Moncure, NC 
Swinging DB's Share
Uploaded By: 360chickenwingroller Hole #5
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    5/30/2018   5/31/2018
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 127  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In reading my review, understand that I played Swinging DB's in the spring (which is the same as summer in North Carolina) after weeks of rain. The result was an underbrush, mud, and tick explosion. Those are aspects of disc golf that I do not particularly enjoy. Some may not mind, and that's OK. Their ratings will be higher than mine. This *is* a very unique course and I will go into my pro's and con's, but I just want to put this out there to explain why my rating is lower than most (or all) others.

+ Of the homegrown courses I've played, this is the most unique. It has a wide range of challenges: very short and technical holes, a couple of longer open holes, creek hazards, and *of course* the patented swinging baskets on nearly every hole!

+ Very challenging, tightly wooded course. This course has some of the tightest lines you'll find on a disc golf course. It will force you to come up with some, shall we say, creative lines. This is more of a finesse course than a power course, but does have two long, open holes to bomb on. Hyzers, anhyers, flicks, and flex shots -- all are needed.

+ Swinging baskets! This isn't something I'd want to see in all courses, but for this one, it's a really fun and unique feature. And I didn't think the baskets caught poorly at all. In fact, some of the baskets caught better than new, "professional" baskets. Many of the swinging baskets are over fast greens or near OB creeks. I love this aspect of the course. All putts are a challenge.

+ Chuck does an amazing job keeping up with this large property. I don't know how he does it. Thanks and kudos to him!
Cons: I think many of my con's are circumstantial based on when I played the course. I'd like to come back in the winter to see how it plays. That said, here are my con's for when I played in the spring/summer:

- The underbrush and thorns were pretty bad on a few holes. You really want to keep your disc in the (very narrow) fairways here!

- Ticks. Swinging DB's has 'em. I don't think that's any big surprise or that there's anything that can be done about them. This is a very rural location. This is Carolina Scramble golf, the good and the bad. Many of us love it, but the downside can be these little Lyme Disease-carrying critters. Wear bug spray and check yourself. There are also mosquitos, but I considered that a secondary issue to the ticks.

- Drainage and slick tees were a problem when I played after many days of rain. Lots of mud pits and some standing water. All of the creeks are muddy brown, so anything in the drink was hard to locate and likely lost. And the tees are either natural or carpet and some of them were very slick. I almost wiped out on one.

- The only real design flaw, in my book, was that some of the lines were just so ridiculously narrow to the point of being non-existent. There are quite a few poke and hope holes that are more about luck than skill. That could be because I'm not very skilled. I'm self-aware enough to put that out as a possibility. But again, in my opinion, luck (which always is part of the game and should be *some* part of the game) was more involved than on most courses due to narrow fairways or a complete lack of fairways on some holes. I think the course could stand to lose some more pine trees.

- Swinging DB's shares some tees and fairways with its big brother course, Rock 'n Roll Fairways. The flow of the course is fine, but don't get confused by the tee signs, some of which are for the other course, or the dual basket locations on some holes.
Other Thoughts: If you're able to play Swinging DB's, go for it. And tip Chuck for all of his blood, sweat, and tears in keeping it running. Just come prepared, (lots of bug spray, long sleeves and pants if you can take the heat), or time your visit to the winter when the less appealing aspects of the course are diminished.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Insanely good.

