Janesville, WI 
Lustig Park Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
3 or 3.5? Hmmmmm....

2-4    7/3/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 140  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: + Lots of mature trees here that act as the main obstacle on this course.

+ This park is purely dedicated to disc golf (with small exceptions of a playground and a pavilion) and is very well maintained. This combo (manicured and exclusive) is a pretty rare thing among public park disc golf courses. There are also restrooms on-site and there is abundant parking.

+ A clear signature hole (#12). This is a fun downhill 400 ft + bomb where you can feel really, really good about grabbing a two.
Cons: - The tee signs desperately need an update to include a map. Alternatively, a big number should be placed on the baskets to clearly indicate navigation. Even with a map, I was very confused on where I should be throwing.

- With the exception of maybe 3-4 holes, the holes felt monotonous. There wasn't anything to really "wow" me with the exception of the aforementioned hole 12. But with hole 12, I could see safety being an issue. The road is downhill and to the right which means the majority of discs are going to naturally fade in that direction (RHBH).

- It was pretty busy when I stopped by. This normally isn't a problem, but some of the groups didn't know the navigation either and ended up jumping around which threw a lot of people off.

- All in all, not as fun as I was hoping it would be and it's pretty unlikely that I'll return.
Other Thoughts: I was up in the air between 3 and 3.5 on this for a while. However, I ended up going with 3 because I felt the cons outweighed the pros.

That said, I'm glad to check this course off the list because I feel it's pretty popular and I've been wanting to play it for like 3 years now.

Best area course

5+    5/31/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: mthammer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Well designed course in a nice park.
Moderately Challenging but fair lines.
Varied shots.
Multiple basket locations.
Beginner friendly 18.
Best tee pads I've ever played.
Cons: Some may find it a bit short.
Some baskets tough to see from tee.
Other Thoughts: Intermediate players should be able to score well here, and it's very beginner friendly. It's a better beginner course than the few 9 hole options in Evansville, Milton, and Edgerton. I think that's a nice feature of an 18 hole course. Experts might get bored after a few plays. But, the multiple basket locations help with that. I've played it several times each of the past 5 summers and I've seen new basket positions each summer. Some baskets are a bit hard to see from the tees, but that's not too uncommon. The park is clean, and seems well cared for. All in all it's a fun course and for an intermediate player like me that's really what I'm after.

fun but tough to navigate

1    2/26/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: VictorB
Played: 77  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.1 Years
Pros: 18 holes with chainstar baskets set in a nice park with some big mature trees. Not heavily wooded but enough big trees around to help define multiple lines to each pin.

Most teepads were more than ample in size. No complaints at all here. Good use of the rolling elevation change and a good number of pins weren't on a level green, so roll-aways on poor putts and approaches were real possibility.

Most holes are reachable, with a few longer ones mixed in there, but have some risk/reward coupled with them. Some elevated baskets make for added difficulty, and there are some baskets with drop offs that will punish you for missing a run at them.
Cons: Navigation is the only real significant problem with this course.

The tee signs are outdated. Either there are multiple pin placements on each hole or they moved the baskets, difficult to tell on initial play through. None of the baskets have numbers on them, and tee signs don't have maps - couple those things with being able to see multiple baskets from each tee and you're likely to throw at the wrong one, which I'm pretty sure we did at least once. Signs with hole layout would help immensely here, since you're probably going to be looking off the tee and seeing 3-4 baskets at about any given time.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely park golf. If it is busy, you're likely to hear 'FORE!' a few times, and see people playing all over the place since the holes and baskets are all fairly close to each other. That fact doesn't make it a poor course at all though. A couple of mandos for safety and better signage and you'd have a great day in the park.

Great course!

2-4    6/10/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Texasmouth
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course with some fun wooded holes. A few of the holes were very challenging even for a skilled player. A few of the holes were "Aceable" holes. Has nice clean bathrooms. Vending machines. Not much to dislike about this course.
Cons: The next hole was hard to find sometimes. Would be nice to have the number of the hole on the baskets. Otherwise a really fun course.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played at. I played while visiting family and I was really pleased. Would definitely recommend. I played early on a weekday and I was the only one on the course. At night it was a bit more crowded.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lusting for Lustig? Maybe.

1    4/26/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in Lustig Park in Janesville, WI.

Nice Chainstar baskets, all in decent enough repair and well mounted. Several holes had multiple pin positions. There was some really nice pin positions here, with real chances of roll-aways, and lots of risk/reward putting.

Concrete tee pads, all in decent enough shape. Mostly long and wide enough. One tee position per hole.

Really nice use of the terrain here. The park is basically all rolling hills, but with a decent amount of elevation change. Most of the holes have some aspect of up or down to them. The first hole is a nice downhill wooded shot that gets you right into the action.

