Corbin, KY 
Miller Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mik0352 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2018)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 

5+    9/27/2018   9/27/2018
Review By: Mik0352
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course to either learn on, or improve on your control and technical skills.Good elevations changes, and the course is well maintained. It has short pins for beginners, or a quick warm up round, and longer pins for a more challenging round.This is one of my favorite places to play.
Cons: Needs restrooms.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finger Lickin' Good

1    5/29/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.165 Rating) A city park course on a nice manageable hillside.
- ELEVATION - Most courses would be jealous by the degree of elevation change here. The south end of the course layout rises up about 70 feet from the north end according to topoquest.com. Hole (2) plays up around 40 feet and hole (5) plays down 50 feet and then back up 15 feet. (5) was easily my favorite hole out here as the shot is a moderately defined tunnel shot out to an open field at the end. A couple other holes have about 20 feet of change in them. Even with all the elevation, the course can still be tackled somewhat easily with a disc golf cart.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - A wonderful course to learn the game on. Light to moderate obstacles on just about every hole. The ground underneath the tree canopy has no overgrowth so throwing into thicket is limited to the fairway fringes on a few holes. No legit water hazards and the length of the holes is perfect to encourage player development up to lower Recreational skill level.
- BASICS - DISCatchers that are all in good condition and 5 foot by 12 foot concrete tees that are all in great condition.
- CHARACTER - In addition to nice tees and baskets, I think the rest of the basics and extras are above the average course. There's a practice basket. Effective hole signage and a nice course map near tee (1). There's a box for scorecards at the course map. Unfortunately in the process of grabbing one, I notice that an ant colony have taken up residence in the box. That's a first, but I still got a card. There is one picnic table at tee (7) and there's a finishing shelter with picnic tables as well. I don't recall seeing a restroom, but it's possible that one is located a bit further north adjacent to the two ball fields.
- NAVIGATION - With the course map and tee signs noted above, and a lightly wooded layout, traversing this course is a breeze.
- QUICK PLAY - Easy for a solo to complete in under 30 minutes. Figure a 50 to 60 minutes for a four some.
- MAINTENANCE - The course grounds were mowed and downed branches in the wooded portions were few and far between.
- LOCATION - The closest course to Cumberland falls (30 minutes), which I must say having personally visited is a really awesome falls area that costs no money enter. In addition the course is located near the KFC Museum, not even a 10 minutes drive.

Cons: A solid 9 hole course, but short on challenge and variety.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - The course is listed as moderately wooded. I think this inflates the rating difficulty a bit as the course is a tweener between lightly wooded and moderately wooded. I personally shot 5 down on first attempt as an intermediate level player but I played really well. I figure that an 850 rated player will average par out here. Advanced players would probably average 6 to 7 down.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - On hole (6) there's a shelter off on the left side. It probably won't even register to higher skilled players, but for newer players, they will hit this structure from time to time. A couple holes have the potential to bring private back yards into play and (8) starts off adjacent to the baseball field fence. Hole spacing is a little squeezed on holes (1) thru (5). All stated, these items made minimal impact on my rating for the course as they weren't epic bad.
- UNIQUENESS - Other than Elevation, see pros, the hole variety won't wow anyone. Mostly lightly to moderately wooded. Tunnels shots are non-existent except the moderately defined one on (5). Water elements are limited to the likely dry head-water creek along (6) and (7). Also a shorter layout with all par 3s with the longest hole maxing out at 330 feet.

Other Thoughts: Miller Park is a near ideal leg stretching course along I75. Although it kind of sucks that road that crosses I75 next to the park doesn't have an exit from the highway. Overall, I have the course rated as a really strong 2, and I've give it a 2.25 if I were allowed to do so. Perfect for day trippers looking to add another course and great for the locals. I'd play here every day if I lived in town.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I scored the course roughly in the middle compared to all the courses I've played. Obviously the elevation change was the biggest factor on the beauty pro side. However, views of back yards, ball fields and other manmade structures brought the course beauty score back down a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great workout

2-4    7/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: Phule77
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - For the shortness of the course, it makes maximum use of mixed elevation and obstacles within the course. Hole 5 is only 270 feet, but it is an incredibly complex shot.
- Very fun placement. Many of these shots are not particularly easy, and will require very technical shots. Especially as a recreational player, I was definitely challenged by this course.
Cons: I'm glad that nobody else was there, I second the other comments. There are numerous shots that, had somebody been sitting at a picnic table, would have been much more difficult. Some of the holes might have been better with a "must pass on this side" as a result.
Other Thoughts: Sweet little course, and not too far down from London.But especially the climb for holes 2 and 3 is a really solid workout, this is not a level faceroll of a course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One Of My Favorite Nine Holer's

1    11/3/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. And I think others of my skill level (Grandmaster Rec) will too.

The course is spread out through a beautiful, hilly, multi-use park, with mature trees for obstacles.

The park was nice and clean, and well mowed with grass fairways.

The course has holes that go up hills, down hills, over hills, and over valleys. If your disc doesn't land flat on some of the holes, it can make for some interesting rollbacks. But that is the price you pay for playing a course like this!

Plenty of picnic tables, grills, bathrooms, and a nice pavilion.

Nice concrete tee pads, decent tee signs, and good baskets.

The course flows pretty well, and navigation was fairly easy for a 1st time through. Check out the really nice course map sign before heading out.

A nice mix of short to medium length holes.

Very close to I-75. Jumping off to get a leg stretching round in is highly advisable.
Cons: My only real concern is the proximity of some of the picnic areas that border some of the fairways. Especially hole 9. I played on a crisp November morning, and had the whole course to myself, but could foresee trouble during peak park usage.

