Panama City, FL 
Joe Moody Harris Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket: Some inconsiderate player defaced public property by signing the basket with his ace date - please don't do this


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Ace Runs

1    7/16/2017   9/20/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.603 Rating) A beginners course with several ace runs for skilled players.
- ACEABILITY - If you're hunting for your first ace, I would recommend playing this course. Holes (1-5) are all under 200 feet and hole (6) is an open, mid 200s foot look. I'm sure those that frequent this course have racked up a bunch of aces. I would not be surprised to find out that a local or two have aced every hole on this layout.
- BIGGINER FRIENDLY - Very little overgrowth, little opportunity to lose a disc and five holes under 200 feet in length. I'm sure most would agree that these are good characteristic for a course to take first timers to and also to take those wanting to learn the game.
- TEES AND SIGNS - Adequate concrete tees, good hole signage and a course map.
- CHAINS - All the baskets look nearly new and have heavy chains.
- QUICK PLAY - Probably the quickest nine I've ever played. It was raining during my round so that has something to do with it. I scratched this one off my list in 15 minutes. I think I ran (1-5) in 6 minutes or so.
- NAVIGATION - They don't get much easier. Even though there's a map, this course could be navigated easily without one. The only hic-up would occur between (6 and 7) where the basket and tee are separated by over 100 feet.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. I don't recall seeing any trash on my visit.
Cons: Course size and available park space are limiting factors.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Just about all the holes bring other park amenities and roads into play.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPERATION - There are numerous occurrences where the basket and next tee are perilously close. Several times they are separated by less than 40 feet. This is most prevalent around holes (1 thru 6)
- CHARACTER - Only a few extra on this course. As stated in the pro's, there is signage and concrete tees. There is also decent shading at the tees and there's a restroom and a shelter building, but that's where it ends. There is no practice area, no multiple pin placements or multi tees like you'd see at your older established courses.
- UNIQUENESS - Very limited. For many players, (1 thru 5) are pitch shots and the rest are putter or mid range ace runs. I personally ran the course with 2 discs. (Omega Supersoft and Mako3)
- ELEVATION - None. Ok maybe 8 feet on a hole or two, so none.
- DIFFICULTY - Not much of a challenge. Advanced players should be able to bird them all from time to time. Rec players should be able to crack par as well. Course definitely reads entry level course.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - An average city park setting. There are numerous made man elements in view and in play. The tree coverage is nice, but not to same level as nearby Bay Memorial.
- SPACING - Well below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs will constantly end in other fairways. Black aces probably happen a lot comparatively. In addition, if the course were full of players, you would be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
Other Thoughts: A nice beginners and rec course. Skilled players looking for more of a challenge should check out Bay Memorial or Under the Oaks instead.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pee-eww-ny Course

1    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 145  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, plenty of parking
- large concrete tees
- bright, numbered baskets
- high quality tee signs with distances and numbers
- ace runs galore
- low traffic
- bathroom on sight
- shaded fairways
- not too buggy
Cons:

- flat course
- lots of fairway and basket overlap
- short, bland fairway design
- course smelled like was next to a water reclamation site
- children's playground on location, could be a plus for parents I suppose
Other Thoughts:

Joe Moody is a short, simple, pitch'n putt course that rewards control over power. Drives often run the risk of being pinballed by trees. Fortunately, par saves are fairly easy. By the look of it, there was a bit of money put into the course, the large concrete pads and commercially produced tee signs really stand out. The park grass was low and I could clearly see all of the baskets.

The course has a plain arrangement of baskets crammed tight into an area too small for most players to enjoy. Many fairways overlap. If I came here again and that's a pretty big "if", then I'd only bring a putter, a stable/neutral mid. and an overstable utility driver. That's all the average player will likely need to wrestle up some birdies on these fairways.

As it is with most community courses, locals will undoubtedly defend Moody's legitimacy, course baggers with appreciate how fast they can play through it and leave. Make sure you arrive on the correct side of the park or you'll have a longer walk to and from the course. There's a creepy vibe on the other side of the park, stay away.

One more thing, I don't know if it had anything to do with the rain that came before I played the round, but 2 of the 3 courses I played this weekend in Panama City smelled absolutely horrible. What's the deal with that?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: Bandit 01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: QUICK 9 HOLE COURSE GREAT AS A TEACHING COURSE TO TEACH CHILDREN.
Cons: GROUNDS COULD USE A LITTLE ATTENTION. SIGNS NEED UPDATEING AND SIGN FOR HOLE 6 NEEDS REPLACEING COMPLETELY. BASKET FOR 6 DOESNT MATCH SIGN.
Other Thoughts: WORKING ON ALTERNATE SETTING FOR THIS COURSE AS WELL.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

2-4    7/26/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: robgettys
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course. Short course which makes each whole a birdie opportunity. In the shade!! Made summertime play more enjoyable.
Cons: Sketchy neighborhood, but I played it 4 times over the week that I was on summer vacation and felt safe. Actually saw joggers, people picnicking and spoke to them.