5+    4/10/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: ColonelOrange
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 separate 18 hole layouts provide a full day of fun. Play either the monster RnR fairways, or the shorter OG Swingin' layout at this PRIVATE gem of a DG complex. This is NC homegrown DG at it's finest. Good mix of holes, but mostly short and wooded, or long and wooded, with the typical charm of private/homegrown courses.
Cons: Only cons are it gets tricky to navigate around a few holes, and in warmer months, ticks are plentiful. I fail to see how a disc golfer could have a bad time out here without it being their own fault.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play some DG.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2014   8/27/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tight fairways are mostly smooth and cleanly cut. There are a few longer holes but a lot of the tees here are quite short. It's quite technical and if you like a lot of potential for hitting trees, this is the place for you. There are a ton of early gaps that need to be hit. For that matter, there are a lot of late gaps and gaps somewhere in between. You need to be aware of several trees as you consider each drive but it's the early trees that typically limit what you can do off the tee. Most holes here are puzzlers as there is a line available that will get you to the basket but rarely an easy one to throw. A ton of variety in the lines required, with straight shots as well as hyzers and all sorts of things that don't have names yet. There is also a decent variety in distance, with holes of up to 400 feet and some for which I was surprised at how close the basket was.
The navigation is pretty smooth and though there are a few tines where finding the basket can be tough, finding the next tee is usually a snap. Orange arrows point the way.
Cons: Very flat. Very flat. Mostly for this reason, there aren't a lot of standout holes here. While solid pretty much all the way through, I don't think there is a specific hole that I will remember.
Homemade baskets. Very creatively designed but they aren't discatchers. Shaky bridge crossings over the stream.
For those that want to throw from the tee uninhibited, there are two things that will stop you. One is the single trees that block off the ability to throw a RHBH hyzer off the tee(for example) unless you shimmy over to the left corner of the box. The second is the tee box is edged by wood, which is more of a hazard than a feature.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very fun course that is tailor-made for local play (especially those that enjoy the schadenfreude of their friends hitting trees fifteen feet from the tee.) but not one that out-of-towners should beeline for.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/16/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Its a great course with lots of room to let your discs fly. It has a wide fairways, and even the wooded holes are easy to navigate.
Cons: The are downed limbs and tree stumps on the course from the creation of the rocknroll highway course, but its not bad.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DB's Keeps Growing

5+    4/3/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Tater
Played: 56  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: as mentioned before, DB's is a very technical and tight little course. The more you play it, the better your short and finesse games will be. Every hole is a challenge, and the swinging baskets are just cool. And the course is up to 20.5 holes now (I say that because there are really 21 holes, but they are working on a new hanging basket for the final hole right now).
Cons: I know I mentioned it in the pro's, but it can be a con as well: it's tight! Every time I go out there, there a couple of holes (different every time) where I end up in the woods, and I fight to save a double bogey (on a 200 foot hole nonetheless). But it forces you to play smart and I think helps out your game overall.

Also, if I hadn't had a guide with me the first couple of times I played, I'm pretty sure I would have gotten lost, but the signage is looking good now.
Other Thoughts: It's a great mixture of throws, and plenty of fun routes to explore. And the water, while very hungry for discs, is not too bad, and even if you do lose a disc, it will more than likely be returned out there (put your name on your discs!). Call Don and get out there and play! I also know that they have done doubles out there on fridays, and are going to start back up soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Vibes, Tough Fairways

1    5/22/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 160  Reviewed: 157  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2016
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has 19 holes that virtually force every shot you've got. The fairways are very wooded, tight, and challenging. Generally, the shorter the hole, the tighter the fairway. Holes range from ~170' - 400'+. Excellent variety and signage, many holes are themed, Each basket/tee homemade and unique. Well thought and laid out including most holes had benches and bag hangers. Trees generally consist of skinny pines. Water in play on 3 holes (creek). All baskets suspended except for hole 19. 3-4 holes open with good length.

Cons: Some of the baskets are kind of rickety but they're home made and completely functional. Has the tightest fairways as a whole I've ever seen. Not a con per se, more like an advisory. This course requires top accuracy to score well. Rough is fairly more forgiving than I thought it would be. Moncure is a small town, er place, er speck on the map. Get your meals and cash prior to getting there. Some fairways were smaller than a single wide trailer's hallway.
Other Thoughts: Owner was as cool as a moose, he charges $2-3 for maintenance, I gave him $10 for my buddy and me for saving my keister on the directions, uber helpful. Hole 13 (I think) has a disc eating Cedar tree. A lot of TLC has been put into this course and it showed. Well worth it, especially as it is part of a home grown tour. I don't usually carry cash on me so I had a heck of a time getting some for D.B. Fortunately a Citgo gave some cash back. They charge $100 for a keg of PBR though, c'mon!

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.