No long holes here. Perhaps there may be room for a set of long tees, or you could make up your own, but unless you only like long holes, don't let that stop you from playing this course!

A couple of the holes have houses on their perimeters, but it wasn't an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, this course is darn near perfect for me. A short to medium length, well maintained, mature tree, hilly, neighborhood style course. I hasten to call it a rec course because it is much more than that. I also got to play it when the tree colors were at their fall peak, and it was very satisfying.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a good surprise!

2-4    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Chris A
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great use of land.
*Fun 9 holes.
*Clean course.
*Easy to navigate.
*Great practice for short game.
*Beginner friendly.
*Nice baskets and teepads.
Cons: *only 9 holes
*Very short
*some baskets/teepads are close.
Other Thoughts: Lot's of fun to play.. Easy to get a full 18 done in about a hour. Not a course I would travel to play, unless a tournament was being held, but I would call it a must play if you are heading down 75 and have a hour to spare. I'm glad I stopped!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pit Stop

1    11/4/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 60  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Secluded park location
~Clean and well maintained
~Concrete tees
~Good baskets
~Easy navigation for a quick round or three
Cons:
~Course would be bothersome if crowded
~Some potentially crossing of holes
~Holes play dangerously close to one another in spots
~Primarily mid range & putter distances
Other Thoughts:
Not too far from the highway I stopped by for an easy going round while heading south. Most of the leaves were off the trees so it played a little more open than it would be in the summer. Nifty little 9 hole course that seems geared to the recreational thrower. Navigation was simple and it would be easy to get 2-3 rounds done in about an hour. Lightly wooded with some great elevation changes. Layout takes advantage of the space allotted to it. Had a real fun time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Serves it Purpose

2-4    9/25/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 149  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The biggest pro for this course is it's proximity to the interstate. This course is literally right next to I-75 (although it's a little trickier to get there) and it breaks up a long drive perfectly.

-This course utilizes elevation better than most courses I've played. They have well used a small patch of land and created a wide variety of shots.

-Great course for beginners and offers plenty of challenges for more experienced players.

-Simple, yet informative, signs. One quick glance at the map makes this course easy to navigate, so you don't waste time searching for the next hole.

-Great, long tee pads

-New DISCatchers with double chains.
Cons: -Some holes are in close proximity to neighbor's yards, not to mention picnic tables/shelters. However, there was not a soul on this course the hour we spent there on a sunny weekend afternoon, so it may not be a highly trafficked area.

-Holes are definitely on the cramped side. A tournament could NOT be played here due to how close some holes are.

-This course was a little off the beaten path to get to (5 mile drive off I-75)... you drive through what look to be sketchier parts of town. People were in the street yelling things at us...

-Most holes on the shorter side. Course does not offer a real distance challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is meant to be a short, incredibly fun course for travelers to play off the interstate and it serves this purpose beautifully. I would be just fine if this were my home course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: strunkster
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and topography. Easy to find your way around course. Great signage. Challenging and fun.
Cons: The day I was there someone was having a factory picnic. On a normal day this would be lots of fun!
Other Thoughts: Great for a break in the day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pit Stop

1    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I really enjoyed playing this course. For a 9 hole course packed into a small area it was a lot of fun. My family and I stopped to play to break up a long drive and we all enjoyed the course, both on the way north and on the way back south. The practice basket was clearly visible from the parking area and from there you could easily see the first tee. It was easy to find each subesquent tee as they all have signs and nice large tee pads.The terrain was significant and gave even the short holes some extra character and challenge.
Cons: The last 4 holes were in conflict with picnic tables.Some of them brought the flight of the disc pretty much directly over the tables. There were also 3 holes where you could throw into the back yards of the houses that border the park. Hole 4 was kind of crammed in between holes 3 and 5, but that was kind of minor for a course like this.
Other Thoughts: I am still cringing some about the holes that play near the picnic areas. Even though the course is really fun to play, this design is setting up some real conflict, People will probably get hit in and around the picnic areas and the neighbors will probably get tired of disc golfers retrieving discs from their yards. It seems like perhaps the course should have been shorter and a true beginner 9 holer would have fit the park better.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course

1    3/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 902  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 30.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Innova Discatchchers. (From here on east; you'll probably find nothing but yellow chastity belts...)
Perfect concrete...long...broomed tees.
We had played four very wooded courses in a row; and was nice to toss a huge hyzer in the open on #1. (Overall there is a nice mix up of shots needed).
Good signs with correct footage.
Though the course is short overall; and most holes average @250 ft.; a number of these are uphill (thus, playing more like 280+).
Design uses trees and elevation available to make the holes a fun experience.
Miller Park is kind of strange, in that you play near a number of private yards. However, our four person crew did not find ourselves on any private land the entire round; and, our conclusion is that the design was done very well to maximize the usage of the land; without really bringing these residences into play.
Course right off the highway for a nice stretch of the legs when traveling.
2 port-o-johns on course.
Cons: Length of course pretty short.
Sliding board and tire climbing apparatus definitely in play on one hole.
Course next to highway (also listed as a pro).
Other Thoughts: From Miller; we were headed east into hill country. This course marked the beginning of this style of terrain. A fairly strong 2 rating; but nothing all that special. Nice stretch of the legs.
Corbin is the home of Col. Sanders first chicken restaurant; and thus, also the home of the KFC museum. (Keep and eye out for midnightbiker and the guy from the van down by the river, making a road trip! Midnight loves his KFC).
Cumberland Falls (State Resort Park) is also home of North America's only moonbow beam; and the falls are described as the little Niagara. Rainbow seen during the day. 68 foot drop in the falls....

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.