Patton, PA 
Prince Gallitzin State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #7
4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Nice state park

1    8/10/2017   8/10/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 102  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Good course. Decent amount of variety in terms of hole lengths and shots. Mostly wooded with a few open holes. Lacked any really memorable holes or anything shots that really make you nervous. I liked the reverse island hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/29/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: Jags
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautifully laid out and easy to navigate. I found this course to be a really enjoyable round of discing. Course maintenance seemed really good and the time put into it shows. Tee pad to basket placement was a really enjoyable and fun time. The 4x4 @ the front of each tee pad that's level with the ground tells you what hole your on but more importantly tells you the holes distance in ft. Baskets were in great shape too. I drove for 1 1/2 hours to play this course & was not disappointed. In fact...I'll be making a trip here a couple times a year from now on. This course has a mix of all shots with easier and harder holes as long as your hitting your throwing lanes. There are some signature holes and some ace run chances on a hole or two.
Cons: Some of the tee mats are rather narrow on some of the holes but not much of an issue. The only problem I could think of is the signs for each hole doesn't show pin placement for the holes & I'm not sure if there is more than 1 basket position only playing this course once.
Other Thoughts: This is a wooded course but less wooded than I had anticipated. I always heard how wooded Prince Galitzen was but I still pictured it being more heavily wooded. Most holes definitely play through the woods but as long as your hitting the throwing lanes you should be ok. Don't hit them and your day might not go so well. There are some holes that open up for some bomb throws too. Almost aced #6...Par 3, 145' on a sky hyzer putter throw.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Christmas Eve

2-4    12/24/2015   12/24/2015
Review By: paddyB
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course withing 30 minutes from Altoona. First of all, the SP is beautiful and easily accessible. There is a nice mix of tight wooded fairway shots and wide open shots.
Cons: There are no signs with basket locations, so a few of the holes have blind tee shots. Other than that, I have no complaints. It is well worth the 30 minute travel time from Altoona.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course in the late fall and mid-winter, so I'm excited to see how it plays in the summer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    10/7/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new extended 18 finally provides a true test course in Central PA - fun 9 went to a challenging 18. This is now a wooded course, with many trees, tight fairways, and difficult undergrowth punishing poor shots.
Tee pads are upgraded and flattened - still rubber but much better than before.
Long wooded holes over the middle section mix well with shorter and/or open original 9 - the flow from hole to hole is really good. The new holes include a lot of Par 4, where is the pin, look at all the trees type tee shots. If you just want to bomb it and don't like hiking, this is not the course for you.
#17 is the signature hole: a looong downhill tee shot with mando tree on the right-hand side, then a looong right turn towards a pin that exists somewhere through the trees for a Par 5...
Did I mention finally getting a tough 18 in Central PA?
Cons: No signage with pin location.
New tees are a little narrow - I think they play into the overall feel of the course, however, narrow tees for narrow, tree-lined fairways.
I love this course so I have no other complaints.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to whomever put all the work into clearing the new layout - clearly a LOT was done as far as tree felling and general clearing out the new paths.
I've gone back and played this course 5 or 6 times, and it's a winner. Classic PA woods course, challenging but fun.
Bring water and/or food if you're planning on playing it twice, or even once.
Get out and play and help beat in the paths!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/30/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: AnthonyR42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is very well marked with good signs directing you to the next hole. Rubber mats on tee boxes are in excellent shape and very noticeable when walking along paths trying to find next hole. 3 wide open fields on different holes to let you really rip a long drive. Walking path from each hole also well marked.
Cons: Very very wooded. The description says wooded and they are not kidding. The majority of the course feels like you are back deep in the woods very heavily tree and brush populated with the chains set up in various spots. The back nine must still be under construction as the downed trees line fairways. The signs on the tee boxes don't give you a hole description as to where the hole is and what it looks like. This is the first course I've ever played that hasn't had this feature.
Other Thoughts: Maybe my dislike of this course comes from not liking very heavily wooded areas and holes on courses but the amount of wooded area here seemed too much. It was a very difficult play. A few other courses I've played have had wooded areas here and there and weren't all out in the open let it rip capable holes but this one rubbed me the wrong way. Too crowded with trees, grass was high (where there was grass) no hole description other than distance and pay on tees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Prince now with 18 holes!

