Cedar Park, TX 
Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Monster Nine Holer, If There Is Such A Thing

2-4    4/8/2018   6/20/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.638 Rating) A very challenging heavily wooded Houck designed course. This is not a beginners course.
- UNIQUENESS - Whoa. I've played 80 nine holes courses as of this review and I would put Brushy Creek Sports Complex course at my #1 for the most hole type variety among 9ers. Multiple par 4s and a par 5. Doglegs in both directions. Pockets, tunnels, tree gaps and windows need to be hit. Shallow creeks, gouging creeks and some rock faces. Elevation is less than 20 feet on every hole but it makes an impact on just about every play. Typically when I think of sports complex courses this is not what I imagine.
- CHALLENGING - I first played here as a beginner in 2014 and never played here again in the remaining 2 years I living in Austin. I decided to give it a shot again on a revisit to the area in April 2018. The course very much beat me up in 2014 and although I improved a lot since then, I still couldn't crack par as an intermediate level player. Houck courses are extremely demanding. Missing a shot along his intended designed line can be quite punishing. Hole (1) is the perfect example where the basket is located on a peninsula with 10 foot down slopes on three sides. Being aggressive around this basket can result in 3 putts or more. Hole (3) is an insane tree gap play threw a cedar tree 75 feet down fairway. Hole (9) is probably the most difficult sub 550 foot par 4 I've ever played. 64 recorded rounds on DGCR as of this review and the hole score average is sitting at 5.45 throws.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course feel starts off fairly average with somewhat of a park style tee shot. Luckily for me the line featured the recent bloom of bluebonnets which happens every April. Then the course dives into a fully wooded and completely secluded back drop. Several shots I would define as "WTF... well at least it's beautiful" As mentioned above, this was my second appearance here, yet I still snapped a few tee photos which something that almost never happens to me on 9 hole courses.
- SHOT SHAPING - Skilled players that are magicians in the woods will love this place.
- CHAINS - DISCatchers, the perfect basket for a heavily wooded challenging course.
- DESIGN - Classic Houck design where shot placement and accuracy is key to score low. I constantly changed my disc selection at the tee. I properly executed his designed line only once, but when I did on (6), it was exhilarating.

Cons: Yes, Brushy Creek delivers challenge and beauty, but I need more than that to love a course.
- FORGIVENESS - Like most wooded courses, Brushy Creek will generally not be to kind to misguided shots. I think I hit a tree on every hole. Being a accurate mid range thrower, to scramble for par, will be key to shoot low.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and probably also novice level players. I'd be willing to bet that many local players play this course once and then stick with the other brushy creek, aka Cat hollow.
- POISON IVY - Poison had exploded in several locations on my April 2018 visit.
- TEES - Mulch tees or dirt with no defined line.
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor tees, the amenities and comfort items are pretty bleak for the Austin area. Its basically baskets and poor tees and poor signage.
- MAINTENANCE - So so. I could tell that people are not coming here routinely. When you have to clear vegetative growth well into the tee area you know that something is up. A few of the fairways had some higher grass. Overgrowth on the fringes was encroaching on a few lines.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles stay clear of this course. Lots of roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Probably also not the best course for the disc golf bag stroller but doable with the hardier models.
- TIME PLAY - I don't think I've ever played a 9 hole course that has taken as long as this one. Almost an hour for me solo. Only 2900 feet, but players will be making 50 foot tee shots into early trees and doing a fair amount of searching for discs. So don't expect some quickie round like every other 9 hole course.

Other Thoughts: I have a serious love hate relationship with course. Yes its beautiful, challenging and loaded with variety. However, with the one set of tees throwing up advanced level lines, only the better players may have fun out here. It's kind of where the course fails. Most better players I know don't play challenging 9 hole courses with bad tees. The other Brushy Creek DGC down the road, aka Cat Hollow, draws 50 times more players than this layout. that course has concrete tees with multiple ace runs and is also a well designed Houck course. Sometimes fun and amenities trumps beauty, challenge and variety.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate. There's a course map posting near (1) showing the "you are here" and its fairly detailed and scaled correctly. The tee signage is pretty dreadful. They are just simple red signs showing a line, hole # and par info. The pathways between holes were typically mulched on my appearance and yet that still didn't stop me from picking the wrong path once and I had to pull up my photo of the map to get back on track. A few baskets had a tapped spoke.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not your typical 9 holes

1    8/23/2015   12/3/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 322  Reviewed: 258  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging holes with a variety of distances and required shots
-typical Houck design: tight fairways, par 4 & 5 holes, interesting lines, good course management required to score well
-lots of minor elevation changes with a creek/creek bed running through most of the course
-once you get to hole 1 the navigation is pretty easy except the walk from basket 5 to tee 6
Cons: -the natural pads are well worn
-playing after a rain must be challenging and dangerous
-the creek was dry when i played but it would totally change the experience of the course if it was full of water (not really a con, just a warning)
Other Thoughts: I wish this was my local course! It has almost everything you want in just 9 holes. It provides a real challenge and requires all kinds of shots and a solid mental game. I am a fan of Houck designs and this one is typical and the course is well executed with the exception of the natural pads. Definitely not a beginner course or for those who aren't into the Houck style but as denny ritner said below, playing here often will make you a better player.

