Stoughton, WI 
Kiwanis of Stoughton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good 9 hole course

1    4/9/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: VictorB
Played: 76  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
Pros: Nice concrete teepads and signage was easy to read, and helped make the course easy to navigate the first time around. Holes weren't particularly long but most had a challenging technical aspect to them - hit a gap or shape a shot to get in range. Not the most difficult wooded course I've seen but it still demands that you stay in the fairway or you'll have a tough scramble. Pretty decent layout considering the small strip of land they had to use down in some marshlands.

For a small 9 hole course, there were plenty of places to sit and some basic amenities (porta potty, trash/recycling cans) which was nice to see. Overall the park seems well taken care of.
Cons: 9 holes without multiple pin placements or tees is a small knock. There's just not enough room for more tees, but some holes could use some clearing and could add different tees. I played it in early spring, so bugs weren't a problem, but could see it being a pretty significant issue in the summer months.

Hole 8 in particular has a very odd shape to it, short but straight fairway in the woods with a >90 degree right turn at the end. Not enough room to shape a good FH or BH shot down there to get a decent look at the basket. Makes the hole feel like it has a level of manufactured difficulty that the rest of the course doesn't have.

The parking lot is incredibly small, maybe fits 10 cars, and there is no signage for the course at all. Google maps took me farther up the street and I almost didn't play it because I didn't know if I was going to be able to find it. The walk from 9s basket to the parking lot is fairly long, but not awful by any means. Just make sure to wait on throwers since the holes cross the path 3 times.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course quite a bit for a basic 9 hole. Will likely play here a good amount in the winter, when all the other main parks are closed. Offers a much different look than Yahara Hills winter course, and the drive is about the same to me.

There seems to be quite a bit of land at this park that isn't utilized, and they could likely expand to 18 fairly easily - even if it leaves a long walk back to the disguised parking area.

  Stoughton Kiwanis Disc Golf Course Review

5+    3/21/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: GageWhite23
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun Course to play a couple of rounds at. They are currently working on construction to put 18 holes into the course and will mostly likely be ready by the 2016 season. Course is a very tough course to play at with very narrow fairways and tee boxes going into and out of the dense woods. The course usually stays pretty well maintained with a walking path going through it. If you like dogleg bends then this is the course for you with this course having multiple holes with a dogleg bend in them.Very hard course but if you can play good at this course you can play good at about any course.
Cons: Course takes a very long time to dry out after a rainfall with the course almost being like a bowl. The woods can also be a challenge in the fact of how dense they are. The course could really be improved if some of the trees got cleared out but other than that the course is a fun course to play at.
Other Thoughts: If you are playing in the summer or when it is very humid out bring your bug spray to keep the bugs off of you with the course just being yards from the Yahara River. another huge tip that people usually dont think about but bring your Bright Colored disc! They will make it easier to see if the disc goes off of the course into the woods. Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Spring Course

5+    2/23/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Techical holes and tunnel shots a few longer holes but for the most part a shorter course. It's open year round so that's nice too.
Cons: Heavily wooded and lots of water/mud. Lots of critters in the spring and early summer including Snakes and Ground bees. Also a walking path through several holes.
Other Thoughts: Because this is one of the only year-round courses around I play mostly out of shear desperation. It does hone the more technical skills prior to the good courses opening which is why i give it a good rating.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stough-ton of fun

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 127  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice tee signs and frequent benches
+ Chainstars are in good shape.
+ Rubber tee pads in generally good shape ... a few lumpy spots
+ For nine holes in a relatively small area, there is decent variety of hole lengths (175-335)
+ Nice mix of lefty and righty-friendly shots
+ Quite a few tunnel shots where accuracy is at a premium. Poor shots will be punished.
+ Every hole has either a tight tee shot or entrance to the green, or both. No holes are completely wide open.
+ Many tee shots are blind (good for those who like the challenge)
+ On the longer holes, those not going for it still have to make an accurate layup to have a clean second shot at the basket
+ Boardwalk to help avoid the soggy spots on #5
+ Some opportunities for interesting safari holes ... could make some par 4s or even 5s in and out of the woods.
Cons: - Pretty flat course
- Woods are pretty thick, and I imagine the rough would be punishing with full foliage
- Many tee shots are blind, and some holes are close together. Could be some safety issues, but I don't imagine this course is frequently crowded.
- Not sure what I think of hole #6. Even a well-executed shot to the right leaves almost no shot at a deuce. Best bet to go at the basket just seems to be throwing high and crashing it into the tree above and behind the basket, and hope it falls down.
- A couple of the tee signs were too close to the tee pads. #9 was bad, especially for this LHBH who needs to hug the left side of the tee to have a reasonable line. I was worried about whacking my hand on the follow through. Although, looking at the pictures, that tee pad may have been moved after the sign was installed.
- Only single tee pads and basket locations per hole, except for a shorter tee on #5.
Other Thoughts: I don't know why it took me so long to play this course, being so close to Madison. I had fun and will definitely be back. I'll be interested to see how it looks with full foliage. Unless you have to search for a disc, it is a quick nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 hole course

9/8/2007   9/29/2007
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of available land. Fun 9 hole course with lots of different shot options.
Cons: Very buggy in the summer. The rough is very thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 9 hole course that will be expanded to 18 hole in the future. It currently has grass teepads until a final 18 hole layout gets established.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.