5+    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: JerBenefie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing a full 18 hole round will leave you feeling exerted. Par for this course is now 63, and the new lanes make you work to stay even. Excellent new signage and all of the new pads are very well built, slip-proof, and can't collect water. Nice mix of LHBH and RHBH-friendly lanes. This course gives you the opportunity to show off your huge bombs, either across the wide-open 600'+ fields, or down the 400'+ forest alleys. Plenty of solitude from Hole 5 to 17, but excellent water and bathroom facilities are never very far away.
Cons: As mentioned before, First four holes seem like your standard city park course holes. The new lanes need the pounding feet of discers more than anything to help establish a path or two towards the baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you have thrown this course before as a 9-hole, you will not be disappointed by the additional 9. A kid (and a phenomenal discer) made this his Eagle Scout project and the hard work shows. There were a lot of trees felled and a lot of materials used in making the pads.

Hole 17 is a doozy of a par 5 (668'); you need a very decent downhill drive with a sharp right turn. After which, the lane horseshoes back uphill and requires a VERY decent upshot for a chance at an eagle. After tossing 17, I'm always grateful for the Plain-Jane shot required on Hole 18 (old Hole 9).

If you're used to playing multiple rounds back-to-back, be ready to feel wiped. Bring a lunch and maybe plan to take little siesta before round #2 at this monster course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course near Altoona (So Far)

1    5/26/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: This course is very very nice! The holes are long and challenging. Hole 6 is over 700 ft long and wide open!! I needed two monster drives just to get an approach to the hole. That was pretty awesome. I played in mid-spring so the trees were pretty full and the grass very green. The grassy fairways were well maintained for the most part. Some areas needed a mow, but it wasn't hindering play at all. There are plenty of opportunities for awesome (and lucky) throws thru the trees and out in the open fields. The fairways in the woods are usually straight and narrow so it can be difficult to throw far on those holes without getting off course. The walks between each hole can be long, but the course is excellently marked and I had no problem finding the basket and next tee for every hole. This is my favorite course so far in the Altoona area! Also, found no poison ivy off the fairways and that's always a plus!
Cons: As with most courses, the first tee can be tricky to find as it is near the corner of a HUGE parking lot. If you follow the Local Directions, you should find it without too much difficulty. The course isn't super challenging to start, but for me that didn't take away from the fun. Some of the tees need a little maintenance. The biggest con is this is only 9 holes. If it had a back 9 as great as the 9 that are there now, it would rank nearly 5 stars in my opinion. Even a second tee location would be great. Can't wait to go back and play again!
Other Thoughts: Prince Gallitzin State Park is very nice. The park itself is large and provides a ton of entertainment from swimming to fishing to camping to cooking out to sun bathing on the lake beach and much more. Come for the day and bring the family for more than just disc golf. Bathrooms are on site and there are plenty of other things to do. It's a PA state park so it's completely free to enter and do stuff.

 Lakeside Course

2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 88  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had some big long open holes to let it rip. The course also balances that with a majority of wooded holes that have tight areas to drive through. Baskets are top notch. There are a ton of little signs pointing you in the correct direction to the next hole. helps navigation a ton.
Cons: Tee pads were a little short in my opinion. Some holes seemed a bit overgrown and impossible to find a throwing lane. Really hard to find the course
Other Thoughts: Great view of the lake from some holes. Lots of other stuff to do at this park. bathrooms on site. some of the signs were falling out of the ground.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another Central PA Course by the Water

1    5/28/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dm734593
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course that also comes out of the woods for some long holes that can really test your distance game. One hole is 700'+! Some holes weave through trees so it makes it hard to keep it on the fairway to add some difficulty to the 9 hole course.
Cons: Kind of hard to find the first tee without knowing where the sign is. (Right side of parking lot when going in). Also, first few holes aren't very hard for the average disc golfer. Some holes are overgrown and not maintained too well.
Other Thoughts: A lot of amenities are around this disc golf course with it being in a state park. When I went, I took my fishing rod and did some fishing as well and made it a day out of it. Overall, 3.5 rating factoring in the course difficulty and the maintaining of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Follow Me

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 529  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long-n-wide flat rubber teepads. Very well marked with obvious paths and plenty of "next tee" signs - an extremely simple course to navigate. Bathroom, concessions, water (as in to jump in on a hot summer's day) available.
Cons:
Single tee/single basket. Quite flat. Small chance to interfere with other park users.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise direction in the gently wooded and open space of yet another high-quality, free-to-enter Pennsylvania park. #4 and #6 provide you the chance to really crank loose across open fields, while the remaining holes make you throw straight, left-, or right-turning through tree-lined paths of various tightness (nothing extreme). #5 is probably the most challenging hole - a long, sharp-right-turner, with a little left-hook at the end to find the basket. Most holes in the 300' range, with 5 & 6 considerably longer.

The entrance to the park is also marked as "Buck Road". Depending upon where you park, may also start at tee #4 or tee #6. Course flows in a clockwise direction.

Fun play with non-DG options for other family members. Probably most appropriate for Intermediate/Advanced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.