There are lots of really tight fairways and the creek bed winding through most holes adds frequent, minor elevation changes. While the premium is on accuracy, distance is a big factor with three par 4's and one par 5. The basket placements are diabolical, with drop offs very close on more holes than not. The rough can be really rough in some places, especially the right side of hole 5.

This is one of my all time favorite 9 hole courses and with concrete pads it would probably get a 4.0 from me. That said, it's been awhile since I played here and while I don't recall having any navigation problems aside from hole 6, I can't remember the exact condition of the tees. I can't wait to get back out here (and hopefully get some revenge on hole 5).


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty

5+    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Majarashi
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Traffic is mostly light on this course. Underbrush is thin enough most poorly thrown discs are easy to find. The length of this course make it easy to get in a quick 9 after work.
I agree with a previous review about playing when this course has water running though it. Small waterfall on hole 2 makes for a sweet approach shot.
Cons: Some park users don't seem to understand that the disc golf course is a course and not their personal playground/picnic/picture taking spot. I've not ever found this to be an issue at other courses.
Typical Houck Design. Tiny slits through groupings of trees. Is there a fairway anywhere? I kid, but only slightly.
Natural tee pads. They are getting pretty worn. It can be an issue after a fresh rain.

Other Thoughts: I hear they may add an additional 9 holes. I hope that's true.
Once you find hole 1 this course isn't that hard to follow. Hole 1 tees from behind the skatepark. Just walk down the trail going left from the basket at hole 5 to get to 6

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course, but well designed

5+    2/15/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course and a nice park setting. Definitely not a pitch and putt course as many public park courses tend to be. Absolutely no crowds. Every hole is interesting and challenging and this course will force you to use a lot of different kinds of shots.
Cons: Beginners beware, this is not an easy course! Navigation is a little challenging, and the teepads are all natural, so that's a bummer. I have also seen a couple of big rat snakes near the water, so watch your feet. Also watch out for prickly pear cactus, especially on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good, beautifully scenic course. (by central Texas standards)

Intermediate and Advanced players will enjoy the challenge of the finesse game. It's the opposite of Old Settler's Park, which is a windy, big guns course. If you can conquer both OSP and Brushy Creek Sports Park, you're ready for big time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good intermediate

1    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: naz54
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful little coarse. good intermediate coarse. lots of trees and wooded and following the creek beds a lot. it forces you to be more accurate.
Cons: can be muddy and slippery after it rains
Other Thoughts: hole one starts on the right of or the north side of the skate park. behind it about a 100 feet. the tees have standing wooden markers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: string74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Trees force you to play with accuracy. All holes marked well and worn paths were easy to follow.
Cons: A bit muddy when I played, but deep water is not an issue. Parking lot is crowded with cars for soccer practice.
Other Thoughts: Nice to finally play this one. Its the closest course to my house.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 182  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really challenging 9 holer. I thought it was a lot of fun but didn't get frustrating. I really liked the shot on hole 2; however, a huge tree has recently fall by the basket taking away a good line from the right hand side. Hole 9 was an awesome long hole that has the basket placed feet away from the water. The teesigns were nice but navigation can still be a bit tricky. I really liked the difficult of the course because water comes into play on quite a few holes including holes 2,6( may just be from a recent rain), 7,8,9. Even though, 8 and 9 play over a small creek it still comes into play and you have to cross it.
Cons: Hole 1 starts behind the skate park. Going from hole 2- 3 the rocks are a little challenging to cross with ease. Also, hole 6 was in a unique location down the path but there wasn't a tee sign that I saw. A local told me where it where. This course could become frustrating if you aren't having a good day. I didn't find it frustrating because I was playing pretty well.
Other Thoughts: This was the toughest 9 holer that I have ever played, but it was still a lot of fun. I imagine during the summer this would be a nice course to play because of the shade from all of the trees, but in contrast, The course hold water from the rain pretty good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pro's Perspective

5+    12/3/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: jonnypATX
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic terrain for a course. A creek runs throughout and is a typical Houck design. You may find yourself taking a midrange off the tee, then driver on your approach. A good combination of peaceful property and a technical layout.
Cons: I always subtract a star for lack of concrete boxes. As I understand, there are future plans to put another 9 towards the entrance of the park but until then, a nine hole course with only one set of boxes (with the exception of #1) means another star is removed. Not a course for Ams - it will fustrate you beyond belief.
Other Thoughts: Tons of potential but if you're in the area, Wilco and Cat Hollow are better choices at this point in time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hello Cleveland! Don't play without a guide

1    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 169  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has potential to be one of the best in the area. There are several beautifully framed shots and the challenge is complete.

