Whitehall, PA 
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / --   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Tight fairway with basket on top of a hill and trees on its left.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Conditions hold it back.

5+    5/16/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Rouge135
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The course layout is phenomenal, it is really fun to play, along with challenging,
has some OB so it isn't really overused, and a good cut between the lines of trees and bushes to the grass and playing area. M<ost holes are pretty well cut out and easy to see where the net is.
Cons: The course is great but will go awhile with-out the grass being cut, if you throw it into the thick grass it is really hard to find your disc. There is also a-ton of water, number 7 has a huge lake with trees overhinging on the right side, so if you hit the trees it will fall into the middle of the creek. number 10 is borderline impossible, an easy 6-7.
Some of the holes can be hard to see and get to like, 5, 10, 11.
And 14,15,16 are kinda messed up, so look out the the arrows on the benches.
Other Thoughts: But over most the cons are avoidable by asking locals, playing well, and having fun. so the pros totally beat out the cons.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in Allentown/Bethlehem

1    3/18/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.7 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Jordan Creek is beautiful! Located on a beautiful property it is almost entirely devoted to Disc Golf. The variety of shots required on this course is great, and the variety of the terrain is awesome. There are so many holes that will stand out after playing this course. The Jordan Creek meanders through the park along several of the holes offering a lot of fun shots utilizing the creek. The later holes utilize elevation and woods for some very memorable shots. The few holes that especially stand out in my mind are hole 7, a memorable shot over a manmade lake to a wooded pin location. Hole 9 was a neat hole with a long right bending fairway to a wooded pin placement next to the creek. Hole 10 is an incredible hole. There is an open fairway that suddenly goes almost straight up a rocky hill to a pin placement with no green just steep rock. The hill looks steep from the ground, but you don't realize it until you are at the basket looking back towards the tee. Wow! Most of the back nine plays on the mountain with slight elevation changes, open fairways and some wooded holes. Hole 18 was my favorite hole. You tee off the mountain and throw downhill across a branch of the creek to a strip of dry ground, then across another branch of the creek to the pin placement. Just a truly memorable hole.
This course has newly installed concrete tee pads which are really nice. The tees are marked by posts, most of which have the hole number on them. The course flows pretty well and is not hard to follow at all (especially with a map). There also small amenities at this course that do so much to add to it. There are benches/picnic tables at all the holes along with other small amenities.
Jordan Creek is one of those courses that just leaves you loving it and wanting more ... the type of course you cant forget and don't want too. Its easy to see why this course was home to the 2005 World's.
Cons: The layout of holes 14-16 was a bit odd. You walk past 16 from 14 to play 15; then you backtrack towards 14 to play 16 after which you walk back across 15 to get to 17. It wasn't terrible just a bit odd.
If you are playing this course for the first time print a map so you don't have to throw the longer holes blind, especially in the summer when the trees have leaves. I just like to know where I am throwing and the tee signs didn't have any indication of where to throw - on most holes you could see the pin, but that was because the trees were bare.
Neither of these cons affected my time at the course, but they were the only things that I think could be improved.
Other Thoughts: This course really is awesome. I would rate this course as one of the best in eastern PA, if not the best. The variety, challenge and beauty of this course really make it stand out. The recent improvements by the local DG association continue to improve this course and make it more amazing.
Jordan Creek is also in close proximity to the other Bethlehem/Allentown courses so worth playing. A day trip to play the big courses in the area (Jordan Creek, Little Lehigh, and South Mountain) is an excellent opportunity to get a flavor of all that disc golf has to offer. This is one course I can't wait to get back and play again.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Rules!

5+    11/16/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 15 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety. Course has open, wooded, elevation, flat, up, down, pond hole,river holes, primarily disc golf territory, Fun for beginners and experts. This course was the favorite of many pros during the World's Championships 2005. You can play where Climo, Doss, Schultz, Moser etc. battled it out. Big New Concrete Tees in place addresses prior low ratings. Course has perfect fairways cut through woods and fun open shots to amazing pin positions. River comes into play on a third of the holes. The pond hole is one of the most memorable holes you will ever play. This course has a bunch of unique holes you won't get anywhere else. Low tunnel finish to river after long drive on #9, then heart attack hill #10 the pictures do not do it justice, trust me, The double river and throw off cliff of #18. The most beautiful drive down a lush green wooded fairway to the river on #13. All of these would be signature holes anywhere else. The course is challenging but not obnoxious. What elevates this course is the fun factor of practically every hole. Great community of disc golfers in area. There are always people on course. Picnic table at each hole. Bathrooms, practice basket, and plenty of parking.
Cons: A few glitches. Fairway of hole 17 is crossed by fellow golfers and bikers very often. Some holes could be lengthened or perhaps tweaked to offer a milder challenge. Specifically #11, #12, #15, #16. Mountain Bikers can come blindly out of nowhere sometimes....disc golf course was here first guys. Sometimes I miss the huge downhill open drive across the street that was the old #18.
Other Thoughts: Really cannot complain much. This is what disc golf should be. If you play here, you will remember many of these holes for the rest of your life. I have played a few top rated courses and I think this one deserves to be mentioned with them. I think the course has lost ratings due to the old tee pads which were impossible to maintain due to the course's Popularity. IT NOW HAS HUGE CONCRETE TEES. I think for this reason you can rate the course a bit higher than it appears here. There are other World's Championship Courses nearby in Little Lehigh, Nockamixon, and Tinicum.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: River shots, OB's, very wooded and beautiful.
This course is amazing. I can see why it was used for the 2005 World Championships.
I loved playing this course.
Cons: Poor Signage.
Other Thoughts: Broke my middle finger when I slipped on a rock trying to retrieve a disc. Even still, I loved this course and can't wait to play it again.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag but a real challenge

