Brownsville, KY 
Holler In The Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 175ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Forgotten Legend

5+    4/14/2023   5/10/2023
Review By: rodneytravis33
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.9 Years
24 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Spectacular views, especially from the top holes on the backside of the course with multiple cliff and rock facings, boulders, distant views of the river and surrounding holler.

2. Great use of the property for creating fun and challenging holes. Evidence that this course used to top notch at one point.

3. The course is lightly wooded and mostly flat on the front 9, giving way to more densely wooded and severe elevation changes on the back 9 with only 1 hole I remember being over 400 ft.

4. Several very memorable holes, so many in-fact, it's hard to remember which hole number they were despite playing the course multiple times over the years. From baskets atop gigantic boulders, to throwing off elevated platform tees, to a basket tucked back in a sort of cave opening, there is guaranteed to be a memorable hole for those come here.

5. While the distances are not super demanding, there are several holes that require precision lines and power control that punishes poorly thrown shots. This creates excellent score separation.

6. There is plenty of evidence that a ton of work and thought went into this course at some point, from all the woodwork creating stairs, bridges, platforms, etc. I'm guessing this course was a bucket list location once upon a time.

7. There is a river to the right of holes #1, #2, and #3 and a small pond that is thrown over on hole #5. The river flows and meanders alongside you and is a welcome calming view as you begin your adventure.

8. There are a few ace runs on this course, however missing them can result in huge roll aways and even lost discs. It is a risk/reward with a large downside. Again, great for tournament play.

9. The front 9 is pretty soft skill wise compared to a brutal back 9. The first 8 holes can be played by most any skill level with the water hazards being the only real danger. I recommend only the hardcore head up the hill on hole 9.

10. I'm told the local area disc golf club is putting together volunteers and raising funds to bring this course back to its former glory and I'm excited to see the outcome.
Cons: 1. Currently initial impressions from the parking lot are that the course appears abandoned. Wooden stairs and walkways are broken/rotting. Tee signs are sometimes missing or lay on the ground nearby. The course is not mowed and mid shin deep. There is piles of trash, old burn piles, a collapsing building, empty beer cans and the feeling time has forgotten this course.

2. It has a similar feel to playing an abandoned camp ground. There are no facilities available, no drinking water, bathrooms and definitely feels deserted. Cell service is also spotty at best and may be hard to navigate if you are using U-Disc and unfamiliar with the layout.

3. Major potential for lost discs. Between the river, pond, high grass, and deep thick rough for the last 10 holes you will spend a large majority of your round searching for discs. There are multiple elevated and blind shots that also make this worse.

4. The first 8 holes fool you with their very slight elevation changes, the last 10 are extremely steep up and down. As this course is not routinely maintained there are tons of loose rocks, washouts and hazards. It is very physically demanding and two members of our group called it quits early as a result.

5. I first played this course roughly 4 years ago when the Prodigy baskets were first installed. The course was rough then, but in much better shape then than it is now. The levy around the pond on #5 is completely washed out and there's a pile of degrading pallets stacked up in the wash out so that you can even get around the pond to the green on #5.

6. It is disheartening to see the state of disrepair this course is currently in after reading/hearing so much about this course. I can definitely see what the course was at one point, but that seems likes ages ago compared to what currently exists there. I really am hopeful that the local club saves this course and returns it to near its former glory.
Other Thoughts: For its current condition I will give this course a 2.0 as I cannot in good faith recommend anyone go out of there way to play this course, while still giving Holler the respect for its potential rebirth in the future. I will gladly update my review if the course improves in the future. Holler sits pretty close to some pretty solid Bowling Green courses in one direction and Owensboro courses in the other. I would recommend passing this one over for some of the other choices when visiting the area, at least in its current form.

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Too much squalor at the Holler

1    4/14/2023   4/19/2023
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 510  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 14.9 Years
29 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The modern-day version of Holler in the Hills hints at previous disc golf greatness worthy of bucket lists and destination trips. But while the past plethora of 5.0 reviews tell the story of an incredible layout from years long ago, the current condition of this Brownsville course may prompt visitors to holler and hope that this former masterpiece returns to its glory days.