Strategy, accuracy, and shot shaping are very important. Playing this course on a regular basis will make you a better player.

The holes have a nice, secluded feeling and the course provides a nice walk through the woods.

Some highlights include:

Hole 1 is a nice start as a short par 4. A well-thrown drive sets up a touch putter shot to the basket perched on a peninsula with drop-off's on three sides. The hole feels like a "should get" 3, but 5 is still possible.

Hole 2 is a nice, short par 3 with three distinct, tight routes. Pick your poison.

Hole 3 is a tough par 3 / short par 4. The tee shot is very tight and the left side of the fairway is jail. A very well thrown drive can leave a 50 footer for deuce, but the basket has a drop-off behind it.

Hole 5 is a fantastic, short par 5. At 720, you would think that it's 3-able on paper, but it's really three short, controlled shots to play for a well-earned birdie 4. There's nothing excessively difficult about this hole as long as your strategy is sound, but blindly chucking fast drivers here can result in a VERY big number.

Hole 7 is a short, uphill par 3 that is gloriously framed.

Hole 9 is a diabolical par 4 finishing hole. It might not sound like much at 528 ft. on paper, but this hole will absolutely eat your lunch, if you let it. A three is certainly possible, but four is a VERY good score here. Even getting a five isn't that bad, just avoid getting a six or worse.

Cons: OK, there is A LOT that I like about this course. Why did I only give it a 2.0?

First, absolutely make sure that you print a map if you're playing the course for the first time. Preferably, get a guide for your first round here. Navigation is frustrating without a map.

The course only vaguely resembles the pictures on this site. All the mulch has been washed away. Only three tee signs remain (although some holes have the smashed up bits of the old ones laying around).

The tees are just spots on the dirt, marked by rocks, some of which are tough to find.

The longer holes are tough to play without a map on a tee sign and require walking up a long way to figure out.

Hole 4's tee is very tight on hole 3.

Holes 5 and 9 crowd each other.

Hole 9 ends pretty far from the parking area and hole 1's tee.

There are no trash cans or benches on the course.

The course will be very difficult to play (possibly unplayable) following heavy rains. There will be many points that are difficult/dangerous to traverse and lost discs will be common.

Other Thoughts: NOTE: Again, print the map before playing and note that the first hole starts behind the skatepark.

I would absolutely love to see this course upgraded as it has a very unique character and provides a solid challenge. I could see it getting all the way up to a 4.0, given sufficient TLC. (I do deduct .5 for 9 hole courses.)

Happy discin'! Please help to keep the course clean!

To learn about my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Technical players dream 9

5+    6/1/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Rivery Park in Georgetown, this is perhaps the best technical course in the Austin area. Or I should say it's the MOST technical one.

Lots and lots of really good players get quite frustrated out here and hate playing it.

This is actually my favorite place to play in Austin even though there are higher rated courses all over the place. If you play here when the creeks are full, then you are in for a special treat.

. . . . . . . . .

#1 is Par 4 that starts behind the skatepark with a new extended tee back behind a huge dirt pile. Drive into the open, throw a thumber or glidey approach shot up the gut to get close, and if you are lucky you will have a shot at the birdie. The basket is on a sort of raised "peninsula" with long steep dropoffs on all sides. Major risk-reward putt/approach.

#2 is a short-range hole with a ton of trees and a creek bottom between the tee and basket that offers a hyzer line on the RH side, a much tighter anny line on the left, and a super duper tight shot right up the middle. If you make it up the middle route, then you are almost automatically on an ace run.

#3 is a true Par 4 that basically plays in a semi-circle around some thick forest. The ideal strategy is to punch something overstable but not too fast (Spider/Gator) thru the first gap and have it hug the LH treeline, then skip left at the end. From this lie, the 2nd shot will usually have a myriad of possible lines and it seems like none of them are ever easy as the basket is surrounded by trees. If you get a 3 for Birdie then you played it perfectly (only once for me), but I would still be *very* happy with a 4 for Par. I've taken many, many 6's on this one! The drive is CRUCIAL, you must hit the window. This is usually where players begin to find their frustration.

