Janesville, WI 
Lustig Park Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #16 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
3 or 3.5? Hmmmmm....

2-4    7/3/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 141  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: + Lots of mature trees here that act as the main obstacle on this course.

+ This park is purely dedicated to disc golf (with small exceptions of a playground and a pavilion) and is very well maintained. This combo (manicured and exclusive) is a pretty rare thing among public park disc golf courses. There are also restrooms on-site and there is abundant parking.

+ A clear signature hole (#12). This is a fun downhill 400 ft + bomb where you can feel really, really good about grabbing a two.
Cons: - The tee signs desperately need an update to include a map. Alternatively, a big number should be placed on the baskets to clearly indicate navigation. Even with a map, I was very confused on where I should be throwing.

- With the exception of maybe 3-4 holes, the holes felt monotonous. There wasn't anything to really "wow" me with the exception of the aforementioned hole 12. But with hole 12, I could see safety being an issue. The road is downhill and to the right which means the majority of discs are going to naturally fade in that direction (RHBH).

- It was pretty busy when I stopped by. This normally isn't a problem, but some of the groups didn't know the navigation either and ended up jumping around which threw a lot of people off.

- All in all, not as fun as I was hoping it would be and it's pretty unlikely that I'll return.
Other Thoughts: I was up in the air between 3 and 3.5 on this for a while. However, I ended up going with 3 because I felt the cons outweighed the pros.

That said, I'm glad to check this course off the list because I feel it's pretty popular and I've been wanting to play it for like 3 years now.

fun but tough to navigate

1    2/26/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: VictorB
Played: 77  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.1 Years
Pros: 18 holes with chainstar baskets set in a nice park with some big mature trees. Not heavily wooded but enough big trees around to help define multiple lines to each pin.

Most teepads were more than ample in size. No complaints at all here. Good use of the rolling elevation change and a good number of pins weren't on a level green, so roll-aways on poor putts and approaches were real possibility.

Most holes are reachable, with a few longer ones mixed in there, but have some risk/reward coupled with them. Some elevated baskets make for added difficulty, and there are some baskets with drop offs that will punish you for missing a run at them.
Cons: Navigation is the only real significant problem with this course.

The tee signs are outdated. Either there are multiple pin placements on each hole or they moved the baskets, difficult to tell on initial play through. None of the baskets have numbers on them, and tee signs don't have maps - couple those things with being able to see multiple baskets from each tee and you're likely to throw at the wrong one, which I'm pretty sure we did at least once. Signs with hole layout would help immensely here, since you're probably going to be looking off the tee and seeing 3-4 baskets at about any given time.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely park golf. If it is busy, you're likely to hear 'FORE!' a few times, and see people playing all over the place since the holes and baskets are all fairly close to each other. That fact doesn't make it a poor course at all though. A couple of mandos for safety and better signage and you'd have a great day in the park.

 

5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has great mix of open wooded long and short nice baskets
Grounds kept very clean
Bathrooms on site along with vending machines
Teepads nice and in great shape
Overall a solid fun course
Cons: My biggest concern is some of the crowd that plays here.
You'd think you were playing in the yard at the county jail at times
Other Thoughts: Worth a stop love changing it up and playing here

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

1    5/7/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is an old school par three design winding through mature oak trees. The majority of the holes require hitting a line through the mature trees with some minor elevation and little to no underbrush. Most shots give you options on which line to take, though a couple holes are tighter and make you hit a specific line to get the deuce.

There are a couple of longer holes that many players will pull out a fairway or distance driver on, otherwise it's a pretty short track with some minor distance variations. The concrete tees are large and in nice shape. The signs are plenty descriptive and the flow of the course is easy to follow. The homemade baskets catch fine and the park is nicely kept.
Cons: With large spaces between the mature trees and no underbrush, a hyzer line is available on nearly every hole and there just isn't much punishment for missing your line. There aren't really any holes here where it's difficult to recover for par even with an early tree hit. Because a lot of the holes are relatively short, it feels a bit repetitive at times.