For the record, a ďhollerĒ is a small, sheltered valley that usually includes a body of water. At Holler in the Hills, Holes #2 and #3 border the Beaverdam Creek, while Hole #5 incorporates throwing over a small pond. After that, the holes depart from the waterís edge and are hillier in nature.

And if elevation is your cup of tea, the second half of the course is for you. The elevation kicks off by climbing a steep hill on Hole #9 and thereís not much flat ground after that. There are several difficult uphill holes followed by the exuberance of throwing downhill lines.

The variety is excellent here. Thereís a good mix of open holes and tightly wooded holes. The only hole over 400 feet is a par 4 and its lightly wooded. Several of the longest holes are downhill. Accuracy is definitely valued here over distance. The fairways are cleared and fair on nearly every hole.

The sights are fantastic, and none are better than the view from the Hole #14 teepad, where you can see the hilltops all around. Hole #15 is probably the signature hole with the basket located at the shadowed base of several rock outcrops.

The concrete teepads are in good shape, though several of them are rutted. The teepads are long enough and I had no issues with the footing.

Judging by the older DGCR photos, several of the holes appear to have fewer trees now compared to the original version of the course.
Cons: The course is playable but is an eyesore in spots as garbage is strewn about and signs of abandonment are everywhere. The stairs in between holes are broken, empty beverage cans and bottles are easily spotted, and the previously-used tee signs are discarded in the mud. Paper plates float on the surface of the murky pond. The course feels like a trashy, neglected ghost town.

The traversability is tough on a few holes. Several of the front nine holes are in a field with unmowed grass. A few of the back nine holes include climbing steep inclines, and Holes #16 to #18 are especially demanding for navigating some precipitous hills. There are a couple holes where retrieving an errant throw will be challenging due to tenuous footing on the slopes. The teepad for Hole #14 is on a raised platform several feet off the ground that will require climbing a couple large rocks. The teepad is short with a steep drop too, which could prompt disc golfers with knee issues to skip throwing from the teepad.

For first-time visitors, a fair number of baskets arenít visible from the teepad, so my group was continually wandering down the fairway before throwing our drives.

The baskets are Prodigy T3 with just a single layer of chains.

Hole #8 includes a mando to keep drives from the parallel Hole #7 fairway, but the removal of the RHFH line makes the hole more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Follow the instructions in DGCR, not the address, to find the course. The gravel entry road is directly across from the intersection for Oak Grove Church Road. The parking lot and stairs to the first hole are on the right side. The money box is near the teepad of Hole #18 with a suggested donation of $5.

Apparently, there are or were five bonus holes (#A to #E) after Hole #15. I wasnít aware of this and didnít see any indication those holes are still in operation.

Holler in the Hills was a mainstay on the DGCR Top 25 course list for many years. It dropped off several years ago due to its UNPLAYABLE status but reclaimed a spot after its recently reemergence and playability. However, even if the trash was cleaned up and the messiness omitted, the nearly 15-year-old course has been passed by other new courses. Holler in the Hills is still an enjoyable play which merits a visit but isnít worthy of a Top 25 designation anymore.

29 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 great

5+    3/20/2023   3/23/2023
Review By: Tim Johnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: loved it all. it is for top golfers. I have to rate it a 5. It's only $5 to play. best course around
Cons: Lots of elevation.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. I play it all the time. Definitely a must play in the BG area

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Bring a bush hog

5+    9/16/2020   9/17/2020
Review By: BFish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pictures do the course justice but are 11 years old. Currently unrecognizable compared to its former glory. The potential for this course is very high.
Cons: Grass is mowed (still above the knee in some spots) on the bottom 5 holes. After hole 9, the fairway grass is over 5 feet tall and up to 8 feet tall in a few spots. No joke.
Other Thoughts: If you want a 5 star course out here bring your work gloves when you come. It can be brought back to life. I'd like to go out in this winter a few times and really shape it up for a glorious return in 2021. Chainsaws, lumber and machetes needed. This place needs a GoFundMe account ASAP.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Breath taking course.