#4 is a short lefty hole, but righties can throw a midrange turnover shot (Cobra, Buzzz) or try a slightly tougher flick. Again, it's got good risk-reward on the putt as the basket sits atop a small dropoff towards the creek. It's a tough birdie, but usually an easy par even if you miss your drive.

#5 is a true Par 5, which is quite rare especially for a 9-hole course. Do not try and crush a drive off the tee! The smartest or most experienced players out here will throw a deceptively short flick or turnover shot with a mid/putter right past the big tree in the middle of the fairway to setup for a long straight second drive (the *much* more important shot). If you end up too far left off the tee, you will be down in a recessed basin area with a very tough uphill second shot, so you do not want to be anywhere LEFT off the tee. Too far right though and you are in thick nasty rough. If you play it correctly and get your 2nd shot down the fairway past the small watery gorge, then you will get to choose your fate with a third drive along the RHS, or a flick/turnover along the LHS opening. With perfect execution, your 3rd shot should end up in the wide open area where the basket resides, where there happens to be a lot more wind than anywhere else on the course to mess with your putt. If you hit a 4 for birdie, you are the freakin' MAN! Getting a 5 for Par is most excellent as well, as most players definitely take a 6+ on this one.

#6 is a medium range hyzer skip shot (Firebird/PD/Whippet/Monster) with yet another tight window to hit off the tee. If you can skip it off the bike trail then you have a good chance to get it to the basket, which also has small creek around it. There is another tougher line to the left of the first major tree obstacle that I see people flick, but it's a pretty ballsy shot as you are throwing directly over the creek for a stretch and there is tall rough to get past after that. You should birdie this one as well if you are gonna break Even in your overall score.

#7 is a medium-range straight shot across a big recessed area. The tee and basket are roughly the same elevation but the little ravine section drops about 15-20 feet. Try a fairway driver (OLF, Teebird, River, Banshee) or you can put some mustard on a Buzzz. The low canopy hurts your chances on this one, in addition to a large tree at the end of the ravine area. Watch out for people practicing putts here, as it's right next to the parking lot.

#8 is yet another super tight tunnel shot along the RHS, or there is a secret window to the left, you have to be either damn good or lucky either route you choose. The basket sits on a steep incline so rolloffs are a big factor. It's a fairly easy Par and a tough birdie for anybody.

#9 is a very difficult and beautiful final hole, not sure if it's Par 4 or Par 5. I think you could call it either way. It is imperative that you get the drive past the first small window and into the opening on the LEFT if you want to have a decent lie for your 2nd shot. From there, it's tempting to throw from the cliff directly over the creek and try to get it all the way to the basket. This is probably the riskiest shot on the course (very low %), but also with the highest payoff. If you miss then your disc may go in the murky mosquito water. So most players will throw along the RHS of the creek where there is a more distinct and safer path to the basket. For your 3rd shot, you can try a safe thumber if available, or play the natural fairway with an approach disc. Finishing the hole in 4 feels like a true Birdie to me personally.
Cons: Teepads are natural and usually not very level due to erosion.

Signs are basically worthless other than telling you the Hole # and Par (no map). Navigation is tough for first-timers.

Due to it's supreme technical nature, this is probably the most frustrating course for the majority of players in this region, with a true Par 32/33 on nine holes (64/66 for 18), which for myself makes the fun factor 5-stars!

Do not go out here expecting to break even or you will be sorely disappointed. You gotta go into it with a mindset that you wanna make a great throw here and there, and be happy with great recovery shots out of trouble. Anticipate having some problem holes and you'll be fine.

If you start hitting trees off every tee you need to consider throwing midranges instead of drivers to get your form and release point working again. Every tee shot out here is about precisely executing your release point, that is all.
Other Thoughts: I throw about 350-380' max and prefer technical wooded courses that even the playing field for me against the big bombers. This course is perfect in that regard.

It is VERY difficult to break Par on 9 holes, and even tougher when playing 18 holes. Usually the first time thru I blow it up around (+5 to +7), then 2nd round I try to get revenge at around (Even to +2). I think I have only broken Par on 9 only a single time, and have never come close playing as 18.

With the tight tunnel shots and the creek in play, Brushy Nine has the highest risk/reward factor off the tee of just about any course you will ever play. If you don't hit your line you WILL be punished with strokes. A little luck never hurts out here.

If you are a beginner, you should really consider playing nearby at Brushy Creek MUD (Cat Hollow) instead. This is an advanced level course that can be highly frustrating to those who don't like uber-technical golf.

Which means this is a badass dubs course!

Feel free to shoot me a PM if you are visiting and need a course guide.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.