Paradise, CA 
Lava Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimbosprint Hole #17 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth the $5

1    9/4/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: bigredpigdriver
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.2 Years
Pros: I was here on a Sunday morning and there were only two groups of ball golfers and 4 sets of disc golfers. The nice lady whom runs the course took me out to tee 1 and showed me the tee box, the sign and how to use the basket washer, did not need it but it was a nice touch. The grass was green and the lawn mower was going. Nice layout, challenging.
Cons: No restaurant on site (LOL) I don't really have any at this course. Lot of RHBH shots (1 forehand 1 roller) If you have a monster throw may play a bit easy. everyone 350 and under will have a challenge
Other Thoughts: They raised the cost to $5, still worth it, I'll be back

Top Notch

1    6/30/2017   7/2/2017
Review By: scouty
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Took a trip up Chico to play Peregrine Point and decided while we were in the area to play Lava Creek. What a surprise. This course is one of the most beautiful courses set on a ball course. Everything about it was top notch. Great tee signs and boxes, well manicured fairways and greens, and very nice baskets. We played on a Friday morning and there was nearly nobody there. A couple of ball golfers were there and they seemed to share the course well with the disc golfers. Course had a good mix of long and short holes and each hole had at least two or three different hole placements. Very well thought out and very easy to play, so well laid out that the game was really relaxing. Mostly open shots, but there were a couple of technical shots dropped in here in there on the periphery of the course. Amazed that is was only $4 to play considering the upkeep of the grounds and nice pro shop. Well worth the 100 mile drive from Sacramento.
Cons: Hard to find many cons, again we played on a Friday morning and the crowd was light, maybe the course might be more crowded during the weekend.
Other Thoughts: Weather was warm, but the well manicured grass, massive trees and grape vineyards kept the temp on the course very manageable. Must stop if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paradise!

5+    2/24/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: PapaRick1959
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two practice baskets
Concrete tee pads in great shape
Bench at every tee pad
Great use of elevation and trees
Each hole has at least two pin placements. Most have at least three
Nice little pro shop, also a lost and found for players to find discs that had been lost.
Cons: Lots of RHBH shots
A little long for new or younger players
Back nine gets really soft and soggy during rainy season
Other Thoughts: Best course in Butte county
Well worth the $4 fee.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice beginner course

5+    2/28/2016   3/14/2016
Review By: miknrita
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well manicured
easy to follow
good signage
this is a local course for my family and has become a great way for us to spend time together. Great course for beginners.
Cons: can get busy at times
maybe too easy for seasoned players
Other Thoughts: well worth 4 bucks

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love Lava Creek

5+    6/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: Mavurick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has been upgraded a lot with new Tee Signs, Placements, Obstacles, OB, and Drop Zones.

It has nice elevation throughout the entire park. The course is in a "bowl". There is a cool top of the world shot which has 4 placements now. There is a nice variety of short and long shots. There are a lot of trees on the sides and in the middle of the course. They do a good job of using them as obstacles. I love how peaceful the course is.
Cons: There are a few cons. 14, 15, and 16 play similar and I could do without them. And most throws are RHBH. And you have to call ahead to see if course is open to disc golf (most of the time it is). And when on the course you have to give way to the ball golfers. But if you play the course on less busier times, it is hardly an issue.
Other Thoughts: I play 10+ courses in the Sacramento region and this is one of my favorite to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Green for Green

1    5/16/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: GuidoPero
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concreet Tees with good signage for basket placement. Each whole has 2-4 different placements and changes often. Since the Disc Golf course is on a 9 whole ball golf course you play on green grass.
Cons: There are few wholes that have poison oak close by.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on drives. Lots of wide open long drives. Round Tees would be better on some wholes because some basket placements are not pointing in the same direction.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for $4

1    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 56  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Manicured grass, great staff, layout was great. Scorecards available at the front desk. Weather was great. Ability to drink purchased beer on course. Easy parking area.
Cons: No food on site. Rollers don't come easy. No skips from shots. Potential ball golfers on the course too. Other golfers using carts. Mud and water in creek / swamp area.
Other Thoughts: Top of the world shot on #11 was gorgeous, easy to leave it in the water if you're not careful. If you play multiple rounds, the price goes down from original $4. Play this course for a great time at a beautiful location.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 the long drive

2-4    3/19/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: blazer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well taken care of, no riff raff of random people or bums leaving litter, grass nice and mowed, so you dont loose your disc, mixed elevations, with island shots and creek crossing, very nicely layed out, with trsh cans and ash trays, pro shop with refreshments and equipment, beautiful view, fresh paradise air, and totally nice people
Cons: drives a little too long for par if you ask me, creek presents penalties, regular golfers to watch out for
Other Thoughts: also will want to come back, a great experience even for a beginner like me

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Field of Green

5+    1/20/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: pitbull530
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: wide open for big arms to let loose. private course so you can drink on the course. multiple tee locations make for a different play every week. new improvements continue to make the course better.
Other Thoughts: they have a pro shop that sells beer, food and of course DISCS.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Lava Creek has improved my game.

5+    1/21/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: PMACK
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It's a VERY clean and maintained course, there are multiple pin placements so the course is constantly changing, and their pro shop has a great variety of discs to choose from.
Other Thoughts: You can tell how much effort has gone into making Lava Creek the course it is today. From what I hear, I can't wait to see all the new upcoming improvements for the future.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.