Many holes play near one another, including several where the next tee is in play. This could cause some safety issues on a busy day, make sure to keep an eye out for errant discs. The baskets catch fine but have lots of sharp ends sticking out that can take chunks out of your putters.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for newer players to start learning to shape different lines. There are enough trees that you have to be a little creative, but not a ton of distance or rough. More experienced players will definitely have a chance at birdie on nearly all the holes here, and there aren't many that threaten a bogey if you screw up.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    11/4/2010   1/22/2011
Review By: malooly39653
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is my curent home course so i play it a lot and have a decint avreage at -2. most hole have big tee pads. if you play rounds before noon course is empty.
Cons: longest hole smallest tee pad. large amont of vandalism. most baskeets are home made but for home made are decent.
Other Thoughts: the course has a new club friends of lustig on face book and work is being done to improve course well the pins have been pulled.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    4/17/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 138  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. One of the first things I noticed about this course, is it has some of the widest teepads I've ever seen. Nice. Also, nice, clear signs, and (homemade) baskets in good shape. I even noticed empty sleeves for alternate pin placements on at least a few holes, which they apparently switch around regularly, though no alt pins or distances are noted on the signs. The alt spots were mostly close to the regulars, so probably for erosion control as much as variety, but still, alt pins are alt pins, and alt pins need not be nearly as different as the A & B pins at Anna Page East to give the hole a fresh twist.

Most of this course plays up and down a hillside with scattered trees, with a few holes weaving through the woods and a few more open bomber holes.

This course mixes it up with a nice variety of left and right curves, though oftentimes there's more than one way to play most holes. Overall, this course is about accurately-shaping drives. If you do that off the tee and avoid the trees, you'll do alright. If you can combine that with some decent distance, you will do well, and set yourself up for several birdie possibilities, provided you make the putts. The par 4's on this course are all good opportunities to pick up a few strokes with a good drive.

I'd say the signature hole on this course, which is also the hardest hole, is hole 11. You through a narrow winding path in the woods, on a hillside sloping up to the right. The basket sits at the edge of a dropoff, so overshooting or missing a putt is disastrous, and where you land your drive is key.
Cons: Cramped in places. A few tee pads are close to the previous fairway, so close we almost hit the group in front of us, and the group behind us came close to nailing me on the tee pad. Keep your eyes open here so you don't get hit. This park isnt huge, so all things considered, I'm glad they have 18 holes in here, even if there are a few places that feel a bit squished.

This course is very fun, but not extremely challenging. Most holes arent too long, so accurate drives through the trees should leave you with birdie putts on most holes. This park reminded me of a shorter, less technical Anna Page West.

This park seems like a very nicely marked and maintained rec course, but overall, a little easier than most nearby courses I've played. It's a really fun place for a casual round, but not the most technical course in the area. Understandably, most of the players that were out playing the course the day it reopened were pretty casual, with a handful of discs at most. This is not a bad thing by any means, but speaks to the kind of course this is: casual and fun to play with two discs, though still interesting.

This course throws in some variety, but after awhile, most of the holes begin to seem similar: bend the disc left or right around the scattered trees to the pin. The terrain here makes for several variations on the theme, but the holes themselves aren't quite as memorable or challenging as those on similar courses (ie. scattered trees) in the area like Anna Page West, or Fireman's Park in Waterloo, though Lustig has better signage and teepads than either of those two courses.

However, there's nothing really wrong with this course, and a lot of things right. Its fun and easy to navigate, worth a stop if you are in the area. I don't want it to seem like I'm dogging this place, because I quite enjoyed my round here and plan on returning when I get a chance, I just think other nearby courses set the bar a little higher.
Other Thoughts: I drove directly to this course after three rounds at Anna Page Park West, so maybe that's why this course seemed a bit on the easy side, since its a bit shorter than West, with wider gaps between the trees. However, this is still a fun and interesting course, its just not quite as Epic as West

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

4/6/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: Muh' Hucker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some surprising holes along with the duds, 10 and 11, tight through the woods are good fun, 11 even more so as its also uphill, and 12 is a long downhill open throw that reminds me of a smaller 7 at Ellison in Rochester, NY. The park is up on a bluff overlooking the Rock river and the natural shape provides good drainage, not a lot of mud at all. Lots of big oaks to throw around and under. Some of the pins have a sharp camber under them, makes for high risk high loss putting. The concrete tees are nice, but...
Cons: ...Lustig park needs signage. Badly. Lots of big oaks to throw around and under. The baskets need some help, they are functional, but it ain't pretty. Many of the holes are there it seems simply because that was the space available, not really to make the course interesting. Its still early in the spring so I'll give a pass on park condition until the crews have a chance to clean up.
Other Thoughts: I'll follow up this review later in the year after the city has had a chance to clean up the park after the winter, providing that they do. This is the closest course to where I live in WI, having just transplanted from Rochester. You should see the locals faces when you try to describe a Garbage Plate.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.