Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: cassidymayne Hole #Y
4 / 520ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: - Wide open shots. It's hard to lose a disc here (not impossible!).
- One of the best disc golf stores I've been to is on the course. The Throw Shop has great prices and a huge variety.
Cons: - Not in the best area, but I wouldn't say the course is unsafe.
- Lacking trash cans on a lot of holes, so trash just piles up near the tee pads.
- Signage is sub-par, and following the course can be a little confusing for newcomers.
Other Thoughts: The course is a former ball golf course, which makes for a lot of long shots. Plenty of obstacles, yet wide open spaces for trying some power shots. Not a bad course, and it's close to home. Follow the painted bars on the basket to find the next hole.

 Great, open course

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played the course once, but I would definitely come back again. The holes are all marked with distance, hole number, pictures, and shot approach. There are typically two tee boxes on each hole. I downloaded the map off of the files sections, it helped quite a bit. It's a great course for beginners and intermediates. There were about 4 holes that are perfect ace runners. Hole #4 was really fun with the giant downed tree backing up the hole. Hole #13 is a beast, I recommend using the white tee and going around the pond. I have the distance make it over but the pond is pretty daunting from the pro box. Holes #16-18 are real fun.
Cons: I don't really have any cons. I rated it 3.5 because there isn't a whole lot of variety in the holes. Most are pretty straight with very few trees. I tend to enjoy the heavily wooded courses a little more because of the challenge involved. The Throw Shop was closed when I played here. We finished up at about 12:15pm. They open at 12. It's a little bit challenging to navigate only because the fairways are tight and close together. So we would see a few tee boxes around but have to look at the map. The posts are all marked so it's easy to figure out once you get to the box.
Other Thoughts: I spent about 15 minutes looking for a disc on hole #14 that soared into the trees by the pond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ponds at Lakeshore

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I recently purchased several new drivers (distance and mid) and this course was the perfect venue in which to practice throwing them! The holes were open and when there were trees, it felt natural and challenging. Also, the Throw Shop is amazing! The guy working it today was nice and knowledgeable and my buddy and I talked to him about all sorts of stuff for almost an hour!
Cons: The area is kind of shady and there was a large amount of trash build-up at the majority of the tees. Other than that, I guess a few more benches here and there wouldn't hurt and a good mowing every now and then would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course and I'm looking forward to playing it again. I'll definitely come back after I build my disc wall rack and buy some discs to fill it! Being able to see and hold the ones I've been checking out online was a bonus, as well as getting the shop's associate's opinion on them!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Traditional Golf gets baskets

5+    7/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of open space to really break out the big drives, or to try and learn to throw the big drives. You can play any disc and try a lot of different throws, knowing that your disc will be easily retrievable on the clear grounds. Quite a bit of challenge and thoughtful design, despite the relatively treeless terrain. There are a lot of quite long holes from the pro tees, while still being reasonable for newer players from the short. There's also a pro shop right on the course, with beverages and quite the disc selection. They even run a disc Lost & Found there, despite that replacements are their bread and butter.
Cons: Formerly a traditional golf course, this course offers little in the way of corridor shots through trees. There's also little to break the wind on highly windy days, or to shade on extremely sunny days. Fences along the left side of 3 holes can make for a *long* walk to get your disc. I usually just pick the lost disc up after the round if I throw over.
Other Thoughts: This is my most regularly played course. It ends up being pretty low stress in relation to a lot of more treed courses. No digging for lost discs and discs that have time to fly their full distance can do wonders for your disc golf self esteem when you're in kind of a slump. If you don't want to have to work hard at playing well, this may be the course for you. If you're looking for a course requiring super precise shots, go to Rolling Hills instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its ok

5+    6/24/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Scrubgolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces to throw! I am not a super accurate driver so this course is great for me.

Has a super Pro shop.

Very fun to play.
Cons: Bring bug spray if you try and play some of the new holes. The mosquitos are VERY bad back in the woods.

Play to the right on the holes near the fence. Its a long long walk around if you go over.
Other Thoughts: The week before the 4th of July they shut the course down for a carnival. The course gets a bit trashed and takes a while to recover.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great place

5+    6/14/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: sbgolfer06
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: It is a nice place, and its very open most of the time and moves fast
Cons: hole 13 :( alot of water, and on the shorts there maybe cut back some of the trees
Other Thoughts: i hate the water hole, i really dont have any other stuff

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Change of Pace

1    4/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Jsteele
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This Course was a lot of fun to go out and rip it. The Pro shop was Top notch. Navigation of the course was relatively easy. Nice layout and taken care of with some really fun holes to throw at
Cons: not a lot of places to rest on course. to the left of the first tee is an 8ft fence and a busy road so if you shank one your going for a pretty long walk.
Other Thoughts: Is a recommended play if you live in Michigan.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean well maintained course. A great course if you have a big arm and like to let loose. The hole over the pond is a nice challenge.
Cons: Besides the distance the holes don't offer a lot of challenges such as trees or other obsticals. It can be hard to navigate from whole to whole if you haven't played before.
Other Thoughts: The Pro shop is nice and the owner is very friendly and imformantive.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Masterpiece

1    1/30/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open, minimal bushes, thorns, poison ivy, etc. Challenging layout and environment (gets windy), tee pad and pin placement place demand on control to score well. Free, pro shop, not a lot of waiting on tee pads.
Cons: A couple of the holes play close to the fence, which is very close to the road. Cars will drag an errant throw even farther down the road. Play it safe next to the fence.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love #13 (the shot over the pond). There is a layup area from the longs along the right hand side. It's where the short tee is located. If you're uncertain about crossing the pond with your drive, just throw either an anhyzer or a sidearm shot over into that area.

The apartment community will have events during the summer so be aware that the course sometimes won't be available. It Pays to call ahead.

This course will get better with age. Plans are in the works for a second more technical course in the woods south of the existing course.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeshore

5+    10/2/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Drains really fast, many opportunities to air it out, good use of land given dearth of trees, no shule, nice shop to purchase supplies, old golf bunkers used for OB.
Cons: It's too open in places, very big-armed oriented with little penalty for wild shots, not mowed quite well enough to regularly drop down rollers, backhand rollers difficult to get down on some tees due to overhangs.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a nice addition to the SE MI courses, there is no other course like this one and none better to work on your raw 'D' shots. There are 2 levels of distance that move you into scoring opportunities. 350' is the minimum needed to regularly get to or under par from the longs. If you can throw 400-420', another 6-7 strokes are there to be shaved off if you can put it near the pin. Short tees are available for folks who throw under 300' -- good players will definitely shoot well under par from the shorts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.