly disc golf course.
- NAVIGATION - Not to bad as the course is really open. I had to do a little recon with there being no map and I accidently threw to basket (4) from tee (3). I've made a map and posted my findings to DGCR.
- QUICK PLAY - I recently pulled off a solo round here in 20 minutes with an empty park. My first round here however was plagued with a park being full of people. Running the layout in 30 minutes or more could happen when a gazillion kids are walking around.
- ELEVATION - Nothing major but I am surprised that this course is above average for the area. Hole (1) is a 20 foot down shot. Hole (6) has a 10 foot gulley right of the basket. Hole (7) and (8) are both up about 15 to 20 feet to the base of the tennis courts.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds have been in immaculate for all 3 of my visits. No trash or dead branches or even twigs on the ground. The park staff must come through daily to keep this park in tip-top shape, or I got lucky and came right after some park clean-ups.

Cons: Substantial issues with Dublin Park
- SAFETY HAZARDS - The thought of nailing a car or park patron really never left my mind on my first two rounds here. Roads are in play on several shots; (1), (2), (4), (5) and (6). I've waited on all of those holes for vehicles to clear. Also, lots of kids running around everywhere. There is really no way to fix these issues other than reducing the amount of holes. There just isn't enough room here. In addition, several basket and tee separation are to close, sometimes separated by less than 30 feet. The entire layout feels squeezed.
- CHAINS - They are playable but one of the worse versions out there, "Instep". They don't make that nice ching noise that you'd expect of the Mach's, DISCatchers or Chainstars. In addition, the chains are very light. On a positive note, the baskets are numbered.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Way too easy for a vast majority of players. Recreation players will probably even find the challenge a bit to light for their liking. The most challenging part of this layout is the chains on the basket.
- CHARACTER - The course lacks just about every course character item found at an older established course. No community board, course map or hole signage, just hole marking posts with a number. Also no seating, practice basket, trash cans, alternate tees or alternate pin placements.
- TEES - They are natural without a defined line. Thankfully, but not surprising, there is no tee pitting.
- UNIQUENESS - The third least unique course I've scored in the Huntsville area, just better than Logan Park and Greenbrier. Dublin Park is mostly an open layout with a spattering of trees. There is a little bit of elevation to contend with and its usage is above average for the area. Baskets are lightly guarded or not at all. All par 3s and the longest hole, (9), isn't much over 300 feet. No water features, doglegs or twisting holes either.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Not an eyesore by any means, but you won't find any photo's of Dublin Park gracing the centerfold of Play Disc magazine. On a hole by hole basis, I'm not sure if I'd rate any of them even average for beauty. Way too many man-made objects in view from chain link fences, to playgrounds, to roads. It's an uninspiring mix.

Other Thoughts: Dublin Park is a very sub-par course. It has a really small footprint, lies in multi-use park and has all the typical issues associated with courses of this make-up. Other than parents with small kids, I'm not sure who else would play here. Well... I guess a bagger like me, but only once...well twice.. well three times. I brought my daughter the second time and the third was to get a day of comparison with newly listed Ashbury UMC DGC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    4/3/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some mild elevation, a few trees for obstacles.
Cons: Still very, very open overall, without any challenging shots.

The baskets are the defining feature of this course, and that is not a good thing. Even slow, floating putts can knife clean through and out the back, regardless of angle. My home course has handmade early-80s baskets that had to be retrofitted to double chains, and they are absolutely luxurious compared to Dublin Park. Missing a perfectly clean, slow putt that should have stopped dead is frustrating, and it is for that reason that I can't try to justify this as a beginner course. If that had been my first experience with disc golf, there might not have been a second.

Signage is lacking. Tees are numbered, and the baskets are too, but I couldn't even tell there were numbers on the baskets, much less read them, from the tees. Finding the next tee can be interesting.
Other Thoughts: Natural tees.

Try not to bean any walkers and/or children on the playground.

Could very possibly be better as an object course. Never thought I'd say that.

If you do want somewhere in the area to play as a beginner (or to take a friend who's just learning to play), try Brahan Spring.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good for putter practice?

5+    1/7/2017   5/5/2017
Review By: 93EXCivic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you happen to work at nearby Research Park and you happen to get discs sent to your work and you want to test out some new putters and mids, this course happens to be close by and is pretty good for that. Or if you live in Madison, the same applies.
Grass is always nicely mowed
You are very unlikely to lose a disc
Cons: There are absolutely no signs to indicate where the holes are in relation to the tees and there is nothing but a little plastic fence post to tell you which tee you are at. The baskets only have little stickers on the pole to tell which basket it is. It took me visiting two or three times to figure out the layout at all.
The baskets suck. They are single chain homemade things that don't catch putts very well at all.
Finally I don't feel like this is a very safe course. If there happened to be more then one person playing, a number of the fairways cross over each other. There is a playground near by and there are frequently walkers going by on the road at the bottom of the hill that you throw down multiple times.
Other Thoughts: Unless you need a quick warm up putter round or you just have to bag every course you can, don't bother.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Only good for Putt Practice

1    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Glitch
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and nice for a warmup
Cons: This park has NO way to know if your going to the correct basket. The course has no layout i could figure out. Your best guess it to try and stand where theres beaten down grass or dirt spots to know where to stand and where your throwing. Even thats flawed
Other Thoughts: Dont bother to go to this course unless you plan to be disapointed

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt and that's it

1    4/18/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 79  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's a DG course in a very nice looking park.
- Grass is mowed.
- Other than some fairways being a little close to each other there really are no serious safety hazards.
Cons: - Signage...lol wut?
- No teepads just cheap little plastic fence posts with numbers on them.
- Not only are these baskets cheap but many of them are in sore need of some TLC.
Other Thoughts: This is a classic example of a park district or park department (or whatever it happens to be in this case) trying to shoe-horn a 9 hole course into an impossibly small area for as little money as possible - at least that's what this looks like. This course is also a fine example of the concept that not every plot of land in the world is a good spot for a dg course. I see the designer work here though, it appears to me they did the best they could with what little they were allowed to work with and made the absolute most of what is here. Unfortunately, with the lack of maintenance, bad baskets and disappointing lack of appropriate signage I can't give this anything more than a 1. Poor is an apt description compared to the other courses I've played. Some previous reviews state that this is a good place to bring a newb to introduce them to disc golf. I completely disagree especially with courses like Bahran and Mastin in the area - those are much better for that purpose. If I were introduced to the sport with this course I would've walked away and never looked back.

