Hitchcock, TX 
Jack Brooks Park - Cedar Hills Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 472ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Unpleasant surprise

1    7/18/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: Superpolski
Played: 176  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a course map located at hole 1. The front nine is very technical. 1-8 are all wooded holes which provide lots of shade. Holes 9-11 plays around a pond and 12-13 are mostly open. Holes 15-18 are all wide open big arm shots with 17 playing over a pond. This course has a great layout with tight tunnel shots (1-8) and wide open big arm shots (15-18). There are also restrooms available at hole ones parking lot.
Cons: In the course description it is listed as having DiscCatcher baskets which the course DOES NOT have. It has DGA baskets. The only DiscCatcher basket is the practice basket at hole one. The concrete tee pads are very slick. When playing in the woods gigantic mosquitoes will swarm you by the hundreds. Bring tons of mosquito repellent. Also, any errant shots through the woods could get you into a swamp. Holes 9,10 and 11 plays around pond that has evidence of gator activity.
Other Thoughts: This course is not begginer friendly. While this course has many challenges it has a fun factor that will test all of your game. If it rains this course becomes very marshy and almost unplayable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

round from hell

1    7/12/2017   7/14/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads
Posts marking the hole number
Great use of the elevation
nice mix of wooded holes and wide open air it out shots.
Cons: Missing basket 17
No tee signs, without a map, it was a little hard finding a few of the holes.
Don't play right after a rain storm, course gets muddy and VERY slippery.
Other Thoughts: I happened to play this course after a large storm had passed. LOTS of water and the mud was horrible. Not to mention the Texas size mosquitoes that ate me alive every time I stopped moving.

But other than that, this is an excellent course.

Several risk reward shots in the woods and even on some of the open holes.

Hole 7 is a good 2 shot wooded hole.

Hole 9 has got to be overgrown, there is no decent tee shot other than just laying up a 30 ft shot to the open so you can throw an upshot to the basket.

Holes 10 to 13 are nice open shots using the pond and trees to define the fairways.

Then you get to 15 to 18, very wide open long shots. Hole 16 does not even have a tree or anything for that matter between the tee and basket. At least 17 throws over the pond, although there was no basket. (I just played the flag poll next to hole 18's tee pad)

Would I play here again?

Yes, even though there are some poor holes near the end, the wooded holes and 10 to 13 are fun challenging holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best In Texas

1    12/29/2015   2/10/2016
Review By: jason.soule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great hole designs!!
Good baskets
Good Tee Pads
Reasonably well marked
Cons: Hard Course for beginners
Other Thoughts: I LOVE this course!! The variety of holes is amazing!! I had such a great time playing this course that I only wish I lived a little closer so I can play it regularly.

There is very little to be critical about on this course. If you are a beginner...beware, it is a very challenging course, but that is what I loved about it. The tight lines, undulating topography and unconventional hole designs are top notch.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Jack's II

1    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 210  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very Challenging course.
Very technical with multiple risk vs reward holes.
Great layout.
Good Teepads.
Good chainstar baskets.
Course map posted close to hole 1.
Fairly easy follow.
Bathrooms located by hole 1.
Cons: Ants are everywhere in the woods.
Tee signs would be a plus.
Also a couple of Next tee signs on 5 to 6 and 14 to 15 would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Not beginner friendly.
Would not recommend after a rain gets really muddy.
Playground located nearby.
Course needs trashcans and people to empty them.
People please pack it in and pack it out. (TRASH)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: TxJk
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nothing I can say that another review on this course hasn't said already.
Beautiful course, layout, design. Very fun and challenging course
Cons: MUD. MUD MUD. From walking from tee to tee you had to find a way to scrap the pound of mud off your shoe.
The open holes are swampy. My feet got soaked.
The conditions of the course are due to heavy rain the last few days. The course itself is awesome.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course. Was very challenging. Only got 2 birdies and at least 6 bogies. Awesome design though. Will definitely play again if I'm down this way.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, fun course.

5+    5/11/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: Blacky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course that takes you through woods, and some scenic streams. It's a little difficult but it kind of adds to the challenge.
Cons: Can get overrun with mosquitoes, bring bug spray and lots of it.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course to play, and is my home course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but fun.

