Parkville, MO 
English Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: Jayl3ird Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Pretty Park - Pretty Boring Course

1    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is a clean, well manicured, and located right along the river with plenty of areas to relax and walk. There a cute little shopping area nearby as well with great places to eat. Oh and the course? Well, I guess the biggest pro is you have nine open holes on similar length and shot selection so it can provide you with some nice practice.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: The tee boxes are a 2x2 area of hard packed gravel encased in a three-sided wood frame. They provide a good marker for where to tee from, but are completely worthless to actually tee from. Actual markings on the course are non-existent save the #1 painted on the corner of the basketball court to start your round. However, the park is wide open and plays a simple there and back, so you won't get lost. Sadly, just when the treed area of the park comes close by #5, instead of playing into it - you simply turn back across the open expanse back to the parking lot.

Sadly, the worst part of this course is simply that it's so boring. Besides #2, everything is wide open and only #4 gives you length enough to be challenging. This place is simply drive, pitch, putt, repeat. You can play this course with one disc if you had too. Given that there are so many better courses in the greater KC area, I would only recommend this course if you were in the immediate area, or just wanted some practice without being bothered by other golfers.

WORST HOLE/S: The rest since they are all the same.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice park, but given that the land is a thin strip, I don't know if it could ever become anything greater than a boring there and back. If the tee boxes were seriously improved and some decent signage was put in - then this course would at least be reasonable. However, the baskets are in great shape, so you could really get in some great practice, but if you're serious about hitting a quality round - skip this course and go hit Water Works, either Rosedale courses, or Kessler Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Riverfront Property

2-4    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: This course is great if your a beginner with it being all flat and not many trees to get your way. You can really practice your drives here. Have only seen 2 other people here playing so no waiting on other people. (people running and walking on paths nut not in way)
Cons: It's only has 9 holes and has no technical shots. The Tees are a small sqaure box with gravel in them so unless your just standing still and throwing these Tees aren't good to use.
Other Thoughts: Being right by the river is nice except when river floods so after heavy rains be careful.

  Pretty bare.

1    4/29/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: Carnal Sanders
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good place to practice your drive. Not busy at all. Saw a couple guys leaving but didn't encounter any traffic other then joggers or walkers.
Cons: No pads make it a bit tough to figure out the lay of the course. Understandably from the flooding that happens there. Really soft sandy areas at times.
Other Thoughts: No elevation change at all. If you choose to throw close from the previous pins there are a few trees to get around on a couple of holes but other then that it's pretty wide open.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 English Landing

5+    4/10/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a picturesque park near the Missouri river. Well maintained with modern facilities in the park. This course has several long pin placements with little challenge other than distance, however, that makes this park an excellent practice course. Work on your driving and enjoy the view.
Cons: For experienced throwers-Little challenge beyond baskets 1 and 2. Single pin placements. Basket 9 plays too close to a sand volleyball spot; watch out for kids. Lots of wind in the dusk hours coming off the river; it always blows from the right on the front side, then left on the back side- annoying. All teepads(except #1) are dirt with railroad ties, and no signage. When the river floods(as it did this summer) the whole park is closed for extended periods.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course. Easy beginner course. Lots of joggers, dog walkers, playgrounds, and trees make this a great multi-use park. Parking is only available outside the park entrance, and basket 1 teepad is on the NE corner of the basketball court with a faint red outline.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ho-hum

1    9/24/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is in great shape. There are restrooms, parking, and walking trails available, and the park is easy to find. Mach baskets are in pretty good shape. The holes play close to walking paths, but not so closely that you'd be afraid of clocking someone. There is lots of mid-range/approach type practice in this course, to prepare you for more challenging courses locally. You can play this course very quickly (if you already know the layout).

