Warren, NJ 
Greenwood Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Grim Mood at Greenwood

1    8/9/2019   8/10/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + It's over with in about twenty minutes so you can go play somewhere else.
+ The nine baskets exist, mostly.
+ It outlines a small and quiet neighborhood park, which is obviously mowed regularly, but...
Cons: - ...The player feels eyes on them at all times because of the very many houses with huge windows surrounding the park on all sides in this well-to-do area. I felt as though I were under constant scrutiny and that at any minute an overprotective mother would march out her front door and sternly ask me to leave because I was upsetting her 3-month-old baby or something.
- There are no discernible tee areas. Just look for the slightly worn-out patches of dirt on the first two holes. But then...
- ...The tee signs altogether vanish after hole 2. The player is forced to invent their own layout after that. It's like a Choose Your Own Adventure novel!
- The first several holes play uncomfortably close to a baseball diamond. If there were a game happening, they would be unplayable because holes 2 and 3 play in the literal outfield.
- The layout, as best as I could tell, is mostly just open shots focused primarily around a drainage ditch. Some are uncomfortably close to roads, too. That's not good disc golf course planning.
Other Thoughts: I didn't expect to encounter such a bad course so soon after my experience with Freedom Park back in February. This loose collection of baskets barely deserves to be called a course owing to the baffling lack of signage, boring layout and lack of course maintenance.

One of the baskets is nearly destroyed. The cage is warped and twisted. The central post is slanted. Someone at one point tried repairing it with metal clasps and wire, but it really ought to be replaced-- along with all the missing tee signs, at the very least.

In terms of a silver lining, I can see this place as being an entry point for those just starting out. I imagine that there are quite a few freshmen golfers in the local neighborhood who use this course because it is nearby. It's open enough to get some short-range driving and approach practice in. Maybe it even has a few trees worth dodging. Its only saving grace might be the open-ended approach to the baskets. Precisely because there are no tees, you can throw at whichever basket you want, to change it up. But it is a sorry excuse for a deliberately planned disc golf course: 9-hole or otherwise.

Bottom line: While the grounds are in decent shape, the course is not. It is well-intentioned yet haphazardly crammed into the park, but nobody knows what the layout is. If Greenwood has a future, it is as a training ground for absolute beginners or as a warm-up round before going to a better course. For most players, this place is better off avoided.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Neighborhood park course that gets no attention

2-4    11/26/2017   10/31/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I've used this course twice to introduce beginners to the game. It works well because it's open, and then gradually introduces obstacles and elevations.
Cons:
- I'm sure the baskets were installed and the "course" was created with the best of intent. But there's no maintenance: no signage, no tees, a severely damaged basket.
Other Thoughts:
- I love neighborhood courses and scout projects. I've learned to approach them with lowered expectations - looking for a good practice place or a nice place to spend an hour outside.
- If you're in the area and want to throw a few, stop by.
- If you know some beginners and want to give them a challenge that won't get them into too much trouble, this is a good place to do it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awful

1    7/3/2018   7/3/2018
Review By: BgGrls Dont Cry
Played: 138  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Innova Discatchers. That's about it, and one of them is damaged. Located in a nice neighborhood.
Cons: Not maintained whatsoever. No tee markers or signs, just a bunch of baskets in a park as far as I could tell.
Other Thoughts: As others have mentioned, the design of this course has major safety concerns as a number of holes play near tennis courts, roads, parking lot, etc. Without tee markers or signs this isn't really a course in my book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Safe course for beginners.

5+    7/25/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: Lance Philip
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1:Short holes that are great for beginners and practice.

2:A good throw could get someone an Ace.

3:Mostly open, no need to worry about losing discs.

4:It's a quick 9 holes that can be played twice in an hour.

5:Clean porta potty available.

6:Picnic table and gazebo.

7:Safe neighborhood with parking.

8:Some elevation changes with few trees.
Cons: 1:There are only 3 hole signs remaining.

2:There are no tee boxes of any sort. There are only worn patches where the tee boxes should be.

3:You need to use an app with a course map to see where the tee boxes should be.

4:The course wraps around a baseball field so when games are going on you need to pay attention to batted balls and players on the field.

5:The holes are too short for competitive play amongst experienced players.

6:The 9th hole basket had the lower section damaged. It is now held in place with bungee cords so it's slightly angled and not straight.
Other Thoughts: Despite all its negatives I really like this course since I'm not a great player. I also like to bring new players here to introduce them to the sport. The sad part is that it wouldn't take a lot to make this a great little course. All they would have to do is add permanent tee boxes, replace the missing hole markers and fix the 9th hole basket. The grounds are always clean, the grass is well kept and the neighborhood is safe. Hopefully they can fix the negatives in the future.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Cource

2-4    11/20/2015   11/20/2015
Review By: gbikofsky
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good practice course. The course is very open and there usually aren't many people in the park. This allows you to practice with pretty much all of your discs
Cons: Most of the back holes aren't labeled. It can be confusing. The 5-9 holes are around a water retention basin.
Other Thoughts: The first three holes are great practice holes and I practiced mid range throws and putting for an hour after I played a round. There are no tee pads so presumably, you just tee off from the previous hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Open courese

1    10/21/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 120  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is an open course and is perfect for new players.
Cons: No tee pads and in many cases no clear area to tee from.

One hole throws right at a parking lot full of cars.