Tons of mature trees here are the other main obstacle. Nearly all the holes have multiple lines if you search hard enough, and they were nearly all plenty fair. Only a couple really tight spots, and even those weren't necessarily unfair.

A nice array of distances, from very short to a nice 460+ downhill bomber. It never felt like you were throwing the same distances too many times in a row, especially with the hills in play.

It would be pretty tough to lose a disc here, as there's very little heavy rough. A nice perk on a course with so many trees.
Cons: There's not a ton to hate here. The tee signs are old and outdated, and the navigation suffers because of it on your first spin. It's not terrible, but you can get turned around, especially around holes 13-14.

Dual tees and more alt pin positions would be nice here, but you'd probably just end up with a bunch of shorter holes if it was done.

This place can be pretty busy, being the only good course in the area. Lots of 2 disc chuckers, and lots of other park patrons roaming around the pavilion areas. The course also has a few holes that run next to the road, with a real chance of hitting vehicles on errant throws or bad tree kicks.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is just a solid course. It's not crazy hard, but it's not overly easy, either. You can work on a plethora of different shots if you want to because of the layout of the obstacles. This would make for a great course to hone your skills if it were your home course. Definitely worth a spin if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Ratings are right on

5+    3/28/2015   1/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is a modestly wooded and modestly hilly city park that is far better than most city parks. The course has been improved dramatically over the years and it now has great length to go along with an exceptionally good use of the landscape and foliage (which is mostly very big and mature trees).
Cons: The course isn't marked that well. The signs are vastly out of date and not reflective of the new distances. One tee sign is planted at the back of a tee pad, preventing a player from using that angle and taking his legitimate 3 meters off the tee pad to start. This is one of my pet peeves if you've read my reviews and I have a message for all course designers:
FOR SAFETY AND LIABILITY REASONS, PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT YOUR TEE SIGNS ARE A MINIMUM OF 3 METERS AWAY FROM THE TEE PAD AND PREFERABLY TO THE REAR AND LEFT.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lustig Park

2-4    10/3/2015   10/3/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lustig is an 18 holer locacted in a really nice city park. Nothing fancy, yet definitley not boring. Disc golf is taking off in southern Wisconsin, and this course being busy is a direct result of that. The weekends here get busy, but I've never had to wait to play.

*Well kept grounds. Props to whoever maintains the course. Not a lot of brush to punish throws unless you really shank one.
*Massive tee pads
*Lots of parking near hole 1
*Very clean bathrooms and functional beverage machines also next to hole 1
*benches and garbage cans located on nearly every hole
*Lots of true par 3's keep it competitive
*A handful of baskets are right along the wood lines or slightly in the woods offering an interesting drive/approach shot
*some varrying elevation also adds somewhat of a challenge and a lot of fun on hole 12
*nice quiet neighborhood surrounds the course
Cons: *signs could use directional indicators of where the basket lies. The signs only list par and hole distance
*hole 16 sign completely missing
*can get a bit confusing distinguising which tee and basket is next on the front 9 because the holes are crammed together (I suggest snapping a pic of the course map on your smart phone before starting for reference while navigating)
*Crowded (not complaining, its great for the sport)
Other Thoughts: I love this place. For a typical course located in a city park this place uses the elevation and basket placement quite well. Facilities are well kept and in order. Difficult to lose a disc here. I would travel to this course if I didn't live in the area. Props to the guys running this place.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Course

1    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: Dfixmer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Simple front 9 and varied back nine.
-Clearly marked and well maintained.
-Lots of shady trees.
Cons: -A few missing signs.
-No score cards or individual maps.
-Lots of bugs!
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes are in great shape. Lots of people playing- very popular.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/5/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I love about this course is its mixture of open and nicely wooded areas. The trees are all huge old oak trees and spaced out. There is almost no risk of throwing your disc into the wilderness and losing it, or having to dig through dense forest to find it. I have been playing this course for the past 5 years I think and in my opinion, its the best course in the area. (Madison has it beat, but thats an hour away)
Cons: Gets somewhat busy but the majority of the time you can play without waiting for the people ahead of you.

Course can be kind of confusing to navigate first time playing, but my advice is to look for the metal plaque/inlay on the end of the cement tees. That little metal square is always at the BACK of the tee, so hopefully that will help you throw to the right basket if there is any confusion!
Other Thoughts: I believe that Alcohol is NOT allowed. Park has clean bathrooms and a water fountain next to the first tee. Well-maintained.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
Pros: -Really nice use of the trees
-Challenging enough to keep you focused
-Multiple basket locations to keep that "new" feeling
Cons: -Not too much variety
-Seems like a sketchy area
Other Thoughts: Very nicely wooded course. Enough trees to force lines, yet still forgiving enough to not be an annoyance. Seemed to be some sketchy people when I played but nothing I was too worried about. Only one wide open hole with all the rest in varying levels of woodedness.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.