2-4    6/28/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 51  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few unique holes to really challenge you: Heart attack hill, the gorgeous double-creek finishing hole, the pond. Immaculately groomed fairways with unforgiving rough...this is how it should be! Mix of open and woods, with some crazy elevation changes. Gorgeous scenery. Perfect concrete teepads. Big fields nearby for practice, a putting practice basket by a hill and trees to test all your putts, and a great BBQ dive bar a few miles down the road ("Grumpys"). And for fans of par 4s, there is some decent length on a few of these holes.
Cons: Repetition: 1 and 2 are the same hole, except that 2 has trees. 11 and 12 are the same hole, with only about 40 feet different. 15 and 16 are also remarkably similar, even going up the same hill (requiring backtracking). There's plenty of space out here, couldn't they find room for variety on these? Pond hole 7 has no alternate tee or bail-out area, making the hole unplayable for beginners. No alternate tees or pin positions anywhere, for that matter, further stifling variety. Hole 10 really needs stairs or something to help us walk up the hill. Next Tee directions would be very helpful.
Other Thoughts: Despite the objections above, the pros far outweigh the cons, and I find myself looking forward to coming back here soon. Bring plenty of bug spray in the summer... the gnats are horrible! And as always bring plenty of water. You'll be very far from your car on holes 9-16 and very tired, with no drinking water around. **Upgraded to 4 stars after playing it again. This course is exactly my speed right about now.**

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazed this Course is in Allentown

6/27/2008   6/27/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Despite being in allentown this course is fantastic. I would have never expected to find a course along a creek, in a seemingly compleltly wooded area (even tho your right in the middle of allentown). Cement tee's are a great addition to this course. The course provides a great variety between openness, woods, and water. (watch out for the pond)
Cons: Some days mountian bikers come out of no where.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous

2-4    5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a lot of variety. For the first few holes, I was enjoying myself but wondering if there would be anything different... Well, there was. There are shorter holes and longer holes. I thoroughly enjoyed myself on this course.

The scenery is beautiful. It seems like this park was made specifically for disc golfers.

There are fairways - much like what you would see on a ball golf course - grassy lanes with trees on both sides. There are a few wide open drives, but many holes require a drive that avoids certain trees.

One final thing: some of the holes actually took some planning of shots. It wasn't drive, lay up, putt like so many courses are. Some holes, especially #18 made me PLAN ahead a shot (do I safely lay up or do I go for it!?).
Cons: Some of the holes I felt were too similar. For example, #11 and #12 are basically the same hole. You throw on the same service road to a basket about 15 feet left of the road. Why not have #12's basket on the RIGHT for less monotony? I think if the holes were not right next to each other I wouldn't have noticed it as much, but I did think, "Didn't I just do this?"

Hole 14 felt like I was throwing at a bunch of trees with no real lane to aim for.

To get from the 11 basket to 12 tee you have to cross in front of #17's tee pad.

Hard to find the next tee pad in some cases (most of the time it is pretty easy). I only saw one "Next Tee" sign. Print out the map. Super helpful.
Other Thoughts: The concrete tee pads are all in. It seems there are some shorter tee pads, too, though they are not concrete.

Friendly locals. Lots of people out because of the Memorial Day holiday. Special thanks to the guy in the hat with the glasses for donating his map to my cause!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

9/20/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 364  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful lush fairways and trash barrels at every tee. Sometimes you walk across dirt hike/bike trails which look like normal DG fairways to access the next hole which is alive with green (this was Sept). Very nice pond thorw which is always a plus in my book. 10 is the only killer hole up a dirt access road. Reminded me of something from Devens, Ma. After that there are a string of more traditional wooded holes with 2 more I would describe as lush (13/14). 18 is a 30' drop monster across one arm of the river with a right turn to face an island green across another arm of the river.
Cons: Tees looked like flypads with carpet on top...and it was torn. Pretty dangerous. I hope that gets fixed. No signs at tees though even if we didn't have a map we would have been ok to find every hole. #14's basket was uprooted an fallen when we played.
Other Thoughts: The very first hole lays the tempo. This course is all about control. Not extremely technical or long but you have to control your throws or you will end up in thick rough (but not as thorny as Lehigh's rough). Great balance of right/left bending fairways.

I nearly proposed to the front 9 of this course. I can't wait to play here again.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course.

7/25/2007   7/25/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Variety is the key here. you'll need all the shots to get a low score on this one. The water hazzards are awesome. (probably wouldn't like them as much if I had lost plastic!)
Cons: The tee pads still need new carpet on many of them. one of my buddies caught his foot on one during a drive and fell down. The front 8 or 10 holes have signs showing the directions to the next tee. the rest in the back don't and we skipped right over 15. also there's no tee signs on any holes to show pin placement. I guess once you've muddled thru the first time you'd know. several holes have hidden pin location that cannot be seen from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun and challenging, I will definately try to make it back again in the future!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun stop

5/27/2007   6/19/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 339  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 15 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good hole variety, unique in the sense that some holes have you throwing through fairly open alleys in the woods. Great variety in terrain and also well maintained.
Cons: Lack of signage made for a bit of confusion finding some holes. Tee pads were hurting as well.
Other Thoughts: Jordan will have you throwing over water, hiking hills and playing some really interesting holes. There's really something for everyone here and it's a guaranteed good time.

If you're a first timer here (as I was) I'd recommend a spotter for some holes if you really want to "go for it" as a bad shot will end up in the woods a lot of the time.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.