1    10/18/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: danzoll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Lots of wooded holes, some water hazard, and then it opens up for some long bombs on the end. Concrete pads, great baskets, well marked.
Cons: Mosquitos, bring bug spray. Can't see the basket on many holes. There is some work being done on holes 16 and 17 that make it muddy, but still playable

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mosquitoes, Disc Golf, and Mosquitoes

1    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: +Concrete tee pads
+Full 18 holes very close to another full 18
+Lots of variety in challenges (9 holes in wooded areas and 9 holes in open, hilly areas)
+Course map present at start (and easily found online)
+Easy to spot baskets
+Tee markers with hole number at each tee (but no map)
+Great layout and use of land features
Cons: -Swarms of mosquitoes on holes 1 through 8 and hole 14 [Mosquitoes were very bearable on holes 9 though 13 and 15 through 18]
-One or two "blind" holes from the tee but are easily located with a short walk down the fairway
-No hole maps at the tee signs
Other Thoughts: At first glance you would think my pros easily outweigh my cons but due to the impromptu stop for discing I was not prepared to fight off the mosquitoes, and this really was a detriment to my game. This will be the first review of mine where something not related to the course layout, upkeep, or placement caused me to have poor a experience (although one could say that placement was the root issue here).

I hate to be whining but I played terrible on holes 3 through 8 and hole 14 due to my constant attempt to avoid the mosquitoes. I played fast and threw hap-haphazardly and my scores shows it. On the last 4 holes, which are mainly open long drives and thus have next to no mosquitoes, I hit par, with relative ease. be weary of hole 17, there is a rather hidden and large pond directly in front of the tee. I shot to the right to get over and around the pond.


**BOTTOM LINE: THIS IS A CHALLENGING, WELL LAID OUT COURSE BUT THE MOSQUITOES WILL CARRY YOU AWAY - WEAR PANTS, BUG SPRAY, AND BE PREPARED TO ITCH.**

P.S. I cant imagine the bugs are this bad in the winter months - I went in July, during peak bug season, dont make my mistake and youll have a better experience.

P.P.S. (REVIEW UPDATE) to those who are thumbs downing my review due to my inclusion of the bug infestation, please stop, you know I wrote a helpful review. I wish I had this info prior to my arrival at this course. And I saw 3 groups of discers at this course on the same day I played and not a single one of them finished the course due to the mosquitoes so I know Im not alone with these cons.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 213  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is the much more difficult course on site and plays half of the holes in the woods and half of the holes in the open, so a very good mixture of shots, perhaps the best mixture of shots in Houston. A few holes you would be foolish to bring out any kind of driver and there are also huge bombs off the tee.
-There are a lot of risk-reward type shots off the drive. Especially #17 where you have to clear a lake and putt for a 2. Or go around the lake and make an easy 3.
-There are hills on a few holes in the woods that makes this course much more unique then what you would find in any typical Houston course.
-I am under the assumption that this course is much less played then Gulf Meadows so you never have to wait to play and the baskets are all in great shape.
-Concrete tees are always great to have especially at a championship caliber course like this one.
-There are a few ace runs (#18) which can add a bit of excitement to a ruthless round.
Cons: -Sadly, this course is not played as much because it is much more difficult and it is very easy to get frustrated at with the huge number of trees in the fairway.
-The water, especially the lake at holes 10-14, is very unforgiving and murky. If a disc goes in, chances are it is gone for good.
-A few of the holes are huge head scratchers in the design aspect. Most notably hole #2 which the hole sits 180 degrees clockwise from the tee. A 3 would be very impressive at a few of these holes.
-It is a little bit of a far drive for most Houston golfers. This could be a pro as well since not as many people will be out here.
Other Thoughts: If you combine this course with Gulf Meadows in one day, that is a great day of golf.
This course is especially great if you are looking for a big challenge. Like they said at the tournament that took place here "You kick the courses butt at Gulf Meadows, but get your butt kicked at Cedar Hills."
This course is definitely worth the drive from town and it is highly recommended for all out of towners.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Bad experience

1    7/20/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dogbetter
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A variety of shots. Good Discatcher baskets. Needed them to be able to locate with yellow ring.
Cons: Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos. I took two players who had never played before. Not a good experience for the first time. They lost a disc in woods and in pond. Need to clear more of course. Course needs mowed. The recent rains made the mosquitos unbearable. Borrowed friends nature repellant which was like desert to these suckers.
Other Thoughts: Would rate higher if not for mosquitos.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.