Short course, lots of trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Acres

1    7/10/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Jurd269
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the space, all holes centered around a central hub in the park
- Holes 1-6 offer a variety of finesse opportunities
- The grounds are in good shape and I didn't see a single piece of garbage in sight.
- Good, long, concrete tee pads
- Great beginner course
Cons: - Holes 7-9 were an afterthought, 7 in particular is ridiculous, there is no path to the basket, creative or otherwise
- The area was shady, see more below
- Short, no opportunity to let it rip
Other Thoughts: I was in Panama City for vacation with the wife and I ended up visiting this course for a quick 18 riding solo. Trust every review that says this course is in a rough part of town. I met a great group of local players that invited me to join their group; one pulled me aside to advise that he has personally seen people beaten down in gang-related violence at this park. Please, and I say PLEASE, do not visit this park alone. Always in a reasonable sized group.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: ridestreet84
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: short course in a small park that uses the layout perfectly, great signage and great layout for what it is. Very short course with good lines for control work, easy to find the next hole
Cons: neighborhood seems shady, no room to really throw a huge throw, no fairway on 7 very full of trees but makes for a interesting challenge, narrow tunnel on 8, didn't look at the map and took a bit to find 7 after 6, went back and looked at the map and found it easily, seems like 7,8,9 where an afterthought
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, went during midweek and was the only one out there, seems like some very interesting local lines can be made

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun couse

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: aclay
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 33.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs and tee pads for such a small, short course. Only one hole is longer than 250 feet, and five of the nine are under 200 feet. Well-defined flight paths (with some alternatives) except for No. 7.
Cons: Holes are too close together. My tee shot on No. 1 went through the No. 4 tee pad, and I birdied No. 1 with about a 20-foot putt. All holes are short, so there is not much variety. It's unlikely you'll need a driver.
Other Thoughts: No. 7 had basically no fairway. Just chuck it and hope. The locals apparently have designed a second 9, playing from dirt (but marked) tee areas to be able to play 18 with just 9 baskets. That might work for now because there doesn't appear to be much traffic. If the course ever got somewhat crowded, playing the 18 would be tough.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent short course

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good lines to the basket on most holes, very beginner friendly type of course.

Great tee signs, baskets, and tee pads. Seems like overkill for the park but for what it is I can't complain.

Well maintained park, I did not see a piece of trash anywhere. My wife loved it because it was quick and easy to play. Easy navigation and a nice neighborhood.
Cons: Safety issues, some of the holes almost overlap, the tee pads in question could be trouble for an errant shot from another hole. When I say errant show I mean a 20' errant shot.

No distance shots, I went with a putter and a midrange because I knew what to expect from previous reviews. I pulled the mid (roc) out on one hole, hole 8 I believe and I used a putter for the rest of the round. No room to air it out.

Other Thoughts: A decent course, I haven't played any other courses in Florida so I wanted to make a quick stop while I was in PC visiting grandma. If I had more time I would play the alternates they have, the locals had seem to create their own back nine using different tee locations to the same baskets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tweety Bird

1    12/20/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 529  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Most holes allow for different lines-of-attack.
Cons:
Hole-7 is more of a random event than a disc golf hole.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise fashion underneath the scattered, mid-diameter trees of a small public park. Navigation is simple, and chance of disc loss is practically nil. The 5'x10' concrete tees and signs are (nice) overkill for such a short and compact course.

With holes ranging from 171'-255', and an average of 212', this course is entirely about control. Other than where-is-the-fairway #7, and hallway #8, only a few trees need to be avoided on each hole, and even being deflected by one will typical allow for a reasonable par-save approach. While the tee signs might suggest a "standard" line to the basket, right-turning holes 1, 4, 7, and 9 also had narrow-but-shorter left-turn options from the tee.

A fun, quick play, quite suitable for beginners, with every hole being a birdy opportunity for experienced players.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Woods

1    10/17/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lot's of trees and obstacles. Nice basket and decent cement tee pads
Cons: This is a heavily wooded course on all holes; so be ready. The challenge was more not hitting a tree than choosing discs and shot shapes.
Other Thoughts: If you're a true disc golfer, it's the only real decent option in the area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.