2-4    4/25/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: parbuster54
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful golf holes. The holes up among the cliffs are breath taking. Fun throws and challenging throws. Well maintained. Good signs and tee pads. A great test of anyones game.
Cons: So hilly it is not for everybody. If you are not in fair shape you better not try it. Very little con to this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is like a drug. It physicaly punishes you to play it but you love it so much you keep coming back. Howie does a great job of keeping it in great shape. This is a must play course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Holler Batman...

2-4    1/17/2015   1/17/2015
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2015
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The course sits on private property and it was very well kept.
2)The tee pad were very grippy. We even played in a small amount of snow in the morning round.
3) The course has a very good mix of flat and VERY hilly holes.
4)The best thing that I can say about this course is that I never felt forced to play a certain shot. Sure there are some tight holes but I seemed to have options on every one.
5) Holes 14-18 were the most enjoyable closing holes that I can remember.
6) The pin placements are a big pro on this course. Some are raised, some have steep fall-offs, You almost never have a putt that you can just run. (Risk/Reward)
7) The course does an outstanding job of using the natural terrain to create a masterpiece.
The use of elevation creates some really nice holes. I have looked at the pictures on here, but trust me when I tell you that that real thing is MUCH steeper than it looks.
8) This is a pay for play course and we saw the donation box on hole 5. The standard donation I believe is $5. That is a steal.
9) Navigation on this course isn't a problem at all. The course flows very well and there are next tee signs in the locations that aren't obvious.
10) There is course information (including OB's) as you head to the 1st tee from the parking lot.
11) This course isn't an easy walk. It has lots of cross slopes and some very steep hills to walk up and down.
I will say that the owner has done very well at providing some help to get up and down. He is to be commended for this. I GREATLY appreciated it.
12) Every place has a signature hole. I choose #3, #9, #14, #15 and #17. Seriously they are that good.
13) Don't forget to play the letter holes. They are a little more gentle than the numbered holes. Lots of deuces are possible, while still be very pleasing to the eye!
Cons: I had a lack of tee signs here... New tee signs were up on my trip to this course in May 2015

Other Thoughts: I have now played 2 private courses, (Harmon Hills being the other) and they have a different vibe to them. I can't express the what a great time we had at Holler in the Hills. You will need to sign a waiver to play since it is on private property but it was not big deal. Bring something to hydrate and be prepared for some high quality disc golf. Don't expect to race around this place. It does take some time to play this place. This course goes right near the TOP of my list. Make the trip... You won't regret it.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Wow.

1    10/24/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: Topper_34_1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Holler for the first time yesterday and all I could say was, "Wow." There are many signature shots on this course but it is not for the faint of heart. When I was driving to the course I saw a sign a mile from the course that said that Mammoth Cave National Park was 5 miles away and you could really tell you were in cave country with some of the holes. I haven't seen many people comment on the "extra holes" (a-e), but I thought they were some of the most fun and challenging shots on the course. This was the first pay-to-play course I have ever been to, and I definitely feel like $5 was a reasonable donation for a course of this caliber.
Cons: This course, as other people have said is definitely in a holler as the name suggests. I tried to play the course in under an hour in a half and I regret that. There are huge elevation changes which may be hard on someone if they are out of shape (like I am.) I don't think the tee pads were as much of a con as some of the tee signs were. Since I was playing the course for the first time I was trusting the tee signs for the blind tee shots. There were a few tee signs that didn't show the exact direction and that caused a few shots that I thought were parked by the tee sign, but come to find out were 50 ft. to the right of the basket.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a must play in the BG area. It was nice to get away from the same courses I play in BG. I will definitely go back to Holler. Howie is great, and I got to talk to some of his family who were on the course working. Thanks for a great experience Howie!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Holler in the Hills