My memorable holes:
-Nothing really stands out here. Some trees here and there, ALL flat, and sometimes you have to watch out for the drainage ditch.
Cons: This course if very plain. Not much in the park to design challenges around. There are lots of people around, so sometimes you have to wait to make sure an errant throw won't hit someone. There was no map available, so navigation was a little bit of a challenge, but do-able. The train coming through a couple times during my round did disturb a couple shots, so watch for it, as the tracks run right next to the park. Watch yourself on the dirt pads, as they can be tricky. Also, the ground here holds water very well, so watch out for soft ground and puddling after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This park is very well kept, easy to get to, and very scenic (river view). If you have some time to kill in the area, it's not a bad play, but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course for practice

5+    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: wrongfulleaf
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I use this course only for practice so keep that in mind.
1. Small and easy to follow
2. Very hard to lose discs
3. Great sites to see at this park.
Cons: 1. Tee pads dirt pads
2. Only 9 holes
3. Very open
Other Thoughts: I love this course when i just want to go throw and work on my game. I can easily play this course 3-4 times in an hour or two. There is very few players that come to this course so you don't have to worry about waiting to tee off. It is in a very nice neighborhood so very little worries about shady people. This is by far not the greatest course in KC but when playing by yourself I think it is the best one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginners course

2-4    9/6/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy and flat for a new player like myself. Not a busy course.
Cons: Tee boxes need help. You get to jump over some drainage ditches while walking the course. Play after a rain will be very muddy, especially in the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: First tee is on the baskeball court. Hole #4 is the longest of the 9 holes.

A nice flat course, great for beginners, such as myself. You have to try hard to lose a disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet.

2-4    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: drummerjh
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course set in a beautiful park, located in a killer town...Parkville.
This course is a confidence builder and is a perfect course for beginners, or for those that are trying to tighten up their short game.
Cons: Most reviews for this course emphasize the fact that it is a VERY busy park, which is true, but I did not have to stop for pedestrians at any point while playing. The park is completely flat & not that challenging, but that did not bother me. I guess my only real complaint would be the teeboxes. It consists of a toeboard and VERY worn-out grounding. Footing is definitely an issue when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little couse. It's an awesome park set next to the Missouri river. It will improve anyones short/putting game, which I need desperately. I will be playing this course on a regular basis.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Look at all the little lakes, umm I mean fairway puddles.

1    4/28/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a flat course with a simple layout to follow along with. Play the left side of the little creek (about 5 feet wide) that runs through the park heading on the first part of the course and then back on the right side. Tee #1 is on the cement slab, behind the shed on the left when crossing the first walking bridge from the parking lot. The baskets are in pretty good shape. There are a few old trees that can make you choose a route on a few of the holes.
Cons: The dirt tees have a wood plank marking the front of the tees. These dirt "pads" are quite a mess and worn in. The walk from #9 basket to #1 tee is farther than it should be for a 9-hole course. This is a very busy place, so watch out for people, as they were everywhere, even walking through the course. Most of the holes are a straight drive and wide open, which keeps it simple. The course is really flat and does not drain well. There was standing water in fairways throughout the course even though other parts of the park were completely dry.
Other Thoughts: This is a great starter course for people learning to play the game. The Fun Factor is nil here. The few trees that force you to pick a route is enough to make it Ok the first time through. This is certainly not worth a road trip.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not what it could be

1    4/19/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 350  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent course for rec players with little chance of losing discs. If you're with newbies this would be a good place to introduce them. Holes have good length unlike a lot of small town nine holers I see. Good quality DGA baskets. Flow is easy to follow even with the lack of a map or tee markers.
Cons: Hands down some of the most awful excuses for tees I've ever seen. They're constructed of a dirt box with timbers at the front. No chance of following through on them as you'll trip if you try. On top of that, they're deteriorating. Until I recognized by the pattern of the course that they were teeboxes, I had ignored them thinking they were a horseshoe pit or something. Park is flat and seems to hold water in the center for several days after a rain. This impacts the last seven holes. Walking path around the park is very busy with pedestrians and most of the holes cut too close to this. Definitely watch before you throw.
Other Thoughts: English Landing is kind of conundrum course for me. In one respect you ponder why it couldn't have been designed better as there is acreage aplenty for a decent nine holer here, and yet considering the walking path you wonder if it should have been installed at all. Most of the park's more formidable trees line the walking path, and when weighing challenge versus safety, the designer wisely chose safety, even though it kind of neuters the course.

Not really worth the time and gas to specifically play this, but downtown Parkville right next door is cool, and the walking path is worth a stroll. If you're in the area and want to get some discing in, its there for the playing.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.