Lee's Summit, MO 
Legacy Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Short position 410', long 550'



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 When a Coin Lands on the Edge

1    3/29/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has got 2 sides of life. The front 12 is long and wide open while the last 8 is a walk through the woods. You can get your arm warmed up on the opening holes and then get ready to get some touch on that plastic. The wooded holes were great. There is even a little creek running through part of it and they made good use of the slight elevation that was here. The variety of hole lengths was a good mix. The park is very well maintained. The grounds crew was out there working even in the rain. The tee signs have great information and bag holders. The course has cement tee pads with seating at each hole. There were trashcans everywhere and there is a bathroom on site.
Cons: The wide-open holes are almost all straight shots with almost no obstacles. That did get a bit tedious. I wish the tee pads were just a bit longer in length. This place can also get some standing water and fairly muddy after a big rain.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is split for me. The front holes were getting old, but the last 8 were such fun that it is tough to beat this place down too much. The park is so well kept that you have to love playing here. I do think this is worth a drive out here if you want to play an above average course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

2-4    11/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Who knew lee's summit could have something good to offer. Course built in 09, so everything is brand new.
-very clean park
-Tee boxes made of concrete.
-Multiple pin selections
-Best signs i've ever seen at a course. Has bag hooks.
-Trash cans everywhere and benches on every hole.
-wasnt crowded when i've been there. Only seen 4 other people playing

This course has a great layout. It follows around the parks maint. building with most holes a par 3 and 4 pin. A few holes where an all out drive possible. Lots of young trees to throw around or over. some elevation changes between holes and a couple of blind baskets. A must play park.
Cons: Its a bit of a drive if you dont live near lee's summit but well worth it. Can be a bit windy at times. Tee pads are a little thin.
Other Thoughts: Play this hidden gem if you are passing through. You wont want to miss it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 no good

1    9/16/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: npez20
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: i liked the variety of the course and they distances of the shots
Cons: dont know which basket to throw to because some of the baskets aren't even up. they have a hole for them but not put up. did not know if i should throw to a or b also could know throw on hole 10 or 11 because there was not one basket up!!! how do you have a complete course built but just decide to not have baskets to throw at? i was very disappointed in this place. could use longer tee boxes
Other Thoughts: they have different roughs which dont really work when someone throws a different way or maybe wants to throw a roller. i could not believe it was this bad

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

1    6/27/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything and won't let you down! It surrounds a park maintenance building so it is bound to stay well kept - I hope!

- The hole variety is outstanding with 4 left / 8 straight / 3 Right & 1 S-curve. They are mixed fairly well from hole to hole as well.
- The foliage differences on the course are outstanding as well. You are offered very challenging approach shots on many of the holes along with a couple breathers that have you shooting at duece. The basket placement within the trees IMO is one of the best I have ever seen.
- Elevation changes are relatively modest with a couple that drop 25-50'. Many of the holes have you throwing across a gentle valley or swale and offer a real challenge for your approach.
- The fairways were mowed and kept very similar to a ball golf course - a real plus since several holes had a decent amount of "rough" to potenially lose a disc.
- Has concrete tee pads.
- Tee signage is the best I have seen. The foliage is accurately depicted with both basket locations identified and distances shown.
- Tee signs had 2 bag hangers held about 3' off the ground.
- There was a bench at every hole and a trash can at every other hole.
- Never found a piece of trash on the entire course, and after I noticed how clean everything was, I REALLY started looking. This park is just very well maintained.
- Course navigation is easy - no map required at all. Just show up and PLAY!

My favorite aspect of the course was its true challenges due to tree locations and basket placement. If you like working your shots around the obstacles, then this course is perfect for you. If want an open fairway course, then play somewhere else because there are only a handful and they are mixed in between great technical wooded holes. Not too many holes to realy air it out, but a course designed around driving 250-300 feet with legitimate Duece opportunites for the experienced player. There are even a couple of great Ace opportunities! It's just a must play for anyone in the Kansas City area and those driving through.
Cons: - I didn't care for the openess of holes 11 & 12. Just thought they could have been designed a little differently.
- tee pads are a tad short IMO
Other Thoughts: Has a playground area nearby along with a restroom facility, both of which are brand new.

I couldn't believe I was getting the opportunity to find another gem in the Kansas City area! A little off the beaten path being 30 miles SE of the city, but well worth the drive. This one ranks right there with Water Works for those of you who have played it. The trees are not quite as mature, but it won't matter - Promise!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.