Basket 9 is broken.
Other Thoughts: When we get lots of rain many of the holes will be over water as the last few holes are over the drainage area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very poor but it's still a course

5+    3/14/2014   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Even though there are many negatives of this course, this is a great course for new disc golfers. The 2nd and 3rd hole field is perfect to work on basics and mechanics of throwing and you can use the baskets for putting! But the only problem is that it is 1900 feet, so a decent disc golfer will birdie every hole. It has baskets and a couple of tee signs so you can play a quick round and move on to a different course. The good thing is that you can get a chance to bag a couple of aces because of the super short distances. The last thing is that it is right off of I-78 and it is easy to locate so you won't have to look around or several minutes
Cons: First of all, this is a course that has not been tended in years and about 2 people play this course in 6 months so you can probably guess this is not a top 10 in New Jersey. When you see the 1.46 rating when you first view this, you probably thought "I'm just going to ignore this and not play it" but even though it is terrible you can still bang out a nice and easy 15 minute round. One of the main problems is that there are no tee boxes and some of the footing isn't that smooth. Hole 5 is a side-hill tee off and there is no tee sign. Hole 1 is a dirt patch with a bunch of roots on it, and I guess that there used to be a tree there. **There is a tennis court to the right of Hole 4, if you get it there it could get someone hurt.** There is also a major issue of safety. Hole 1 is right next to a road, and so is Hole 2. On Hole 3, if you miss left, you could hit a person or a house because this course is in a complex. Hole 4 has a tennis court to the right and a couple of houses to the left. Hole 5 is a side hill lie, so you could twist your ankle. Also, there is a parking lot with people right behind the hole. The last 4 holes are in a ravine and it could get muddy and it could fill up with water on a rainy day. If you want to have a good experience, go to a different course.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty bad course, but its good to bang out a round in 15 minutes here. There is also Chimney Rock, Harry Dunham, and the newly added Greystone Woods so you can make a good 45 hole disc golf day if you are in the Basking Ridge/Morristown area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It has Baskets...

1    4/10/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Greenwood Meadows is located off a major road and isn't far from I-78, making it easy to get to.

The baskets at the park were in great shape, as were the tee signs (those that were still available), the course map, and the rules.

The park appears to be very well maintained and has several other amenities including a baseball field, playground, and tennis court. So it's a great place to bring the young ones to introduce them to the sport and then follow-up with some playground time.
Cons: Oh, where to start. Safety is a biggie for me, so let's kick things off there. The course borders roads, parking lots, or back yards on seven of the nine holes. Running onto the road to fetch a stray disc = dangerous. Errant drives going into somebody's yard (several of which showed evidence of small children) = dangerous. Shaking a throw into somebody's car = dangerous.

After safety, the next thing for me is course design. This course should not have been installed here. The space limits the design to holes that average 188 feet (including one that's 116 feet...116 feet, really?), straight ahead. For the vast majority of players, this is an approach shot, leaving most (if not all of the holes) as birdie, if not ace, runs.

Signage was a problem on several of the holes as they were missing tee signs. This wasn't a really big issue because you could ballpark the tee location from the course map.

Although the course is right off the main road, you may drive past it a few times before you actually find it.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this course a 1.25, but I just can't round up to 1.5. It lacks any variety needed to make a serious (or even casual) golfer give it a second look. It's disappointing that nine pristine baskets were installed in a place where they are probably never used (or make for a dangerous situation when they are used) instead of on a piece of land with true fairways.

If you're in the area and really need to play, skip this course and play Harry Dunham Park down the road.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Basic of basics

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good beginner course
-Well manicured course
-Nice Houck designed signs
-Easy to find course
-A good place to practice with your mids and putters
-An ace run course
-Playing around the detention pond is fun, up and down the grassy hills
-Very nice baskets
-No chance of losing discs
Cons: -No tee boxes
-The course is just an open field. Plays around playing fields. Would not use this course when there are games in session
-All the throws are just strait shots
Other Thoughts: Even though the plot of land is small the designer of this course did a good job putting in 9 holes, but it doesn't force you to use an arsenal of shots. I would bring a new player or a child to this course to teach them about DG. Little chance that anyone would bother you. All the shots are under 250'. The neighborhood is very nice, very safe. The only hole you really need to control you throw is on #5 as the basket is placed with in 10 feet of a parking lot for near by town homes. It's also a short play with only 9 holes, but this can be combined with Harry Dunham and Chimney Rock to make a decent 27 hole run.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for what it is

1    12/22/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good course for people starting out as it's quite wide open and if discs go flying left and right, you should be OK. It's wide open and there's no real challenges if you can throw with control and straight. It's a course one could probably play in 30 minutes or less if you are solo. Basically, if you are looking for a quick round and are near here, it's worth checking out.

As a newcomer, I didn't hate the course. It was a bit windy, which made things a little tougher for me as my discs were flying all over the place. All in all, it wasn't a bad little course to stop and check out.

The course is also quite short, which some could look at as a good thing and others as a bad thing.

Good baskets, though. Also, the tee markers are excellent.
Cons: Same type of hole for nine holes. Everything is wide open. The holes are short, so better players probably don't need to carry more than two discs.

There was nothing going on when we were there, but I could see where this would be hard to play if things were going on -- such as a soccer game or kids playing all over the field.

The drainage pipe is kind of blah, too. Some of the shots run awful close to streets, so it could make for dangerous curves if you don't throw straight.
Other Thoughts: If you are an advanced player or a newer player who can throw decent and straight, two discs will be enough for you to carry around -- a mid-range and a putter.

If you lived in this area, it would be a great little place to go just to be able to throw some discs and practice. The course is what it is. It's not going to challenge you awfully mentally and physically, but it's a good little course for practice and to just get out and chuck a few discs to stay loose. Wind can make things quite interesting, too. If I was in the area, I'd play it again for a quick round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.