1    7/7/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Abacus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros of playing this course are too many to list but here are a few:
1) This course has some of the neatest holes I've ever played. Sick basket placements and views.
2) It only cost 5 BUCKS! I honestly felt like I had ripped them off.
3) The folks that run and apparently maintain the course are super friendly and have done some really amazing things. I mean, they've put concrete tee pads on a mountain! Cmon!
4) I'm not sure how often this happens and it could have been because we played it on a Monday, but we had the whole course to ourselves and couldn't resist taking multiple shots from some of the more amazing tee pads.
5) There are FIVE bonus holes that are probably the coolest holes on the course!
6) there are many holes that could be aced and we're talking about holes where you throw from an elevated tee pad at a basket sitting on too of a boulder type holes!
7) I could go on and on about each neat thing about playing this course but I'd rather dare you to go play it yourself. That's right, I DARE you. It's well worth it.
Cons: Not too many cons but I do have some advice: you'll need twice as much hydration as you think you'll need and you're going to have to carry it on you. You won't reach your vehicle again until you've shot the final hole. Also, be ready to climb some hills. This course plays around a lot of steep areas. Last, you may not have phone service and you need to allot a good portion of your day. The course takes time.
Other Thoughts: My final thoughts on Holler in the Hills: go play it and take a camera! It's SO worth it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  More than a Course, An Experience

1    7/7/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: HarvatronB
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1) Out of the 23 holes we played, I'd describe 12-15 of them as absolute jaw-droppers. Unbelievable pin placements on top of boulders; tee pads situated in the mouths of open caves. It's like an amusement park for disc golfers. It's more than a course; it's a destination.

(2) The course was well maintained. Grass was cut and weeds were trimmed.

(3) Course owner and his family were more than hospitable. We first ran into them on the second tee (they were doing some grounds keeping work), and they could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Once we made it to 18's tee (which is basically in their front yard), they all came out to chat and ask about our thoughts as first-timers at Holler In The Hills. Super cool people.

(4) It's only $5 to play this incredible course. After I'd finished my round, I felt like this was a heck of a bargain. It's well worth the price of admission.
Cons: I'm hesitant to call this a con, because the name of the course is Holler In The Hills after all, but give yourself plenty of time and/or make sure you're in good shape before you try to tackle this course. I cannot emphasize enough how steep it can get -- after Hole 9, it felt like virtually every hole was uphill.
Other Thoughts: As a Nashville-area disc golfer, Holler In The Hills is one of those courses you hear about over and over again. Earlier this week, some friends and I made the 1.5-hour drive to Brownsville and -- after playing 18 + 5 bonus holes -- I don't know why we waited so long. I've seen Holler In The Hills referred to as a "bucket list" course, and I could not agree more. If you live within 200 miles, go. Just go. It will be more than worth it. If it's warm outside, be sure to bring about twice as much water as you think you'll need. Once you leave the parking lot, you won't see your car again until you've finished the course. There's no opportunity to stop and re-up on beverages. Also, be sure to mark your discs. We felt very fortunate to make it through an entire round without leaving a disc behind -- I would imagine this is a rarity. Luckily, the course owners seem rather committed to making sure lost discs are reunited with their rightful owners.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Disc Golf

1    2/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 103  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 20.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The drive is worth it.

Great elevation change on this course - its a real hike, but totally worth it. The course makes use of a lot of natural hazards (creek, pond, streams, rock walls, school bus). Every shot is interesting.

This is one of the top places I've played at just because its so unique. Near the top of the holler - the throw from on top of a boulder is perfectly setup. Maybe my favorite was #17 throwing back across the holler. Epic disc golf shot.

Not a course for someone wanting to knock out a round quickly - but if you are making a day trip, this is a very worthy choice!

I have to rate it a 5. It has some minor flaws, which are forgivable - playing this one again when I can get the time.
Cons: It is not closer to Nashville.
Other Thoughts: Get your birdies on the first 6 before going up the hill!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.