Go ahead and mark my review as "not helpful" because unless some serious hard-core improvements are made I will never waste my time coming back here even if I just happen to be in the Huntsville area. If I lived across the street from Dublin Park and gas was $10/gallon I might be tempted to come here once in a while.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go out of your way for this one

1    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: The other reviewers have pretty much summed it up well. This course is a decent place to take someone for a quick introduction to the sport or to practice with your putters and mids.

You won't lose a disc here or wack a lot of trees, but not all the holes are gimmees. There is a bit of challenge, particularly with the last three hilly holes and that factor does keep me playing here on occasion for variety.
Cons: There are no teepads and the baskets are pretty weak.

You really want to play with someone who knows the layout, because it'll be very frustrating trying to navigate the course otherwise.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in town and have played all the other courses first, then give me a shout and I'll guide you on the course. Otherwise, you might want to consider something else to do with your time.

 Good for What it Is

5+    5/15/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: DiscDawg015
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Dublin is good for a quick warm up round, or a first time round for newer people to the game. Holes are short so it is easy to get a good score for those who play alot, and easy for those who are just starting out to build confidence. The park itself is a nice place to play and there are a couple trees scattered around for some shade. It can be played 2 or 3 times at once pretty quick.
Cons: The first time you play it is hard to figure out which basket you are playing to and where the next tee is. The baskets have numbers on them and the white plastic tee marks do as well. The course can easily be walked to figure out where everything is before you start. The baskets aren't the best. They are very flimsy and single chain, so expect some to bounce out everynow and then. Also, cars tend to park in fairway 1 which can be bothersome. Fairway 1 is slanting down though and for the most part the cars can be avioded.
Other Thoughts: If you don't come to this course expecting a heated round between you and your friends then you will be disappionted. However, if you just come to have fun and maybe play only midrange and putters then it will be a more pleasent experience.
Tee 1 which can be hard to find is one the right of the playground on the street you drive in, and hole 9 is on the other side of the playground.
Give this course a chance and don't expect a serious competition and it can be alot of fun, and a good warm up for the other courses around.

 Dublin Park

1    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice community park with plenty of parking, restrooms and a gigantic kids play area. The course plays along a sloping area isolated from other park activities. The course flows well and is a great place to introduce beginners to the game or play a round with the kids. Although the course is pretty short and repetitive, it is actually laid out nicely with just enough trees and elevation to present a decent challenge. While the first six holes are all in the 175'-200' range, the final three holes are in the 250'-275' range and play considerably longer because they are uphill.
Cons: The baskets are the least sticky I have ever encountered. I had four or five putts smack the middle of the chains and go right through. The baskets are single-chain and very lightweight, almost as if they were homemade. The support poles are very thin and most are leaning. The only way I could get a putt to stick was if I managed to lob it into the basket rather than crashing into the chains. The tee pads are natural and marked by a short PVC post set in concrete with a vinyl sticker denoting the hole number. Despite the compact layout and the fact that every tee is immediately following the previous basket, it is hard to follow the intended layout. This is because when you stand at any tee, you can see all nine baskets. I twice finished a hole only to realize I played to the wrong basket--fortunately it is a short walk back!
Other Thoughts: On the day I played, the winds were gusting about 20-25 MPH. Under those conditions, it was maddening to place a drive within 15 feet of the pin only to have a nice putt go right through the chains like the basket was simply an illusion. I must have tried 25 practice putts after I finished my round and only two of them stayed in. With better baskets, this would actually be a pretty nice pitch and putt. As it is, it is just a way to bulk up your "Courses Played" list on DGCR.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    4/22/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat little 9-hole course that is new to the Huntsville scene. It is located in a well-kept park and plays through an open hillside with mature trees. The major pro of the design lies in the use of elevation. While the throws are not difficult for seasoned players at all, beginners will be able to test their game with some uphill holes. Plenty of Ace opportunities and a couple of trick pin placements. (side hills)
Cons: The baskets are single-chained. Since the layout is short and relatively close together, there could be issues if the course is busy. There are no tee pads. This is not a con because they are needed; it would just help to point out the correct target. There are tee posts, but they offer little direction and multiple targets are visible from each tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little cool-down spot. If you've played a grueling layout like UAH or Indian Creek, it never hurts to stop by this park and play a quick 9 to feel better about yourself. The course could be played easily in 20 minutes if you happen to be alone. Just take a neutral mid-range and a putter and enjoy. Breaking 18 is definitely possible at Dublin Park.

The park plays around a nice playground and tennis courts. There are park roads that can be a danger if you happen to shank a shot...but it would have to be a really bad shot.

After playing with my friends, we discussed how every disc golf town needs a course like this. Beginners will not be discouraged with difficult holes and will not get in the way of more seasoned golfers at the better courses in the area. Courses like this also serve as decent mid-range practice for advanced players. This course is a good addition to the Huntsville scene, and it fills a needed niche. If you're a beginner and you live in Huntsville, give this course a shot. If you're an average player and passing through the area, just go play the better courses in the vicinity. Huntsville has a course for everybody.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.